Indian Electronics and Semiconductor manufacturing industry

PRC is about to get its own lithography machine (28 nm) quite soon. I'm wondering whether there's even a proposal in India to try building a litho.
Ya'll Nibbiars I am not concerned about Lithography as we don't have anything in that field.

Ya'll Nibbiars currently there are only two lithograph major manufacturers in the world ASML 80 percent, Canon 20 percent. After the abodend of the Nikon Lithograph business hardly any competition is there. And about the PRC lithography will not say on that as hardly anything is known about it's and is yet to enter the market.

Ya'll Nibbiars

semiconductor-equipment-mkt-share-tin_575px.png

This is a very niche area of Engineering and Manufacturing combined. Extremely hard to get into.
I would love if any company in India get into making these machines but it will be highly unlikely to happen.
Ya'll Nibbiars instead of that atleast start domestic commercial manufacturing of the Warfer's. Even if it's buying second hand equipment. Recent the TSMC has put out their 125 NM equipment for sale. Could be a economical way of getting a fab plant start.

Ya'll Nibbiars this was proposed in 2014. And now nothing HSMC gone. JP Associate abodend the plans. Even the recent Foundries investment news are skeptic. The Twin Star proposal was also abodend.

images - 2021-07-06T113603.581.jpeg

Ya'll Nibbiars instead of that atleast start domestic commercial manufacturing of the Warfer's. Even if it's buying second hand equipment. Recent the TSMC has put out their 125 NM equipment for sale. Could be a economical way of getting a fab plant start.
Yes, ideal way to start. But we are not aggressive enough. Chinese companies are buying up all the second hand wafer machines and plants from around the world.

Ya'll Nibbiars a Lithography from Canon may just cost 20 to 30 million dollar that half the price of the ASMI lower range products a DUV cost like 100 million Us dollars and a EUV 150 million Us dollar. A second hand ASMI refurbished cost just around 10 million dollars. That a bargain. And you don't need a billion dollars investment even a investment of 1,000 crores for a new single unit manufacturing plant is enough.

mandestiny

One area where India lacking is Medical Equipment's. If India start developing own medical equipment's then we will save lot of money and export also.

Is this develop in India ?
Ya'll Nibbiars ASML. We can't even think of developing a equipment like this. Even the Mlecchas are struggling to develop a DUV like equipment the EUV in a case above us. If you have like 10 billion dollars then you can. And even to get a single unit like this you have to wait years for that last year only 23 were made. :pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound:

Ya'll Nibbiars do you think making wafers is easy. It takes three months to compete the process. It a long tiring and 24 hrs shift taking job. And here memberans are discussing like it's nothing. :hehe:

mandestiny

Ya'll Nibbiars ASML. We can't even think of developing a equipment like this. Even the Mlecchas are struggling to develop a DUV like equipment the EUV in a case above us. If you have like 10 billion dollars then you can. And even to get a single unit like this you have to wait years for that last year only 23 were made. :pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound::pound:
Always i think how small European countries survive. You will see like they are always seen as super rich. Actually they invest heavily in process/algorithm/api development.

Ya'll Nibbiars it's just in name actually developed and financed in America. It's all R & D there and the investors are mostly them. It's hard to compete in the capital and R & D.

We don't need EUV machines for upto 10nm.
Ya'll Nibbiars even to get a DUV or a lower range is struggle. The ASMI lower range cost twice the Canon cost. Could use a second Hand ASMI being sold by the TSMC or buy a new canon.

mandestiny

Hum kuch bhi kar sakte hai. DRDO ko project de do banadenga. ISRO ne to shayad kiya bhi hoon

Ya'll Nibbiars ISRO brought a second hand Nikon 180 NM Photolithography from the Tower semi conductors in 2009. And before that also used some second hand equipment from the The Tower semi conductors for the SCL.

Ya'll Nibbiars a KRF Photolithography is enough for the 180 NM to 90 NM semiconductors. A ASML cost around 50 to 70 million dollars and a cannon around 30 to 50 million dollars. And a second hand is much cheaper.

Ya'll Nibbiars this is enough for a semiconductors like 90 NM or 40 NM but will cost 40 to 50 million dollars depending on the configuration. And would need atleat 1,000 crores initiql investment just around it's. A single unit will cost that much with the capacity of 30,000 waffer of The 200 NM now with four such units the investments is easily around 4,000 crores and can produce 1,200,000 wafers of 200 MM annually. But to produce on every larger scale higher investment is needed. The HSMC failed due to their extremely over ambitious plan's.

canon-8000iw-2.png

Reactions: SKC