Mosque at Ground Zero? Plan angers NY

You Wont find such an Incident wherein Religious Frenzy was created and a Mob Attacked a Structure and Killed people in the Modern History of the USA.
This invited my response, you do. Look up KuKluxKlan and their escapades.

Muslims are better off in India than in the USA I know too, but since you brought in the Mandir Issue, I responded on equal footing!
You just wanted to score a debating point missing what I had to say.

Hence I told, we Indians are touchy when it comes to Religion and have Religious Sentiments shoved onto our Faces while in the USA its not so.
Right, which is why there's no opposition to The Cordoba House.

I wish to summarise the debate so far.
1. A mosque has been proposed at ground zero.
2. THEORETICALLY it is a good idea for having a mosque along with a church, synagogue for making
an Inter faith harmony ,common place of worship ,where all people can pray for world peace.

3. PRACTICALLY , it is impossible. WE are right now in a "cold war" sort of situation.
However this cold war is a clash of civilisations.

The balance of economic ,military and technological power is in favour of the Christian west AND in many Islamic countries there is a hatred for the the christian west and their jewish Israeli friends,
FOR THEIR ANTI ISLAMIC ACTIONS AND POLICIES
This clash of civilisation will continue for a long time. THIS CLASH HAS JUST BEGUN.

Neil

but why in the name of GOD....they want to built a mosque at 9/11 site...??i mean there are acres of land available in NY....built there....why play with sentiments when you know it will be strongly opposed....??!!
at the end of the day its a mosque you built it near 9/11 site or any other place you will pray to GOD.....

but why in the name of GOD....they want to built a mosque at 9/11 site...??i mean there are acres of land available in NY....built there....why play with sentiments when you know it will be strongly opposed....??!!
at the end of the day its a mosque you built it near 9/11 site or any other place you will pray to GOD.....
Possibly to take the name of God in a place where malcontents destroyed a national edifice and killed thousands of innocents and thus to remind the Muslims that such acts are not in the name of God.

A point of view only.

Possibly to take the name of God in a place where malcontents destroyed a national edifice and killed thousands of innocents and thus to remind the Muslims that such acts are not in the name of God.

A point of view only.
But sir , the mosque, if built, will REMIND Americans DAILY that it was a group of Islamic terrorists who attacked America .
It is only better that with time, which is the best healer , the memories of 9/11 FADE AWAY.

ejazr

@pankaj

Have you read any of the articles I posted from New Yorkers and other Americans who are Jewish and Christians and support the initiative. Again, its not on the 9/11 site, its near it. Its not just a mosque, its a community centre. Also watch the BBC documentary the Power of Nightmares in full which I posted in this link here. It is a must watch if you want to develop your understanding in this matter. http://www.defenceforum.in/forum/sh...Plan-angers-NY?p=164488&viewfull=1#post164488 . It talks about the similarities of the history of the NeoCon movement and the similar political conservatives movement among Muslims lead by Syed Qutb and Zawahiri later.

The clash of civilizations is some people fantasy but something that will hardly come true if we look at how things are shaping. When there is a cosmic war, there are no winners. Because in a cosmic war or religious war even dying is considered a victory, so how will you defeat a group of people who thing that even dying in the name of God will give them heaven. This applies to Christians as well as to the Muslims or even Hindu extremists who fight for Dharm Yudh for that matter. Dying in a cosmic war serves a greater purpose for this people and is not a loss. And it doesnt apply to just religion, it can apply to ethnicity as well. For example the Japanese Kamikaze in WWII or the LTTE suicide bombers in Sri Lanka. That is why you have both muslim majority countries and Christian majority countries coming out clearly against this. There are people who are ignorant and just have a fear of the unknown. Then you have others who profit by exaggerating and magnifying that fear as explained in the BBC documentary.

I predict that 20 years from now, people will be discussing why we went all to such an extreme on this issue when it was hardly a big danger in the over all scheme of things once we had taken out the Taliban and annihilated AQ. And this has already started happening. Obama's team getting rid of any Islam related terms in his new security doctrine is an example of that. Similarly, intelligence chiefs around the world were almost unanimous that the Iraq war and the HR violations committed then were the main trigger for attacks in Europe and cite that there were no terror attacks till the Iraq war after 9/11. Hence the withdrawal plans from Iraq.

When a cold hard analysis is done of all the terror attacks by removing the label of religion a much better picture will emerge. For example, in a scholarly work on suicide bombings done by Robert Paper where he documents suicide bombings done when the first appeared among the LTTE till 2005, a third were done by Muslims. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dying_to_Win:_The_Strategic_Logic_of_Suicide_Terrorism) Interestingly he found no correlation with religion and suicide bombings although maybe the spate of suicide bombings in Pakistan would probably definitely increase the prevalence among Muslims. Even in India you will see that out of the great leaders of India that were assassinated - Mahatma Gandhi, Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi, none of them involved Muslims.

Just like many people talk about the witch hunt during the Communist era where people were finding pinkos everywhere. They will think realize that more Americans die violently in murders and car accidents than through terrorists attacks, then shouldn't they spend more money and time on these. The basic cost-benefit analysis will come into play. This is from the western perspective. And moreover, you will see the political Islamic ideology within the Muslims already defeated in the realm of theology being relegated to the chapters of history. You will still have vocal groups advocating it just like you still have small groups of Christian fanatics for example.

The Arab world itself has seen a sea change since 9/11. There is an active interest for interfaith dialogue and interfaith harmony. Like the King of Saudi Arabia would have convened a dialogue of civilizations with the aim to foster mutual respect and asked not only the Abrahamic faiths but also the Hindu, Buddhist and Sikhs faith to participate. The biggest issue with the Arab world is lack of political freedom. Muslims there do not have rights to express their disagreements with what the dictators most of them backed by the west are doing even though many of these same regimes declare themselves secular. For example, Tunisian and Algerian Muslims are not allowed to wear hijab at school or university and all students have to go to co-ed schools because the govt. claims to be secular. At the same time, the Orthodox Jewish community living there have their own schools, they can enforce gender segregation there and moreover they have permission to send their daughters in head coverings and robes unlike their Muslim counterparts. Similar is the case in Iran where we see a community of 40,000 Jews living and refusing to go to Israel. When India herself has less than 6000-7000 Jews left even though they came initially some as advisers to the Mughals and Persians to India and were here for 100s of years. They all migrated out to Israel.

Personally I would only support the move if it has legal basis and that includes approval by the elected representatives of NYC and their local councilmen. As long as they understand the initiative, give their political backing and also the local residents (who would be represented in the local council meetings) are OK with it then I don't see any problem. The 9/11 theme will definitely play an important themes in this cultural center and I would be surprised if it will not be a memorial of sorts to the people who lost their lives in the attacks. The important thing is to keep everything legal and build consensus.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
@Vinod

You Say 57 Muslim Countries, and You Say all of them treat their minorities as Second Class Citizens. Well I beg to differ, there are Muslim Majority Countries where Minorities practice their Religion and Live freely, and there are hugely progressive muslim countries too! Take a look at the UAE or Oman Or Malaysia and some more. Take a Look at Turkey, declared Secular, wherein in its Muslim Majority Army is the most secular minded Armed Forces in the Region!!

Yes, Hitler Didnt Do it saying Christianity, but then even the all powerful Vatican looked on as Jews were Massacared, and they are not blamed for speaking out against the Violence. We dont blame Hitlers right hand men for carrying around the Hindu Scripture, quoting Krishna, and acting Like Arjun, do we? Do We blame Lord Krishna for Saying those wordings? So, How can you tell that, someone carrying around a Quran, and acting it out, is doing it for Islam?

So How can the world at large (If you are right) See that Islam has been Hijacked??

ahmedsid

Top Gun
@ Tarun- I know the KKK, and I dont think the KKK Made a huge Mob counting in Lakhs and Lakhs, and went and Demolished a hugely sensitive place of the Black in 1990s?? Did they assemble such a big force even in their high years when their membership peaked?? Their Most Popular acts were vandalising stores of Blacks and Asians and the number of people they killed in Modern America, is a small patch on what happens in Asia or Africa in the name of Race and Religion! Prove that KKK Still does what the Extremists still do in India or elsewhere and I will be enlightened!!!

Yes, America is changing, but you should remember, that there are Jews, Christians and the City Administration of New York supporting the Cordoba Initiative. The People against it are proven Racists, The Tea Party folks, who have openly racially maligned President Obama in the Presence of their Leader, and the Leader on CNN and National Radio Told that he cant ask the individual leaders to stop abusing Obama because its their Fundamental right! :)

So Yes, America Is Changing. Its No Longer the Land of the Free, But its a better shot than most other countries.

And Lastly, I wouldnt like to go on discussing Off Topic Topics. I Think EjazR has said what all had to be said. I am No American, and I have no say. I just told what I felt, in an Open Forum. I take leave! God Speed

Wow this thread has gone out of proportion.

If its not near ground zero then the thread heading is false and its supporter do not carry any message to deliver so sake of harmony etc.

I wont jump into this thread but would like to see fireworks from a safe distance.

@Ahmadsid

I became hindu only when Sikh terrorism was at peak, i again became hindu when babri masjid was demolished, i became an Indian when Indians were racially abused in Australia. So people do change time to time when they are realized by events about what they actually are. America is changing and there is nothing to be surprised about it specially post 9/11. If they can cross continents for WOT, (which is again debatable for the reason, why a whole nation has to be cluster bombed for two towers) so they can use this issue to show their prejudice against a particular ideology irrationally which they think was responsible for the attack. Americans are not Islam specialist and all Islam specialist are not Indians like you and ezar. Your concerns are totally genuine and i support them, but at your place i will never take guarantee of others those who have totally different views against you, being muslims themselves.

ejazr

Again it is neither a mosque, neither it is at ground zero

http://in.reuters.com/article/idINIndia-50328020100722

NY imam plans "Muslim Y," not Ground Zero mosque
By Tom Heneghan, Religion Editor

NEW YORK (Reuters) - When Imam Feisal Abdul Rauf decided to build a Muslim cultural centre in lower Manhattan, the model he chose couldn't have been more mainstream American -- the Young Men's Christian Association chapters found in cities across the United States.

The institution he had in mind was the 92nd Street Y, a Jewish adaptation of the YMCA concept that is one of New York's leading addresses for residents of all religions or none to visit for public lectures, debates, concerts or educational courses.

But Rauf's project is better known here now as the "Ground Zero mosque," after the term for the World Trade Centre site. Families of victims of the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks and conservative politicians have mounted an emotional campaign to block it, claiming that locating it only two blocks north of the site was a provocation.

"We repeatedly say we are neither a mosque nor within Ground Zero, but they just shout back 'Ground Zero mosque,' 'Ground Zero mosque,'" Rauf, 61, told Reuters in an interview. The planned building will have a prayer room for Muslims, he said, but it would only be a small part of the 13-story complex.

Rauf said the YMCA, which began in London in 1844 as Christian centre for young working men and quickly spread to the United States and other countries, had long worked to promote understanding across religious, ethnic and social dividing lines in modern societies. Now called simply "the Y," its facilities across the United States offer exercise classes, education and community activities.

"We are trying to establish something that follows the YMCA concept but is not a church or a synagogue or, in this case, a mosque," he said by telephone from Kuala Lumpur, where he is visiting. "We are taking that concept and adapting it to our time and the fact that we're Muslims. It's basically a Muslim Y."

SUPPORTED AND SLAMMED

The plan won overwhelming support at two community board meetings in May after they heard the $100 million complex would include a 500-seat auditorium, swimming pool, meeting rooms, art exhibition spaces, bookstore and a food court featuring dishes from around the Muslim world.

But critics promptly branded the prayer space a mosque, as if the building would feature domes and minarets rather than the sleek modern lines its architects have designed for it.

Mark Williams, a spokesman for the conservative "Tea Party" political movement, alleged the centre would be used for "terrorists to worship their monkey god." Rick Lazio, Republican candidate for New York state governor in November's elections, said its finances should be probed for possible links to extremist groups.

The building now on the site, built in 1858, has been shut since landing gear from one of the Sept. 11 planes crashed through its roof. Critics of the mosque said that made the building a "sacred" or "historic" structure that should be preserved.

Former Alaska Governor Sarah Palin weighed in on her Twitter feed over the weekend, urging "peaceful Muslims" to reject the project she compared to a "stab in the heart."

Mayor Michael Bloomberg has firmly supported the project, saying: "The government should never, never be in the business of telling people how they should pray or where they can pray."

Manhattan borough president Scott Stringer who, like Bloomberg, is Jewish took aim directly at the Tea Party's Williams. "His spewing of racial hatred reminds me ... of Adolf Hitler. We reject him. We reject his bigotry," he said.

Many religious organizations in New York have supported the imam and his project. Matthew Weiner, program director at the Interfaith Centre of New York, praised Rauf as an active participant in dialogue among the city's religions. "There is no question in the mind of any religious leader who has worked with Imam Feisal about his honesty and sincerity," he said.

Rauf said the project "couldn't be more urgent than right now. One thing I hear all the time is, 'Where are the moderate Muslims?' We are moderates and we've condemned radicalism. But moderation doesn't sell newspapers."

The imam said Muslim communities in Kuala Lumpur and Mumbai were considering copying his project to help build bridges among religious groups there.

Asked why he chose to build close to the World Trade Centre site, Rauf said: "I've been in this community for the last quarter century. I'm the imam of a mosque 10 blocks from there. But we now have to hold three sessions of Friday prayers because the space is so tight."

New York's Landmarks Preservation Commission will rule next month whether the current building on the site can be torn down, but Rauf can't imagine anything will hold up his project. "The people supporting it have far outnumbered those opposing it," he said. "The politicization of religion goes against the American ideal of the separation of church and state."

@ Tarun- I know the KKK, and I dont think the KKK Made a huge Mob counting in Lakhs and Lakhs, and went and Demolished a hugely sensitive place of the Black in 1990s??
Given America's population density, angry mobs there aren't as big as here (that doesn't disqualify my point). KKK would attack synagogues and so-called "black-churches". And come on, don't keep coming up with one condition after another. You said "Modern History of US", I answered to that.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
Given America's population density, angry mobs there aren't as big as here (that doesn't disqualify my point). KKK would attack synagogues and so-called "black-churches". And come on, don't keep coming up with one condition after another. You said "Modern History of US", I answered to that.
Dude, Conditions? You brought in One Off topic Post after another, with the Icing on the cake being "My Mandir"! Why bring in those? If at all, I became Passionate in this Thread, it was because of that, Because you kind of justified the demolition of the Mosque!! Dont bring in Population Density and all that! Its true that a Mob of Lakhs assembled in Ayodhya, and was Instigated by Political Leaders, Prominent Political Leaders of a National Party, and after that went onto Destroy a Mosque with the Security Forces and the State Apparatus looking blankly at it. This didnt happen in 1947 or 60,or 80s!! It happened in the time, when we all can clearly remember it!! I am not trying to make you angry here, But you Brought in the Babri Masjid Issue, NOT ME! You have to face the facts, if you talk about something without knowing the repercussions.

You cant dream of the above happening in America! Even now, Look at the people supporting the Mosque! The Party against it is the Tea Party Movement, which is something of a modern day, branded KKK. But even they wont tear down the Cordoba house if its built in the future I am sure!

Well just as Americans were beginning to erase the memories of 9/11, Mr faizal shahzad and Mr david coleman headley have again re instilled doubts, in American minds.Now it is home grown terror

Let us look in the future, do some crystal gazing

There will be more terror attacks in future on American homeland.

So New york mayor or any US government official who approves Cor doba house will be THEN BLAMED for motivating terrorists.
For a terrorist it is a wonderful MOTIVATION A terrorist will come and PRAY FOR SUCCESS for his terror strike. Terrorists DO BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE fighting for ISLAM and ALLAH.

And the back lash against Muslims in America will be severe. And the CLASH OF CIVILISATIONS only gets bigger.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
Well just as Americans were beginning to erase the memories of 9/11, Mr faizal shahzad and Mr david coleman headley have again re instilled doubts, in American minds.Now it is home grown terror

There will be more terror attacks in future on American homeland.

So New york mayor or any US government official who approves Cor doba house will be THEN BLAMED for motivating terrorists.
For a terrorist it is a wonderful MOTIVATION A terrorist will come and PRAY FOR SUCCESS for his terror strike. Terrorists DO BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE fighting for ISLAM and ALLAH.

And the back lash against Muslims in America will be severe. And the CLASH OF CIVILISATIONS only gets bigger.
I Would request you to read through all the pages because, what you just said, Many did, and it got answered too! Tired of doing it again and again! Otherwise, you too can say the same, that the people calling the Mosque, a place where Monkeys Worship their Monkey God :) It wont make a Difference.

Dude, Conditions? You brought in One Off topic Post after another, with the Icing on the cake being "My Mandir"!
Wrong. You went "off topic" with the "I thought US was a lalaland like they show in the movies/TV" almost with a tone of saying it's "oh so better" than India, when I responded merely saying that if secularism was any worse here, by now there would have been a Temple in Ayodha. So what if I put it as "My mandir" does it distort the point I was making? No, the distortion came with you picking on the "My" part.

Because you kind of justified the demolition of the Mosque!!
Incorrect, I said if secularism was worse, there would have been a Temple. That has nothing to do with justification of either demolition of the Mosque or construction of the Temple.

Dont bring in Population Density and all that!
Why not? There's no way you'll see such huge mobs in semi-urban America (with Ayodha being a semi-urban settlement). That does not mean that the mob isn't able to carry out its operation. It's just as effective.

Its true that a Mob of Lakhs assembled in Ayodhya, and was Instigated by Political Leaders, Prominent Political Leaders of a National Party, and after that went onto Destroy a Mosque with the Security Forces and the State Apparatus looking blankly at it. This didnt happen in 1947 or 60,or 80s!! It happened in the time, when we all can clearly remember it!! I am not trying to make you angry here, But you Brought in the Babri Masjid Issue, NOT ME! You have to face the facts, if you talk about something without knowing the repercussions.
So what, my bringing in the Babri issue was to rubbish your point that secularism in America is higher, just because they tolerate Jesus on their underwear. So my response was two-pronged with 1. Secularism in India did not allow Temple to come up (so it's better than in the US, since in India even the majority isn't able to have things its way), and 2. We don't even tolerate slur or mock against minority religions (no "Jesus underwear"). Hence I said that the freedom to mock religions cannot be used as a measure of secularism.

You cant dream of the above happening in America!
It's already happened, I'm awake. KKK mobs burned down numerous "black churches" in southern states, burned synagogues, and so on.

Even now, Look at the people supporting the Mosque! The Party against it is the Tea Party Movement, which is something of a modern day, branded KKK. But even they wont tear down the Cordoba house if its built in the future I am sure!
Yes, you can be sure that it won't tear down Codoba House once it's built. It's just that Codoba House won't serve its purpose as a multi-religious center (because it was built amidst strong opposition from people of other faiths), and that it will incite even more prejudice against Muslims in the US. If that's what they want, let them have it. It will also potentially endanger America's security as fundamentalists will use it as a great PR tool (since it's no more a multi-religious center, since there are no takers from other religions) to recruit or moralize their cadre.

Well If democrats approve Cordoba house , they are finished. Considering the opposition to this Cordoba house project Republicans must be rubbing their hands with glee .

Obama is already loosing popularity and now democrats if they approve it will be labelled traitors.

Americans when they got angry,they invaded Iraq .And now if democrats approve it ,they will be whipped.
Americans right now are ANGRY about the economy Lets see what happens next.How provocative this thing
will turn out , wait and watch.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
I never said I thought America was what they showed on TV! I told that America is very free, coz they show stuff on TV that would cause riots in India! I was not trying to Say America is More Secular! That is something you just brought in to make my points look bad and failed miserably :) I was saying India is Religious Minded and People are Touchy ( I am touchy too at times, Its just the way Indians are I guess). But I love the way they approach everything in a light manner without violence! I was saying, If the People of India were like that, The Mosque wouldnt have been brought down, destroyed, communal tension all over the country and thereby creating animosity for a while! Americans wouldnt care!!! I seriously dont care for the Mosque much, because for me, God is not about Mosques! Its about Goodness (Cliched I know, But Cant express it any other Way)

Yes, But Now, Elements, Racist elements such as the Tea Party Movement have taken this up, But Thank God They are in the Minority! When they become a Majority I will concede!

The Karsevaks came to Ayodhya from all over india!!! If the KKK was as strong as you say, they would have had people from all over the USA coming in and concentrating on the Black Areas and Killing them off and burning their Churches!!!

How Many Synagogues and Black Churches have been burned down since the 1990s? How Many have been Killed off in Religious Riots In USA???

Read the Article Ejazr Posted above and thats the answer to your Last Paragraph. You are feeding on the fear that George Bush Sold :) Its out of stock now, and the people supporting the Initiative outnumber the People against it. But the People against it are Heard more, Because Moderate Voices dont sell NEWS!! Extremist ones Do! Thats why Tea Party is heard and their Monkey God Comment itself makes them stand out!

SHASH2K2

Transcript of one of debate.

MICHEL MARTIN, host:

I'm Michel Martin and this is TELL ME MORE from NPR News. In a few minutes, BackTalk, where you talk back to us about this week's programs. We'll hear what you have to say.

But first, its time for our Faith Matters conversation. That's the part of the program where we talk about matters of faith and spirituality. Today we want to talk about a building, the proposed Islamic center a couple of blocks from Ground Zero.

You may have heard about this, at a meeting last week to discuss the planned building, opponents shouted down supporters of the project.

(Soundbite of applause)

Unidentified Woman #1: I hope you - I hope you - I'm not racist. Thank you.

Unidentified Man #1: Right wing racist (unintelligible).

Unidentified Woman #1: No I'm not. Youre saying that so that it makes it sound like I'm racist and I could not be more further from the truth, a racist.

Unidentified Man #2: Please. Please. Let her continue her remarks. Thank you. It's okay.

Unidentified Woman #1: And I apologize. I apologize to Dais(ph) up there.

Unidentified Woman #2: We need to get the police to quiet this person. We need to have freedom of speech. I'm asking for the police to quiet this man.

MARTIN: Now this particular building has gotten a lot of attention because of all the complicated feelings about the Ground Zero site. In fact, similarly angry debates are being heard elsewhere in the country where mosques or Islamic community centers have been proposed and even sometimes where they have not been.

Now the anger part has been well attested to. But what we were most interested in is whether there are models for how a community can get beyond these volatile reactions and move, perhaps, towards more constructive dialogue.

So to have that conversation, we called Rich Harwood. He's the president and founder of the Harwood Institute. That's a nonprofit group that facilitates community discussion. He's with us from member station KNPR in Las Vegas.

Welcome, Rich. Thanks for joining us.

Mr. RICH HARWOOD (President and Founder, Harwood Institute): Hey, Michel. Good to be with you.

MARTIN: So just to make it clear, the center in New York has already been approved and the issue now is whether or not the building should receive special landmark preservation status, which would mean the 13-story building couldnt be torn down. But the center is likely to move forward regardless. But the fact is there are a lot of people who are still very angry with it, maybe they just found out about it. What steps would you take to address these feelings?

Mr. HARWOOD: Well, I think first of all, we have to understand that there are a lot of undercurrents in American society right now. People's frustration about the economy, mortgage foreclosures, immigration laws, so we're hearing some of that frustration. So I think the first step is we have to let people vent their frustrations. But we then have to move beyond that pretty quickly. And I think the question we have to ask ourselves is not whether or not we should approve the building of a mosque, but first, what kind of community do we want to live in and what will it take for us to get that community? And then where does building a Mosque fit into that?

We have to get to a larger conversation about people's aspirations for their communities, not their fears and preconceived notions and maybe their prejudices.

MARTIN: You recently wrote on your blog about a similar debate among gubernatorial candidates in Tennessee, where candidates were pressed to take a position whether they would allow a mosque to go forward in their neighborhoods. And you say quote, "In my old neighborhood there were always concerns about a rapidly growing church down the street. But working out zoning issues is radically different from whether we allow mosques to be built at all in communities."

And why is that?

Mr. HARWOOD: Well, I think, you know, there might be legitimate zoning issues about how tall a building is or what its front looks like or any number of technical issues which is pretty much what zoning is about. Whether or not we're going to allow in this country, a pluralistic country where we have freedom of expression, freedom of religion, freedom to assemble, whether or not we're going to allow mosques to be built is a much larger issue than some technical aspect of zoning laws.

MARTIN: Well, recently New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg spoke to this point. He said, quote, "if you are religious you do not want the government picking religions because what do you do the day they dont pick yours?"

But there those who say this isn't about religion so much as it is about terrorism. There are those who say well, thing one: they associate mosques with breeding grounds for terrorists, be they foreign-born or native-born, and for other people they say it's just too sensitive, it's just too soon, 9/11 is too recent and they still have raw against about feelings about this, that they just feel its insensitive. What do you say to that?

Mr. HARWOOD: Well, I think people do have raw feelings about 9/11 still. I think they have raw feelings about a lot of things that are happening in American public life right now. What I say is that we have two choices: We can try to tamp down those raw feelings and try to tell people to go home and not say very much and what we know is those raw feelings will only fester.

Or we can try to open up spaces in our communities for people to talk about these issues, to work through them and to figure out how we want to move ahead together as part of the same community or the same state or the same nation in some cases. And my hope is that those folks on the far right or far left who seem to be dominating this debate will be told look, youre point of views are welcome, but there are many other points of view in this country and we need to hear them.

MARTIN: Well, to that end, Sarah Palin, the former vice presidential candidate, has become, you know, quite a player in conservative politics, sent a series of Twitter posts on Sunday asking the Muslim community to move away from this site in the interest of healing.

I mean she's suggesting that people may have a right to build the site there but they should make the gesture to the larger community to, as she put it, in the interest of healing.

What do you make of that argument?

Mr. HARWOOD: Well, you know, this is your segment on faith, right? And forgiveness actually often begins with those who have been perceived to be wronged in something, not those who have necessarily perpetrated it. And so what I would say is that I would hope that former Governor Palin would step forward and say here's my point of view. But instead of me just telling you my point of view, let's talk about what it would mean to create some space for healing. What are the kinds of things we actually need to do to move forward? I have yet to hear those from many of the political leaders who are stepping forward to talk about this issue.

They're demagoging. They're bullying people. They're pushing people into corners and I think that only is a negative in terms of the kind of society we're trying to create and how society can move through this.

MARTIN: What do you say to those who say, I dont want to engage with this? I, you know, I lost loved ones here. This is too raw for me. I do not want to engage in this community. I do not want to be reminded of this. It's still too painful.

Mr. HARWOOD: I can understand that. You know, I unfortunately lost my best friend in one of those towers on 9/11. I actually saw it unfold before my eyes as I was watching TV and I waited for any number of days to hear whether or not he was alive or not. I understand the rawness of this. I understand the deep feelings that people have about this. And I can understand that for some people it's still too hard to talk about. But there are millions more who can talk about this and need to talk about this, and we need to create the spaces in our communities for that conversation to occur.

MARTIN: One thing I think that has been lost in all this is that there are many Muslims who lost their lives on 9/11.

Mr. HARWOOD: Ten percent.

MARTIN: Both at the World Trade Center and at the Pentagon that there are people of the Muslim faith who lost their lives.

But just going back to the original question, so now that people have vented, and you actually say venting does have its place - that people should be allowed a vehicle to express their feelings, now that that's happened, what next? What's the next step you think people should take in communities where they are grappling with this?

Mr. HARWOOD: Well, as I mentioned before, I think the very next step is that we need to start - the next question has to be what kind of community do we want to live in?

This has to be framed in terms of our aspirations, our desire to be part of something larger than ourselves, to help us remember that we are connected to one another in our communities. And my experience has been, whether it's on issues on this or education or health care or any number of issues, is that when we can start with the larger context of our aspirations for our community we can begin to see ourselves in that discussion and we also begin to take more ownership of the discussion and trying to figure out how to move forward from where we hare.

MARTIN: Richard Harwood is the president of the Harwood Foundation. That's a nonprofit that encourages people to engage in their communities. To use their language: Its a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that inspires and guides people to step forward and take action rooted in their community and stay true to themselves. The institute works with individuals, organizations and communities to turn outward and develop their ability to make more intentional choices and judgments that lead to impact.

So there you go. That's what the Harwood Institute tries to do. He was with us from KNPR in Las Vegas.

Thank you so much, Rich.

Mr. HARWOOD: Thank you, Michel.
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128720712

ahmedsid

Top Gun
Well If democrats approve Cordoba house , they are finished. Considering the opposition to this Cordoba house project Republicans must be rubbing their hands with glee .

Obama is already loosing popularity and now democrats if they approve it will be labelled traitors.

Americans when they got angry,they invaded Iraq .And now if democrats approve it ,they will be whipped.
Americans right now are ANGRY about the economy Lets see what happens next.How provocative this thing
will turn out , wait and watch.
Bro, Please Read the Articles posted, especially the last one by Ejazr! The People against it are standing out, not because they are the Majority but because Right wing views sell!!! The Cordoba House has been approved in 2 Sittings, Overwhelmingly!!! The People agains this call the Mosque a Place where a Monkey God Is Worshipped! Do you think they are Sane? They are Prejudiced to the core and are racists!

Approving Cordoba house by some committee has no meaning It is the starting point for controversy.
Americans are conservative people. They preferred a Black man over a woman for president.

The majority is SILENT BECAUSE THEY KNOW ,this approval means nothing.
people especially politicians in USA love controversy and debates .

Who knows people in the committee who approved it are "closet right wingers " .They wanted something to put Muslims under pressure again