FOREIGN POLICY: New, Strong and Clear Outreach

Dr. Jaishankar is in Uganda for the NAM Summit.

As funny as that sounds, he is giving it a very interesting twist.

He has decided to use our NAM leadership to steer the members into our area of influence, the way China is using SCO.

So, the new world order draft version looks something like this:

NAM ->> BRICS <<- SCO

Where Both sides converge into BRICS in the long run for something tangible.

Needless to say, Serbia, Indonesia and a whole load of non-African countries were also present at the summit, making it more representative.

Macron begins his tour of India, hitting all the right notes in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The man even bought a replica of Ram Mandir that Samrat Chakravartin was eager to let him buy. :lol:

It's all just political theatrics, but the individual in question is fiercely determined to make things happen this year. I hope to see the Rafale-M deal to be signed during the visit, along with several other crucial deals.

Macron is eager to disengage from risky ventures that he anticipates in the West. He won't voice his concerns openly, fearing Anglo-American retaliation, but he'll skillfully and strategically shift his focus to the east.

As far as he's concerned, China poses no significant threat, while we are the safest bet. Germany, on the other hand, will continue to flounder, given their lack of independence.

Lost opportunity of better US - India relations

The on-again, off-again nature of US-India relations has once again hit a snag after a brief period of improvement over the last decade. Modi's assumption of leadership in India initially saw a shift towards the right-wing and a temporary boost in relations. However, they have since soured again, with India refraining from aligning with the US in the Ukraine conflict and persisting in its purchase of economical Russian oil. These oil transactions have saved India nearly $10 billion in the past two years, a significant sum.

The history of US-India relations has been rocky since the 1950s when John Foster Dulles derided India's Soviet-style economic planning and heavily armed its rival, Pakistan. Tensions escalated when Indira Gandhi's opposed U.S. bombings of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia during the Vietnam War. The worst came when US deployed the 7th Fleet to the Indian Ocean in 1971 to stop birth of new nation of Bangladesh. In subsequent decades, the US imposed harsh sanctions on India for conducting nuclear tests, contrasting with its leniency towards China's nuclear program and its 45 nuclear tests. Although relations briefly improved with the signing of the India-US nuclear deal in 2008, promises of US assistance in building nuclear power plants in India turned out to be illusory.

Modi's ascension initially seemed to reset the relationship, with the US praising India's dismantling of socialist structures and welcoming Indian talent to fuel America's high-tech industries. However, recent events, such as India's neutrality in the Ukraine conflict and its continued reliance on Russian oil, have strained ties anew. US attempts to exert pressure, exemplified by the "Pannu Affair," have thus far failed to alter India's stance significantly.

Looking ahead, the fate of US-India relations may hinge on electoral outcomes in both countries, particularly the anticipated change in US administration. India's lesson from these developments is clear: substantial investment and a shift in sourcing from China to India could sway its allegiance towards the US. Otherwise, India will maintain its trajectory of robust economic growth and steadfast independence in global affairs.

US Intel community annual threat assessment 2024:
On India China: Ties remain strained, maintain large troop development
On India Pakistan: Fragile Calm

1710256128830.png

anyone remembers, from last year where jai shankar says at the end of the day both russia and ukraine have to sit across the table and talk to each other.

post the video here if you found it.
======
"The sooner we can convince Moscow that it will not win on the battlefield, the sooner we can reach a peace agreement in which Russia understands that it cannot win the war, but must sit down and negotiate an agreement in which Ukraine becomes a sovereign, independent state."

EAM S Jaishankar Urges Countries To Not Comment On India's Internal Affairs
EAM S Jaishankar urges countries to not comment on India's internal affairs

Foreign minister Jaishankar asserts India's sovereignty, rebukes foreign interference. Criticizes China's actions in Arunachal Pradesh. Defends Nehru and Gandhi on Katchatheevu issue. Calls for transparency on DMK's role. Highlights Tamil Nadu fishermen's plight.
NEW DELHI: Foreign minister S Jaishankar on Tuesday advised other countries to refrain from making political statements on India's internal affairs or else will get a 'very strong reply' from India.

Responding to a question about the recent comments of US and German envoys on Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's arrest the Enforcement Directorate, the foreign minister said that India had made it very clear that it objected to such statements.

"Somebody asked a person from the UN (about Kejriwal's arrest), and he gave some reply. But in other cases, I would say very frankly these are old habits, these are bad habits," Jaishankar said.

"There is a certain 'maryada' (restraint) among countries. We are sovereign countries, we should not be interfering in each other's internal affairs, we should not be passing comments about each other's politics," he added.

The foreign minister further said that certain etiquettes, conventions and practices which must be followed in international relations and if any country comments in India's politics, they will get a very strong reply from the government.

"We sincerely urge all the countries in the world that by all means you have your views about the world, but no country has the right to comment on another country's politics especially in situations like this," Jaishankar said.

During the interaction, Jaishankar also slammed China's action of issuing a list of new names for places in Arunachal Pradesh and called it 'senseless'. He also added that the northeastern state is and will always be a part of India.

"I want to be very clear that Arunachal Pradesh was, Arunachal Pradesh is, Arunachal Pradesh will always be India. I hope I am saying it so clearly that not only in the country but beyond the country also people get that message very very clearly," he said.

Meanwhile, Jaishankar also came down heavily on Congress leader P Chidambram over the Katchatheevu island row. the EAM said that the fishermen of Tamil Nadu should know who put them in this situation.

In his tweets on X earlier, Chidambaram said any "untruthful and belligerent" statement about the island will bring the Sri Lankan government and 35 lakh Tamils into confrontation. Jaishankar did a "somersault" on the issue, and once a liberal foreign service officer, he became a mouthpiece of the RSS-BJP, the former Union minister said.

Jaishankar said he did not mind people disputing his statements that then prime ministers Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi gave no importance to the island and the legal opinion regarding negotiating fishing rights with Sri Lanka was disregarded.

"But these are public documents. By saying that today Jaishankar is in BJP or not -- Jaishankar is in BJP and is proud to be in BJP -- does not change anything. Facts are facts, truth is truth. Fishermen of Tamil Nadu should know who has put them in that situation," he said.

The issue is not what was the (then) government's position... the issue is the public should know that the DMK was complicit in it," he added.

EAM S Jaishankar Urges Countries To Not Comment On India's Internal Affairs
EAM S Jaishankar urges countries to not comment on India's internal affairs's internal affairs

Foreign minister Jaishankar asserts India's sovereignty, rebukes foreign interference. Criticizes China's actions in Arunachal Pradesh. Defends Nehru and Gandhi on Katchatheevu issue. Calls for transparency on DMK's role. Highlights Tamil Nadu fishermen's plight.
NEW DELHI: Foreign minister S Jaishankar on Tuesday advised other countries to refrain from making political statements on India's internal affairs or else will get a 'very strong reply' from India.

Responding to a question about the recent comments of US and German envoys on Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal's arrest the Enforcement Directorate, the foreign minister said that India had made it very clear that it objected to such statements.

"Somebody asked a person from the UN (about Kejriwal's arrest), and he gave some reply. But in other cases, I would say very frankly these are old habits, these are bad habits," Jaishankar said.

"There is a certain 'maryada' (restraint) among countries. We are sovereign countries, we should not be interfering in each other's internal affairs, we should not be passing comments about each other's politics," he added.

The foreign minister further said that certain etiquettes, conventions and practices which must be followed in international relations and if any country comments in India's politics, they will get a very strong reply from the government.

"We sincerely urge all the countries in the world that by all means you have your views about the world, but no country has the right to comment on another country's politics especially in situations like this," Jaishankar said.

During the interaction, Jaishankar also slammed China's action of issuing a list of new names for places in Arunachal Pradesh and called it 'senseless'. He also added that the northeastern state is and will always be a part of India.

"I want to be very clear that Arunachal Pradesh was, Arunachal Pradesh is, Arunachal Pradesh will always be India. I hope I am saying it so clearly that not only in the country but beyond the country also people get that message very very clearly," he said.

Meanwhile, Jaishankar also came down heavily on Congress leader P Chidambram over the Katchatheevu island row. the EAM said that the fishermen of Tamil Nadu should know who put them in this situation.

In his tweets on X earlier, Chidambaram said any "untruthful and belligerent" statement about the island will bring the Sri Lankan government and 35 lakh Tamils into confrontation. Jaishankar did a "somersault" on the issue, and once a liberal foreign service officer, he became a mouthpiece of the RSS-BJP, the former Union minister said.

Jaishankar said he did not mind people disputing his statements that then prime ministers Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi gave no importance to the island and the legal opinion regarding negotiating fishing rights with Sri Lanka was disregarded.

"But these are public documents. By saying that today Jaishankar is in BJP or not -- Jaishankar is in BJP and is proud to be in BJP -- does not change anything. Facts are facts, truth is truth. Fishermen of Tamil Nadu should know who has put them in that situation," he said.

The issue is not what was the (then) government's position... the issue is the public should know that the DMK was complicit in it," he added.
‘I agree; India’s internal affairs are India’s business. The outsides are not welcomed to meddle with these.

A mathematical way of looking at foreign relations (or politics for that matter)

Basically these are the characteristics needed.

1) Be Nice
2) Be forgiving
3) Retaliatory (Don't be a push over with some forgiveness)
4) Clear

This should also apply to religious relations. Hinduism for ex is not retaliatory. (I guess this would be why hardline Islam may die off)
India was neither retaliatory nor clear. I think that changed with the current government.

if anyone finds a military statement which reads on the lines of "we will respond at a time and place of our choosing" , from any part of the world prior to 19th sep 2016. do post it here.

Indrajit

if anyone finds a military statement which reads on the lines of "we will respond at a time and place of our choosing" , from any part of the world prior to 19th sep 2016. do post it here.

Brig. Gen. Mark Kimmitt, a U.S. Army spokesman, said "we will be back in Fallujah. It will be at the time and place of our choosing.

another of those cases of attempts to manufacture a new stick to beat India with, in continuation of indications that is popping up these days, that western think tanks have an issue with Modi emphasising Bharat as civilisational state. i suppose we are going to see more of this in coming years.
Their whole narrative since 1947 is that India is an artificial country like Yugoslavia, that there wasn't any "India" before the Bri'ish came, clevelry conflating the State which is a political entity and the Nation which is not.

This CiViLiZaTiOnAL StAtE is what is traditionally defined as a "nation", not in the narrow European version of "unga bunga one language === one nation"

The narrative of India being an artificial nation is also why you have these "muh Kaanstitooshan khatre me hai!" shills, because as per them if the "constitution is harmed" then the "idea of India" will be destroyed and India will be balkanized.

There is no Idea of India, this is no New World petridish shithole like US or any of those meme countries in the Americas that exist because of the materialism of greedy europeans needing some kaanstitooshan and "ideology".

Gobi ji must make this clear to them.