can anybody tell what is the cost of INSAS, MCIWS, M4
when India ready to buy foreign guns with high price tag ,why cant we make our own guns with decent expenditure which is fraction of foreign gun cost and why Indian products should always be cheap and ugly to look .If Excalibur is reliable we should make it beautiful and light weight .and finally its indian made gun for indian needs.
Sir,
Contrary to what most people think excalibur seem to have direct impingement gas system,which means less reliable if not cleaned properly.
Furthermore, the Excalibur incorporates a “direct gas-tapping angle”, which reduces its recoil, or the “jump” when it is fired.http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2015/09/army-prepares-for-crucial-trails-as.html
FN’s contract with the Army is $77 million for the first 120,000 rifles, which works out to a bottom line of just under $642 per M4A1.
http://www.guns.com/2013/02/26/fn-lands-army-m4-contract-underbids-colt-remington/
"With the Excalibur priced at about Rs 60,000 each, 6 lakh rifles would cost about Rs 3,000 crore."http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2015/09/army-prepares-for-crucial-trails-as.html
1 US Dollar equals
65.18 Indian Rupee;approximate 65 rupee.
FN m4a1 cost per rifle :41730 Indian rupee
Excalibur cost per rifle : 60000 Indian rupee
I would like a fresh RFI issued , let drdo mciws/excalibur compete against indian private companies(in joint venture with foreign firm 49%FDI) may the best rifle win.We will have make in India, irrespective of which one wins.Some people say ,it will be mere assembling of assault rifles by private firm or producing the rifle on foreign technology,but that's how you start in private industry.As private companies will start getting orders it will have an incentive to invest in its own R&D and introduce fully indigenous products.Look at bajaj for example ,at first they used to import from Kawasaki and assemble and sell it in India ,but as they spent some time earn some profit ,knowledge,experience they were able to design and produce their own vehicles independent of Kawasaki,so collaboration with foreign firm is practical and need at start.
The essence of all this being the need to have "competition" ,monopoly of govt psu are the main reason of their inefficiency and lacklustre approach.
There is no such thing as made for India as per Indian need.A good rifle is good and bad is bad irrespective of place.A tavor perform equally well in desert of Israel,cold climate of Ukraine,dense jungle and humid climate of Vietnam and of course in our INDIA .
I would like Indian army to adopt bullpup rifle,as it offer long barrel in shorter rifle it will be as good in cqb as it will be in long range engagement.Tavor with its long stroke piston is among most reliable assault rifle out there.There is also a myth being spread that all these rifle are very complicated its not .
A disassembled Tavor and kel tec RDB ,see the simple big parts easy to assemble and disassemble.
Some people feel that people drool over tavor because it's cool,yes,it is cool, but then it is an awesome rifle in design,ergonomics,reliability,accuracy the list goes on.I wish we could licence produce Tavor someday in 6.8.
When I was in the military (airborne infantry), I was issued many,many weapons- from the venerable M14 to the M4. Upon getting out and entering the private sector, I fell in love with the Tavor. It simply addresses many issues the M4 had, particularly in the urban combat category.
The M4 is direct impingement (DI), whereas the Tavor uses a piston system, which is generally considered more reliable than DI. The weapon's "guts" (similar in design to an AK or Galil) are both easily accessible from a trap door in the rear, requiring a few seconds to 'combat clean' carbon and debris off with a rag and a spritz of oil. As far as tavor "jamming", I've put thousands of rounds in them without any malfunctions short of a light strike on a hard primer and the occasional double feed from blank ammunition. The M4, though able to run reliably soaked in CLP, suffers far worse.
The rifle takes a 16 inch barrel and somehow still manages to be smaller than an M4 with a 13-14 inch barrel. Optimum use of the 5.56mms capabilities come from utilizing longer barrels, 16-18 being the best range. The rifle is very, very short. It makes the UGG boot SCAR, M4 and (vomits) G36 look archaically long by comparison. Shooting from car? While driving, no less. Hallway fight? bring it. 300m or less? Please. 600m is easily doable, I've stretched to 750 on steel with the IDF standard 1x M21 sight, well past 5.56's standard range.
Tavor is heavier than the M4, but you'd never know it by picking one up. Since all the weight is in the rear, it feels very natural to shoulder and can be held in the same position almost indefinitely without discomfort. Unlike the center-front heavy M4, center heavy AUG or the clumsily weighted FN2000 or FAMAS, the Tavor actually feels good to shoot from standing, kneeling and modified positions. It does however, feel clumsy on a shooting bench. It wasn't designed for, on or around shooting benches, so that makes sense.
The magazine can be released with the firing hand without ever taking the hand off the pistol grip. By rocking back the thumb, you can activate the release catch for the magazine, placing a fresh one in and not even having to use the charging handle or bolt release, provided you left one round in the chamber. I guess this is a good time to mention that you don't even need the release in the rear if you have no rounds left and just want to chamber a fresh mag. You can use the charging handle if it is more comfortable. The magazine well was put so close to the pistol grip due to the fact that even in the dark, your hands will generally find each other with minimal effort. It was actually a very intuitive design feature.I have taught and attended courses/exercises where operators/owners of M4 carbine and similar rifles we're stuck on the notion that the Bullpups are hard to reload. After challenging to friendly competition, they received their humble pie.
Tavor triggers are heavy, in the US market, this is a 'flaw'. However, stock military rifle triggers are heavy, including the M4 Trigger system. Remember, tavor was designed for the Israeli fighting man and woman, who despite the superb military record, are still comprised largely of conscripts. The rifle had to be made dummy proof, and a heavy trigger assists in that. There have been times on urban courses where I didn't have my safety activated while running the course. At first, I was more or less penalized for this until I demonstrated that the trigger system is fairly stout by comparison to some of the other rifles. This gave me a bit of an advantage, as a trigger under stress conditons tends to be yanked regardless.
The Tavor suffers in aftermarket parts, particularly compared to the M4/AR series, the barbie of rifles. However, you more or less find yourself adopting a minimalist mentality after a while. Short of a light and sight, the only accessory I use is a sling.
If the M4-AR is the top heavy ,temperamental cheerleader who likes to go shopping and stay meticulously clean, the Tavor is the tomboy with a big butt, who probably plays field hockey/volleyball and likes to forego the mall for camping or mudding with the boys, though she still cleans up nicely and has a look no one else has.
I for one like tomboys.
https://www.quora.com/Israel-Defens...ers-think-of-the-Tavor-rifle-IMI-Tavor-TAR-21