India Pakistan conflict along LoC and counter terrorist operations

you are not wrong but I think we need proper foundation before we can make such moves.

i mean infrastructure and military modernisation.

we are lagging on both fronts.

There was one person who had the aukut you are asking for , he didnt say "koyi nahi gussha" , he asked his generals to throw out the chinese. IA then pushed , established forward posts in defacto chinese areas . i am talking about Nehru , :dude: dont have to tell you how that went.

honestly i dont care for aksai chin , real prize is Gilgit , we get a new neighbour , can cut off china - pakistan.

but yea its all wishfull thinking.
Indian establishment already detests the idea of war and the spectrum of 2 front war for them is the stuff of nightmares.

According to our assessment India is supposed to knock out the pakistanis from the battle in a 10 day period to gain a upper hand in the conflict.

Failure to do so defeats the entire purpose of cold start. Now I am not sure how viable this is after op parkhramm

The issue start when our strategic planners ask the military what if they don't give up in 10 days what if they continue to fight tooth and nail even after being pushed back because once the war starts to drag industrial might and comabt reserves starts to kick in and things can then turn ugly.

As @mist_consecutive had said sometime back but what if we lose what if we are not coming out as the victor and I think that 1 question is something that prevents us from taking action in today's day and age.

Until ans unless we see a guaranteed victory we won't be taking the risks.

Lost user

Sorry but going to defend the AF (a little bit) here.

1) the whole way the MoD and Army is going through reform is simply put retarded.
2) does not give a whole lot of confidence on a CDS that is going to ramrode reform down someone's throat without jointness - Jointness has to be at the heart - including the rule book
3) yes the way things are panning out it does seem like the AF Operations will be directed by a Land Force that still works with equipment and strategy of th 1970s.
4) we have an Army oriented towards COIN and a Navy and AF oriented towards war.

We in India do things quiet often with zero R&D just highlighting key catch phrases.

IMO we are putting the cart before the horse.
Then why does Air Force insist on having all those Close air support assets ? It will be the Army commanders who will have a better idea about when and where to use the Apaches, Rudras or Jaguars.. How about handing over all Apaches, Rudras, Jaguars, a few point defence fighters like Tejas and some short range lift aircraft like AN 32s, and C-130s to the theatre commanders.
IAF can retain its "strategic" focus, by having all the air superiority and deep strike platforms like Su 30 mki, Rafale and a majority of Tejas, along with C-17s, refuellers and AWACS, and surveillance aircraft which could be assigned to the Air defence command headed by IAF.

Cross post -

God’s Own Country is fast becoming a terror hub. Col. S Dinny is from Kerala and his state is changing at a rapid pace. An Editor at ⁦@ChanakyaForum⁩, the Colonel feels very strongly about the subject. READ HERE 👇

https://t.co/MCnGu8n76P

I recommend all members
Especially Southerners to read the article

rkhanna

Then why does Air Force insist on having all those Close air support assets ? It will be the Army commanders who will have a better idea about when and where to use the Apaches, Rudras or Jaguars.. How about handing over all Apaches, Rudras, Jaguars, a few point defence fighters like Tejas and some short range lift aircraft like AN 32s, and C-130s to the theatre commanders.
IAF can retain its "strategic" focus, by having all the air superiority and deep strike platforms like Su 30 mki, Rafale and a majority of Tejas, along with C-17s, refuellers and AWACS, and surveillance aircraft which could be assigned to the Air defence command headed by IAF.
No I completely agree. It's also why our SF and parachute Btns have inconsistent and random jump training through their careers

But you are mixing the issues. 2 wrongs don't make a right

What We Know About The Indian Armed Forces' Ability To Deploy And Defend Against Drones

Drone defences

When it comes to defence against drones, India appears prepared. The Defence Research and Development Organisation has indigenously developed a portable anti-drone system that offers a combo of detection and destruction.
It involves jamming an incoming drone’s communication systems , when it is still around 3 kms — then destroying it with a laser beam if it penetrates to 1.5 km.
These portable units were deployed in Delhi at Red Fort on Independence Day 2020 and earlier, in February 2020, along the route during US President Donald Trump’s India visit.
Rifle-based drone killer
For the type of small drone increasingly seen to be intruding in the western border states, which escapes conventional radar-based detection, more basic technology is called for. A leading weapon in this arena is the Israeli-made Smash — a fire control system and optical sight that can be latched-on to an AK47 or similar infantry weapon.
This helps the operator to line up on the incoming drone when it is around 120-150 metres away and to destroy it.
In December 2020, the makers announced having received an order for the latest Smash 2000 Plus from the Indian navy. In the wake of the Jammu incidents, the Army is widely expected to arm itself with this defence

well..we do have the capabilities..
and paki drones seems to be testing this capabilities if its installed on premises it seems.

pakis asked china for BP vests and chinese gave pakis pirated version of photoshop in the defence deal for BP Vests
well!!
china is fixing a lot of its military capabilities with photoshops and video editing software.
paki slave should learn this trick from their chinese masters like they learned the awesome paint jobs from china.

hawwk

What does you guys feel about R&AW vs ISI comparison? ISI being more loud and offensive where as R&AW more secret and classical style of spying

India to retaliate at a time, place of its choosing: CDS Rawat on drone attacks | India News - Times of India

What the hell?
Retaliation announced beforehand
Ye kya Ch8tiyappa hai bhaai?