Indian Economy: News and Discussion

sauntheninja

How the fck is this possible when we're yet to officially touch this year's $3.7 trillion target?
Did the sarkar do rebasing or some shit?
May be we have and the official data is yet to be released. We were expected to cross this landmark in the current financial year, weren't we?

How the fck is this possible when we're yet to officially touch this year's $3.7 trillion target?
Did the sarkar do rebasing or some shit?
Thankfully our stupid media have started to delete that fake news. Mint has removed (That link no longer works) and Hindustan times have also deleted their article.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Entire BJP leadership and IT cell is chimping out a lie

Truth:

Lmao:
View attachment 229536View attachment 229537

I would love to be proven wrong (which is not going to happen) but this is cringe af behaviour from them.
from IMF for last month.
We were 3.73 a month or 2 back.

Not sure about whether we touched 4 but politics is al about cringe.
the more cringe, the better.

View attachment 229539
Thankfully our stupid media have started to delete that fake news. Mint has removed (That link no longer works) and Hindustan times have also deleted their article.

I can't confirm the news but how are you folks exactly denying the news?

First of all, we crossed 3.75 Trillion $ in June

Unless our finance minister is also lying. From June to Nov, ~5-6 months. Our estimated GDP growth rate is ~6-7% per quarter. Doing basic maths, we get in 5-6 months it should be somewhere between 4.1 Trillion.

gdp.png

IMF graph. Not sure when the last data was updated. But ideally, we should be in the 4 Trillion dollar mark in 2024.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Not an economics expert, just applied common sense.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Also Reminder: Festive season is the biggest GDP booster quarter for India.

thebakofbakchod

Unless our finance minister is also lying. From June to Nov, ~5-6 months. Our estimated GDP growth rate is ~6-7% per quarter. Doing basic maths, we get in 5-6 months it should be somewhere between 4.1 Trillion.

View attachment 229549

IMF graph. Not sure when the last data was updated. But ideally, we should be in the 4 Trillion dollar mark in 2024.

Maybe but all the news articles are based on that dumb youtube video. The absolute state of indian media. Plus even $3.7 trillion is unlikely due to WPI deflation

sameer3694

View attachment 229549

The nominal GDP at March 2023 was around 272.41 lakh crores. Let's assume 6.5% growth and 5% inflation(11.5% total growth)for 2023-2024. So India's gdp in March 2024 would be around 313.2 lakh crores. The current value of the rupee is around 83.29, though this may further depreciate by 2024.

Dividing 313.2/83.2 gives around $3.76T, which will be the GDP in dollar terms in March 2024. So it's actually impossible to get to $4T right now, we're probably atleast 10 months away if my math is right.

View attachment 229549

Nirmala ji also had the same "today" moment back then, that's why her office apparently deleted their own tweet with the $3.75 trillion GDP claim.

India is a $3.38 trillion GDP as of 2022, this year we're supposed to be $3.73 trillion as per IMF projection, but Q1 GDP data and WPI deflation will make it difficult to cross $3.6 trillion as well.

The nominal GDP at March 2023 was around 272.41 lakh crores. Let's assume 6.5% growth and 5% inflation(11.5% total growth)for 2023-2024. So India's gdp in March 2024 would be around 313.2 lakh crores. The current value of the rupee is around 83.29, though this may further depreciate by 2024.

Dividing 313.2/83.2 gives around $3.76T, which will be the GDP in dollar terms in March 2024. So it's actually impossible to get to $4T right now, we're probably atleast 10 months away if my math is right.
"Assume" doesn't work, Q1 nominal growth was only 0.2% higher than real growth, not 5%. Due to WPI deflation.