India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

When was the last time that the Americans prevented any posturing of IA towards taking G-B if any?
During Kargil conflict. Clinton's pressure on Pakistan to withdraw was in good faith that IA won't alter the Kashmir equation beyond re-taking what was supposed to be in its control. We bent this a little, but by and large the Americans played the role of a guarantor, much to Pakistan's frustration.

Pakistan will draw a strategic blank from the upcoming events, one way or the other. They might as well save money by sending their formations back to the barracks.

Shashank Nayak

They're probably either on their way to the Suez canal or are loitering near Yemen (in the vicinity of the Gulf of Aden). That would allow them to neuter chicom navy at Djibouti, track PLAN submarines across a big chunk of the Arabian sea, and stay close to South Asia in case the war doesn't go as per American plans (i.e. India needs help, or India has taken G-B and Pakistan needs help). This probably explains how New Delhi remains guarded in working with the Americans. They're not here to become military allies. They're here as a guarantor that Pakistan will stay out of any India-China conflict, and that India doesn't take any unprovoked action against Pakistan.
Well, under US law.. Pakistan is a step higher on the ladder.. It is a Major non nato ally... India is a major defense Partner (God knows what is means..)

Lancer

Bana

India To Get Urgent Delivery of Submarine-Hunting MH-60 Helicopters
Another case where we need a big, emergency follow-on order.

During Kargil conflict. Clinton's pressure on Pakistan to withdraw was in good faith that IA won't alter the Kashmir equation beyond re-taking what was supposed to be in its control. We bent this a little, but by and large the Americans played the role of a guarantor, much to Pakistan's frustration.

Pakistan will draw a strategic blank from the upcoming events, one way or the other. They might as well save money by sending their formations back to the barracks.
Clinton did humiliate porkis & nawaz sherrif by presenting him in front of full press in salwar ...I still remember that press conference where nawaz was visibly jarred and ashamed ...

SimplyIndian

If we had money that the government was willing to spend, our primary artillery wouldn’t be one bought in the 1980’s. We wouldn’t be playing games with the MMRCA, we would have built more ships, we would have had more missiles, more ...everything. These things have to be put in perspective, the 36 Rafales have come at a cost, at a cost of almost everything else. We can’t even get government to government contacts going. We need transport aircraft, we need choppers, we need more Apaches...now apparently we need a new light tank along with....I suppose everything else. We simply cannot afford more Rafales or indeed more any other fighters, including American unless we can get some favourable financing. Period. If we by more Rafales, it will come at the cost of many other things.

I had suggested that the government do to defence what ABV had done with the golden quadrilateral, add a surcharge of a rupee or two specifically marked for capital acquisitions. Easier said than done but I simply see no other way in the near future.
If we had money that the government was willing to spend, our primary artillery wouldn’t be one bought in the 1980’s. We wouldn’t be playing games with the MMRCA, we would have built more ships, we would have had more missiles, more ...everything. These things have to be put in perspective, the 36 Rafales have come at a cost, at a cost of almost everything else. We can’t even get government to government contacts going. We need transport aircraft, we need choppers, we need more Apaches...now apparently we need a new light tank along with....I suppose everything else. We simply cannot afford more Rafales or indeed more any other fighters, including American unless we can get some favourable financing. Period. If we by more Rafales, it will come at the cost of many other things.

I had suggested that the government do to defence what ABV had done with the golden quadrilateral, add a surcharge of a rupee or two specifically marked for capital acquisitions. Easier said than done but I simply see no other way in the near future.
India's forex reserve are close to USD 520 billions. Why few guys here suggesting lack of money.

without guarded boarder no one will invest in india stroy.

Money is not a problem my friend, corruption, kick backs, lobbying, political will, babu attitude, sarkari workers union bazi, delay, and so on is.

Modi should use 50-60 billion from here and give defence huge boost.

things will be different in next 5 years anyway.

zackynaeem

This is a continuation of the thread "India China LAC & International Border Discussions" which ran into 1,338 pages and over 26,750 posts. That thread was like a bottle of Maaza (less than 4% of actual fruit).

Try to stick to the military, tactical, and strategic angles of the ongoing situation. As of 10/07/2020 news is rather slow, as there's a "de-escalation" of forward positions at certain points at the LAC (while the mechanized rear formations of both sides remains intact and vigilant).

Try to refrain from off-topic posts.
I think the COVID-19 should be the first priority for both of the countries but there is India China Dispute in Ladakh that is leading the situation in a wrong way both the countries are nuclear power both countries achieved magnificent economic tasks all over the world but this dispute is dangerous not only for China and India also for the Sub-Continent

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Indian Navy's clear message to Beijing following escalation of border tension 'registered' by China: Sources

NEW DELHI: The Indian Navy's clear message to Beijing through its aggressive deployment of almost all frontline warships and submarines in the Indian Ocean Region following escalation in the border row in eastern Ladakh has been "registered" by China, top defence sources said on Tuesday. The Indian Navy deployed a range of its frontline warships and submarines in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR) to send a clear message to China when the border tension escalated manifold in the wake of the Galwan Valley clashes on June 15.​

The sources told PTI that the government adopted a multi-pronged approach involving the Army, the Indian Air Force (IAF) and the Navy as well diplomacy and economic measures to send a clear signal to China that its misadventure in eastern Ladakh was not acceptable at all.​

They said the three service chiefs are engaged in deliberations on almost a daily basis to ensure a coordinated approach in dealing with the situation as well as to make China understand about India's clear message.​

Read more at:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

If any one finds a news source for this info, do post the link.
======
An officer of the PLA who defected tells US media Over a 100 chinese soldiers killed in Galwan clash on 15-16 June . No wonder the Chinese were shaken and trying to hide it

Indrajit

India's forex reserve are close to USD 520 billions. Why few guys here suggesting lack of money.

without guarded boarder no one will invest in india stroy.

Money is not a problem my friend, corruption, kick backs, lobbying, political will, babu attitude, sarkari workers union bazi, delay, and so on is.

Modi should use 50-60 billion from here and give defence huge boost.

things will be different in next 5 years anyway.
Foreign exchange reserves are not the government’s money to spend, way too many people here think that it’s money that belongs to the government and therefore available to spend. It isn’t. The only money available is wohat accrues as revenue plus any borrowing done. We are already running a high fiscal deficit ( actual figure is likely much higher than government juggled figure), there is literally no money for defence because the government has other priorities and has added burden to the defence budget with OROP etc without making any allocation separately.

The truth is we have very little money available for defence and unless the government raises revenue, it won’t change. Here are a few articles over the last couple of years talking about it.

Synergy

Foreign exchange reserves are not the government’s money to spend, way too many people here think that it’s money that belongs to the government and therefore available to spend. It isn’t. The only money available is wohat accrues as revenue plus any borrowing done. We are already running a high fiscal deficit ( actual figure is likely much higher than government juggled figure), there is literally no money for defence because the government has other priorities and has added burden to the defence budget with OROP etc without making any allocation separately.

The truth is we have very little money available for defence and unless the government raises revenue, it won’t change. Here are a few articles over the last couple of years talking about it.

Sir, I'd like to differ a bit.
it's true that forex doesn't belong to govt but govt can easily print money to exchange required forex.
when cpi is @6.09% (June 2020) that will not lead to a very grave situation and we have already gone through 12/13% wpi at the time of so called strong economic condition (read 2009 to 2013).

only inflation will rise a bit, nothing else. and when demand is low, a little bit higher inflation will be a boon to our economy. (assuming low interest rate also).