Sirji can u ask Mahindra guys whether they are offering different variants as seen in defexpo to army's order of 1500 or they have order separately
I believe Normal ATAGS crane has capacity of handling 3 Shells . Below video shows consecutive auto firing of 3 shells with manual charges being loaded in between(similar to bofors)The Caesar mechanism has to be the most optimised semi-auto system you can possibly have and what DRDO should aim to get to if they can for their MGS
I have tried to find the ammo crane on the DRDO MGS but can’t point it out, I’m sure they’ve thought of it so let’s wait and see. Can’t wait to see mobility and firing trails of this thing
to our gun experts and @Johny_Baba why does arde guns have that weird horizontal rails at front or its neck can't we have picatane rails on both sides like ars?Now, this is super Exclusive!!!!!
you all probably have seen many small arms pictures from DefExpo2022 but no one probably has ever shown you the below;
ARDE has successfully developed 2 proto of 7.62 x 51 and 6.8mm Assault rifles each. Those are based on the newest 5.56 carbine model (See the right topmost and 2nd in the left). Also, they have modified the old rugged MAG now with a machine-manufactured body, lighter barrel, and a fixed P-Rails :
View attachment 177489
View attachment 177490
Are those launch tubes for loitering munition ?
Arreh bhaiyaji I am not at DefExpo (stuck at work while colleagues get to strut with Navy Vice Chief - I'll ask them to send pics,@binayak95 ji, can you get any pics of Navy's Next Gen Combat Management System ??
Indeed.Are those launch tubes for loitering munition ?
So, the GTRE guys knew that this JV is nothing but screwdrivergiri, despite of all that, the GTRE babus, MoD babus and gormint are willing to give billions of dollars to a phoren company, just to screwdriver an Indian name on phoren engine,instead of funding an indigenous one...... .....GTRE / Kaveri:
- As per the senior officials (has requested me not to quote them) all 3 are equally evil
- According to them why should anybody in the world would share their IP, they are of the opinion that; you can not develop or reverse engineered a turbofan pplsn system by taking one part from here and start developing another one from somewhere else and ending up rejoining them.
- Their secret wish is that GOI should release a new project with more funds to develop a new engine (I am a part of my org's RnD dept, and I know how managers do shenanigans to get more RnD funds )
- Despite all these, they are hopeful for GOI's new endeavor for JV, all motives behind the JVs are only economical in nature
- Mostly GOI will form a consortium or spv for Kaveri in the line of Brahmos, the one for AK203, or the planned one for AMCA to bypass the older player like HAL, OFB, or probably the GTRE in the future
Oh this is brilliant.Hello All,
firstly my apologies for not getting you the required DefExpo2022 pictures and the information on time. It was really tough to cope with 35C of Gujrat, straight after landing from 5C of Chicago.
As a system safety engineering lead, I was with my company's leadership for purely technical discussions with the players in the military automotive sector. My company is a critical Tier-1 supplier to major Automotive and Aviation giants.
It became strikingly difficult for me to take pictures, ask questions, and be with my company's leadership at the same time. Some of the US military attache folks also were with us. However, I managed to gather some information and captured some good photographs
Nirbhay / ITCM/ ADE :
GTRE / Kaveri:
- As Confirmed By one of the project directors of ADE (my god what a humble person), the next ITCM test with indigenous RF seeker and Engine would be on the 28th of October .
- They got approval from IN and IAF (IN is mostly pushing it) for LR-LACM, all these ITCM trials are the precursor process to finally jump to the LR-LACM
- LR-LACM range will be 1200+ km (mostly HI-Hi window is up to 1500 km), whereas in ITCM it was 1000 km
- LR-LACM will be much longer than ITCM (Nirbhay)
- IAF will also be a customer but only for the ground launch version to complement the Brahmos, the AL version has been considered or realized yet.
ATAGS:
- As per the senior officials (has requested me not to quote them) all 3 are equally evil
- According to them why should anybody in the world would share their IP, they are of the opinion that; you can not develop or reverse engineered a turbofan pplsn system by taking one part from here and start developing another one from somewhere else and ending up rejoining them.
- Their secret wish is that GOI should release a new project with more funds to develop a new engine (I am a part of my org's RnD dept, and I know how managers do shenanigans to get more RnD funds )
- Despite all these, they are hopeful for GOI's new endeavor for JV, all motives behind the JVs are only economical in nature
- Mostly GOI will form a consortium or spv for Kaveri in the line of Brahmos, the one for AK203, or the planned one for AMCA to bypass the older player like HAL, OFB, or probably the GTRE in the future
- the marine version is completely a different project altogether, it's not a variant of KAVERI
- GTRE has done some renewed efforts in the line of crystal blades, they have achieved some success, and will release more details in 2023
- Sorry couldn't gather any updates on the flying test bed and the delay in testing the new engines for Ghatak UCAV, due to Rus-UKR war
ATGMs:
- Yes ATAGS are probably the biggest attraction point/showstopper of DEFEXPO 2022, DRDO has 4 models (2 BF + 2 TATA) at various static displays.
- This product is probably going to be the next flagship one such as Brahmos, Pinaka, and Tejas
- DRDO official: MET (Maintainance related )trails over, QA trails are going on (hindered due to defexpo only)
- Passed all the dynamic firing trials with flying colors, again achieved 48 km range in recent tests
- DRDO is super upbeat about ATAGs (had seen similar enthu for very few like Tejas, Prithvi, and A series missile in the past)
DRDO AIP:
- DRDO: NAG/HELINA/MPATGM are all at their terminal phase development except the SANT
- NAG/HELINA/MPATGM all3 projects are now at the documentation handover to the manufacturer phase, all 3 of them already got good initial numerical orders from forces (DRDO officials didn't provide me exact numbers)
AMCA/DAS/EOTS:
- The last scorpene will be fitted with DRDO AIP and from 2025 onwards the MLU of the kalvari class will see the integration of the indigenous AIP ( but I think this was just a sweeping stmnt from that particular drdo official, there will be much more into it)
(Dammn DR. Ghosh was probably the hardest nut to crack and he was the only person except Dr Deodhar to speak on AMCA with some authority, didn't get much info)
For the rest of the questions such as those related to the small arms and their details, HAL CATS, IMRH, CABS Netra mk2, MMMR, I will visit again the HEC Gandhinagar on 21st and try to cover those
- CDR by 2022 Dec, CCS approval by early 2023 (again felt like a generic stmnt is coming from the horse's mouth )
- EOTS will be a part of DAS approach and will only be available in mk2, mk-1 will have IRST
- for Qs like IR signature reduction methods, especially in the back and air intake portion: no comments with a generic answer like " We have some plan"
We gotta give this hero a medal.... 🥲Hello All,
firstly my apologies for not getting you the required DefExpo2022 pictures and the information on time. It was really tough to cope with 35C of Gujrat, straight after landing from 5C of Chicago.
As a system safety engineering lead, I was with my company's leadership for purely technical discussions with the players in the military automotive sector. My company is a critical Tier-1 supplier to major Automotive and Aviation giants.
It became strikingly difficult for me to take pictures, ask questions, and be with my company's leadership at the same time. Some of the US military attache folks also were with us. However, I managed to gather some information and captured some good photographs
Nirbhay / ITCM/ ADE :
GTRE / Kaveri:
- As Confirmed By one of the project directors of ADE (my god what a humble person), the next ITCM test with indigenous RF seeker and Engine would be on the 28th of October .
- They got approval from IN and IAF (IN is mostly pushing it) for LR-LACM, all these ITCM trials are the precursor process to finally jump to the LR-LACM
- LR-LACM range will be 1200+ km (mostly HI-Hi window is up to 1500 km), whereas in ITCM it was 1000 km
- IAF will also be a customer but only for the ground launch version to complement the Brahmos, the AL version has been considered or realized yet.
ATAGS:
- the marine version is completely a different project altogether, it's not a variant of KAVERI
- GTRE has done some renewed efforts in the line of crystal blades, they have achieved some success, and will release more details in 2023
- Sorry couldn't gather any updates on the flying test bed and the delay in testing the new engines for Ghatak UCAV, due to Rus-UKR war
ATGMs:
- Yes ATAGS are probably the biggest attraction point/showstopper of DEFEXPO 2022, DRDO has 4 models (2 BF + 2 TATA) at various static displays.
- This product is probably going to be the next flagship one such as Brahmos, Pinaka, and Tejas
- DRDO official: MET (Maintainance related )trails over, QA trails are going on (hindered due to defexpo only)
- Passed all the dynamic firing trials with flying colors, again achieved 48 km range in recent tests
- DRDO is super upbeat about ATAGs (had seen similar enthu for very few like Tejas, Prithvi, and A series missile in the past)
DRDO AIP:
- DRDO: NAG/HELINA/MPATGM are all at their terminal phase development except the SANT
- NAG/HELINA/MPATGM all3 projects are now at the documentation handover to the manufacturer phase, all 3 of them already got good initial numerical orders from forces (DRDO officials didn't provide me exact numbers)
AMCA/DAS/EOTS:
- The last scorpene will be fitted with DRDO AIP and from 2025 onwards the MLU of the kalvari class will see the integration of the indigenous AIP ( but I think this was just a sweeping stmnt from that particular drdo official, there will be much more into it)
(Dammn DR. Ghosh was probably the hardest nut to crack and he was the only person except Dr Deodhar to speak on AMCA with some authority, didn't get much info)
For the rest of the questions such as those related to the small arms and their details, HAL CATS, IMRH, CABS Netra mk2, MMMR, I will visit again the HEC Gandhinagar on 21st and try to cover those
- CDR by 2022 Dec, CCS approval by early 2023 (again felt like a generic stmnt is coming from the horse's mouth )
- EOTS will be a part of DAS approach and will only be available in mk2, mk-1 will have IRST
- for Qs like IR signature reduction methods, especially in the back and air intake portion: no comments with a generic answer like " We have some plan"
Thank you so much for providing all these information.Hello All,
Nirbhay / ITCM/ ADE :
GTRE / Kaveri:
ATAGS:
ATGMs:
DRDO AIP:
AMCA/DAS/EOTS:
Not sure ...WhAP mostly excels in anti-IED & anti-mines. To bed allover STANAG IV without those composites it'll be 35tons at is massive size.I think even Kestrel sidewalls can take that much, no? Kestrel is STANAG IV.
Only 9 IMPVs have been order as of now.Not sure ...WhAP mostly excels in anti-IED & anti-mines. To bed allover STANAG IV without those composites it'll be 35tons at is massive size.
Thank you for sharing these detailed takeaways. I think 6 Prahar missiles are carried in the launcher. Are you sure about just 2 missiles?Key takeaways from DEFEXPO-2022
While the Rudram-1 NG-ARM is meant for destroying X-band target engagement radars of ground-based SHORADS, the Rudram-2 NG-ARM is meant for neutralising the L-band & S-band gapfiller radars of MR-SAM systems. The Rudram-3 ARM is meant for destroying the low-band long-range airspace surveillance radars. Hence, HQ-17A-type SHORADS will be destroyed by Rudram-1, while the LY-80E LOMADS will be destroyed by Rudram-2 & LR-SAMs like HQ-9 HIMADS will be destroyed by Rudram-3.
The Prahaar SS-BSM will be used for engaging time-urgent targets like ground-based formation HQs. Each Prahaar Regiment will comprise 14 high-mobility vehicles each carrying 2 Prahaar SS-BSMs inside cannisters, or 28 missiles per Regiment. They will replace the existing Prithvi SS-150s in the three IA Missile Groups.
The Pralay SS-BSM, on the other hand, will be employed for destroying ammunition depots located within the hinterland in Pakistan’s case, and ammo depots in rear-areas in China’s case. BrahMos-1 SS-BSMs will be reserved for very high-end targets like politico-military HQs & strategic bridges & railway nodes.
The CVRDE-designed & L & T-built Zorawar Light Tank will have a combat weight of 27.5 tonnes, will be powered by the very same 1,000hp MTU/RENK powerpack that is used by the K-9 Vajra tracked 155mm/52-cal SPH, and will have a power-to-weight ratio of almost 30hp/tonne. The turret will be totally unmanned & the crew complement of 3 will be seated in the hull.
Given the demonstrated capabilities of Iran’s The Shahed-136/ASN-301 drone (a clone of the IAI Harpy), which is launched at a rate of five per target, both the IA & IAF need to go back to the drawing boards for procuring suitable cost-effective terminal air-defence systems. To this end, preferred choice is still the AK-630M six-barrelled CIWS integrated with an optronic fire-control system using an all-passive infra-red search-n-track sensor. In addition, far cheaper SHORADS SAMs need to be procured for shooting down such attack-drones as well as subsonic cruise missiles.
The A320 LRMR/MPA design configuration shown at the LRDE/CABS booth mistakenly shows it with IN markings. In fact, it is meant for the Indian Coast Guard & it will be the optimum long-range airborne surveillance/maritime patrolling platform for the ICGS within the IOR.
IAF-developed SAMAR air-defence system is just a conceptual technology demonstrator, with no production orders to be placed.
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
H | Defexpo 2020 | Defence & Strategy | 655 | |
Questions to be asked during Defexpo 2018 | Defence & Strategy | 11 | ||
Defexpo 2018 | Defence & Strategy | 446 | ||
Defexpo India 2016 | Defence & Strategy | 215 |