Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

Re: Wife swapping in navy ??---Naval officer's wife charges molestatio

Everything is ok as long as it is consensual. Once it becomes forced or based on coercion, it needs to be severely dealt with.

@Ray sir,

Does IAF use any kind of peace time appraisal process? Maybe like "360 degree appraisal"?

Two things

1) She could be telling truth or

2) She is making up stuff to get a divorce or something out of this.

I have seen many divorce cases like this where the women make up stuff and some times even slap dowry cases to coerce the husband and their family to get a divorce so that she can marry her sweetheart.

These activities are helpful in getting promotion. Nothing new , it is happening since long time. My RIMC & IMA friends used to discuss all this happens for real but under cover.
What promotion a Lt of Navy would get due to his superirors..

MOD EDITED

@Ray sir,

Does IAF use any kind of peace time appraisal process? Maybe like "360 degree appraisal"?
What is that 360 degrees...

Means all over ....

Great!

How was I left out of the loop?

Not good enough?
Who knows ??

Ab pachhataye kya Hot hai jab Chiriya Chug gayi khet ??

Legacy Appraisal is done by the Boss and the Boss's Boss where perception management becomes very important and hence gives rise to the culture of chaplusi/chamchagiri

360 degree appraisal is done across all levels. Feedback from your juniors, peers and superiors as well as, in some cases, clients... rather all the people who encircle the employee, are taken and the mean score becomes the appraisal rating.

This way:
1) If you patronize your boss and treat your peers/juniors like crap, you will not get away with it
2) If your peers and juniors love you, your boss alone can't screw you over
3) If someone patronizes you or has a vendetta against you, low score by a single person is averaged out. Even scores beyond the standard deviation are considered anomalies and does not effect the mean
4) Such mean scores when put in a bell curve shows the true performance of the employee WRT other employees across all levels.

What is that 360 degrees...

Means all over ....

Legacy Appraisal is done by the Boss and the Boss's Boss where perception management becomes very important and hence gives rise to the culture of chaplusi/chamchagiri

360 degree appraisal is done across all levels. Feedback from your juniors, peers and superiors as well as, in some cases, clients... rather all the people who encircle the employee, are taken and the mean score becomes the appraisal rating.

This way:
1) If you patronize your boss and treat your peers/juniors like crap, you will not get away with it
3) If someone patronizes you or has a vendetta against you, low score by a single person is averaged out. Even scores beyond the standard deviation are considered anomalies and does not effect the mean
4) Such mean scores when put in a bell curve shows the true performance of the employee WRT other employees across all levels.
In the armed Forces, one has to laed the subordinate through difficult situations including leading them to death...

You got to kick around people rather than seeking apprisals from them..

War fighting is not selling a Sony TV or a Toyota Car.. or Arjun Tanks..

How can you take my apprisal from a guy whom I kick in the butts every day at 06:00 during PT to make him stronger... How can my junior officer be fair on me since I make him run two miles even without a mistake on his part..

I thought 360 degreed was sc****** 360 degrees... Leave these management jargons out..

You mean to say the guys who get elected in Indian elections are 360 degrees ...Ha Ha ha..

What promotion a Lt of Navy would get due to his superirors..

MOD EDIT
Sir, You are violating DFI rules by making personalised offensive abusive terms. Nobody is forcing you to agree with me.

Fact is you are quiet ignorant.

Apart from that I do not see any eliteness in your remarks as per the status awarded to you. Please keep respect of your title which has been awarded to you by DFI.

Decklander Sir! What did you liked in that?

HEILTAMIL

if proven, shouldn't such men should be banished from the force,
a man who is not able to protect his woman is not worthy of the basic manhood,

psycologically such undiscplined men are likely to break/yield under threat to enemies, it is dangerous for the nation

:bplease: :yawn:

I do understand your level frustration in life which compels you to obsessively and compulsively criticize everything. May I suggest meditation?

1) I never said this should be adopted, but asked if something like this exist.
2) Exercises like variants of this has the potential to improve officer-jawaan equation so that untoward incidents could be avoided like when recently 160+ army personnel have been ordered court marshal for fighting.

In the armed Forces, one has to laed the subordinate through difficult situations including leading them to death...

You got to kick around people rather than seeking apprisals from them..

War fighting is not selling a Sony TV or a Toyota Car.. or Arjun Tanks..

How can you take my apprisal from a guy whom I kick in the butts every day at 06:00 during PT to make him stronger... How can my junior officer be fair on me since I make him run two miles even without a mistake on his part..

I thought 360 degreed was sc****** 360 degrees... Leave these management jargons out..

You mean to say the guys who get elected in Indian elections are 360 degrees ...Ha Ha ha..

Who knows ??

Ab pachhataye kya Hot hai jab Chiriya Chug gayi khet ??
Fortunately, I am not adept to believe gossip.

My post was sarcastic.

But you seem to have missed the subtlety!

@Ray sir,

The armed forces have an appraisal system that is applicable in both peace and war.

This way:
The appraisal system is said to be Objective, but one cannot rule out some aspects being subjective.

There is the immediate senior, who is the Initiating Officer.(IO)
Then it goes to the next senior. who is the Reviewing Officer (RO)

These two have to write their appraisal since it is expected that they know the know and have seen the officer at close quarters.

It thereafter goes to the Senior Reviewing Officer (SRO)

And then to the Next Senior Reviewing Officer (NSRO)

These two may or may not comment.

Juniors have no role in the appraisal system.

I have not worked in the Military Secretary's Branch, but I learn that they have some sort of a system that evens off ACRs which are not in keeping with the trend of the officer's performance profile.

In case an officer which to represent against his ACR or Missing the next rank, he can represent.

There are two types of such representation;

1. Non Statutory - decided by the Army HQ
2 Statutory - decided by the Govt of India.

These days in addition, there is also a Tribunal.

I would like to disagree on the issue of one having to 'kick around the juniors'.

That is a very wrong way to command and leads to the problems we have seen of late in the Army.

One has to take the team along and whenever there is a bottleneck being created, one has to be fair and just, and if the need be, use the law judiciously to ensure the smooth running of the command.

A Commander is only First Amongst Equals and if he forgets that and thinks he is Lord of Tartary with everything being his realm, then he is only asking for trouble.

Give respect and you will get respect.

Sir this does seem to be quite a robust system. Thanks for sharing.

The appraisal system is said to be Objective, but one cannot rule out some aspects being subjective.

There is the immediate senior, who is the Initiating Officer.(IO)
Then it goes to the next senior. who is the Reviewing Officer (RO)

These two have to write their appraisal since it is expected that they know the know and have seen the officer at close quarters.

It thereafter goes to the Senior Reviewing Officer (SRO)

And then to the Next Senior Reviewing Officer (NSRO)

These two may or may not comment.

Juniors have no role in the appraisal system.

I have not worked in the Military Secretary's Branch, but I learn that they have some sort of a system that evens off ACRs which are not in keeping with the trend of the officer's performance profile.

In case an officer which to represent against his ACR or Missing the next rank, he can represent.

There are two types of such representation;

1. Non Statutory - decided by the Army HQ
2 Statutory - decided by the Govt of India.

These days in addition, there is also a Tribunal.

I would like to disagree on the issue of one having to 'kick around the juniors'.

That is a very wrong way to command and leads to the problems we have seen of late in the Army.

One has to take the team along and whenever there is a bottleneck being created, one has to be fair and just, and if the need be, use the law judiciously to ensure the smooth running of the command.

A Commander is only First Amongst Equal and if he forgets that and thinks he is Lord of Tartary with everything being his realm, then he is only asking for trouble.

Give respect and you will get respect.

Sir this does seem to be quite a robust system. Thanks for sharing.
It is robust to a great extent, but then we are all humans and we have our foibles and subjectivity creeps in.

CrYsIs

These activities are helpful in getting promotion. Nothing new , it is happening since long time. My RIMC & IMA friends used to discuss all this happens for real but under cover.
If things like wife swapping is really happening,then the whole of indian military fraternity should hang their heads in shame....my dad during his service tenure never heard of these things...

I do understand your level frustration in life which compels you to obsessively and compulsively criticize everything. May I suggest meditation?
Or medication? :-D