Govt set to clear 40,000-strong force along China border

Chinese have achieved what they wanted in Aksai Chin. If they wish to achive something more it would be in Arunachal....

Hence Eastern Sector remains more threatened...

Collusive military operations can however be more effective in Ladakh. Even if one was to create a Ladakh Command, that command would still remain committed on two fronts.

Collusive miltary operations in Eastern Theatre are though much more possible and feasible.

China - Bangladesh.
China _ Nepal
China - Myanmar
China from East and China from North...

geographically all those scenarios are feasible...

Hence Eastern theater remains much more threatened
I think Arunachal is a diversion for PRC. Their main nervousness is with Tibet and East Turkestan, and they want to keep that road through Aksai Chin at any cost.

They also cannot do much on that sector beyond where they are. They suffered 1000 dead against 140 Indians dead in 1962. Indians are there in the mountains, while PLA is mainly in flatter ground. They would need a prolonged campaign over several months if they want to make any progress in that sector.

On the other hand, in the Arunachal area, with the thick foliage and forests, PLA would be fighting a very asymmetrical warfare, and any prolonged campaign will bleed them high and dry, with two adversaries, IA and Tibetan Fighters. Do not forget, CIA would jump in to supply weapons to weaken PRC.

I agree the Eastern Command will not be the sole command tasked with handling the Chinese threat. The Northern Command will too be directly involved in the action, and so will the other commands, mostly in an indirect capacity. In any case, the Eastern command will require assets of the other commands, most notably the artilley and Army aviation assets.

I'm not entirely sure as to who the Southern command will act against, but given that the Western and SW commands have credible capacity against Pak, it would be realistic and very possible that the Southern command will be deployed in support of Eastern Command operations.

As for SW command, it was created primarily for the Pakistani theatre, I dont see it being able to spare anything more than a division/artillery brigade/engineering brigade to the Eastern front without losing capability.

What I meant by my earlier comment is that with the Northern Command being squeezed by both Pak and Chinese forces, the attention of the top ranks will be distributed on the two fronts and the need to prevent a linkup between the two forces. As such, with its back to the wall, it would not be the best command to direct a deep offensive into Chinese areas.

The Eastern command on the other hand is faced with hostiles on only one front, and as such is not threatened by forces at its back. It would be easier for it to manage logistics and assets in support of strike corps than the Northern Command.

The Chinese will attract resources of Central Command and Western Command in the Central sectors of the LAC...
The Chinese will attract resources of Southern Command in Island Territories and A&N...
The Chinese will attract reserve resources of South Western Command in the East or the North...

India may well keep two strike Corps for Paki Chachus and employ two strike Corps against the Chinese... on the contrary if situation so permits India will first employ four strike corps including mountain strike corps against Pakistan and then switch those towards China.

Well if CPOs are well militarized to be capable of taking over the defenses, then India would have four strike Corps in the East...

That would be too much for the Chinese to swallow

t_co

The Chinese will attract resources of Central Command and Western Command in the Central sectors of the LAC...
The Chinese will attract resources of Southern Command in Island Territories and A&N...
The Chinese will attract reserve resources of South Western Command in the East or the North...

India may well keep two strike Corps for Paki Chachus and employ two strike Corps against the Chinese... on the contrary if situation so permits India will first employ four strike corps including mountain strike corps against Pakistan and then switch those towards China.

Well if CPOs are well militarized to be capable of taking over the defenses, then India would have four strike Corps in the East...

That would be too much for the Chinese to swallow
Remember, it's not a matter of keeping keeping strike corps in certain areas - it's keeping them supplied and ready to move. Cut the roads and railways, and the offensive power of mechanized formations disappears.

Indian infrastructure in Arunachal doesn't hold a candle to China's infrastructure there. Brigade-sized Chinese formations on the Chinese side of the border can likely move with 50-60% more speed than an equivalent Indian formation, and have a 6-12 hour resupply trip using trucks from theater-level supply depots, while their Indian counterparts have 2-3 day supply loop. Those logistical factors are huge force multipliers.

In order to reduce them, the IAF would have to either win decisively in the air (which it likely won't since at least 1/3rd of its combat strength will be committed to Pakistan in the opening stages of a war) or commit itself to interdiction sorties in a condition of air parity, which is something no air commander ever wants to do.

Remember, it's not a matter of keeping keeping strike corps in certain areas - it's keeping them supplied and ready to move. Cut the roads and railways, and the offensive power of mechanized formations disappears.

Indian infrastructure in Arunachal doesn't hold a candle to China's infrastructure there. Brigade-sized Chinese formations on the Chinese side of the border can likely move with 50-60% more speed than an equivalent Indian formation, and have a 6-12 hour resupply trip using trucks from theater-level supply depots, while their Indian counterparts have 2-3 day supply loop. Those logistical factors are huge force multipliers.

In order to reduce them, the IAF would have to either win decisively in the air (which it likely won't since at least 1/3rd of its combat strength will be committed to Pakistan in the opening stages of a war) or commit itself to interdiction sorties in a condition of air parity, which is something no air commander ever wants to do.

India has no territorial ambitions vis a vis China. TAR is an autonomous region of China with valid Indian interests therein. The main task of the IA, IMHO, is to secure valid and historical Indian claims and maintain territorial integrity. It is China which has illogical and invalid aggressive intents and ambitions over Indian territories and huge chunk of Indian Territory is in illegal possession of China as a result of aggression and hence not acceptable. Indian Army at best will free those territories and defend India's territorial integrity.

PLA on the other hand has aggressive and evil intentions towards India and her territories. The infrastructure in Tibet which can support PLA aggression is quite a proof of that.

The infrastructure on Indian side is not sufficient to carry out development of her areas but sufficient for defensive operations and thwart Chinese aggression. The defensive formations can well do that and the offensive formation can restore the adverse situation any where along the front.

If Indian Army is able to do that much only, it would be a big slap for the face of high ego Hans and their PLA. It will be a big defeat for China. If India is able to take a few border towns of China like Yadong, Cuna etc, PLA will be a laughing stock the world over. If PLA ingresses into Indian territories they will not able to go back this time.

In all cases mighty PLA will have to undergo a moral and psychological defeat and many PLA generals will have to be shot.

IAF will win decisively no doubt. PAF has abandoned their ten year plans and Chinese crap with them is of no consequences.

However, let us talk of peace rather than war. India's worry are war like efforts undertaken by China in TAR. China has to demonstrate she does not want war by shutting the doors she has opened.

The entire onus lies with China. India is only reacting.

Govt clears posting of 40,000 soldiers along China border

NEWS FLASHGovt clears posting of 40,000 soldiers along China border

What happened to the GoI all of a sudden......:scared2:

Is this the present GoI.....

Re: Govt clears posting of 40,000 soldiers along China border

which channel

Ndtv, flash news........

SilentKiller

good move, but we need best artillary for army as we are seriously lacking in it and this is must on our northern front which was proven in kargil.

TrueSpirit

Finally. so Fin ministry & CCS & whatever clearance.. is now in place, right ?

nirranj

India to deploy 50,000 additional troops along China border - The Times of India

India to deploy 50,000 additional troops along China border

NEW DELHI: Boosting Army's war fighting capabilities along the line of actual control (LAC), the government on Wednesday has given the go ahead to the creation of a corps including deployment of 50,000 additional troops along the China border at a cost of around Rs 65,000 crore.

The Cabinet committee on security headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh cleared the proposal in its meeting, sources told PTI.

As part of the plans, the around 1.3 million-strong Army is expected to raise the new corps' headquarters at Panagarh in West Bengal along with two divisions in Bihar and Assam and other units from Ladakh in Jammu & Kashmir to Arunachal Pradesh.

Army chief Gen Bikram Singh and IAF chief Air Chief Marshal NAK Browne were also present at the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) for providing any possible clarifications, if any, sought by the CCS members including defence minister AK Antony, external affairs minister Salman Khurshid and finance minister P Chidambaram.

As per the plans, the IAF will also deploy its force multiplier assets such as six each mid-air refuelling tankers and C-130J Super Hercules special operations aircraft at Panagarh.

The Army had sent the proposal in this regard in 2010 but it was returned by the government asking the three services to work together on plans to strengthen their capabilities in that region.

The Army will also get a number of new armoured and artillery divisions along with it to be deployed along the northeast region.

The existing strike corps in the force include the 1, 2 and 21 Corps are all based close to the Pakistan border and are mainly armed to fight a land battle unlike the new corps which will mainly focus on mountain warfare.

nirranj

Government clears posting of 40,000 soldiers along China border | NDTV.com

Government clears posting of 40,000 soldiers along China border

New Delhi: The Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) today gave the much-awaited clearance for raising a Mountain Strike Corps.

The formation will comprise 40,000 additional soldiers to counter China's military strength, sources said. It will cost Rs. 64,000 crore, to be spent over a seven year period, and will empower India's military with an offensive capability against China, so far been missing from its armoury.

The Strike Corps will be headquartered at Panagarh in West Bengal.

Apart from two more mountain divisions, the Strike Corps will have an independent armoured brigade, an artillery brigade.

The Indian Air Force or IAF too will deploy its newly-acquired medium lift C-130 J Hercules Transport Aircraft designed for aiding special operations.

India already has three Strike Corps: 1 Corps is based in Mathura, 2 Corps in Ambala and 21 Corps is in Bhopal. However, all of them are ranged against Pakistan and are equipped for desert and plains warfare.

The planned expansion of military capacity is first such addition since 2009 when India decided to raise two mountain divisions in the north-east.

Each division with 15,000 soldiers is now fully formed and functional at Lekhapani and Missamari in Assam, at the foothills of Arunachal Pradesh.

nirranj

two news agencies brought this news first.. one claims 40,000 troops and the other claims 50,000 troops :frusty:

nirranj

The planned expansion of military capacity is first such addition since 2009 when India decided to raise two mountain divisions in the north-east.

Each division with 15,000 soldiers is now fully formed and functional at Lekhapani and Missamari in Assam, at the foothills of Arunachal Pradesh.

The formation will comprise 40,000 additional soldiers to counter China's military strength, sources said. It will cost 64,000 crore, to be spent over a seven year period, and will empower India's military with an offensive capability against China, so far been missing from its armoury.

The Strike Corps will be headquartered at Panagarh in West Bengal.

Apart from two more mountain divisions, the Strike Corps will have an independent armoured brigade, an artillery brigade.
Are the mountain divisions part of the up coming strike corps?? or are the independent...

And what advantage will the addition of 40,000 troops bring against the Chinese??

nirranj

I agree troop induction is not the biggest problem. Especially since the mountain divisions are devoid of armoured assets/BLT etc, and include only signals, artillery elements and other lighter assets, air deployment will not be a big headache.

The bigger problem will be logistics, especially when the shooting starts. It is quite different from the requirements in peacetime. In peace you are required to only supply food, clothing and fuel and a limited amount of ammunition. In war, you will also be conducting CASEVAC, reinforcement induction,sustained ammunition supply and a variety of ops with your supply assets.

Even the 145 M777 guns firing 6 rounds a minute for 8 hours daily will require 144 tons of Artillery rounds a day. Thats 30 sorties a day by Mi-17 just for the guns for the strike corps. For a short intense war, we can conduct operations via air supply only. That I agree. But any prolonged one, as in case of a stalemate will have us in a very uneviable position.

Though op Checkerboard did show us our airlift capability, any field commander is far more comfortable when he has a road/naval supply line to his troops.
I would rather have a separate arms production infrastructure (that produces gun powder or whatever chemical, bullets, tank rounds, artillery rounds and Assembles rockets) in the North east. This will reduce the strain of transporting everything from the mainland. We must have a strong Air defense in the North east to protect the supply routes and factories. As far as fuel supply is considered, we are blessed with Dibrugarh just near to supply unlimited fuel in war time (provided we have defenses in place to protect it).

chinis have more than 2 lakhs foji in that area.

SilentKiller

two news agencies brought this news first.. one claims 40,000 troops and the other claims 50,000 troops :frusty:
indian media, what else you can expect.
any way, on eastern front we are much better than on northern front, have myself viewed how good army is stationed on Tawang area, but we realy lack infra on arunachal front, we cannot have defence industry so close to border as someone suggested, too risky.
mostly defence industry must be further from front but our infra should be so good we can maintain logistic during needs.
we can do store large amount of ammo, such as build massive bunkers in army/airforce bases in assam.

when my father was posted on leh, he also mentioned that we lack infra on this front on much larger scale.
to solve chinese threat to some extent, we need to go into self sufficient in defence sector and start making few components in much larger scale.
As we are to take on enemy on western front but hold off one from north, we need larger amount of artillery, transport equipment, surveillance and early warning and better infra on northern front.

Instead of going for upgraded for older T-72 and waste money on then, i would replace T-72 fully by arjun tanks for western front.
Use T-72 hull to make APC and move BMP-2's to norther front.
need 20-30 C130's, 20-C-17's., 10-C130 in chandigarh (which i believe is transport hub for AF), 10 in west bengal for N-E and 10 in MP.
Give contract to Tata to make APC's and Mahindra to make MPV's.
1000 OFB Bofors, just select tata's wheeled mounted artillery, give tracked one to L&T.
Use special or armed forces to take out naxals and N-E rebels first as they are all indian nationals but supported by chinese, we need to get rid of these internal threat with iron fist, hell with media, just do media black out, give them ultimatum of talks and lay arms else kill them.
when we don't face any such problem, we will be better prepared to take external threats.

nirranj

I have some points on how to handle the Chinese adventure in the Eastern Sector.

In a war, the Chinese will be the aggressor and we will be the Defenders. Chinese will seek distraction in our ranks by opening up a second theater with Pakistan attacking in the west. Now we have two fronts to concentrate. This is the same situation which the Nazis drew themselves in the WWii, but will thrust on us.

In the two fronts we have a sole objective, Defend.

We have to Divide our strength to deal with both the adversaries at the same time.

Army should plan its operations and the Political and Bureaucratic systems should only assist Army (no political intervention)

Now the army is divided into two to face the two enemies.

Airforce is divided into two, one to Achieve air superiority within our airspace (if possible carry out surgical strikes on Chinese logistics and can be aimed at the Dams of the Tibet If the Chinese have breached the Defenses in the East) and the Second to stale mate the PAF.

Now we have the Navy and Tri service command in the Andamans, Our offensive starts with the Navy. We have to first eliminate the PN as fast as we could and in the same time, we should enforce a blockade of Bay of bengal by closing the Malacca straits. This eliminates a third front. After eliminating the PN, the IN should focus on amphibious assault in the Sind and the Balochistan. Now we have Pakistan caught in a two front War and they will be forced to reinforce their Southern Flak.

We should use this time to open a invisible second front against the Chinese in the Xinjiang by encouraging Terror strikes or commando operations from Afghanistan and Fukhror base in Tajikistan...

The Chinese cannot sustain the war for more than a week as any longer It will escalate into WW3 in the least possibility and a Stand off in the East China sea most probably.

And any invader will face the war of attrition. The Chinese, however mighty they may be are subject to attrition in form of Guerrilla operations By our Forces. The Soviets with all their might couldn't fight the mujahideens in the Panjsir valley. The mountainous and densely forested region of the NE is a hell trap for any force. And we should have specialist forces in Jungle warfare.

And we have the result, A stalemate or a Nuclear finish.

Now in peace time, Wee need to concentrate on few things, (In addition to the Infrastructure development)

1) Develop two or three ammunition (Bullets, shells, Rockets) factory (in the least) in the NE, one in Assam and one in Manipur or Mizoram.

2) Develop two All weather Railway lines to the Arunachal Pradesh. One from WB through Assam and the Second from Mizoram through Manipur and Nagaland. (This is a master card, as this will enhance the economic development of our North East, Enhance the Connectivity of the otherwise remote areas, boost trade with Myanmar and Bangladesh)

3) The fuel supply to the Defense forces in NE should be from oil fields in Assam.

4) Boost up the Air defenses all over India.

5) Develop a Second Tank factory in the North along with two Assembly lines (for assembling Completely knocked down tank kits) one in Rajastan and the other in WB.

6) Strengthen the Navy, such that it is superior than the PN and Achieves parity with the PLAN.

7) Secure democracy in Afghanistan and Develop a strong Transport network to Afghanistan and Central Asia Via Iran (Also secure the Relationship with Iran) and get the Airbase in Fukhror (or Aiyni) operational asap.

8) Develop a Win Win relationship with Myanmar and Bangladesh as they both will be of great importance in a war with China. We should open road connection with Bangladesh from the Tiripura and Mizoram (to connect the NE with Chittagong port). Connect Myanmar with Mizoram, Manipur and Nagaland. This will help us to have a second access route to Arunachal Pradesh From Bay of Bengal. (in case we need to reinforce the North east we can use these routes too). We should use our Economic power to get these done.

9) Develop a fool proof Anti Ballistic missile defense.

10) Have a Stronger presence in the Andamans.

11) Completely eliminate the Terror outfits in the NE and bring the NE region under complete control and thereby bringing India's Growth story there. This should be the first priority for the Govt.

12) Develop a Long range Cruise missile system that can navigate though the Himalayan mountain chains.

13) Last but not the Least, to avoid any surprises like the 1962 or DBO stand off, Improve the Satellite Surveillance and Deploy more number of drones, Sensors along the borders.

I would say the Defense of Arunachal Pradesh is in the East China sea and Afghanistan.

One more, If Pakistan Invades again, We need to completely dismantle its Military setup and China will be the first nation to seek negotiations with India in Disputes.

nirranj

indian media, what else you can expect.
any way, on eastern front we are much better than on northern front, have myself viewed how good army is stationed on Tawang area, but we realy lack infra on arunachal front, we cannot have defence industry so close to border as someone suggested, too risky.
mostly defence industry must be further from front but our infra should be so good we can maintain logistic during needs.
we can do store large amount of ammo, such as build massive bunkers in army/airforce bases in assam.

when my father was posted on leh, he also mentioned that we lack infra on this front on much larger scale.
to solve chinese threat to some extent, we need to go into self sufficient in defence sector and start making few components in much larger scale.
As we are to take on enemy on western front but hold off one from north, we need larger amount of artillery, transport equipment, surveillance and early warning and better infra on northern front.

Instead of going for upgraded for older T-72 and waste money on then, i would replace T-72 fully by arjun tanks for western front.
Use T-72 hull to make APC and move BMP-2's to norther front.
need 20-30 C130's, 20-C-17's., 10-C130 in chandigarh (which i believe is transport hub for AF), 10 in west bengal for N-E and 10 in MP.
Give contract to Tata to make APC's and Mahindra to make MPV's.
1000 OFB Bofors, just select tata's wheeled mounted artillery, give tracked one to L&T.
Use special or armed forces to take out naxals and N-E rebels first as they are all indian nationals but supported by chinese, we need to get rid of these internal threat with iron fist, hell with media, just do media black out, give them ultimatum of talks and lay arms else kill them.
when we don't face any such problem, we will be better prepared to take external threats.
We cannot build state of the Art defense foctories in the borders. But we can build Ammunition factories which will produce Bullets, shells etc. this will reduce the necessity to transport everything from the Mainland. Also this will ensure that we have employment opportunities to the North east.

On T-72 yes they should be phased out in favor of Arjun. But still we need another Tank factory as we cannot further Expand in Avadi and also we will end up to transport the Spares for 2000 kms in war time. A second factory will help increase the rate of production of tanks in the country and will help us to quickly deploy replacement to the gunned down tanks.

We need more AFC's in the northern sector and even more Helicopters. Its time to start outsourcing the Weapons production to Indian Private players.

SilentKiller

I have some points on how to handle the Chinese adventure in the Eastern Sector.

In a war, the Chinese will be the aggressor and we will be the Defenders. Chinese will seek distraction in our ranks by opening up a second theater with Pakistan attacking in the west. Now we have two fronts to concentrate. This is the same situation which the Nazis drew themselves in the WWii, but will thrust on us.

In the two fronts we have a sole objective, Defend.

We have to Divide our strength to deal with both the adversaries at the same time.

Army should plan its operations and the Political and Bureaucratic systems should only assist Army (no political intervention)

Now the army is divided into two to face the two enemies.

Airforce is divided into two, one to Achieve air superiority within our airspace (if possible carry out surgical strikes on Chinese logistics and can be aimed at the Dams of the Tibet If the Chinese have breached the Defenses in the East) and the Second to stale mate the PAF.

Now we have the Navy and Tri service command in the Andamans, Our offensive starts with the Navy. We have to first eliminate the PN as fast as we could and in the same time, we should enforce a blockade of Bay of bengal by closing the Malacca straits. This eliminates a third front. After eliminating the PN, the IN should focus on amphibious assault in the Sind and the Balochistan. Now we have Pakistan caught in a two front War and they will be forced to reinforce their Southern Flak.

We should use this time to open a invisible second front against the Chinese in the Xinjiang by encouraging Terror strikes or commando operations from Afghanistan and Fukhror base in Tajikistan...

The Chinese cannot sustain the war for more than a week as any longer It will escalate into WW3 in the least possibility and a Stand off in the East China sea most probably.

And any invader will face the war of attrition. The Chinese, however mighty they may be are subject to attrition in form of Guerrilla operations By our Forces. The Soviets with all their might couldn't fight the mujahideens in the Panjsir valley. The mountainous and densely forested region of the NE is a hell trap for any force. And we should have specialist forces in Jungle warfare.

And we have the result, A stalemate or a Nuclear finish.

Now in peace time, Wee need to concentrate on few things, (In addition to the Infrastructure development)
Well frankly speaking, most of the above things looks out of fiction than fact.:p
no offense
Never underestimate your enemy, PN is quite large with massive sub fleet do consider that too. In case of air war, india's airforce first priority would be safe guarding its fronts but india can use Tibet as flash point or as trump card. and pakistan can be dealt with its aggression by offensive from baluchistan but this is quite a difficult task as indian navy will have to neutralize pak navy much quickly, so most likely area for india is western boder only, this is where most of pak industry and people live, take fight to them and they will panic first, but in current time cannot take fight to china its defence industry is established but not ours for which we need to work for their confinement.

Frankly china would be risking much more than india if it acts as aggressor, we have to win war on diplomacy also by winning world support.
I realy liked the way we approached japan as soon as we recently had issues with china.

1) Develop two or three ammunition (Bullets, shells, Rockets) factory (in the least) in the NE, one in Assam and one in Manipur or Mizoram.
Against factories near front...try to get logic as if we try and bomb their industry they will too, same happened with germany in WW2, russia survived as it moved its factories beyond Ural's.

2) Develop two All weather Railway lines to the Arunachal Pradesh. One from WB through Assam and the Second from Mizoram through Manipur and Nagaland. (This is a master card, as this will enhance the economic development of our North East, Enhance the Connectivity of the otherwise remote areas, boost trade with Myanmar and Bangladesh)
This is good one, but only one link can go through Assam and rest of india to arunachal, next link can be from Sikkim via bhutan.

3) The fuel supply to the Defense forces in NE should be from oil fields in Assam.
Fine, but we can have fuel dumps in underground bunkers etc as oil fields might be targeted by chinese during first fews days itself.

4) Boost up the Air defenses all over India.
This we need quickly and of quite importance

5) Develop a Second Tank factory in the North along with two Assembly lines (for assembling Completely knocked down tank kits) one in Rajastan and the other in WB
Which tank. if its T-90, we will remain dependent on russian and no external power can be trusted, many don't know that soviets back stabbed india in 65 war. they did came for help in 71 though.

6) Strengthen the Navy, such that it is superior than the PN and Achieves parity with the PLAN.
in 10-20 years we might not match PN, we have to work on complete containment than act as aggressor. They have numbers in their favor and have much larger sub strength.

8) Develop a Win Win relationship with Myanmar and Bangladesh as they both will be of great importance in a war with China. We should open road connection with Bangladesh from the Tiripura and Manipur. Connect Myanmar with Manipur and Nagaland

This would be great, but can't say that we can trust Bangladesh in war against chinese as they currently use most of equipment of chinese origin.

9) Develop a fool proof Anti Ballistic missile defense.
If we want it quickly, need it from israel or US.

10) Have a Stronger presence in the Andamans.

11) Completely eliminate the Terror outfits in the NE and bring the NE region under complete control and thereby bringing India's Growth story there. This should be the first priority for the Govt.
Completely agree

I would say the Defense of Arunachal Pradesh is in the East China sea and Afghanistan.
Nope, its same as pakistan said in 71, defence of east pakistan is in west pakistan. for me defence of india's north is in india's north.