DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

avknight1408

:balleballe:
Govt dissolves OFB, transfers employees and assets to 7 PSUs

The defence ministry has dissolved the Ordnance Factory Board (OFB) with effect from October 1 and transferred its assets, employees and management to seven public sector units (PSUs), according to an official order.

According to the order, the name of the seven defence PSUs (also called DPSUs) are Munition India Limited, Armoured Vehicles Nigam Limited, Advanced Weapons and Equipment India Limited, Troop Comforts Limited, Yantra India Limited, India Optel Limited and Gliders India Limited.
7 new DPSUs to be launched on Dusshera.

> विनाशाय च दुष्कृताम्
> राष्ट्रो रक्षति रक्षितः
> राष्ट्र रक्षासमम् यज्ञो
> सर्वाः प्रतिशो जयम
Gud gud I like it, nice mottos
Commie-Liberandu combo GandJalan in progress
Hope they live up to their mottos

avknight1408

A small history lesson :
The OFB is modelled on the British 'Royal Ordnance Factories'. The ROF was considered inefficient. In 1980s PM Margaret Thatcher decided to get rid off it. So in 1987 they were corporatised as ROF plc. Then the new company was privatized. In the bidding, British Aerospace emerged as the winner. [Note : British Aerospace itself had been privatized in 1981]
Today the merged company is known BAE Systems and is one of the largest defence contractors in the world with revenue of ~ $25billion.

vishnugupt

A small history lesson :
The OFB is modelled on the British 'Royal Ordnance Factories'. The ROF was considered inefficient. In 1980s PM Margaret Thatcher decided to get rid off it. So in 1987 they were corporatised as ROF plc. Then the new company was privatized. In the bidding, British Aerospace emerged as the winner. [Note : British Aerospace itself had been privatized in 1981]
Today the merged company is known BAE Systems and is one of the largest defence contractors in the world with revenue of ~ $25billion.
Vahi hona hai dost. It was difficult to sell 48 different factories, now only 7 that too organized. Privatization is on the door.

avknight1408

A small history lesson :
My suggestions for future defence reforms.
Step 1 : Turn DRDO into a missile & nuke specifc unit. Transfer other labs of DRDO to the 7 new DPSUs. For eg: CVRDE Avadi should be transferred to armoured vehicle PSU.

Step 2 : Now privatize the 7 PSUs. Sell 51% stake and hold the remaining. Allow only Indian companies like Tata, L&T etc to participate in bidding.

Step 3 : Drdo budget should now be given to the privatized companies as R&D grants for IDDM projects.

I know the above is just wishful thinking. But if they are followed then we will be truly self sufficient in defence products. We may have our own BAE systems.

Okabe Rintarou

My suggestions for future defence reforms.
Step 1 : Turn DRDO into a missile & nuke specifc unit. Transfer other labs of DRDO to the 7 new DPSUs. For eg: CVRDE Avadi should be transferred to armoured vehicle PSU.

Step 2 : Now privatize the 7 PSUs. Sell 51% stake and hold the remaining. Allow only Indian companies like Tata, L&T etc to participate in bidding.

Step 3 : Drdo budget should now be given to the privatized companies as R&D grants for IDDM projects.

I know the above is just wishful thinking. But if they are followed then we will be truly self sufficient in defence products. We may have our own BAE systems.
No thanks.
1.) Its myopic to turn DRDO into just a "Missile & Nuke specific unit" because that is your perception of DRDO's success. ADA is not successful? What about LRDE? CAIR?
2.) Privatization is not a panacea. Give the newly formed PSUs at least a chance to show if they are worth keeping as PSU before you sell them to the highest bidder! Do we not have good PSUs in India? Straight away you want to sell 51% stake? First try and sell less than a controlling stake and see if maybe that works wonders?
3.) Private industries are in no position to absorb the kind of R&D budget that DRDO has, nor will they give you bang for the buck. Don't expect the likes of Mahindra and Kalyani to magically start doing better than DRDO in R&D when they haven't shown any appetite for it yet. Don't expect TATA to design a better TEDBF than ADA suddenly out of the blue. Who will be responsible if this move is used by some money-minded businessman to build a company from remains of DRDO and then sell it to the highest foreign bidder? Aren't we seeing our new startups being snapped up by foreign investors, with the startup founders simply taking a hefty payment and calling it a day? Do we have a law in India that prevents sale of strategic industries to foreign entities like they have in USA?

Indian Armed Forces CAPEX is less than that of the British, and a big pie (36% this year) is meant to go towards imports. What kind of Private Defence Industry has Britain been able to sustain with its military CAPEX? They have to run to Europe or USA for any major defence project, be it fighter jets or destroyers. And you expect Indian Private Enterprise to do wonders with DRDO's meagre budget? Please don't behave like Monkeys, aping the West blindly. Russians and Chinese don't need private enterprises for their defence needs, yet they are powerful enough. We need to find our own model that works for us. Asian Tiger economies didn't become Tigers because they blindly copied the West. They became succesful because they found the perfect Mixed-Economy balance between a purely Planned economy and a purely Capitalist economy that worked for them. "Privatize everything and hope for the best" is the fool's solution. Its not even a proper solution, just a blind hope. In a country like ours, where the Media, Judiciary, Political parties, etc none of these have a policy of nation before self, in such a country, implementing policies that work in the likes of USA is beyond stupid. First fix the judiciary before you set out to sell Country's crown jewels like DRDO in the open market?

Yes DRDO needs improvements, but simply selling it to Private Companies because you can't be bothered to think of solutions is just lazy on your part.

The new model we now have, where DRDO sells its tech in competitive technical bids where DPSUs and Private firms alike can bid, and where such a DRDO-Industry alliance can face open competition from Foreign-Indian Private Sector JVs for Defence contracts, is perfect for now. Give it time to produce results, and if the results are not to our liking, then we iterate. After each iteration, we are supposed to observe and course correct before the next round of reforms. Instead of fanatically holding on to random assumptions like "Privatization is the silver bullet".

Looks like pontoon which would test k5
K5 with MIRV?

SavageKing456

No thanks.
1.) Its myopic to turn DRDO into just a "Missile & Nuke specific unit" because that is your perception of DRDO's success. ADA is not successful? What about LRDE? CAIR?
2.) Privatization is not a panacea. Give the newly formed PSUs at least a chance to show if they are worth keeping as PSU before you sell them to the highest bidder! Do we not have good PSUs in India? Straight away you want to sell 51% stake? First try and sell less than a controlling stake and see if maybe that works wonders?
3.) Private industries are in no position to absorb the kind of R&D budget that DRDO has, nor will they give you bang for the buck. Don't expect the likes of Mahindra and Kalyani to magically start doing better than DRDO in R&D when they haven't shown any appetite for it yet. Don't expect TATA to design a better TEDBF than ADA suddenly out of the blue. Who will be responsible if this move is used by some money-minded businessman to build a company from remains of DRDO and then sell it to the highest foreign bidder? Aren't we seeing our new startups being snapped up by foreign investors, with the startup founders simply taking a hefty payment and calling it a day? Do we have a law in India that prevents sale of strategic industries to foreign entities like they have in USA?

Indian Armed Forces CAPEX is less than that of the British, and a big pie (36% this year) is meant to go towards imports. What kind of Private Defence Industry has Britain been able to sustain with its military CAPEX? They have to run to Europe or USA for any major defence project, be it fighter jets or destroyers. And you expect Indian Private Enterprise to do wonders with DRDO's meagre budget? Please don't behave like Monkeys, aping the West blindly. Russians and Chinese don't need private enterprises for their defence needs, yet they are powerful enough. We need to find our own model that works for us. Asian Tiger economies didn't become Tigers because they blindly copied the West. They became succesful because they found the perfect Mixed-Economy balance between a purely Planned economy and a purely Capitalist economy that worked for them. "Privatize everything and hope for the best" is the fool's solution. Its not even a proper solution, just a blind hope. In a country like ours, where the Media, Judiciary, Political parties, etc none of these have a policy of nation before self, in such a country, implementing policies that work in the likes of USA is beyond stupid. First fix the judiciary before you set out to sell Country's crown jewels like DRDO in the open market?

Yes DRDO needs improvements, but simply selling it to Private Companies because you can't be bothered to think of solutions is just lazy on your part.

The new model we now have, where DRDO sells its tech in competitive technical bids where DPSUs and Private firms alike can bid, and where such a DRDO-Industry alliance can face open competition from Foreign-Indian Private Sector JVs for Defence contracts, is perfect for now. Give it time to produce results, and if the results are not to our liking, then we iterate. After each iteration, we are supposed to observe and course correct before the next round of reforms. Instead of fanatically holding on to random assumptions like "Privatization is the silver bullet".

K5 with MIRV?
You're right it's k5 with mirv I wrongly judged

Akula

The life lived by Indian ordinance factory service officers selected by UPSC is even better than IAS . They get all kinds of facilities including indoor games , swimming pool , subsidized goods , education facilities for children ,bill reimbursments etc.. Factory estate spreaded over thousands of acers with unmatched natural beauty . Bolangir factory estate 12200 acers . The houses can make any officer anvy .
I am sure some IAS babus at the top ll be having old monk party right now after this decision .
Than there are quarters of workers. I literally saw a tree growing on a roof of an quarter 🤣. Babu's may enjoy in their allotted houses but others don't have such luxury. But I like that both army cants and Ordance factory have greenery in their area.
OFB and OLF Dehradun is just few kms from my home.

Whatever happened to ITCM test on 8th Oct . Did it succeed because there was no news regarding the test or it's result ..

No thanks.

K5 with MIRV?
I think your opinion is quite ttue on this topic