New Assault Rifles for Indian Army

Which Contender`s Rifle has more chances of winning than others?

TOI article by Rajat Pandit, Take with pinch of salt ..

Even if has some truth in it, Its RFI for a new sniper rifle ..

So anything DRDO makes, Army junks and comes up with new demand? Let them use Isapore 7.62x51 or let DRDO develop 7.62x51 version of Excaliber or MCIWS.
Can we all twit to MP for this and asked for explanation from army? The way army changes its goal post ,am sure they even reject the vajra from lord Indra.

dray

Army has launched a fresh hunt for a new-generation assault rifle all over again. Rejecting the 5.56x45mm calibre Excalibur rifle offered by the DRDO-Ordnance Factory Board combine, the force has now decided to go in for a 7.62x51mm gun with "higher kill probability and stopping power".
Looks like the Excalibur is actually very good and otherwise hard to reject.

DRDO should be given 3 years to develop a 7.62x51mm version of it before selecting any foreign product.

next RFI is for 50 caliber automatic assault rifle, under 4 kg, this has "definitely kill and has more stopping power" new RFI has "higher kill probability and stopping power".

Saichand K

next RFI is for 50 caliber automatic assault rifle, under 4 kg, this has "definitely kill and has more stopping power" new RFI has "higher kill probability and stopping power".
What RFI? I did not see any new RFI in Indian Army website. Mostly its a hoax.

navkapu

I think TOI messed up again the bullet has a massive recoil and can't be accurate in auto mode.

So what are these 50 caliber " automatic assault Rifle "

Can you give few examples, i am curious.

Zarvan

Well Pakistan Gun trials are also going on we are waiting for results. Let see what happens

I sense sarcastic disturbance in the force

Well Pakistan Gun trials are also going on we are waiting for results. Let see what happens
We shall take your post seriously once you learn the difference between Gun and a Rifle.

As for the FN Scar hysteria, its for your SF not regular troops, pak simply can't afford it.

Zulfiqar Khan

We shall take your post seriously once you learn the difference between Gun and a Rifle.

As for the FN Scar hysteria, its for your SF not regular troops, pak simply can't afford it.
Bhai... it is to replace the G3 and Type-56; our SF will cling on to the M4a1, AUG and other rifles it already posses.

We have at least 2-3 Billion dollars of excess budget; cost won't be a problem as it'll be produced in batches which is approx 75 Million dollars a year (for a batch of 50,000).

Bhai... it is to replace the G3 and Type-56; our SF will cling on to the M4a1, AUG and other rifles it already posses.

We have at least 2-3 Billion dollars of excess budget; cost won't be a problem as it'll be produced in batches which is approx 75 Million dollars a year (for a batch of 50,000).
O bhai, if Pak army (6 lakh) with $8 ~ billion budget can afford SCAR then surely India (13 lakh) can afford Laser weapon as standard issue with $50 ~ billion budget.

Zarvan

FN SCAR if selected would go to entire Army not just special forces. And we calculated everything before starting trials

Zarvan

O bhai, if Pak army (6 lakh) with $8 ~ billion budget can afford SCAR then surely India (13 lakh) can afford Laser weapon as standard issue with $50 ~ billion budget.
We can afford it. Not only SCAR for your information Pakistan is also testing new Machine Guns and Pistols dude