ISRO General News and Updates

Anirbann Datta

Eternal Flame
one question how to use our Free GPS on my Phone...i mean Free without internet connection..is there a way

i know other methods like download maps and use..but i m asking other method without download map
You can use GPS without Internet connection, but for that the must has inbuilt GPS receiver rather than cellular tower location triangulation ( A-GPS) style receiver. ( almost all High/Top end phones have such GPS receiver,) you don't need internet connection for those, but you need updated inbuilt maps. And also a clear sky :hehe:

If you just need to install the maps of the locations then you can use GPS without Internet On. most of the Maps services offer offline navigation now days. And most of the smartphones are coming with GPS Receiver.

Anupu

I really think the telecom industry in India is useless... GPS without Internet because internet is terrible thing to do, right brothers :facepalm:

3deffect

If you just need to install the maps of the locations then you can use GPS without Internet On. most of the Maps services offer offline navigation now days. And most of the smartphones are coming with GPS Receiver.
currently i m using offline GPS..and downloaded all india map.

No problem, it'll take time but a start to kick out foreign industry and promoting our industry at least.

Operation of ‘Indian GPS’ will take some more time: Industry officials
Industry officials says that there is still time to use the Indian GPS' as the Indian navigation system has to be formally declared operational and certain checking and cross-checking still needs to be done.
By IANS
TAGS: ISRO

The common man in India has to wait for some more time to use the “Indian GPS’ as the Indian navigation system has to be formally declared operational after checking and cross-checking, industry officials said. They also said government mandating the use of the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS) will act as a booster for the domestic manufacturing of satellite signal receivers as a part of theMake in India initiative.
India on Thursday put into orbit its seventh navigation satellite — IRNSS-1G — and joined a select group of space-faring nations with their own satellite navigation system. Simply put, the IRNSS is similar to the global positioning system (GPS) of the US, Glonass of Russia, and Galileo of Europe as well as China’s Beidou.
According to India Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the applications of IRNSS are: terrestrial, aerial and marine navigation, vehicle tracking and fleet management, terrestrial navigation for hikers and travelers, disaster management, integration with mobile phones, mapping and geodetic data capture and visual and voice navigation for drivers.
“The Indian system provides positional accuracy of 10 metres. For civilian usage to bloom and the cost to come down, more manufacturers have to start making the navigation signal receivers. That will happen once the IRNSS is formally declared operational,” A.S. Ganeshan, retired program director of ISRO’s Satellite Navigation Program, told IANS.
He said the satellite navigation system comprises three segments — space (satellites), ground (ground systems) and user (receivers). The Indian space agency has to test all the three segments thoroughly before IRNSS could be declared an operational navigation system. Ganeshan said once the IRNSS is ready, there will be greater development of application software that would be useful for different segments.
The IRNSS will provide two types of services – standard positioning service and restricted service. The former is provided to all users and the latter is an encrypted service for authorized users. Once the system is fully operational, India will not have to face of risk of the absence of satellite signals at critical times as the existing systems are owned by other countries. While the defence forces would get the IRNSS signal receivers from the manufacturers, the challenge for deeper penetration of the Indian navigation system depends on the makers of signal receivers.
“The Indian government should mandate the use of indigenous satellite navigation systems by various government agencies and the emergency services like ambulance and others so that the signal receiver makers are enthused to get into accelerated production mode,” Ganeshan added.
He said once the mandatory usage is there, more software applications could then be developed, thereby widening the usage. Agreeing with him, S. Purushotham, director, , told IANS: “If there is a mandate then it will give a big fillip for the receiver makers’ Make in India efforts.”
Nevertheless, Accord Software will get into making the IRNSS receivers as the company is confident that the Indian navigation system will soon be declared operational, Purushotham remarked. The Bengaluru-based Accord Software clocked a turnover of around Rs.100 crore ($15 million) last year and has around 400 people on its rolls, Purushotham said.
@SKC So, initially receivers will be made by Accord.
Later devices for civilians may also be available.

“We are the only company to develop the receivers for IRNSS. We have delivered to ISRO and other agencies through ISRO for use in land and marine applications,” he said. Speaking about the the cost for the common man, Purushotham said it would depend on the volumes though the equipment will be priced competitively with that of GPS receivers.
According to Ganeshan, it will not be right to compare the seven-satellite IRNSS with that of the US GPS as the latter system consists of 24 satellites.
“The Indian system should be given some time before comparisons could be made,” Ganeshan said.
”India will not be content with the constellation of seven navigation satellites and it will launch more such satellites,” he added.

@Indx TechStyle You are the lead on this one. Please keep a track of Smartphone app of IRNSS and let us know. I can't wait to delete google maps and use ours.
Try ISRO's SAKAAR App for study.
Wait for few months for NAVIC, ISRO will use it, check it, then will cross check it, then, a company called Accord software will make it's receiver, then, it will be checked if it's suitable for armed sources, if not, more satellites will be launched, then, mass production of receivers will be undertaken and
First, Government and Armed Forces will kick out GPS and Google Map from Service.
Then, after some time, it will be available in cellphones.
Things aren't done in one day.
It's accuracy is just 10 metres. So, ISRO will launch more satellites for better navigation.

I really think the telecom industry in India is useless... GPS without Internet because internet is terrible thing to do, right brothers :facepalm:
Internet users in India have reached 35% of population from 15-16%.
It will be 45%+ by 2018.
We have already more than 46.2 Crore internet users (respectable for a developing country) which can hit 58 to 60 crores in 2018 and ~65 crore in 2020.

ISRO app to protect heritage, aid architects
Architects and real estate developers who plan to construct buildings close to national monuments can soon download a new mobile app named Smarac Citizen, which will grant them construction permits within a few minutes.
Based on a proposal from the National Monuments Authority (NMA), the app has been developed by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), containing the maps of 3,686 Centrally-protected monuments across the country.
Earlier, the NMA had to send teams to the areas close to historic monuments, where developers sought construction permits.
The teams had to ensure that permits were granted only to projects beyond 300 metres from the outer boundary of a monument.
‘Process made easy’
“The process — from application for permission to survey — took at least five months,” said Navneet Soni, who heads the NMA.
“But now, we have empowered people with the app, which will help them get permits at the click of a button.”
Apart from easing the process of obtaining construction permits, the app will help the NMA keep a tab on encroachments around monuments.
AAI approval
“The app will tell you how far new constructions are from any particular protected monument,” said Mr. Soni.
“For example, if someone wants to build a skyscraper in front of the Qutub Minar, the app will inform us and we will not let that happen.”
For Anupam Bansal, a Delhi-based planner at Abard Architects that deals with institutional constructions, the app will help decide the height of the buildings according to the air rules set by the Airports Authority.
“It will also give you the elevation — the height of the site with respect to mean sea level. It will help architects not only for the NMA approval, but also for the approval of the Airports Authority of India.”
That's too a good thing in planning and building smart cities. :)

For STUDSAT -2
Bangalore students reach for the stars, make satellites for ISRO
  • Hemanth CS, Hindustan Times, Bengaluru|
  • Updated: Apr 28, 2016 18:41 IST

Under ISRO’s student satellite programme, the young engineers design, fabricate, test and deliver the integrated unit for launch.(Studsat)
Inside one of the laboratories of a city engineering college, a group of students are hard at work. They are building two satellites that will hopefully go into orbit as successors to a miniature craft launched into space by another set of students in 2010.
STUDSAT-2 is in the works under a programme recognized by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). Costing almost Rs 1.6 crores – raised by the Visvesvaraya Technological University and seven colleges from where the present-batch of students are drawn – the mission’s objective is to demonstrate communication between two mini-satellites.
Chosen through a slew of tough written tests, practicals and interviews, the students belong to seven colleges: Nitte Meenakshi Institute of Technology, NMAM Institute of Technology, MS Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Sri Siddhartha Institute of Technology, RNS Institute of Technology and Nagarjuna College of Engineering and Technology. Five of the colleges are located in Bengaluru, one is in Ujire and and the other in Tumkur.
Under ISRO’s student satellite programme, the young engineers design, fabricate, test and deliver the integrated unit for launch.
“By early May, we will be submitting the project design review to the ISRO team. Once the review is done, we will have to sign an MoU with the space agency that the satellite will be handed over to them within one year,” pointed out Dr S Sandya, project director of STUDSAT-2 and head of Department of Electronics and Communication at the Nittee Meenakshi Institute of Technology.
ISRO will then set the launch window, which is likely in late 2016 or early 2017. The satellite will be launched by ISRO’s launch vehicle.
The space organisation says the 2010 launch of the first craft was a success. “The STUDSAT’s primary objective was to promote space technology in educational institutions and encourage research and development in miniaturised satellites among others. The satellite performed all the objectives,” said DP Karnik, an ISRO spokesman.
Buoyed by the success, the current batch of students is busy giving shape to their dreams.
“After completion of my engineering course, though I got an offer from a private company, I opted to be part of the STUDSAT team as the challenges involved in this project are far greater. Moreover working here is like being part of a startup where one is involved in each and every aspect of work,” said Sandesh R Hegde, a team member.
“The generic line is that everybody goes to IT or the corporate world but we want to do something different. The exposure here is unique and cannot be experienced elsewhere,” said Divyanshu Sahay, who joined the team in 2014.

Anupu

Internet users in India have reached 35% of population from 15-16%.
It will be 45%+ by 2018.
We have already more than 46.2 Crore internet users (respectable for a developing country) which can hit 58 to 60 crores in 2018 and ~65 crore in 2020.
I am talking about speed, we all know yaar how much the telcos screw up at giving a decent service, 3G never felt like 3G there and call drops.

Airtel 4G.
Yet it's a bit too costly. :p
I understood what you're saying.
Solution:
Connecting all parts of India with broadband network and several other measures that government will take.
There was a slow program called Broadband India now, running fast as Digital India.
After implementation of project, problem will be solved.

Here’s The Story Behind India’s Space Program And How ISRO Took Us To Mars:

India succesfully launched an unmanned autonomous vehicle to Mars two years ago. It entered the Mars orbit in the first try and became a groundbreaking achievement for scientists at NASA.

Ritu Karidhal, Deputy Operations Director of the mission, spoke at a TEDx Talks (Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsT0YIqwnpJCM-mx7-gSA4Q) Gateway about her experience during the entire mission and it is quite inspiring.

Source: http://www.storypick.com/tedx-talk-mars-orbiter-mission/
IMG_20160429_145009.JPG

:india::india::india::india:

I think the resolution has been improved from 0.8 m to 0.65 m, that's all I know.

Can you give some quick pointers? how many satellites in the constellation? how many dedicated satellites for military use? what is the breakup of military satellites into its constituent departments (army, navy, airforce)? I believe navy already had its own dedicated satellite which was a separate project? will this Navik constellation offer commercial bandwidth to desi navigation consumer products in India, and in neighboring countries? details, details!
Although @Indx TechStyle already replied you query, I would like to add a few point from my side. IRNSS or NAVIC is a constellation of 7 satellites designed to replace GPS in India. Its sole purpose is to provide directional and navigational assistance. The satellite you are talking about, which is used by IN is a communicational satellite.
Banner_1.jpg

Pic: Satellite positioning of IRNSS

As of now IRNSS would only work in India and in an area of 1500 km from its border. Means it would be able to direct you in eastern and North eastern part of Pakistan. Western, North western and Northern part of Bangladesh. Almost the whole of Nepal and few areas in Southern Tibet and Northern Sri Lanka. It would provide basically two types of services. One is general, which could be used by anyone using a compatible transponder. Another is restricted which is a paid service and its primary user would be Defence and internal security. Its accuracy in general services are stated to be 20m, whereas for restricted service part it is said to be as accurate as 5metres (can't confirm as of now).

For a record, all the missiles built by India are IRNSS capable along with GPS and GLONASS.

Navnit Kundu

Pika Hu Akbarrr!!
As of now IRNSS would only work in India and in an area of 1500 km from its border. Means it would be able to direct you in eastern and North eastern part of Pakistan. Western, North western and Northern part of Bangladesh.
Area of 1500 sq km or radius of 1500 km?

In both cases though, it would comfortably cover entire Pakistan, plus Iran, and cover 1/5 th of Kazakhstan on the top. And it would surely cover whole of Bangladesh as it is cocooned between the extremities of India. There is no logic behind it covering only a few parts of Bangladesh as it is covered by India on all sides if it's covering 1/3 of Australia, and whole of China.

The coverage which you are claiming seems to coincide with the coverage of GAGAN project, (which is a satellite augmentation project) not Navic. Here's GAGAN :

Here's the coverage of Navic as per Wikipedia :

kr9

In both cases though, it would comfortably cover entire Pakistan and cover 1/5 th of Kazakhstan, and Afghanistan. And it would surely cover whole of Bangladesh as it is cocooned between the extremities of India. There is no logic behind it covering only a few parts of Bangladesh as it is covered by India on all sides if it's covering 1/3 of Australia, and whole of China.

The coverage which you are claiming seems to coincide with the coverage of GAGAN project, not Navik. Here's GAGAN :

Bittu ji, jara confusion dur karo. @Indx TechStyle
I think the range is only in the subcontinent. Modi in his speech on the Navik's 1G launch particularly stated that India could allow commercial use for the SAARC countries if they are interested in it.
He says an area of 1500 sq.kms.

Bookmark:-- 18 minutes12 seconds.

In both cases though, it would comfortably cover entire Pakistan, plus Iran, and cover 1/5 th of Kazakhstan on the top. And it would surely cover whole of Bangladesh as it is cocooned between the extremities of India. There is no logic behind it covering only a few parts of Bangladesh as it is covered by India on all sides if it's covering 1/3 of Australia, and whole of China.

The coverage which you are claiming seems to coincide with the coverage of GAGAN project, (which is a satellite augmentation project) not Navic. Here's GAGAN :

Thanks for the post. I've been looking for these coverage maps. This is what been mentioned in IRNSS programme site.

IRNSS is an independent regional navigation satellite system being developed by India. It is designed to provide accurate position information service to users in India as well as the region extending up to 1500 km from its boundary, which is its primary service area. An Extended Service Area lies between primary service area and area enclosed by the rectangle from Latitude 30 deg South to 50 deg North, Longitude 30 deg East to 130 deg East.
May be you would be able to draw out the coverage area out of it.

@sayareakd The image which you have posted and the one which I have posted are the same. Mine is plotted on a flat surface, yours takes into account the curvature of the earth and line of sight from the satellite. But the area that both the images cover is the same, if you notice carefully it covers 1/3 of Africa and 1/3 of Australia in both images.

It seems the area between the inner circle (primary service area) and outer circle is being referred to as extended service area.

If I simply plot a radius of 1500km from the 4 extremities of India we get roughly this much primary coverage area :

which is basically this :

If we add the extended service area we get this :

So it's settled then.
I have added more of Europe.......