Khagesh
http://idrw.org/wont-join-navy-again-cannot-get-justice-there-says-former-ins-arihant-officer/
After his career was sabotaged by a vice admiral to promote his own son-in-law forcing him to quit the service, nuclear submarine reactor specialist Commander SS Luthra says he would not join the Navy again as he does not hope to get justice there. He chose to quit the white uniform of the Navy this April and is working for a private sector firm and shuffles between Kochi and Pune for his job requirement. “I would not join the Navy again even if I am asked to because I cannot get justice there. The officer involved in the case still has deep clout there and I would not want to go through the humiliation once again,” Luthra told Mail Today in an interview from Kochi. The tribunal while slapping a fine of Rs 5 lakh on the vice admiral has directed the navy to consider Luthra afresh for promotion to the rank of a captain and give him all his due pension and other benefits. One of the rare nuclear reactor trained officers in Russia, Luthra rues the fact that he would not be able to use his knowledge about submarine reactors in future again. “Because of these factors, all my experience and knowledge would go waste. If we take rough estimates, the navy and the country had invested around US$ 8 lakh (Rs 5.2 crore) on my training alone but that would not be of any use now,” he said. He misses what he used to do in the Navy but says, “Since my area of specialisation is very niche, I cannot do anything related to it in civilian sector. That is something which I regret as I cannot work in the field of nuclear reactors – something for which the country had invested in me and that is the biggest loss,” he said. On the tribunal judgment indicting vice admiral PK Chatterjee for favouring his son-in-law commander AV Agashe by writing him and many of his colleagues off in service records, Luthra said the plan seemed that he was trying to protect his son-in-law to ensure that he rises to become at least a vice admiral. “Three batches before us and three batches after us have been written off and he is the only one to have been elevated to ensure that he remains the only one to be chosen from till the rank of vice admiral,” Luthra alleged. Luthra’s lawyer Ankur Chhibber expressed hope that the judgment delivered by the tribunal would deter officers from indulging in favouritism and respect and dignity of officers is maintained in the service. He said other officers also who had been trained along with him on handling nuclear submarine reactors would probably be leaving the service in coming years slowly and suggested that this would also impact the country’s capability to handle any mishap involving nuclear submarine reactors. Considered to be an ace in all the fields that he was trained in, Luthra was also the chief instructor of Navy school where officers are trained to handle nuclear reactors of the force. Commander SS Luthra was one of the 11 specialist officers trained in Russia for handling nuclear submarine reactors of INS Arihant and INS Chakra – the two strategic submarines in the Navy.
idrw.org .Read more at India No 1 Defence News Website http://idrw.org/wont-join-navy-again-cannot-get-justice-there-says-former-ins-arihant-officer/ .
After his career was sabotaged by a vice admiral to promote his own son-in-law forcing him to quit the service, nuclear submarine reactor specialist Commander SS Luthra says he would not join the Navy again as he does not hope to get justice there. He chose to quit the white uniform of the Navy this April and is working for a private sector firm and shuffles between Kochi and Pune for his job requirement. “I would not join the Navy again even if I am asked to because I cannot get justice there. The officer involved in the case still has deep clout there and I would not want to go through the humiliation once again,” Luthra told Mail Today in an interview from Kochi. The tribunal while slapping a fine of Rs 5 lakh on the vice admiral has directed the navy to consider Luthra afresh for promotion to the rank of a captain and give him all his due pension and other benefits. One of the rare nuclear reactor trained officers in Russia, Luthra rues the fact that he would not be able to use his knowledge about submarine reactors in future again. “Because of these factors, all my experience and knowledge would go waste. If we take rough estimates, the navy and the country had invested around US$ 8 lakh (Rs 5.2 crore) on my training alone but that would not be of any use now,” he said. He misses what he used to do in the Navy but says, “Since my area of specialisation is very niche, I cannot do anything related to it in civilian sector. That is something which I regret as I cannot work in the field of nuclear reactors – something for which the country had invested in me and that is the biggest loss,” he said. On the tribunal judgment indicting vice admiral PK Chatterjee for favouring his son-in-law commander AV Agashe by writing him and many of his colleagues off in service records, Luthra said the plan seemed that he was trying to protect his son-in-law to ensure that he rises to become at least a vice admiral. “Three batches before us and three batches after us have been written off and he is the only one to have been elevated to ensure that he remains the only one to be chosen from till the rank of vice admiral,” Luthra alleged. Luthra’s lawyer Ankur Chhibber expressed hope that the judgment delivered by the tribunal would deter officers from indulging in favouritism and respect and dignity of officers is maintained in the service. He said other officers also who had been trained along with him on handling nuclear submarine reactors would probably be leaving the service in coming years slowly and suggested that this would also impact the country’s capability to handle any mishap involving nuclear submarine reactors. Considered to be an ace in all the fields that he was trained in, Luthra was also the chief instructor of Navy school where officers are trained to handle nuclear reactors of the force. Commander SS Luthra was one of the 11 specialist officers trained in Russia for handling nuclear submarine reactors of INS Arihant and INS Chakra – the two strategic submarines in the Navy.
idrw.org .Read more at India No 1 Defence News Website http://idrw.org/wont-join-navy-again-cannot-get-justice-there-says-former-ins-arihant-officer/ .