Griepen E is still not under production so we can compare it to MWF
It is in the production

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Old news from 24 Nov 2019

‘It is almost as if there is a death wish for the Tejas‘

Equipping the Tejas Mark 1A with Elta‘s ELM-2052 radar will ensure the fighter never carries the world-beating Meteor ‘beyond visual range‘ air-to-air missile.

The MBDA, the European consortium that builds the Meteor, has repeatedly told the Indian Air Force that it would only fit that missile onto a fighter with a European airborne radar.

On October 26, the ministry of defence and the IAF watched from the sidelines as Hindustan Aeronautics signed two contracts with Israel Aerospace Industries which will condemn the Tejas Light Combat Aircraft to a marginal presence in the IAF‘s future fleet.

The contracts signed were for two major avionics systems that will determine the combat capability of an improved Tejas fighter called the Tejas Mark 1A.

One was for the ELM-2052 ‘active electronically scanned array‘ radar, developed by an IAI subsidiary, Elta.

The other was for Elta‘s ‘electronic warfare‘ system.

Choosing an Elta AESA radar for the Tejas Mark 1A, therefore, rules out the Meteor and, with it, any hope that the IAF will buy the Mark 1A in significant numbers.
We are developing Astra Mk2, abhi bhi foreign maal hi chahiye kya?

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
If our UTTAM AESA Radar and Astra missiles are best in the world then we should use them in Tejas if not then there is nothing wrong in importing best Radar and Missiles we can replace them later
Yeah, and put a death nail in those indigenous products. Thanks but no thanks. The attitude of IAF must be dealt with seriously now, we must support and purchase the critical indigenous tech.

Chandragupt Maurya

It’s better to import best parts and use it in Tejas instead of importing 114 new jets with 20-22 billion dollars In MMRCA

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
He maybe a Chinese troll or Xinnie the Pooh himself disguised as a schoolgirl posting here.. As long as he has a point.. let's take it fairly. It took us almost 5 years and Mk1A order is still not signed which doesn't have any major modifications that will impact aerodynamics. For MWF.. we are yet to see a prototype with modifications to the frame and then the actual order will come after years of bureaucratic process. Our best case scenario is the production in 2027 and then by the time we expect MWF to see some action after training and tactics.. it will be atleast 2030. Meanwhile let bat munchers come and help keep us on our toes. Good for us!!
We have pushed back tejas and other indigenous programs for so many years because of the exact point he is making. We have already purchased Rafale for the stop gap, why do we need gripen now? It was also in the race with rafale and rafale has beaten it. Advocating gripen is just beating a dead horse. And advocating gripen instead of Tejas is just pure lobbying.

Chandragupt Maurya

No matter how expensive Tejas gets it will still be Cheaper than Griepen E introducing some modifications in Tejas which will offcourse increase the overall price and buying Tejas instead of buying 114 Foreign jets will still save us a lot of money

BangaliBabu

Best parts like GaN based AESA radar and Meteor missiles Spectra EW etc
Those are not parts, those are systems you are talking about. Parts include landing gears, radome, wind-shield, wings, fuselage, etc. Systems depend on a country's preference/choice and always might not be the best one. And all the best ones within a single body does not guarantee the product will be the best of it's times.

Chandragupt Maurya

Those are not parts, those are systems you are talking about. Parts include landing gears, radome, wind-shield, wings, fuselage, etc. Systems depend on a country's preference/choice and always might not be the best one. And all the best ones within a single body does not guarantee the product will be the best of it's times.
But if Tejas can carry Meteor and AIM-120D along with our indigenous Astra air to air missiles it will be the best

Adrian Corvus

But if Tejas can carry Meteor and AIM-120D along with our indigenous Astra air to air missiles it will be the best
What's with meteor? Come on, you surely seem to think meteor is some god-killer now, don't you? Getting an indigenous weapon and perfecting it is of more worth than buying meteor in thousands for the whole fleet, is it not?

Abhijeet Dey

On 8 July 2014 India & UK signed a deal to procure 384 ASRAAM from MBDA to replace the ageing Matra Magic R550, to be integrated onto the SEPECAT Jaguar strike aircraft.

IAF Arming Su-30s With ASRAAMs, May Standardise Missile Across Fleet

Nepali flag.
Are bhai Troll wagera ho kya.

Astra mk 1 will be the workhorses of IAF.
When Astra Mk 2 comes(2023-2025) it will be as good or better than Meteor.

UTTAM AESA is in the Pipeline and It may not be as good as Israeli ones but we will improve on it. We are relatively bew to AESA so give it a little rest.

janme

Tejas doesn't have very low RCS, stop repeating the same thing again and again guys, Even HVT has confirmed this indirectly in one his tweets, if someone has patience, you can try to find it.

As a matter of fact, one of the very old and knowldegable member Twinblade(PHD holder) said that Composite increases the RCS since they are transparent to the radar waves, that means the waves will invariable hit the engine or pilot which actually increases the RCS.

doreamon

Tejas doesn't have very low RCS, stop repeating the same thing again and again guys, Even HVT has confirmed this indirectly in one his tweets, if someone has patience, you can try to find it.

As a matter of fact, one of the very old and knowldegable member Twinblade(PHD holder) said that Composite increases the RCS since they are transparent to the radar waves, that means the waves will invariable hit the engine or pilot which actually increases the RCS.

Tejas has rcs of 0.5 as per publicly available figure.. i dnt knw whether its official or not.. which i think is goodbif true.. uttam aesa can drtect 2mt sq object frm a distance of 150km . So i think tejas ll be detected much later . If it can lunch bvr missiles like astra mk1 and mk2 ,sfdr, dorby ER in future it ll be quiet competative .

Ur assertion that composites increase rcs is new to me. Sole reasons why composites r used in modern aircraft is to reduce rcs of fighterjets.. metals r cheap .. why on earth composites is used then. I ll nt believe a phd holder is more learned than research establishments around the world... There has to be more to it.

Chandragupt Maurya

Nepali flag.
Are bhai Troll wagera ho kya.

Astra mk 1 will be the workhorses of IAF.
When Astra Mk 2 comes(2023-2025) it will be as good or better than Meteor.

UTTAM AESA is in the Pipeline and It may not be as good as Israeli ones but we will improve on it. We are relatively bew to AESA so give it a little rest.
Bhai main bhi Bhumihar hun or Bihari hun Nepal ka flag shayad location ki wazah se hai ID banate time Nepal mein tha

Chandragupt Maurya

What's with meteor? Come on, you surely seem to think meteor is some god-killer now, don't you? Getting an indigenous weapon and perfecting it is of more worth than buying meteor in thousands for the whole fleet, is it not?
I think it would be better if Tejas can carry both Astra as well as meteor

Chandragupt Maurya

Tejas indeed is a very capable platform and fulfills our requirements but if we modify it further and make a MK1B variant for MMRCA it would be great that’s why I said we can buy western systems to be integrated in Tejas because integration of Meteor will give Tejas an edge over every other aircraft in PAF inventory when it comes to BVR combat