Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Ya'll Nibbiars When you want to be in every business and your capital allocation policy is flawed, cash crunch will force you to sell family silver. And just complete the NMIA before going bankrupt.

F3D_cKQbYAAN5Iu.png

View attachment 217565

Looks like we will be missing the bus(again) in the high/mid end, and most probably get the lower end of supply chain at best!!
You'd have to be smoking some quality stuff if you expect us to jump straight into the big leagues with US,EU, Korea, Taiwan, Japan inspite of giving peanuts in terms of cash handout incentives as compared to the aforementioned and also not having atleast 40 years of existing supply chain, talent and stable corporate land acquisition, plant building, water supply, electricity and "pollution management" of the aforementioned :bplease:

We aren't even at the level of Malaysia, Pinoypines and China in terms of the LoWeR EnD Of ThE SuPpLy ChAin that you turn your nose up at :truestory:

It's a bloody miracle we're atleast getting that Micron OSAT/ATMP plant.

High end was not on the table from the beginning, policy target was 28 nm and above.
Yes, but we are not even making strides in the 28NM. We need to cover all the value chain of multiple low level chips, which is does not seem to be happening as of now.

Meaning China is facing deflation, is this the start of Japanification of China!!
Govt doesn't want to get in because of their fixation on not being "socialist" and having the jhanjhat of yet another non-performant PSU.

Corporates lack the balls and investment necessary to get into this industry, kaha se aayega 28nm? Do you even know the $$$ in corporate handouts that are going from US and EU towards the top semiconductor manufacturing companies? We are not even in the race.

Just give me one reason why any Intel or TSMC or Samsung will set up a fab here with either their whole or partial involvement, which is why all you get is (((Vedanta))) and FoxCONn :bplease:

The only possible way is a Maruti Udyog style Govt venture, with a foreign tech partner who can optionally get a stake in this company, but then again our esteemed leader practices his preaching of "It is not the business of the Govt to be in business" :facepalm:

thebakofbakchod

View attachment 217565

Looks like we will be missing the bus(again) in the high/mid end, and most probably get the lower end of supply chain at best!!
What bus? We are never in the race at all. These semicon plants need a large amount of expats who work at the plants for the initial few years while the local workforce gets hired/trained and skilled. Do you think any one of them wants to work here? Plus the fact that there are many genuine concerns about the usual such as policy changes, electricity etc etc. This will only be a success if the govt repeats what it did with Maruti Udyog. The government should actually allocate a similar sum in creating high tech economic zones that are solely zoned for electronic manufacturing -> PCBs, SMT machine equipment etc

adani has no say in daily functioning of that JV anyways.
Ya'll Nibbiars It not say it's about revenue what counts in the business.

What bus? We are never in the race at all. These semicon plants need a large amount of expats who work at the plants for the initial few years while the local workforce gets hired/trained and skilled. Do you think any one of them wants to work here? Plus the fact that there are many genuine concerns about the usual such as policy changes, electricity etc etc. This will only be a success if the govt repeats what it did with Maruti Udyog. The government should actually allocate a similar sum in creating high tech economic zones that are solely zoned for electronic manufacturing -> PCBs, SMT machine equipment etc
All that can be handled provided they don't go with a half-assed "incentives for corporates" only model like now
Our incentives are peanuts compared to what more established countries are offering.

There is also the matter of water supply & waste management from the plants, ideally GoI should provide a plug n play solution but all we have is muh 50% which only people like British Citizen Anil Aggarwal are attracted to.

Vi Business partners with Yotta to enhance its data center and cloud services

Another Data Centre in Mumbai

Hyundai to ink pact for GM plant next week
This is the one plant in Pune's Talegaon.

Meanwhile RR from Gloomberg, on their site the article is paywalled so using this

An interesting tidbit from that article

It appears this scheme may not be getting the traction policymakers expected. Local media reported last week that while 44 companies had registered for the program, only two had actually filed an application, and the initial July 31 deadline was delayed to the end of August; those giving out money don’t tend to extend the process unless uptake is slow.
Now we understand why GoI brought out the stick spiked club, since nothing else was working.

"PeeCee market down saar, can't increase capacity in factories saar"
"Come to think of it, no need to saar, remember you signed ITA-1 saar? :troll: :troll: "

GoI:-

1691663949749.png

Ya'll Nibbiars The Air India's New logo and Livery, Ghanta.

image.png

image.png

Ya'll Nibbiars looks like the Air India didn't had money to hire professionals Announcher so put one of the Air hostees as the announceher for today's events. This is not some Plane announcements damn it. See the audience reactions, priceless.

Did Ya'll noticed Aunty is wearing bindi, look like the Tanshiq effect is still on the Tata Group. LOL.

Vaidya Ji would be happy.

The Vistara revealing was a totally different beast altogether. Damn old Titan, Tata Motors PR were far ahead of it's time. This looks like a event organized by some Housing society.

Ya'll Nibbiars The Air India's New logo and Livery, Ghanta.

View attachment 217734

View attachment 217738

Ya'll Nibbiars looks like the Air India didn't had money to hire professionals Announcher so put one of the Air hostees as the announceher for today's events. This is not some Plane announcements damn it. See the audience reactions, priceless.

Did Ya'll noticed Aunty is wearing bindi, look like the Tanshiq effect is still on the Tata Group. LOL.

Vaidya Ji would be happy.

The Vistara revealing was a totally different beast altogether. Damn old Titan, Tata Motors PR were far ahead of it's time. This looks like a event organized by some Housing society.
Ya'll Nibbiars This is even worse.

Screenshot_20230810_194358_YouTube.jpg