India's Moon Exploration Program

Dunno but having hopes that it can be revived. Miracles still happen.
awww..
So according to the tweet...its tilted..
hmmm...
Some ex scientist guy on TV was saying they found Some SENSOR flashing a value "40" or something for so long without any updates coming from it..(not sure if I recalled it correctly) but yes it was a talk about some issue with the sensor.

afako

Hindufying India
ISRO has its own deep space network. But it has antennas only located in Bangalore.. unlike the US which has such antennas located all over the world..
The ideal global IDSN would be Fiji island in Pacific Ocean, Bangalore in Indian Ocean and East Coast of Brazil covering Atlantic Ocean.

This is just my estimate without any scientific study. It should cover the entire globe with 35m Antennas.

Hiranyaksha

Foul play cannot be rejected. But does that mean even our other assets are at risk ?
CARTOSAT and then we also had RISAT.

Why so serious?

Hours After Chandrayaan-2 Lander Goes Silent, NASA Says 40% Lunar Missions Failed in Last 60 Years
From 1958 to 2019, India as well as the US, the USSR (now Russia), Japan, the European Union, China and Israel launched different lunar missions — from orbiters, landers and flyby (orbiting the Moon, landing on the Moon and flying by the Moon).
UPDATED ON: SEPTEMBER 7, 2019, 12:49 PM IST
PTI
File photo

New Delhi: The success ratio of lunar missions undertaken in the last six decades is 60 percent, according to US space agency NASA's 'Moon Fact Sheet'. Of the 109 lunar missions during the period, 61 were successful and 48 had failed, it stated.

In the early hours of Saturday, Indian space agency ISRO's plan to soft-land Chandrayaan-2's Vikram module on the lunar surface did not go as per script.

The lander lost communication with ground stations during its final descent. ISRO officials said, adding that the orbiter of Chandrayaan-2 — second lunar mission — remains heathy and safe.

This year, Israel, too, launched its lunar mission Beresheet in February 2018 but it crash-landed in April.

From 1958 to 2019, India as well as the US, the USSR (now Russia), Japan, the European Union, China and Israel launched different lunar missions — from orbiters, landers and flyby (orbiting the Moon, landing on the Moon and flying by the Moon).

The first mission to the Moon was planned by the US in August 17, 1958, but the launch of Pioneer 0 was unsuccessful.

The first successful mission to the Moon was Luna 1 by the USSR on January 4, 1959. It was also the first 'Moon flyby' mission. The success had come only in the sixth mission.

In a span of a little more than a year, from August 1958 to November 1959, the US and the USSR launched 14 missions.

Of these, only three — Luna 1, Luna 2 and Luna 3 — were successful. All were launched by the USSR.

The Ranger 7 mission launched in July 1964 by the US was the first to take close-up pictures of the Moon.

The first lunar soft landing and first pictures from the lunar surface came from Luna 9, launched by the USSR in January 1966.

Five months later, in May 1966, the US successfully launched a similar mission Surveyor-1.

The Apollo 11 mission was the landmark mission through which humans first stepped on to the lunar surface. The three-crewed mission was headed by Neil Armstrong.

From 1958 to 1979, only the US and the USSR launched Moon missions. In these 21 years, the two countries launched 90 missions. There was a lull in the decade that followed with no lunar missions from 1980-89.

Japan, the European Union, China, India and Israel were late entrants.

Japan launched Hiten, an orbiter mission in January 1990. This was also Japan's first Moon mission. After that, in September 2007, Japan launched Selene, another orbiter mission.

There were six lunar missions from 2000-2009 — Europe (Smart-1), Japan (Selene), China (Chang'e 1), India (Chandrayaan-1) and the US (Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter and LCCROSS).

From 2009-2019, ten missions have been launched of which five have been sent by India, three by the US, and one each by India and Israel.

Since 1990, the US, Japan, India, the European Union, China and Israel launched 19 lunar missions.

MrPresident

Just came across this tweet but I cannot claim the veracity of this handle.

I was thinking the same, we have an orbiter how is it that we cannot take pictures of the landing site. It will take some time for all the details to come out.

Hiranyaksha

I thought that Landers and Rovers on such missions are designed orientation independent.

Check out the link I put up. Blokes any idea on how to upright a lander?

Roshan

Yaar Uss GAYphodey Ko koi maths padhao.

And woh sala CH Fawad Hussain use kuch mat bolna,apna agent hai Pakistan me.Talks gibberish like sending Pakistan into space by 2022.

Infact the CH in his name means exactly what you think.

'Vikram' hasn't crashed, communication channel between orbiter and Lander is still on: Former ISRO Director

Trivandrum (Kerala) [India], Sept 7 (ANI): Former ISRO Director D Sasikumar on Saturday said that the communication loss with "Vikram" lander may not have been due to crash-landing.
"We have to find out from the communication data whether it is a soft landing or it is a crash landing. In my opinion, it is not a crash landing because the communication channel is on between the lander and the orbiter. It should be intact. So, let us hope after the analysis done, we may be able to get the final figure," he said while talking to ANI.
The communication data which is missing is being analysed now, he said.

https://www.aninews.in/news/nationa...-still-on-former-isro-director20190907055530/

aghamarshana

Mitron......naacho

These are global space agencies reacting in last 24 hrs on #Chandrayaan2

America's NASA: you inspired us with your journey

Russia's Glavkosmos: We are proud of ISRO

UAE's space agency: India has proved to be a strategic player https://t.co/4IkjBGSi1N

And my dear brethren, we are triggered at that anpad gawar Fawad and Chutiya Gafoora mocking us!
We WILL do it.

Happy to find amatuers and scientists of Intl community commending us. Even many Britshits are silent this time. Guess they know their aukat now.