Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

kamaal

News reporting that an IAF Jaguar(trainer) crashed in Rajasthan................Pilots eject safely...

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...crashes-in-Rajasthan/articleshow/54656788.cms
Very bad news, these birds are just upgraded ones. And if it catches fires during takeoff then it raises serious questions about the ability of the airmen & technical staff in maintaining the jets.

IAF fleet strength is already at its lowest strength, and we are loosing 2-3 jets every years in these type of crashes.

prateikf

The Jaguar fighters are nearly 40 years old. What else can we seriously expect when we fly aircraft's that should be in an museum. Both UK and France have retired their Jaguar's years ago.

^^ Not really. Many of our Jaguars were manufactured as recently as 2001. 40 years ago is when the deal was signed to license produce them in India.

IAF plans for dedicated satellite on track; Sukhoi to fire BrahMos in 3 months
Bengaluru: The Indian Air Force (IAF) will soon have its own dedicated satellite to boost its operational capabilities. During a media interaction at the Aircraft and Systems Testing Establishment (ASTE) here, as a run up to the 84th IAF Day on October 8, Air Vice-Marshal Sandeep Singh said the plan is on the move.
While he refused to give too many details on the project, set to be executed by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), the ASTE Commandant said the process is on at IAF HQ towards having a dedicated satellite.
He said the availability of such a satellite, on the lines of Indian Navy (Rukmini from the GSAT series), would enhance IAF’s NCW (Network-Centric Warfare) capabilities. ”It certainly does increase the efficiency of our critical missions,” he said.
To a query on the use of Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS), AVM Sandeep Singh said the IAF will soon switch over to the desi GPS. He said the receivers for the purpose have been already made ready.
However, ISRO sources said that the project is yet to formally get a government nod, pointing that the IAF wait could be longer.
Saras project on road to revival

The 14-seater ambitious Saras project of National Aeronautics Limited (NAL) might see fair weather again with the government mulling a revival plan for the same. The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), that had almost shelved the plan, is on a rethink mode with additional funding in the pipeline.

As reported earlier, the funding for Saras project had dried up during UPA-2’s fag end putting the entire project into a spin. The project was already mired in overweight issues, a crash and a scathing CAG probe in a span of 11 years since its first flight in 2004.

ASTE had lost two Test Pilots and a Flight Test Engineer in the Saras crash in 2009. Now, the ASTE officials confirm the ‘revival plan,‘ having attended meeting(s) aimed at getting the platform back on air.

Sitara, the Intermediate Jet Trainer of Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, is also on the ‘recovery mode’ after being in the ‘ICU’ for many years now. The project seems to have got a new impetus for its ‘spin and stall’ trials.
BrahMos test-firing from Sukhoi soon

On the ongoing flight test programme of BrahMos supersonic missile being integrated on a modified Su30-MKI, ACM Sandeep said that advanced trials are in progress.

“We’ve already completed a dummy drop. The next step will be to test another parameter, before we fire the actual missile,” he said.

It was Wg Cdr Prashanth, a Test Pilot, and his buddy Wg Cdr M S Raju, a FTE, -- both from ASTE -- who had successfully carried out the first flight of Su-30MKI fitted with BrahMos on June 25 this year.

Interestingly, a PTI report quoted Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha saying today that the live missile would be fired in three months.
Tejas is best in its class; already in Hindon

The top IAF pilot was all praise for the Light Combat Aircraft Tejas, which was inducted into the IAF on July 1.

During his briefing, the ASTE Commandant said that the Tejas Squadron members are already at AFS Hindon for the AF Parade on October 8.

“Two aircraft will be at Hindon this time with one more likely to join,” he said.

He said the runway upgradation work and other construction activities are already in full swing at Sulur, near Coimbatore.

“Initially the Squadron will operate from Bengaluru and the Sulur facilities will be ready in the next two years,” AVM Sandeep said. The progress of work at Sulur, which will be the home for Tejas Squadron, is being monitored by the Southern Air Command, headquartered at Thiruvananthapuram.

As reported by Mathrubhumi earlier, the IAF teams have already flown Tejas for over 30 hours in the last three months alone, post induction.
PMT heading to France to fine-tune Rafales

With India completing most of the formalities to buy 36 Rafale jets from France, a Project Management Team (PMT) from IAF is preparing for yet another overseas stint. This, according to ASTE officials, is a procedure being undertaken whenever new aircraft are bought from abroad.

“The whole idea is to get the Rafales with India-specific characteristics, as being often termed. The PMT was part of the teams abroad during MiG-21\MiG-27 upgrades and ahead of Sukhoi induction as well,” AVM Sandeep Singh said.

According to him, the presence of the PMT with the Dassault would help to customise the finer features of the aircraft, as desired by the IAF.

“Our pilots have already have flown the Rafale during its evaluation trials. They could take our guidance (PMT) before finalising the draft documents. There are many more activities we would involve in the next couple of years before the aircraft start coming to India,” he said.
Can’t rule out women Test Pilots in future

With the IAF opening up the fighter streams to women pilots recently, ASTE is not ruling out the possibility of having Test Pilots from the fairer sex as well, in future.

To a query whether women could qualify to be TPs in future, ASTE officials said that it is a probability, subject to many conditions.

“First of all they will have to get Permanent Commission. Then they will have to qualify for all the stringent procedures ahead of becoming a TP. It could happen. We are not ruling it out. They are welcome and we have no gender bias here,” says an official.

ACM Arup Raha speaking to Mathrubhumi at AFA Hyderabad in June this year, did not rule out the possibility of a woman fighter heading IAF in future.

“I cannot say no, because the probability is there. If they do well. Normally the Chiefs are from the flying branch. They (the three girls) are already in the flying branch. And, if and when they get Permanent Commission, then they definitely have a chance,” he had said.

His views were also echoed by Air Marshal S R K Nair, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Headquarters Training Command. He had said that IAF is inclusive in all its activities giving equal opportunities to both men and women.

During the media visit on Tuesday, the ASTE also had organsied a flying and static display of some of its assets. Earlier, Chief Test Pilot Group Capt Subrato Chaki gave a rare insight into the activities of ASTE.
http://english.mathrubhumi.com/mobi...i-to-fire-brahmos-in-3-months-aste--1.1402970

There is a RFI released by IAF for 160 LIGHT BULLET PROOF VEHICLES ...

Based on product brochure...
Tata LAMV loses out by .5 Mts in length.

http://wap.business-standard.com/ar...oosting-fighter-squadrons-116100400819_1.html

The Indian Air force lays out a plan for a 45 +sqdn air force by 2030 including a possibility of 80 more Rafale & 250 FGFA.
As of now the breakup pretty much confirmed for 2030 is
270-odd Su-30
250?-FGFA
120-LCA
36+80?-Rafale/MRCA
50- MIRAGE 2000 I
69- MIG29UPG
145-Jaguar UPG
A Total of 1020 aircraft or some 56 squadrons.
Personally don't expect all the FGFA to make it but we should still have 40+ squadrons ready.

But by 2030 we will need to retire 50mirage + 145jaguar+ 69 mig29 that's 264 planes . We won't have Amca in that numbers . We don't know how many FGFA we can afford or produce faster. All we can surely do is buy 80 more Rafaels at a whopping 20billion pricetag. :shock::shock: . And lca mk2 is shelved it seems. Again poor planning plus daydreaming :drool:
http://wap.business-standard.com/ar...oosting-fighter-squadrons-116100400819_1.html

The Indian Air force lays out a plan for a 45 +sqdn air force by 2030 including a possibility of 80 more Rafale & 250 FGFA.
270-odd Su-30
250?-FGFA
120-LCA
36+80?-Rafale/MRCA
50- MIRAGE 2000 I
69- MIG29UPG
145-Jaguar UPG
Personally don't expect all the FGFA to make it but we should still have 40+ squadrons ready.

270-odd Su-30
250?-FGFA
120-LCA
36+80?-Rafale/MRCA
50- MIRAGE 2000 I
69- MIG29UPG
145-Jaguar UPG
Where is the amca????????????????????????????????????????????

tejas warrior

But by 2030 we will need to retire 50mirage + 145jaguar+ 69 mig29 that's 264 planes . We won't have Amca in that numbers . We don't know how many FGFA we can afford or produce faster. All we can surely do is buy 80 more Rafaels at a whopping 20billion pricetag. :shock::shock: . And lca mk2 is shelved it seems. Again poor planning plus daydreaming :drool:
By 2030, we won't be retiring 50mirage + 145jaguar+ 69 mig29 IF they are upgraded now.

AMCA should be replacing all these three.. if we do not buy anything else and start AMCA funding asap.

By 2030, we won't be retiring 50mirage + 145jaguar+ 69 mig29 IF they are upgraded now.

AMCA should be replacing all these three.. if we do not buy anything else and start AMCA funding asap.
"IF" that sums up most of our problems.:daru:

We will begin phasing out mirage jaguar and MiG 29 starting 2027.

All will be phased out by 2032.

We will still be crying over the shortfall during the next decade and the sanctioned strength will only be reached in the mid 2030s.

Foreign contractors know this and are therefore offering upgraded versions of ageing aircraft such as F-16 and F-18 as well as newer aircraft such as Gripen E as a stop-gap measure to see us through the 2020s.

If the government wants to take a sensible decision, they should significantly ramp up the production of Tejas by putting 2 private Indian defence contractors and HAL in competition over who produces more aircraft in given time. We need ~500 Tejas as stop-gap (instead of a foreign aircraft). Economies of scale means we can significantly bring down cost of spares and Tejas aircraft itself.

Later on, we can sell some of the Tejas to South american or African or South-east asian nations and slowly replace them with AMCA and FGFA in Indian service.

Tejas is a cheap and capable aircraft. It might not have the capability of an F-16 or a Rafael but it does not cost as much as one either. We need to realize that it is a stop-gap. Not a permanent solution.

tejas warrior

We will begin phasing out mirage jaguar and MiG 29 starting 2027.

All will be phased out by 2032.

We will still be crying over the shortfall during the next decade and the sanctioned strength will only be reached in the mid 2030s.

Foreign contractors know this and are therefore offering upgraded versions of ageing aircraft such as F-16 and F-18 as well as newer aircraft such as Gripen E as a stop-gap measure to see us through the 2020s.

If the government wants to take a sensible decision, they should significantly ramp up the production of Tejas by putting 2 private Indian defence contractors and HAL in competition over who produces more aircraft in given time. We need ~500 Tejas as stop-gap (instead of a foreign aircraft). Economies of scale means we can significantly bring down cost of spares and Tejas aircraft itself.

Later on, we can sell some of the Tejas to South american or African or South-east asian nations and slowly replace them with AMCA and FGFA in Indian service.

Tejas is a cheap and capable aircraft. It might not have the capability of an F-16 or a Rafael but it does not cost as much as one either. We need to realize that it is a stop-gap. Not a permanent solution.
This is what we all think.. but did you saw Raha crying ? More Rafaels, More Gripen,F16 & F18.

Sad.

I don't see a possibility of more than 120 Tejas now. Tejas is being killed by everyone including Government.

270-odd Su-30
250?-FGFA
120-LCA
36+80?-Rafale/MRCA
50- MIRAGE 2000 I
69- MIG29UPG
145-Jaguar UPG
some body needs to tell air chief that giving interviews is not good enough, they should rather bring out a perspective plan like Navy. until then i am not going to believe anything they say.. Even army is moving in that direction with the setting up of ADB.

rishivashista13

Indian airforce day parade and celebrations is on .
Watch live at DD Bharati .

Sent from my Micromax Q380 using Tapatalk

PD_Solo

The only one
Some random pics of IAF day parade..

V formation..

upload_2016-10-8_10-0-13.png

rifle drill ..

upload_2016-10-8_10-3-18.png