Sukhoi Su 30MKI

su35

ASRAAMs are only known operational missiles that use TVC to maneuver the missiles, instead of control surfaces. This makes the missiles far simpler (large control surfaces are what made Python unusable on Tejas) and DEADLY.
R73 has TVC too why it is not better then ASRAAM, I rather belive it is to study working and functioning AMRAAM on which it is based.

Anathema

I think they placed a small order to overcome immediate shortfall.......but don't intend to keep that as the mainstay for Su-30MKI for long.....hence the desire to integrate Astra as replacement and possibly something like Meteor as an upgraded version.
Well range wise Astra and R77 AE is comparable. I am not sure technologically which is better. EU/MBDA would be averse to Meteor integration - thats the weapon of choice for many partnering nations and their industry pride unlike ASRAAM. I am betting on Derby ER - if other missiles have to be integrated.

Vijyes

Well range wise Astra and R77 AE is comparable. I am not sure technologically which is better. EU/MBDA would be averse to Meteor integration - thats the weapon of choice for many partnering nations and their industry pride unlike ASRAAM. I am betting on Derby ER - if other missiles have to be integrated.
There is a difference between IIR guided and radar guided missiles. Radar guided missiles need Integration with radars of plane which in turn is an intrusive access. But IIR guidance doesn't require such intrusive access and can be integrated superficially with external PODS.

shiphone

ASRAAMs are only known operational missiles that use TVC to maneuver the missiles, instead of control surfaces. This makes the missiles far simpler (large control surfaces are what made Python unusable on Tejas) and DEADLY.
I'm afraid that's completely wrong...

besides R73.,some other 'operational missiles with TVC'.....IRIS T , Aim-9X,MICA and PL10 etc....but ASRAAM has no TVC.

01_IRIS_T.jpg
seccion-de-control-misil-iris-t.jpg
AIM-9X-Mockup-S.jpg
下载.jpg

armyofhind

R73 has TVC too why it is not better then ASRAAM, I rather belive it is to study working and functioning AMRAAM on which it is based.
ASRAAM is not based on AMRAAM.
Two different companies manufacture the two missiles, using two different concepts.
ASRAAM is manufactured by MBDA, while AMRAAM is manufactured by Raytheon.

AmoghaVarsha

Recent news reports suggest that IAF will likely replace

R-73 with R 74 AKA RVV MD range 40km
R-77 with R-77-1 AKA RVV SD range 110km

Also IAF will newly acquire the RVV BD with a range of 150km+ .

The Tejas will likely use the Asraam and I Derby ER.

Mirages and Rafales both may feature Meteor and Mica.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

su35

ASRAAM is not based on AMRAAM.
Two different companies manufacture the two missiles, using two different concepts.
ASRAAM is manufactured by MBDA, while AMRAAM is manufactured by Raytheon.
Yeah sorry for that, Its range closer to earlier versions of AMRAAM, but Raytheon dos make its seeker, so not a complete MBDA missile.
Diameter of missile is larger and missile is heavier then the contemporary one, wouldn't that increase the drag

I'm afraid that's completely wrong...

besides R73.,some other 'operational missiles with TVC'.....IRIS T , Aim-9X,MICA and PL10 etc....but ASRAAM has no TVC.

View attachment 36331 View attachment 36332 View attachment 36333 View attachment 36334
You're right. Did a double check - that was sloppy work on my part.

Body lift and tail control instead of TVC/control surfaces.
I jumped to TVC because its predecessor in the British system was the SRAAM - first TVC missile for Hunter F6s.

ASRAAM provides near 50km range with mach 3 cruise speeds throughout - that is its major advantage.

You're right. Did a double check - that was sloppy work on my part.

Body lift and tail control instead of TVC/control surfaces.
I jumped to TVC because its predecessor in the British system was the SRAAM - first TVC missile for Hunter F6s.

ASRAAM provides near 50km range with mach 3 cruise speeds throughout - that is its major advantage.
What type of engine British missile use?

Nice to see you guys are talking some logic SU30 mki was good planes but now its getting old need upgradation and new weapons.

Remember after all upgradation it will come close to su35 means still we will back from china . thats means we need few option to counter chinese J20 & J31 .

What new upgradation is pakistan doing in J17 BLOCK 3 & What is range of PL15 ??

How we can reply to these ??

Nice to see you guys are talking some logic SU30 mki was good planes but now its getting old need upgradation and new weapons.

Remember after all upgradation it will come close to su35 means still we will back from china . thats means we need few option to counter chinese J20 & J31 .

What new upgradation is pakistan doing in J17 BLOCK 3 & What is range of PL15 ??

No one's denying however you can stop mentioning JFT Blk 3 repeatedly here. We know its projected specs and most certainly is plane of class of MWF or F-16.

Shekhar Singh

JF17 block 3 is nothing but just same JF17 with world's most poor air-cooled chinese AESA radar. Our Tejas MK1A is more than a match for it.

No one's denying however you can stop mentioning JFT Blk 3 repeatedly here. We know its projected specs and most certainly is plane of class of MWF or F-16.

Well no one can progress in his life unless until he know weak & strong points of our enemies , as an citizen of india its out duty to make a voice so that lazy , corrupt , babus will start working .

what was our defence think tank and IAF was doing ?? why we didn't showed protectiveness before 27 feb as we saw of missile our planes need some serious up gradation .

Well in my view every corrupt lazy and anti national will feel pain with my words. sir we have to do something for our IAF but no one is showing any seriousness toward this.

Shekhar Singh

How can you know that it will be inferior to Su35 without knowing the upgrade package? Please don't post garbages.

JF17 block 3 is nothing but just same JF17 with world's most poor air-cooled chinese AESA radar. Our Tejas MK1A is more than a match for it.
As an Indian i am very happy with your words but we saw in 27 feb we need some serious changes in our attitude .
One common line in life .

never underestimate your enemies.

Do you forget what Modi ji & IAF was saying story will be different if we had rafale means our airforce didn't knew our air to air missile are outdated

Talking about class where it will match basic specs, not technology utilized inside it. Any country will pursue available technologies it can afford.
What I said is that comparing it with successor of MKI or even MKI is stupid.
Well no one can progress in his life unless until he know weak & strong points of our enemies , as an citizen of india its out duty to make a voice so that lazy , corrupt , babus will start working .

what was our defence think tank and IAF was doing ?? why we didn't showed protectiveness before 27 feb as we saw of missile our planes need some serious up gradation .

Well in my view every corrupt lazy and anti national will feel pain with my words. sir we have to do something for our IAF but no one is showing any seriousness toward this.
I didn't say anything about that. Nor I'm interested in talking rhetorics. Specify & explain what you are saying.

I corrected technical inconsistency where you are pushing a planned light aircraft (which is being purchased because of cost and not capabilities) with all old and obsolete stuff to a heavyweight fighter for air superiority roles. You could give better examples. And don't reply with "you are lazy" in its response.
Pakistan is already overestimated. Every single point they don't get that much of trouble is hyped like nothing else.
Do you forget what Modi ji & IAF was saying story will be different if we had rafale means our airforce didn't knew our air to air missile are outdated
Air to air missiles of IAF are indeed outdated but against Pakistan, it was a limited engagement. This is called attrition warfare where stronger side can't escalate quickly and weaker side has temporary advantages. It doesn't help weaker party to guarantee any security however as stronger party will hit with bigger force.
In case of 27 Feb, foreign mediators calamed situation away.

Shekhar Singh

As an Indian i am very happy with your words but we saw in 27 feb we need some serious changes in our attitude .
One common line in life .

Few statements are given for political gain.

Talking about class where it will match basic specs, not technology utilized inside it. Any country will pursue available technologies it can afford.
What I said is that comparing it with successor of MKI or even MKI is stupid.
i dont know how many pilots we lost because of outdated planes .

i like SU30 MKI its good but with time we have to move forward we have to adopt new technology, Sir dont you know think now we need 5 sq of 5th gen planes to counter china .

I didn't say anything about that. Nor I'm interested in talking rhetorics. Specify & explain what you are saying.

I corrected technical inconsistency where you are pushing a planned light aircraft (which is being purchased because of cost and not capabilities) with all old and obsolete stuff to a heavyweight fighter for air superiority roles. You could give better examples. And don't reply with "you are lazy" in its response.

Sir i am not rhetorics i am nationalist and i love protectiveness . action speak louder then words

Pakistan is already overestimated. Every single point they don't get that much of trouble is hyped like nothing else.
Air to air missiles of IAF are indeed outdated but against Pakistan, it was a limited engagement. This is called attrition warfare where stronger side can't escalate quickly and weaker side has temporary advantages. It doesn't help weaker party to guarantee any security however as stronger party will hit with bigger force.
In case of 27 Feb, foreign mediators calamed situation away.

why air to air missile was outdated why ?? who was playing with national security of india . who are the responsible officer or babus why no one take measure at right time .

can we sit down as some foreign will come and resole our situation away