Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

rahul_ranj

I have few questions which the learned members can help with. We are boasting of the current strength of our navy and the future acquisitions but it would really mean in the light of the following:
1) China is expanding her navy at a much faster than us. PLA Navy anyways has a stronger fleet both in the surface and sub-surface.
2) Pakistan is acquiring 8 Perry class and 4 F-22P class frigates, making it a total of 12 frigates in addition to the current ones.
3) Indian Navy is going to have the following frigates/destroyers in her arsenal in the next 5-6 years:
a) 3 Shivalik classs
b) 7 improved Shivalik class( project
c) 6 Talwar class
d) Brahmaputra class and Godavari class will be decommissioned, leaving us with 16 frigates.
e) 3 Kolkata class and 4 improved Kolkata class and retiring the 5 Rajput class leaves us with 10 destroyers
f) A fledgling submarine arm.
Are we really the strong navy that we think today? Kindly help clarify my doubts with your knowledge.

I have few questions which the learned members can help with. We are boasting of the current strength of our navy and the future acquisitions but it would really mean in the light of the following:
1) China is expanding her navy at a much faster than us. PLA Navy anyways has a stronger fleet both in the surface and sub-surface.
2) Pakistan is acquiring 8 Perry class and 4 F-22P class frigates, making it a total of 12 frigates in addition to the current ones.
3) Indian Navy is going to have the following frigates/destroyers in her arsenal in the next 5-6 years:
a) 3 Shivalik classs
c) 6 Talwar class
d) Brahmaputra class and Godavari class will be decommissioned, leaving us with 16 frigates.
e) 3 Kolkata class and 4 improved Kolkata class and retiring the 5 Rajput class leaves us with 10 destroyers
Are we really the strong navy that we think today? Kindly help clarify my doubts with your knowledge.
We will reach some sort of parity with China in terms of numbers only by 2025 and beyond. Until then the Chinese numerical superiority will remain. However numerical superiority counts for squat if your weapons systems cannot deliver. Though fewer ships, our weapons systems have an edge currently. Also we will be ahead of the Chinese in CBG's once Vikramaditya and IAC are commisioned and we will just have to keep one step ahead.

a) 3 Shivalik classs
c) 6 Talwar class
1> True but PLAN have many fleets just like IN, What is the number of Ships are against eastern fleet and what type, Geographically IN have advantage coz of Andamans Islands, there can PJ-10 regiment deployed, Presently equipped with Ground based Styx Anti-ship missiles, Not to mention 3 airfield capable of keeping SU-30 and MIG-29K with NLCA..

2>These Frigates are more for Submarine warfare duties than surface battle and have poor air-defense SAM protection..

3F> Not true, For eastern theater we have HDW209 and some updated Kilos, Kilos are divided in Western and eastern fleets, 3x Arhinat class with 1x Akula is enough for Bay of Bengal and Indian Ocean, Scorpions are too coming..

We are strong regionally but we will get much more stronger..

Nirvana

a) 3 Shivalik classs
c) 6 Talwar class
No doubt PLAN have advantage in Number against IN when it come's to ships and Submarines.But our Navy being the strongest in S.asia does Possess capability to Counter PLAN and being under modernization we are well on way to get on par with them.We are well on way to acquire to AC's - Vikrant and Vikramaditya and more are planned.Building such Huge ships is a hectic job and fund allocation is another problem,as our Economy and Defence budget grows we can allocate more funds to such vessels.we have 6 Scorpenes which will be inducted under this decade itself,the declining submarine fleet is a problem due to slow procurement.Another 6 submarines are Planned ,if P75 I is delayed we could opt for more Scorpenes.coming to Nuclear powered submarines,recent induction of Akula has boosted our navy and we can build an Indigenous SSN on similiar lines.Arihant will be under sea trails and More 2 SSBN's are close to be launched and govt sanctioned building of 2 more which take the number to 5.we need to Induct the Diesel electric Submarines at quicker pace,May be open Production line in Multiple dockyards and split the orders.

We are Looking to procure 4 bigger Amphibious vessels that can carry Chopper's,VTOL ac,Infantry and Military equipment which will boost our amphibious capabilities along 14 LST's and the Planned and under Induction Shivalik,Talwar class frigates,Kolkata class destroyers along P28 and P28A Project corvettes.

Basically we are not Looking for a fleet of over 200 ships or something.the Older ships will be decommissioned and new Induction along same number will keep up the strength constant more or less,we are projected to have fleet of 150 ships in 2025,today we have something over 170 which include Old soviet era Ships.Even the total requirement of Submarines which include Nuclear and conventional powered is of 30 vessels.we are Looking to maintain a force of around 150 + ships.

Coming back to Aircraft's the Induction of Mig are under way which will arm up Vikramaditya and the development of N-LCA Besides RFI Issues for fighter that will be deployed upon IAC-II.RFI Issued for Medium range recon Aircraft's while P-8 I for Long range purpose will be inducted soon.The tender for Multi role chopper's,ASW Chopper's and LUH are under way.so there's in full fledged Modernization all around not to forget Unmanned systems we are procuring like Heron and VTOL UAV.

Barak-8 will improve the air defence capability.and Brahmos cruise Missile that will be armed up in almost all the main battle ships.In coming year's our SSGN's and Conventional submarines will be armed with Brahmos and Nirbhay.we have Geographical advantage, on Both fronts we have two most treasured islands that can be used as full fledged bases in coming year's - AnN in east and Lakshadweep in west.Think of Su-30 Mki Armed with lethal BrahMos or Nirbhay that can Project power along Bay of bengal and Indian ocean region.the MKI's will be based in Bengal air base but a detachment of fighter will always be present in Andaman to cover the ocean region and giving a needed support to Navy.Our own "Pearl Harbour" the Karwar port will be completed in few years that can accomodate 30 ships including submarines and Aircraft carrier.

we are well on way to counter any force even if it comes two sided,the Navy is India's most tresured arm in Military and we are on way to acquire a "True Blue water" capability by the end of this decade :thumb:

lambu

Navy planning new air base in Karnataka

Strengthening its capabilities along the western seaboard, the Indian Navy is planning to establish a new naval air base in Karwar in Karnataka for operating both fighter and surveillance aircraft.

"We have plans of establishing a Naval Air Station at Karwar for basing and operation of fixed and rotary-wing military aircraft," Navy officials said on Tuesday.

The naval air base is part of the Navy's Rs 10,000 crore plans under the phase II of the Project Sea Bird.

Aircraft carrier 'Admiral Gorshkov', which India is getting from Russia, six Scorpene submarines and several other warships will be based there in the future.

The Navy already has an air base in Goa and has deployed its MiG 29K and Sea Harrier fighter aircraft there.

It has also placed orders for 29 more MiG 29K carrier- borne fighter planes from Russia along with the indigenous versions of the naval variant of the Light Combat Aircraft 'Tejas'.

Under the Phase-II of the Project, Karwar will get an armament depot, dockyard complex and missile silos, apart from additional jetties, berthing and anchorage facilities.

It is planning to expand the base to the extent where it can provide requisite berthing and operational fleet base facilities for the operation, administration and command and control of over 30 warships and submarines.

The Karwar base would be the third such major base of the Indian Navy and is being strengthened at a time when Pakistan is developing ports with the help of the Chinese and would also providing strategic depth to its maritime force.

It would also help the Navy in decongesting its base in Mumbai which has seen a significant increase in merchant shipping.

Navy planning new air base in Karnataka | idrw.org

Oil Barge Purak inducted into Navy

An Oil Barge Purak was inducted into the Indian Navy at a simple ceremony held at Naval Dockyard Mumbai today. The Chief Guest, Rear Admiral Deepak Bali, Flag Officer Doctrine and Concepts, Indian Navy, commissioned the vessel by unveiling the plaque. The vessel has been built by Modest Infrastructure Bhavnagar. Besides other dignitaries and officials of Shipyard, the commissioning ceremony was attended by Rear Admiral AV Subhedar, Admiral Superintendent Naval Dockyard, Mumbai.

Oil Barge Purak inducted into Navy | India Images

H.A.

Is there a similar ship in development in the Indian Navy?

I saw a video sometime back which showed the same design features like concealed guns and missile launchers also a concealed helicopter bay....I am trying to locate that thread will post it when i get it..

Shivalik Class is stealthy, just that Zumwalt class is stealthier.

Does the IN have interesting in such designs?

utubekhiladi

The Preacher

I saw a video sometime back which showed the same design features like concealed guns and missile launchers also a concealed helicopter bay....I am trying to locate that thread will post it when i get it..
okay, enough dreaming, now rise and shine :ranger:

I guess it is the same concept as in fighter or bombers. Keep the surface smooth and flat, with less curves, pointed projections, incisions, lacerations etc.. Have missiles and bombs stored internally. Deflect as much of the radar waves as possible and take out your weapons only when you need them.

Yes there was a vid on this,IN Future warship will be inspired by these deigns..

and we are calling shivalik class as stealthy :frusty:
Shivalik Class is 2nd generation of stealth ship, India never had 1st generation only USN did..

Zumwalt class is 3rd generation of stealth ship will be in USN..

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Shivalik Class is stealthy, just that Zumwalt class is stealthier.

I guess it is the same concept as in fighter or bombers. Keep the surface smooth and flat, with less curves, pointed projections, incisions, lacerations etc.. Have missiles and bombs stored internally. Deflect as much of the radar waves as possible and take out your weapons only when you need them.
Yes there was a vid on this,IN Future warship will be inspired by these deigns..

Shivalik Class is 2nd generation of stealth ship, India never had 1st generation only USN did..

Zumwalt class is 3rd generation of stealth ship will be in USN..

does that shivalik class ship look stealthy to you from any angel? :sad: