LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

NutCracker

Do you want to use expensive missiles to be wasted for knocking down cheap drones good luck with that
Ugh.. You are again speaking out of your depths..

Glad @Dark Sorrow has put you at your place.

If you follow the news then you do not ask these type of questions. Our Army shot down Pak drones which are infiltrated into our territory. May be they are spy drone but question is how sophisticated they are and how maneuver able they are. If you take f22 and shoot down an ww2 aeroplane and say I have proved f22 effectiveness then people will laugh at you. Similar analogy applies to fighter jets and small puny drones.
Stop talking like a clown. Small drones flying high aren't shot down , those bullets which are shot come down and can hurt own population.

Basic Jammers are used to disconnect them and then hope it doesn't have capability to return back when disconnected.
Or advanced jammers which can even jam GPS signals so that it can not return.

Stop talking like a clown. Small drones flying high aren't shot down , those bullets which are shot come down and can hurt own population.

Basic Jammers are used to disconnect them and then hope it doesn't have capability to return back when disconnected.

1. When bullets fell down they don't have much energy to hurt people and neither that's a point of concern infact we will be employing radar guided guns with bigger rounds than a rifle to shoot drones down.

2. It's fir the original post by sakalasiva.

We don't want to waste expensive missile worth 2 million plus to shoot down drones that's why cheaper ones are also being used . Other measures are being adopted and employed . But when we have to we will.

Because it doesn't mean we will let a threat enter into our territory and do damage just because we want to save money.

It has also to do with psychology of your people and forces when they see enemy drones being shot down vs enemy drones coming in and out freely because you want to save some bucks.

Our aim is to bring enemy down whatever may be the cost at end.

And yes we can't just keep defending ourselves from such drones and have to employ drones to do bigger damage in their territory too. May be we have to strike out their control centres .

Bottomline fighter jets will be used too when other measures fail.

sakalasiva

You are either naive or an stupid that's why last time also I refrained from prolonging chat with you. Fundamental point of discussion is whether anyone can claim their fighter combat worthy just because they shot down drones here I am not even considering the bayraktar type of drones. Most of the time Pak sends cheap drones they are not even capable of high maneuvers. Someone should be an idiot like you if they say since that kind of drones are shot down by aircraft now aircraft proven it's combat worthy ness. As usual you will not follow full context and come here to spill out random shit. If it works for you good luck. I do not entertain shit.

Dark Sorrow

If you follow the news then you do not ask these type of questions. Our Army shot down Pak drones which are infiltrated into our territory. May be they are spy drone but question is how sophisticated they are and how maneuver able they are. If you take f22 and shoot down an ww2 aeroplane and say I have proved f22 effectiveness then people will laugh at you. Similar analogy applies to fighter jets and small puny drones.
It shows that your Air Force has confidence in the jet that they are ready to use the aircraft in contested combat.
This in turn gives confidence to third countries buying the aircraft.

People will give thousand reasons why Tejas was (or might) be rejected by Malaysian Air Force but two primary reasons are
  1. Tejas Mk. 1A is still a paper aircraft. No third country Air Force is going to accept experimental aircraft
  2. Because Tejas Mk. 1A is not combat proven in IAF, Malaysian Air Force has no confidence in the aircraft on whether it will work in contested airspace. Their are no tactics, SOPs and strategies developed for Tejas Mk. 1A configuration offered to Malaysian .

NutCracker

You are either naive or an stupid that's why last time also I refrained from prolonging chat with you. Fundamental point of discussion is whether anyone can claim their fighter combat worthy just because they shot down drones here I am not even considering the bayraktar type of drones. Most of the time Pak sends cheap drones they are not even capable of high maneuvers. Someone should be an idiot like you if they say since that kind of drones are shot down by aircraft now aircraft proven it's combat worthy ness. As usual you will not follow full context and come here to spill out random shit. If it works for you good luck. I do not entertain shit.
You dont have to shoot them down. you can down them if task dedicated EW suite/jammer is installed.

I bet you havent even heard of anti-drone guns. so when you hear news about gunning down drone you gulp down it as bullets being fired towards drone.

vidhwanshak

It shows that your Air Force has confidence in the jet that they are ready to use the aircraft in contested combat.

People will give thousand reasons why Tejas was (or might) be rejected by Malaysian Air Force but two primary reasons are
  1. Tejas Mk. 1A is still a paper aircraft. No third country Air Force is going to accept experimental aircraft
  2. Because Tejas Mk. 1A is not combat proven in IAF, Malaysian Air Force has no confidence in the aircraft on whether it will work in contested airspace. Their are no tactics, SOPs and strategies developed for Tejas Mk. 1A configuration offered to Malaysian .
Thanks for putting this out.

_merlin_

Mk. 1A is properly funded. Part of its tech is already flying in two Tejas Mk1 FOC. There are no changes in external configuration, maybe some optimizations. This is not an experimental aircraft. So that's not the reason it was rejected.

Is it really rejected? So far there's no official announcement.

NutCracker

TEDBF came into the picture for the same reason because Tejas naval version can not meet Navy requirements.
Yes i know that but tedbf is 5 years afar.. And i remember reading that Vikrant was going to have mix of Mig29k and some LCA since we don't have enough mig29k and buying more is not considered fruitful.

defence matrix's video on it

Okabe Rintarou

Timestamp 10:33 . Both Guests saying Tejas Naval version project is cancelled.

Any recent information??
NLCA is just a Tech Demonstrator at this point. Admiral Sunil Lanba had declared it unfit for carrier ops due to low payload and single engine. But many features of NLCA will now find their way into TEDBF. As @sakalasiva said, TEDBF happened because NLCA was rejected.

Yes i know that but tedbf is 5 years afar.. And i remember reading that Vikrant was going to have mix of Mig29k and some LCA since we don't have enough mig29k and buying more is not considered fruitful.

Alpha defence's video on it
That was speculation based on "sources". Don't think anybody made an official comment about the same.

NutCracker

NLCA is just a Tech Demonstrator at this point. Admiral Sunil Lanba had declared it unfit for carrier ops due to low payload and single engine. But many features of NLCA will now find their way into TEDBF. As @sakalasiva said, TEDBF happened because NLCA was rejected.

That was speculation based on "sources". Don't think anybody made an official comment about the same.
Sad state that Vikrant will not be combat ready for 3 years minimum. Don't know when f-18/rafale-m winner be ordered and when delivery will finish. Wasting crucial lifespan of an aircraft like this.

Report: India’s Uttam Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar will replace the Israeli EL/M-2052 radar on the Tejas aircraft offered to Malaysia.
Tere pas or koi rasta hai.jpg

Okabe Rintarou

Sad state that Vikrant will not be combat ready for 3 years minimum. Don't know when f-18/rafale-m winner be ordered and when delivery will finish. Wasting crucial lifespan of an aircraft like this.
Well, at least the extra 12 strong MiG-29K squadron will be available (somewhat) for ops from Vikrant in the meantime.

NutCracker

Well, at least the extra 12 strong MiG-29K squadron will be available (somewhat) for ops from Vikrant in the meantime.
Even 12 will not be 100% available and
As per the exfarts from the podcast i posted , not all mig29k can be sent away from ship and remaining will not form sufficient number for effective strike package .

Hence it will not see combat even if we happen to be in some clash till minimum 18 number is reached.

I conclude. Going out of topic

jai jaganath

Report: India’s Uttam Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar will replace the Israeli EL/M-2052 radar on the Tejas aircraft offered to Malaysia.
Khud hamare liye uttam ready nahi hai
Hum unko kya offer karenge
Uttam will be available in 41st tejas that will be approx 2026 so we can't offer them to malaysian

MonaLazy

Indigenous `Tejas' aircraft doing well in Malaysia's LCA tender competition

HAL presented its proposal to the Malaysian Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) in October 2021. According to HAL, the two-seat Tejas LIFT (Lead in Fighter Trainer) model had a good chance of winning the competition since it matched all of the RMAF’s requirements.

September 12, 2022 3:41:52 pm
1663353605925.png

LCA Tejas. file
By Girish Linganna
Malaysia has launched a tender for 18 jets as part of the Fighter Lead In Trainer-Light Combat Aircraft (FLIT-LCA) program. As part of the Royal Malaysian Air Force’s (RMAF) Capability Development 2055 strategy, Malaysia’s FLIT program plans to purchase 18 light combat aircraft with the first procurement and another 18 jets in the second procurement in 2025.
Potential contenders include the FA-50 from Korea Aerospace Industries (KAI), the Sino-Pakistani JF-17 from Pakistan Aeronautical Complex and Chengdu Aircraft Corporation, the Italian M-346 from Leonardo, the Russian Yak-130 and the Indian Hindustan Aeronautics’ (HAL) Tejas Mk 1.
At the same time, BAE Systems, which has supplied the Malaysian fleet with Hawk 108 trainer aircraft and Hawk 208 attack aircraft, also said that its aircraft could be enhanced with various upgrades.

In general, Malaysia – with its limited budget – has a history of “postponing” defence procurement. So, for many years, it tried to replace the decommissioned MiG-29 fighters with 18 new combat aircraft, but this process did not lead to anything.
Malaysia recently received a reminder that combat aircraft are still necessary for today’s geopolitical environment. On June 1, 2021,16 Xi’an Y-20 and Ilyushin Il-76 transport aircraft of the People’s Liberation Army Air Force, or PLAAF, made an unprecedented foray into the depths of the South China Sea. They approached the territory of Malaysia at a distance of less than 111 km, where they were intercepted by fighters of the RMAF.
Among the reasons for such flights is the issue of oil resources in the exclusive economic zone of Kuala Lumpur and China’s attempts to explore Malaysia’s anti-aircraft capabilities.
HAL LCA has a fair chance
HAL presented its proposal to the Malaysian Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) in October 2021. According to HAL, the two-seat Tejas LIFT (Lead in Fighter Trainer) model had a good chance of winning the competition since it matched all of the RMAF’s requirements.
It is corroborated by ‘Janes Intel’, which recently wrote that the HAL offer of LCA-Tejas has a “fair chance” of winning the bid, as it has met “all the parameters sought by RMAF in its FLIT programme. The report also indicates that it faces some serious competition from the KAI-developed FA-50, which has been offered a similar sensor package at a lower cost.
According to an estimate by Janes Intel, the LCA-Tejas has been offered at $32 million per unit, while the FA-50 has been offered at $26.5 million per unit. The Koreans have offered in-flight refuelling capability on the aircraft, as requested by the RMAF, even though they have not been tested.
Janes says that LCA-Tejas, at $32 million, is the costliest jet on offer other than the Mig-35, which is unlikely to be approved by RMAF owing to its past with the Mig-29 type.

However, the figure may not be correctly ascertained. The offer price may be $32 million, but the final price where it will offset and they will agree nobody knows.
HAL recently inked a memorandum of understanding on August 18 to establish a Kuala Lumpur office. The KL office will be responsible for marketing HAL’s range of goods and services in South East Asia.
According to a press statement from HAL, the Malaysian office will assist in exploiting new business prospects for FLIT LCA and other RMAF needs. HAL anticipates that the Malaysian government will shortly announce the bid winner.
India’s Uttam Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar will replace the Israeli EL/M-2052 radar on the Tejas aircraft given to the RMAF. The indigenously built modern radar has an edge over the closest competitor FA-50’s mechanical radar. HAL reports that other Israeli components have alternatives. HAL is also willing to include any ammunition requested by the customer.
Tejas has the advantage of integrating advanced air-to-air missiles such as BrahMos for greater attacking power. Again, the FA-50 loses out here due to its inability to employ such munitions. HAL is also seeking contracts in the Philippines, where it signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Philippines Aerospace Development Corporation in April to establish an MRO facility.
Author is Aerospace, & Defence Analyst.