Chinese troops too close for India's comfort, warns top general

i think we should start calling CoK INSTEAD OF PoK as it would really annoy pakistan and about china we should be carefull and u never know when they would attack us on pretex of saving pakistan

If there were no other countries to get involved, namely the US; you would be right.
US is not gonna be sticking its a** everytime, and as time passes and China grows stronger everyday, the US will ultimately abandon Taiwan, just like they have accepted Tibet to be a part of China. So, US or no US, crushing Taiwan is a 48 hour operation ! I hope the people of Taiwan are not foolish enough to think that the almighty US will protect them everytime.

India really need to get rid of the noose around her neck and increase her clout by heavily engaging NP, BD, SL and Myanmar to stop them from further tilting towards China.
Its foolish for anyone to think that four basket case nations like Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Myanmar would ever think of getting involved in hostilities with India just because they were prodded by the Chinese. Neither are these four countries stupid enough to go against India, and destroy thousands of years shared cultural history with us at the drop of a hat just because some one else instigated them. Nepal is the only Hindu majority nation in the world. Bangladesh owes its existence to us, we gave them independence from Pakistan. Sri Lanka has had cultural relations with us for more than a thousand years. We supply them with ammo and military hardware, we have been doing since the days of the LTTE menace. Myanmar is the dark horse here, although again we have had cultural relations with them for a millenia, but unfortunately they are run by corrupt and narrow minded people, not exactly what the people there want.

The Lt general of Northern Command was only trying to make the Indian people , remember the bitter reality that BOTH pakistan and China are enemies

Chinese presence in PoK ie 20 or 30 thousand soldiers will make no difference to us.

ultimately what matters is the Total number of soldiers and the total number of guns on LOC and LAC .

If chinese soldiers are in Pok then it means two things
1. that they find the Karakoram highway is vulnerable
2 and the road to Kashgar is also not safe because the pakistanis will not prevent Muslim rebels of west China from moving to and from China

Once we have accepted a 2 front war to be a CERTAINITY then why should we worry

Let us Face the reality

what makes China and Pak think that a joint effort against India will not have other countries getting involved on India's side??

I think they are in illusion to cause us a slow death. They believe such modest consecutive but ascending moves will not invite any substantial action from GOI, having experienced same over the years.

There are nations like USA which are waiting for a Chinese mis-step. Stupid of the Chinese to give it.

It's not 2 fronts. Now 3 fronts altogether taking into account India's NE insurgents in connection with arms deals brokered and transported through Burma. In order to counter China's evil agenda India'd better make Bhutan a pradesh like Sikkim (and Bhutanese would be just happy to join India) or simply dismantle BD into South and North when opportune (e.g. BD falls into chaos) like India did to PK, so as to secure Silguri chicken neck. Back to the west front (PoK or now CoK), India has to convince the US to dump PK since PK itself is a terrorist haven rather than a helping hand in anti-terrorist combat. It's a pity India doesn't border with Afghanistan or India could have provided logistic support/bases for the US/Allies for mil. operations in Afghanistan. It is also China and Russia's conspiracy to have the US/NATO trapped in the quagmire.

Those so-called basket case countries are easily tempted by alms. China has taken advantage of their weakness in infiltration into S. Asia. It's of vital importance for India to push China out of her backyard before it's too late.

How much faith does China have in these smaller countries to do their bidding?? Northeast is more political the politicians have let it drag out for their own shellfish political reasons.

If at all China and pakistan launch a joint attack then INDIA and RUSSIA will launch a joint attack, like INDIA and pakistan fighting eachother and RUSSIA and china fighting eachother.

France and England weren't always like that, if you go back far enough they too had to grow through alliances with other nations. If you go back far enough, you'll see instances in history of a more united and self-reliant India; such as the Mauryans.
Thats taking it to far backwards, i am talking about how all those ancient and medieval circumstances has molded the mindset of each people and nations as an whole. Maurya has long since dissolved and its cultural effects on India are all but completely forgotten all though its quite alive in neighboring countries like Burma and Thailand,Tibet etc., is no consolation to Indians. Todays India is more influenced by muslim,british invasions that is why we resist to much foreign involvement.

US relations with Pakistan should end, I agree. Pakistan is showing more and more everyday of its intent to drift towards China, and yet we are witnessing the destabilization of Pakistan by the US air force and their agents. Pakistan has spent well over $30 billion US dollars in helping them in their war on terror.

The US helping China in its economics is hard to say at this point, since they're also shouldering parts of US debt at the moment and starting to piss off the world with their ignoring of intellectual patents, copying everything, and you also have to consider that the US has far stronger relations with South Korea, Japan, Taiwan, and ASEAN. It appears a game is being played to contain China, and the CCP have taken it hook, line, and sinker.

Whether or not being an ally of NATO or the US will be detrimental or positive to India in the long run is hard to say; although I would doubt it would be negative. Yes it would mean greater involvement against China, but the PRC has few friends in this world. Too much isolationism will damage Indias growth and image.
PRC has one true friend in Pakistan rather they both rely on the old dictum of "My enemies, enemy is my friend" both China and Pakistan see India as an enemy and they both have come close only to conspire against India. India is not isolationist by enemy means matter of fact that is quite far from the truth, today we are buying weapons from USA,Israel,Russia,France and England and that only shows we are open but we dont want to jump into any groupism, we like to spread our eggs in more baskets just to be safe. Today if we do align strongly with the US then we can not represent ourselves without the baggage of being an major US ally which will not be helpful in our neighborhood with China and many anti-US nations like Iran etc., takeing serious note of it.

Moreover its extremely hard to trust the US, can you imagine if a country has supported and armed your enemy for 60years against you and still supports it then how on Earth can anyone trust such a two timing,two faced entity? For trust to grow US need not take sides but atleast let go of Pakistan.

You say China has taken it hook,line and sinker! Come on your not that naive to believe that? May be the US has take Chinas bait with nearly complete reliance on Chinese economy and China owns more than 10% of US debt and a lot of trade deficit that some economists are compled to rename both as Chimerica. Which is actually quite right and seeing US reliance on China its hard for us to believe that we would matter more than their major trading partner and debt owner. In may dimensions India can not trust the US and not to mention US attaches strings to everything it sells including food and beverages!

If at all China and pakistan launch a joint attack then INDIA and RUSSIA will launch a joint attack, like INDIA and pakistan fighting eachother and RUSSIA and china fighting eachother.
What dream land is that going to happen? Why russia fight for us? That is totally naive if at all Russians would be more than happy to sell all their weapons at our time of desperation. They will only benefit from our war. In that case the US will quite possibly align with us if both countries attack us simultaneously and that is itself is wishful thinking at its best.

lurker

US is not gonna be sticking its a** everytime, and as time passes and China grows stronger everyday, the US will ultimately abandon Taiwan, just like they have accepted Tibet to be a part of China. So, US or no US, crushing Taiwan is a 48 hour operation ! I hope the people of Taiwan are not foolish enough to think that the almighty US will protect them everytime.
That's an awfully big assumption you're making. Say what you will, the US hasn't often shied away from a conflict. Maybe after a year or two yes, but short, sharp, and quick wars tend to be the US' bread and butter. China would be playing to our own political strengths by making a war so.

AOE

This is speculative, as no-one can predict the future of economic growth, let alone that China will continue at the pace that it is for very long.

"Russia will come to India's rescue" is sheerly a wishful thinking. Don't forget it's Russia+Ukraine who help China modernize her military (typically A/C Vayag soon to be completed facilitating a bluewater navy for China). After collapse of CCCP hundreds of Russian and Ukrainian scientists were invited to China by then Premier Li Peng who received an engineering degree in USSR. Admiral Liu Huaqing had his schooling in USSR too.

Russia is more than happy to sell weapons to both India and China plus upgradation and after-sales maintenance and trainings to both. All good business! Besides what does Russia truly have in mind abt India hedging btwn the US and Russia?

It gets imperative for India to take sides. Japan, half-paralyzed by earthquake+tsunami+radioactives, and Taiwan, closer and closer to PRC, China is more and more assertive breaking the 1st island chain on the Pacific and keeping India checked and isolated on the subcontinent. Under such circumstances self-reliance is pointless for India.

Compared to Russia the US is definitely a more "reliable" partner of India. India shall compete with PK and makes the US understand it's India who can best serve its global and regional ambitions. Forge an alliance with the US or NATO and give a few naval and air bases and gradually cool down Indo-Russia ties (that seller-n-buyer relationshp gets soured anyway). That "non-aligned" disguise seems useless. India has never been "non-aligned" in fact. When the competition gets fierce join up with a "natural" ally.

SHASH2K2

/\/\/\ agree to a certain extent that expecting Russia to fight our war is foolishness. Russia may sympathize with us and will give support with equipments as well but fighting a war for us is nothing but day dreaming. Moreover we never know whats gonna be geopolitical scenarios from 5 years from now.
Regarding weapons sale to china its more about financial strain on weapon industry than love with china. India has always managed to get better weapons than Chinese .

I have a question how prepared is the CCP to go for war with india.PLA troops in PoK means the pukes cannot use nukes near that vicinity.It gives us a lot of chance to capture PoK

Having China in POK means Pakistan has more or less lost the arms race.