ISRO's Reusable Launch Vehicles

That means it has to glide otherwise it will disintegrate in the atmosphere. If it has disintegrated in the atmosphere then I am little confused.
It was launched successfully at a speed of Mach 5 and landed horizontally but disintegrated because of force due to impact with water surface at surface of water. ISRO will work further over this.
This experiment was HEX-01.
So, there maybe more and better HEXs.
We have to do following things for building a space shuttle.
Hypersonic flight EXperiment (HEX)
Done
Landing EXperiment(LEX)
Bringing shuttle safely(soon will be done).
Return flight EXperiment(REX)
The Reusability test
Scramjet Propulsion EXperiment(SPEX)
Finally, a prototype of powerful space shuttle to get US launch contractors in nightmares. :love:

Neelkanth

i saw this on twitter. ya many news site and ppl are posting GSLV and pslv pic. morons dnt have any idea or dnt dig deep into the subject.Pathetic news media..

well ISRO hasnt updated anything regarding the RLV both on twitter and WEB pager
Yes, intriguing there was no Broadcast either. Doubt if this was just a Civilian Technology test.

Neelkanth

Finally, a prototype of powerful space shuttle to get US launch contractors in nightmares. :love:
Scramjets are a different breed of Engines, the metalurgy required to Ensure "Reuseability" is simply off the Charts and if such a material has been developed or if indeed in some degree of development, that Should make the Hot Core Metal tech of Indigenous Jet engines seem like Child's play. (US Scram Jets also have failed after single use, those in the public records at least)

Akask kumar

It was launched successfully at a speed of Mach 5 and landed horizontally but disintegrated because of force due to impact with water surface at surface of water. ISRO will work further over this.
This experiment was HEX-01.
So, there maybe more and better HEXs.
We have to do following things for building a space shuttle.
Hypersonic flight EXperiment (HEX)
Done
Landing EXperiment(LEX)
Bringing shuttle safely(soon will be done).
Return flight EXperiment(REX)
The Reusability test
i think todays flight itself would have sent the nightmare to US.because they know capability and success rate of ISRO. ISRO ke ghar der hai andher nahi.,ISRO has accomplished all the missions so far.

Neelkanth

i think todays flight itself would have sent the nightmare to US.because they know capability and success rate of ISRO. ISRO ke ghar der hai andher nahi.,ISRO has accomplished all the missions so far.
That is a bit of an Overstatement by a mile or certain lightyears.

Akask kumar

That is a bit of an Overstatement by a mile or certain lightyears.
NASA is busy with their ORION mission which is a space capsule.they have abandoned any space shuttle/craft mission.ORION mission is a rocket dependent - old school space capsule type module brought quickly in to bring US capability to get back into space and to counter their dependency on Russia -soyuz capsule..

so todays mission will send them nightmares.

i found this.on the page..

Air Breathing (AB) propulsion along with Reusable Launch Vehicle technology is the key for low cost access to Space. Unlike conventional rockets, Air Breathing Propulsion system makes use of atmospheric oxygen for combustion thus resulting in substantial improvement in payload fraction and reduction in overall cost.

ISRO has taken up a systematic R&D programme for demonstrating stable supersonic combustion through a series of ground tests on the Air-Breathing Propulsion Technology. The flight demonstration of this technology is planned with Advanced Technology Vehicle (ATV).

Towards Scramjet flight testing, mission studies have been carried out and feasibility established. Qualification and flight model of the Scramjet Engine Avionics Module with High Frequency Data Acquisition Units and its sub-systems were realised. Test and evaluation of these packages for flight were also successfully carried out.

Functional tests of the ignition system of scramjet with different mixture ratios of Gaseous Hydrogen – Gaseous Oxygen were carried out. High pressure gaseous hydrogen flow control module and a module for operating the start valves of Fuel Feed System for scramjet engine flight testing were realised.

The scramjet engine frame assembly for flight and the flow duct segments made out of super alloy Inconel-718 have been realised. Qualification test to demonstrate sliding capability of scramjet engine and vehicle interface was successfully carried out. The Scramjet Characterisation flight is targeted in 2014.

THEY ARE DEVELOPING SCRAMJET ENGINE TOO. SO SCRAMJET TO GET TO THE EDGE OF ATMOSPHERE AND SEMI CRYOGENIC FROM THERE TO SPACE..
WHY ELSE ISRO WILL DEVELOP SCRAMJET THEN
ATV and RLV are different projects. It says, ABP along with RLV are keys to cheap access to space.

For ABP , it will be installed on ATV
and SCE200 on RLV.

Scramjet cannot produce thrust beyond 100kms of altitude . Hence making it limited to suborbital utilization.

Most probably scramjet will be used in Qasi ballistic missiles as fractional orbital bombardment system (FOBS) . Or just for space tourists not exceeding 100kms of altitude.

I really want that some of chaps of indian origin that are in NASA earning dollah will see this and think ... Hmm

You see joy and team work done at isro its really good to see and watch . its Indian and each with its own .

We really need guard this jewel well and make it grow more and more. Also those overseas Indian NASA chaps ... Private ventures in india ... Can deal within industry and export to usa for dollah !! Don't keep that gut feeling ...

Akask kumar

ATV and RLV are different projects. It says, ABP along with RLV are keys to cheap access to space.

For ABP , it will be installed on ATV
and SCE200 on RLV.

Scramjet cannot produce thrust beyond 100kms of altitude . Hence making it limited to suborbital utilization.

Most probably scramjet will be used in Qasi ballistic missiles or hypersonic cruise missile. Or just for space tourists not exceeding 100kms of altitude.
so u mean this RLV will use only semi cryogenic/liquid engines right from the ground .

RAMJET SCRAMJET can't propel anything from zero. They do only work while in motion. So for initial propulsion you do definitely need a liquid or solid propulsion unit.

Neelkanth

NASA is busy with their ORION mission which is a space capsule.they have abandoned any space shuttle/craft mission.ORION mission is a rocket dependent - old school space capsule type module brought quickly in to bring US capability to get back into space and to counter their dependency on Russia -soyuz capsule..

so todays mission will send them nightmares.
They (US) had thrown Considerable amount of testing and money for Scram jet Development. Nasa X-43 was an example and they have been carrying out tests for the last 40 years on actual flying prototypes. We have Just begun. Boeing's X-51 Program began testing in late 2006, and They have completed a full program on it.

No Nightmares there, Also US Aerospace research is Primarily Carried out by US Air force, Which has access probably the Best research facilities, Huge Military industrial Complex and a Black budget of $0.4 Trillion (That's India's 20% of GDP) . I would draw conclusions rather cautiously.

Here is something from Wiki :
On 1 May 2013, the X-51 performed its first fully successful flight test on its fourth test flight. The X-51 and booster detached from a B-52H and was powered to Mach 4.8 (3,200 mph; 5,100 km/h) by the booster rocket. It then separated cleanly from the booster and ignited its own engine. The test aircraft then accelerated to Mach 5.1 (3,400 mph; 5,400 km/h) and flew for 210 seconds until running out of fuel and plunging into the Pacific Ocean off Point Mugu for over six minutes of total flight time; this test was the longest air-breathing hypersonic flight. Researchers collected telemetry data for 370 seconds of flight. The test signified the completion of the program. The Air Force Research Laboratory believes the successful flight will serve as research for practical applications of hypersonic flight, such as a missile, reconnaissance, transport, and air-breathing first stage for a space system.​

But I am not understanding at all the fuss of making using of RAMJET propulsion in the first place for RLV. What good it would be of? You could definitely work on this mechanism, but associating it with RLV is confusing in itself.

No

(Most probably)
stage 1 : boosted
stage 2 : semi cryogenic

For scramjet to function there are two conditions:

1) Should be already travelling at good speed to ignite
2) Enough oxygen must be there to support the ignition

Contradiction: Booster will already attain enough speed to leave the atmosphere , and once it is 100 kms ASL, scramjet is not going to function.

Akask kumar

They (US) had thrown Considerable amount of testing and money for Scram jet Development. Nasa X-43 was an example and they have been carrying out tests for the last 40 years on actual flying prototypes. We have Just begun. Boeing's X-51 Program began testing in late 2006, and They have completed a full program on it.

No Nightmares there, Also US Aerospace research is Primarily Carried out by US Air force, Which has access probably the Best research facilities, Huge Military industrial Complex and a Black budget of $0.4 Trillion (That's India's 20% of GDP) . I would draw conclusions rather cautiously.

Here is something from Wiki :
On 1 May 2013, the X-51 performed its first fully successful flight test on its fourth test flight. The X-51 and booster detached from a B-52H and was powered to Mach 4.8 (3,200 mph; 5,100 km/h) by the booster rocket. It then separated cleanly from the booster and ignited its own engine. The test aircraft then accelerated to Mach 5.1 (3,400 mph; 5,400 km/h) and flew for 210 seconds until running out of fuel and plunging into the Pacific Ocean off Point Mugu for over six minutes of total flight time; this test was the longest air-breathing hypersonic flight. Researchers collected telemetry data for 370 seconds of flight. The test signified the completion of the program. The Air Force Research Laboratory believes the successful flight will serve as research for practical applications of hypersonic flight, such as a missile, reconnaissance, transport, and air-breathing first stage for a space system.​
ya i know about their X series mission,the craft was unstable , i think they have abandoned it and will us the technology in developing hypersonic missiles. X-51 looke like to me a hypersonic missiles thats not a space craft.
plus the virgin space craft was also a failure..

RLV will take 15 yrs of time and thats huge but good thing is we have taken a step forward in the area. But dnt think we have to wait 15 years to go n space .. to fill the gap we have our SPACE capsule almost developed,all we need is powerful rocket.

Akask kumar

No

(Most probably)

Contradiction: Booster will already attain enough speed to leave the atmosphere , and once it is 100 kms ASL, scramjet is not going to function.
thnx. for clearing my doubt.Ya now i think what you said is correct.. it will use semi-cryogenic liquid engine. using kerosen and liquid O2 as fuel.

Akask kumar

No

(Most probably)

i hope these boosters will be cheaper because thats not reusable .in this prototype we used one small booster as the prototype was down scale verion of original rlv.

dnt you think that we need larger and more number of boosters for the Main RLV , raising the cost of launch.Plus making it to look like US version of space shuttle without central orange tank

i hope these boosters will be cheaper because thats not reusable .in this prototype we used one small booster as the prototype was down scale verion of original rlv.

dnt you think that we need larger and more number of boosters for the Main RLV , raising the cost of launch.Plus making it to look like US version of space shuttle without central orange tank

yes it will take another 15 years to develop the new boosters, new shuttle and new engines to be accommodated. It is just a trial whether such kind of design is successful or not.

With larger scale, the parameters will be large, they would require better fuel for booster.
And most probably, they will recover the booster too as it will be jettisoned under 100kms ..

Lets see what will be the final design.

Anupu

I think these images will make the picture clearer on what ISRO plans to make....