Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Why so serious?

India becomes world's 5th largest economy, overtakes UK, France: Report
A US-based think tank World Population Review in its report said India's economy is the fifth largest in the world with a GDP of USD 2.94 trillion and that it is developing into an open-market economy from its previous autarkic policies.

• Press Trust of India
  • New Delhi
  • February 18, 2020
  • UPDATED: February 18, 2020 04:47 IST

India's economy is the fifth largest in the world with a GDP of USD 2.94 trillion, a report said. (Image for representation: Reuters)

India emerged as the world's fifth largest economy by overtaking the UK and France in 2019, says a report.

A US-based think tank World Population Review in its report said that India is developing into an open-market economy from its previous autarkic policies.

"India's economy is the fifth largest in the world with a GDP of USD 2.94 trillion, overtaking the UK and France in 2019 to take the fifth spot," it said.

The size of the UK economy is USD 2.83 trillion and that of France is USD 2.71 trillion.

The report further said that in purchasing power parity (PPP) terms, India's GDP (PPP) is USD 10.51 trillion, exceeding that of Japan and Germany. Due to India's high population, India's GDP per capita is USD 2,170 (for comparison, the US is USD 62,794).

India's real GDP growth, however, it said is expected to weaken for the third straight year from 7.5 per cent to 5 per cent.

The report observed that India's economic liberalisation began in the early 1990s and included industrial deregulation, reduced control on foreign trade and investment, and privatisation of state-owned enterprises.

"These measures have helped India accelerate economic growth," it said.

India's service sector is the fast-growing sector in the world accounting for 60 per cent of the economy and 28 per of employment, the report said, adding that manufacturing and agriculture are two other significant sectors of the economy.

The US-based World Population Review is an independent organisation without any political affiliations.

Akula

I have came across many such models where a farmer having only 1 acre of land are very rich. That is why I repeatedly say that they need proper education. Even I
am willing to get the training in organic farming and know the model which enables farmer to generate Rs 5 to 6 lakh every year out of 1 acre of land. I myself witnessed the miracle of organic farming yesterday. My organic wheat are deep green compared to any other wheat in the area. I had used cow dung fertilizer.

Yesterday , I met my friend. He was referring to an interesting study. A survey on cancer was done in Hariyana. Interestingly, surveyors did find any family having cancer patient which has desi breed cows. This is the power of our traditional farming. Once upon a time we were very poor and we had lost faith in our traditional system thinking that Goras do is better. Now, we are becoming prosperous and our survival is ensured, we must find the way to better our productivity and quality.
Even , my boys were not willing to believe that desi fertilizer can produce better result than chemical fertilizer but by seeing my organic wheat and maze, they agreed with me and now ready to do organic farming.
So, what mass production you are talking about is just good if you adopt western model. In our Indian model, you can live a very happy and prosperous life even if you have only 1 acre land your life can be beautiful. 1 Cow and 1 acre land is more than enough to have a very decent , healthy and prosperous life. Many of my ultra rich friends have told me that I will never be able to get same money from farming what I am getting from my corporate job. I have told them to wait and see.

I am going to post some interesting photographs of my recent visit to the are where I work. You can check my Rural economic development model thread for that.
I agree with you sir, growing crops with Desi fertilizer at a small scale. I don't the area of my land but we are different vegetables by using Desi fertilizer rather than chemicals. From the last two years I haven't bought a single piece of onion, garlic, turmeric from the market.

Most important of all is quality. If you consume organic turmeric, it can save you from many fatal deceases and keep you healthy till a long long time.

Unfortunately, health care definition has taken a meaning of treating people after they fell ill and not prevent them from being sick. We need to change this. We do not want to increase our GDP by selling more and more medicines. Your organic food will keep you healthy.

Haldiram

^marked in red^ playing out right now, and as predicted, the reason is again...Corona Virus :daru:

View attachment 43323

View attachment 43324

A virus in a neighboring country which does not import much from India is causing the slowdown in Indian businesses. Such high quality analysis.:clap2:
Follow up on this running joke.

Yesterday the world was going to end due to Corona virus, but Indian stock market has found the cure for the virus today so it has bounced 400 points again.

upload_2020-2-19_9-57-53.png

Kaise kar lete hai itni high quality analysis, bencho ke bacche :daru:

Only 8.4 crore poor in India, claims a new study

Only 84 million (8.4 crore) Indians are poor as on 2017 down from 270 million in 2011, claims a new study.

It also states that poverty, as per the Tendulkar Poverty line, reduced from 14.9 per cent in 2011 to 7.0 per cent in 2017 -- the fastest pace the country has seen yet. The findings, which are part of the joint paper titled Poverty, Inequality and Inclusive Growth in India: 2011/12-2017/18 by Surjit S Bhalla, Arvind Virmani and Karan Bhasin, were presented to the National Council for Applied Economic Research (NCAER).

https://www.newindianexpress.com/bu...or-in-india-claims-a-new-study---2105127.html

Exports from SEZs achieve US$ 100 billion mark; Services sector shows 23.69 per cent growth in Rupee terms

The Special Economic Zones (SEZs) continue to take the lead in expanding the exports for the country. Even in the midst of volatile global economy, SEZs in India have shown resilience and have achieved US$ 100 billion worth of exports in FY 2019-20, as on 17thFebruary 2020. It may be mentioned that SEZs achieved this landmark of US$ 100 billion worth of exports in 2018-19 in full financial year. A comparison of FY 2019-20 vs. 2018-19 up to February 17th is given below:

slow down kahan hai...!!! kahan hai slow down !!!

Rassil Krishnan

Exports from SEZs achieve US$ 100 billion mark; Services sector shows 23.69 per cent growth in Rupee terms

The Special Economic Zones (SEZs) continue to take the lead in expanding the exports for the country. Even in the midst of volatile global economy, SEZs in India have shown resilience and have achieved US$ 100 billion worth of exports in FY 2019-20, as on 17thFebruary 2020. It may be mentioned that SEZs achieved this landmark of US$ 100 billion worth of exports in 2018-19 in full financial year. A comparison of FY 2019-20 vs. 2018-19 up to February 17th is given below:

slow down kahan hai...!!! kahan hai slow down !!!
India should spread out the feel of a high end economy to its country and normal cities instead of concentration in sezs .

I mean in infrastructure terms.

I once heard someone(I don't remember) write that india looks like a 3rd world country with pockets of high productivity Switzerland's.

This would go a lot in improving the look of our country and would definitely improve the election prospects of any party that conveys the perception that it has improved it.

India should spread out the feel of a high end economy to its country and normal cities instead of concentration in sezs .

I once heard someone(I don't remember) write that india looks like a 3rd world country with pockets of high productivity Switzerland's.

This would go a lot in improving the look of our country and would definitely improve the election prospects of any party that conveys the perception that it has improved it.
Well!! SEZs would act as anchor points for an outward development of such clusters..
MOstly these SEZs would be in semi urban or urban areas and well! thats how it will all slowly pan out.

Spreading out of economic activity does not work out always.

Every geographical area will always have a deficit of somekind, like water or 24hr electric supply or cheap land or cheap labour or access to ports etc..

SEZ are designed to provide all the things required to manufacture or service at one place.

China has converted entire cities as SEZ.

In a socialist setup like India, economic parity will never happen, especially when politicians are competing to be irresponsible king/queen of socialism.

Only 8.4 crore poor in India, claims a new study

Only 84 million (8.4 crore) Indians are poor as on 2017 down from 270 million in 2011, claims a new study.

It also states that poverty, as per the Tendulkar Poverty line, reduced from 14.9 per cent in 2011 to 7.0 per cent in 2017 -- the fastest pace the country has seen yet. The findings, which are part of the joint paper titled Poverty, Inequality and Inclusive Growth in India: 2011/12-2017/18 by Surjit S Bhalla, Arvind Virmani and Karan Bhasin, were presented to the National Council for Applied Economic Research (NCAER).

https://www.newindianexpress.com/bu...or-in-india-claims-a-new-study---2105127.html
No TV channel talked about this today, isn't it?

China accounts for 70% of Asian bond issuances. But since Corona Virus in China, Indian companies have become hot for global investors. In just 2 weeks, Indian companies received bids for $11 billion in the Dollar bond market, while they had lined up for just $1.55 bn issues.

Average salary hike was around 12-15 % last year it has come down to 9.1 % . My company used to give only 8 % hike for last 5 years as standard this year it looks like i will get only around 6 % just to offset the inflation .

Some industries will still offer their top slogging workhorse 15-18 % or even 20 % the bottom rung will get around 5-8 % the worst 10 % of the bottom will be given pink slips

I don't see any rebound of economy for another 3-4 quarters so don't expect GDP of more than 6 % for 2021.

@jackprince The tightening happened in banking sector especially in the drive to clear NPA has drastically cut own the credit lending to SME MSME which has got badly affected . The real issue for the slowdown is this sector is still down and not picking up . the larger corporate are doing good especially with recent tax breaks .

Unless govt don't push the banks to lend little bit freely the situation might not change , but relaxed lending process also has its own headache of defaults which will again bring back the spotlight to NPA

I thought India was in a recession?

Craigs

Average salary hike was around 12-15 % last year it has come down to 9.1 % . My company used to give only 8 % hike for last 5 years as standard this year it looks like i will get only around 6 % just to offset the inflation .

Some industries will still offer their top slogging workhorse 15-18 % or even 20 % the bottom rung will get around 5-8 % the worst 10 % of the bottom will be given pink slips

I don't see any rebound of economy for another 3-4 quarters so don't expect GDP of more than 6 % for 2021.

@jackprince The tightening happened in banking sector especially in the drive to clear NPA has drastically cut own the credit lending to SME MSME which has got badly affected . The real issue for the slowdown is this sector is still down and not picking up . the larger corporate are doing good especially with recent tax breaks .

Unless govt don't push the banks to lend little bit freely the situation might not change , but relaxed lending process also has its own headache of defaults which will again bring back the spotlight to NPA
If interest rates and taxes have decreased why do you expect bonuses to go up? In the present environment worker productivity is not that important as cost of capital has reduced so bonuses and dare I say even pay hikes will be less.