LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Was bound to happen sooner or later. US has found the perfect leverage to arm twist Bharath and make us toe their line. Military HW diplomacy is a deeply flawed strategy. Yet another wake up call for GoI to start funding kaveri in a massive way and make it productizable quickly. Else we will be forced to dance to the tunes of the Empire.
Remember Tejas mk2 also depends on GE F414 . This is a highly concerning situation. Sq strength depletion and chinka literally printing out aircraft and indigenous jet engines next door, arming porkies as well. Import airforce still harping on MRFA.....

spacemarine2023

Was bound to happen sooner or later. US has found the perfect leverage to arm twist Bharath and make us toe their line. Military HW diplomacy is a deeply flawed strategy. Yet another wake up call for GoI to start funding kaveri in a massive way and make it productizable quickly. Else we will be forced to dance to the tunes of the Empire.
Remember Tejas mk2 also depends on GE F414 . This is a highly concerning situation. Sq strength depletion and chinka literally printing out aircraft and indigenous jet engines next door, arming porkies as well. Import airforce still harping on MRFA.....
Jet Engines are one of the three crown jewel technologies very hard to master and furthermore harder to mass produce.
Indian Govt needs to bring a law to fund and produce fighter Jet Engine in house to no change in Govt can cancel the advance.
Currently Kaveri has development issues if India keeps putting resources we might be able to reach test stage in a decade and further decade to go to mass production.
Two decades of relentless effort, and billions of dollars can give us this capability.
Till then we are dependent on USA/West for Tejas MK1,MK2 and even AMCA.
I dont see India reaching the capability of even current chinese ones for Jet Engines before 2040 if Indian govt goes all in with a legal protection framework

Ugra Bhairav

Chalo Achha Hua!!!

Inko Jet Engine develope karna hai per kharch Diesel Engine ki cost per.

Total amount spent on Kaveri Engine is just $250.00 millions. :facepalm:

Saala!! Inko 800 ki cost per Ferari chaiye!!!

Aab bhugto!!!

Well done america bhadur!!!

You are kindly requested to keep your good work.

We do not take anything seriously when "Foreign Maal" is available.

We developed:

1) Nuclear Technology.

2) Space Technology.

3) Nuclear Submarine.

4) Missile Technology.

Only Because "Foreign Mall" was not available.

Had it been we would have been gleefully Importing these stuffs also.

Only Grudge is so many years wasted on Kaveri Engine by stifleing Funding of Kaveri.

I Pray to Shivji : GE Deal goes into limbo along with Safron deal with France.

Then only we are going to take this technology seriously.

Let TINA happen to Jet Engine Technology.

Really Love; "There is No Option Available" - STUPID.

Ugra Bhairav

Jet Engines are one of the three crown jewel technologies very hard to master and furthermore harder to mass produce.
Indian Govt needs to bring a law to fund and produce fighter Jet Engine in house to no change in Govt can cancel the advance.
Currently Kaveri has development issues if India keeps putting resources we might be able to reach test stage in a decade and further decade to go to mass production.
Two decades of relentless effort, and billions of dollars can give us this capability.
I dont see India reaching the capability of even current chinese ones for Jet Engines before 2040 if Indian govt goes all in with a legal protection framework
Kaveri per AajTak Total kharcha kitna Kara???

spacemarine2023

Kaveri per AajTak Total kharcha kitna Kara???
definitely amounts to merely 0.1% of the budget required if you are asking me.
But issue is with GTRE also why they are not asking for what is required and convey the importance to media of course some high up job will be in danger but someone about to retire high up can go to national media and definitely in this election season there will be good pressure created for Govt to announce something.

Ideally IMO around 200 Billion $ should be invested in coming 2 decades to not only create prototypes but also mass production facility and a law should be added in constitution.

Ugra Bhairav

definitely amounts to merely 0.1% of the budget required if you are asking me.
But issue is with GTRE also why they are not asking for what is required and convey the importance to media of course some high up job will be in danger but someone about to retire high up can go to national media and definitely in this election season there will be good pressure created for Govt to announce something.

Ideally IMO around 200 Billion $ should be invested in coming 2 decades to not only create prototypes but also mass production facility and a law should be added in constitution.
You are talking for spending 200B$ o_O had we spent 2B$ we would have been in much much better position.

Sirji, Intent ho to subkuch hota hai.

Engine was never top priority.

How can you develop a critical technology without all the desired laboratories and testing facilities????

How much do we invested in all the desired facilities ????

NADA....

spacemarine2023

Sirji, Intent ho to subkuch hota hai.

Engine was never top priority.

How can you develop a critical technology without all the desired laboratories and testing facilities????

How much do we invested in all the desired facilities ????

NADA....
Its almost impossible to ask for 200 Billion $ by a PSU, the ask should go though indirectly to understand military and political elites why Jet Engine technology is required and also how a indigenously developed Jet Engine technology means India able to create own domestic MIC and Civilian Aircraft industry and off shoots like Gas turbines which goes into almost every heavy industry.

Ideal way to media and then Govt create a law I dont see any other way possible no Govt has courage to promise something that which bring fruits 20 years later with a funding which requires hundreds of billion dollars.

spacemarine2023

You are talking for spending 200B$ o_O had we spent 2B$ we would have been in much much better position.
2 Billion $ is a waste if spend in isolation, these 2 billion are better to directly buy and create inventory of Jet engines.

2 Billion $$$ is NADA … Jet Engine alone requires 2 Billion to create basic testing infrastructure.
Development cost is in 100s and production add same.

If India has intent or capability to invest only these kind of 2 Billions I rather not even waste that.

Metallurgy R&D is extremely cost intensive, a simple formulae of a civilisation advancement is how advance the metal manufacturing is.
Jet Engine technology is actually a Metallurgy tech.

Raj Malhotra

1. I believe that the story of delay in supply of GE F404 engines has been created by HAL to hide the fact that its LCA manufacturing schedule is again running late

2. HAL has promised 11 aircraft in the financial year 2023–24, which means one NP, 2LCA MK1A and 8LCA trainer. Not to forget that LCA Trainer were ordered in 2006 and 2010.

3. HAL is going to supply only three aircraft in the financial year 2023–24 instead of 11 aircraft. Therefore, they have to create a bogus story of delayed engine supply.

4. it must be remembered that DRDO – ADE created similar stories for disaster of Tapas UAV program by claiming that actuators from USA were late but the real fact was the TAPAS was overweight Sumo wrestler which could not attain the altitude requirement, nor the endurance

5. Similarly, Lca manufacturing schedule is again running late. we already have adequate engines for supplying aircraft till financial year 24-25. The new engines are required for aircraft that will be supplied in the year 25-26, But Hal is going to create disaster this year by failing to supply, the LCA trainer, two seater aircraft, which were ordered in 2006 and 2010

patriots

Defense lover
1. I believe that the story of delay in supply of GE F404 engines has been created by HAL to hide the fact that its LCA manufacturing schedule is again running late

2. HAL has promised 11 aircraft in the financial year 2023–24, which means one NP, 2LCA MK1A and 8LCA trainer. Not to forget that LCA Trainer were ordered in 2006 and 2010.

3. HAL is going to supply only three aircraft in the financial year 2023–24 instead of 11 aircraft. Therefore, they have to create a bogus story of delayed engine supply.

4. it must be remembered that DRDO – ADE created similar stories for disaster of Tapas UAV program by claiming that actuators from USA were late but the real fact was the TAPAS was overweight Sumo wrestler which could not attain the altitude requirement, nor the endurance

5. Similarly, Lca manufacturing schedule is again running late. we already have adequate engines for supplying aircraft till financial year 24-25. The new engines are required for aircraft that will be supplied in the year 25-26, But Hal is going to create disaster this year by failing to supply, the LCA trainer, two seater aircraft, which were ordered in 2006 and 2010
Firstly - tejas trainers designed were finalized lately...intially 2 variants ,ioc trainer and foc trainers were planned.Later iaf asked for only foc trainer.
There is no reason for delay in Hal 's deliveries , already their supply chain is stable,their human resources is now trained( remember that incident when one tejas ioc was again reassembled ,for oil leakage,this was from the Kiran production plant converted to tejas for tejas production)

Again that report says 75 ge f404 delivered

We have 32 tejas ioc + foc delivered +1 trainer
We have 2 tds
5 PVS
3 naval pvs

7 lsps
Atleast 50 tejas

Here iaf cheif praising hal's effort

2-3 focs are delivered in this financial year
1 trainer delivered
3-4 trainers will be delivered in this financial year.

thebakofbakchod

I believe this too. I call bs on engine delays. Wasn't the big mouth HAL CMD claiming there were 0 delays for mk1a just a few weeks back?

assassin162

What are the other two crown jewels?