LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Okabe Rintarou

RR-GTRE JV signing.
What? The news is about GE-404, who said anything about RR-GTRE JV? How can it be 2022-23 3rd quarter? Source please.
This is the key point to look at... 99 engines. 83+16. Not spares, but proper engines.
You mean the extra 16 are for 16 NLCA @8 per carrier? BTW, is there any part that will have local sourcing in this deal or subsequently for the GE-414?

Tridev123

This it can very comfortably do.

Not this just A2A payload.. and frankly we don't use the Mig-29K for maritime strike either. The BrahMos-A asked Su-30s of 222nd sq of IAF based as Thanjavur covers the whole IOR region.
Well OK if the NLCA can only do air defence role initially.
But there were reports that the undercarriage of NLCA is over designed and weight reduction is possible.

If true then maybe some increase in payload capacity is possible.??.

Tridev123

Well OK if the NLCA can only do air defence role initially.
But there were reports that the undercarriage of NLCA is over designed and weight reduction is possible.

If true then maybe some increase in payload capacity is possible.??.
And the NLCA will get the AESA radar of the LCA mk1a and other goodies.?.

Vamsi

This it can very comfortably do.

Not this just A2A payload.. and frankly we don't use the Mig-29K for maritime strike either. The BrahMos-A asked Su-30s of 222nd sq of IAF based as Thanjavur covers the whole IOR region.
@Bleh if Navy orders NLCA, which version do you think it will be ? My guess is that it will be SPORT version because it will be very much useful to train pilots for Teddy, even before it enters the service. Thus Teddy can be inducted very smoothly

SPORT which is now LIFT isn't readty... It'll only come in as TejasMAX after CATS is avaliable.

These would most likely be NP-2 with AESA radar & Mark1A avionics, possibly with refueling probe too.

HAL signs $716 mn deal with GE Aviation for 99 engines for LCA Tejas
Special Correspondent

2-3 minutes

‘This is largest-ever deal and purchase order placed by HAL for LCA,’ said Mr. R. Madhavan, CMD, HAL

Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) on Tuesday signed a $716 mn deal with GE Aviation of the U.S. for 99 F404 aircraft engines and support services that will power the indigenous Tejas Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Mk-1A.

chetan_chpd

Desi Homelander
in a parallel universe, if today, India had the fighter jet technology that the Russians have (aiframe, engines etc etc)...with same economy we have today...

how many squadrons and jets we could have raised?

vishnugupt

in a parallel universe, if today, India had the fighter jet technology that the Russians have (aiframe, engines etc etc)...with same economy we have today...

how many squadrons and jets we could have raised?
Exactly the same as we are having today. because the problem is not the availability of airframes, engines, or technology. the problem is our Armed forces themselves. watch the first news from the video below for a reference

AK 203 1 st batch delivery
I always praise our armed forces for one thing " clear, naked, visible, open dishonesty when it comes to indigenous equipment"

Here IAF is not sure about the numbers of Tejas mk2 and AMCA. You will never ever hear clear-cut requirements from armed forces when it comes to local products. They will never tell you an exact number, exact configuration, exact deficiencies, exact date to sign the deal, and so on.... But contrary to this, when it comes to import they will tell you everything exactly, like 400 ATHOS, 450 T-90, 114 MMRCA, 6 foreign submarine, 6 AWACS, 6 Appaches, 22 apaches, 145 Light Howizers, 72 k Sig riffle, 6 lakhs AK 203..... Top on that it automatically becomes very very urgent.... You know two front war is looming...

Okabe Rintarou

Exactly the same as we are having today. because the problem is not the availability of airframes, engines, or technology. the problem is our Armed forces themselves. watch the first news from the video below for a reference

I always praise our armed forces for one thing " clear, naked, visible, open dishonesty when it comes to indigenous equipment"

Here IAF is not sure about the numbers of Tejas mk2 and AMCA. You will never ever hear clear-cut requirements from armed forces when it comes to local products. They will never tell you an exact number, exact configuration, exact deficiencies, exact date to sign the deal, and so on.... But contrary to this, when it comes to import they will tell you exact 400 ATHOS, 450 T-90, 114 MMRCA, foreign submarine, 6 AWACS, 6 Appaches, 22 apaches, 145 Light Howizers, 72 k Sig riffle, 6 lakhs AK 203..... You just name it..
As far as I know, IAF has given exact numbers for both MWF and AMCA (with riders ofcourse that these jets come at the advertised time).
For MWF they said upto 200.
For AMCA Mk1: 4 squadrons, AMCA Mk2 thereafter.
IAF is currently being headed by ACM Bhadauria who was part of Tejas program. Under him, we've seem IAF take more interest in indigenous systems.

Vamsi

As far as I know, IAF has given exact numbers for both MWF and AMCA (with riders ofcourse that these jets come at the advertised time).
For MWF they said upto 200.
For AMCA Mk1: 4 squadrons, AMCA Mk2 thereafter.
IAF is currently being headed by ACM Bhadauria who was part of Tejas program. Under him, we've seem IAF take more interest in indigenous systems.
No, they aren't sure about the number of MWFs . Watch Air Chief's interview with Anantha Krishnan , he said that no of MWFs depend on when AMCA arrives and for AMCA Mk-1,it will be 2 Squadrons and for Mk-2 it will be decided when it enters service