Indian Special Forces

Scramjet

Oh ok , Well IAs'SF indeed is going through a tough identity crisis, I really dont think that new sf battalions are going to be respected as sf units by older ones , although there was no central pipeline for whole para sf but older battalion pipelines look defined and good to seprate out talent while I can bet that most personel of new sf units would not have been able to make it to the end of probation in most old units.Hope IA make centralised system and classify mandate of newer unit with support task and prioritise modernisation of older units .

View attachment 167955
I've lost count of how many times y'all have reached at this conclusion. :troll:

Scramjet

You’re missing my point. I’m saying that the maroon beret is used the world over for airborne infantry, it is even the same in the Indian army- there are many airborne qualified infantry/support arms they wear the maroon beret but aren’t SF.

That the Indian ‘SF’ haven’t been able to break away from this conventional legacy and create their own SF identity is what has allowed their capabilities to be stunted and now for conventional units to ‘convert’ themselves into ‘SF’

All these years it was apparent that the IA’s SF being part of the parachute regiment was an issue and look how that has transpired.

When everyone is special, no one is. Things are so bad now that some have to point out that specific battalions are still ‘SF’, because that’s how these things work
Arrey sir ji you just went into the metaphysics of it all. Trust me, Gernails and Babus don't even think that much:bplease:

Anyways, If I'm not wrong, even some Delta operators wear maroon berets (plus the ones who served in the ODAs retain green and the ones who came through 75th Ranger Regt wear sand coloured ones).
Also I believe seal teams and rest of the NSW don't wear berets but marcos do and they used to wear sand berets earlier that they gave up on in mid 2000s, they wear maroon now.

Aspirant847

The cons outweigh the pros. Have we really seen such cross pollination? Have we seen NSG guys going back and elevating the capacities of PARA (SF)? we've seen CAPFs going from SPG and creating changes in their parent units

The downsides of not having a permanent cadre for specialist units like SG and NSG (the former even more so) are immense. How do you ensure institutional learning in that scenario or even proficiency? Within 3 years every single guy that took part in 26/11 was no longer a member of NSG. Contrast this to the top top units in the West- they have a nucleus of highly experienced members (usually NCOs) who have been around for decades in that unit, they ensure progression, standards and above all else continuity. The deputationist model made sense maybe in the 1970s/80s when trained manpower was at a premium and these kind of specialist units were still finding their feet but it should never have become the feature of these units, such outfits demand experience.
about SPG officers going back to their parent organization and not bringing any changes, most of them want to but one man, and that too not even a very senior officer can't do shit. The problem is in the system, in the work culture and in the seniors. At the end of the day the person wanting to bring the change will get fed up and he'll just say ma chudao idc anymore.

jai jaganath

Can I ask what the criterias are upon which they are converting units into SF? Surely they are not doing this based on a whim... right?
No criteria
Everyone wants to be called sf but as a result everyone will be turned into airborne forces
This entire process will result in removal of sf from army
Basically after this entire fiasco it will be better for dfians to assume that we will not have sf in army any more

So now who is our Airborne infantry?
Interesting question isn’t it?

you’d actually have to try pretty hard to make a mess of things as much as the IA is doing. They’ve made few sensible decisions in the last 2 decades when it comes to procurements or re-structuring

Take it with a truckload of salt

Each former Regular Para bns that are now SF have retained 2 company strength soldiers that will be meant for airborne infantry role.
I don’t even know if this is true but it seems to be the kind of nonsense an Indian general would come up with

trust them to do everything a$$ backwards, what other country has SFs outnumber their airborne infantry by a ~10:1 ratio?

it’s so absurd my mind can barely comprehend how far this gone

Take it with a truckload of salt

Each former Regular Para bns that are now SF have retained 2 company strength soldiers that will be meant for airborne infantry role.
Airborne and Special Forces: Reassessing Role, Tasks and Organisations (indiandefencereview.com)

I read about this last night , some idea of having a Hydrid battallion which has both SF and AB part of it

We, however, see that given their likely operational employment, the AB battalions are excessively manpower heavy while the SF battalions lack the requisite manpower to be able to carry out the complete range of missions they may be assigned. It may, therefore, be appropriate to consider a combination of both these types of units and have battalions which consist of two to three AB companies/teams and one to two SF companies/teams each depending on terrain specialization and likely employment ..

Read more at:
http://www.indiandefencereview.com/...s-reassessing-role-tasks-and-organisations/2/

Is that what's happening here? If so, then it's a bit better than outright conversion from AB to SF.

Interesting read..

If they continue along this path, eventually AB will be converted/merged into SF & all Para Regiment to be considered SOF capable with hybrid battalions of SF/AB (Tier-2). Seems like they have some other plans, perhaps they're creating Tier-1 SMUs beyond the politics of Para Reg (but any news of this is kept a close secret for now atleast)

With added emphasis on Special Forces, the army is set to change the face of war (forceindia.net)

about SPG officers going back to their parent organization and not bringing any changes, most of them want to but one man, and that too not even a very senior officer can't do shit. The problem is in the system, in the work culture and in the seniors. At the end of the day the person wanting to bring the change will get fed up and he'll just say ma chudao idc anymore.
I said the opposite. SPG guys have gone back to their parent organisations and created positive changes. A number of the specialist units raised by CAPFs in recent years (CoBRA, SSG, VSG etc) have done so with significant input from former SPG deputees. IIRC a number of states/cities have also had units rained by IPS officers that served in SPG.

NoobWannaLearn

Airborne and Special Forces: Reassessing Role, Tasks and Organisations (indiandefencereview.com)

I read about this last night , some idea of having a Hydrid battallion which has both SF and AB part of it

We, however, see that given their likely operational employment, the AB battalions are excessively manpower heavy while the SF battalions lack the requisite manpower to be able to carry out the complete range of missions they may be assigned. It may, therefore, be appropriate to consider a combination of both these types of units and have battalions which consist of two to three AB companies/teams and one to two SF companies/teams each depending on terrain specialization and likely employment ..

Read more at:
http://www.indiandefencereview.com/...s-reassessing-role-tasks-and-organisations/2/

Is that what's happening here? If so, then it's a bit better than outright conversion from AB to SF.

Interesting read..

If they continue along this path, eventually AB will be converted/merged into SF & all Para Regiment to be considered SOF capable with hybrid battalions of SF/AB (Tier-2). Seems like they have some other plans, perhaps they're creating Tier-1 SMUs beyond the politics of Para Reg (but any news of this is kept a close secret for now atleast)

With added emphasis on Special Forces, the army is set to change the face of war (forceindia.net)
Too much hopium if I keep this hope ima be disappointed again