Make in India

When we buy a foreign aircraft we create a dependency on foreign powers for 50 years.
That is too much cost to pay to learn assembling. We could rather pay more directly and hire retired / experienced ex employee of Boeing and LM to come work for tata , Mahindra and impart best practices.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk
Sure, but the private sector also want to engage in DRDO programs as well. It's just HAL is being given the lead integration work as of now. Atm, they are stuck producing modules for HAL. Like you said, they do module work for outside OEMs as well, but they only have one option to climb up to assembly, testing, and lead integration work, that's the outside OEMs designs as of now. AMCA, MWF I think will also go to HAL, private sector will again do module, subsystem work.

I also like the route of DRDO having them as a lead integrator of a program like MWF, AMCA. MWF would be a great program for them, but I think they're all stuck with HAL.

No, it is Japanese reluctannce. @Hari Sud is correct here. Japanese Constitution, made under USA pressure after WW2, prohibits Japan from exporting arms
Pehle thoda padh liya karo.

Back in 2014 Abe already passed a law to circumvent the constitutional provision.

The new rule permits the export of weapons by Japan if it helps enhance the nation’s contributions to peace and international cooperation or if it contributes to Japan’s security by way of joint weapons development and production with the U.S. and other security partners, the overall security cooperation with these countries, maintenance of equipment for the SDF and the safety of Japanese abroad. Such conditions for weapons export, however, are so vague and wide in scope that it will be very difficult to the new agency to draw a clear line for allowing or forbidding arms exports. The Diet should at the very least work to ensure transparency on what kind of items are exported in what volume and to which countries.

The rule prohibits selling Japanese weapons to countries that are a party to an international conflict, that is, countries involved in military attacks and have become the target of measures taken by the United Nations Security Council to maintain or restore international peace and security. Still, the definition here of parties to an international conflicts is so narrow that theoretically it is possible for Japan to allow firms to ship arms to Israel and some Mideast countries in a state of military tension with their neighbors or nonstate armed groups. Israel is already a party to the international parts-sharing scheme for the production of F-35 jet fighters in which Japanese firms will take part.

In July 2014, the government approved the export of a component used in the PAC2 Patriot missiles to the United States. The U.S. had decided a few days earlier to sell PAC2 missiles, which will incorporate the component, to Qatar. According to the new rule, countries that purchase Japanese weapons, in principle, must get Tokyo’s prior consent if they transfer the arms to third-party nations or use them for purposes not originally specified. The example of the U.S. sale of PAC2 missiles to Qatar shows that this provision is shaky.
https://www.japantimes.co.jp/opinion/2015/10/19/editorials/weapons-development-exports/#.XSxMwUFS_IU

So there is no constitutional blockage on behalf of Japan.

Sure, but the private sector also want to engage in DRDO programs as well. It's just HAL is being given the lead integration work as of now. Atm, they are stuck producing modules for HAL. Like you said, they do module work for outside OEMs as well, but they only have one option to climb up to assembly, testing, and lead integration work, that's the outside OEMs designs as of now. AMCA, MWF I think will also go to HAL, private sector will again do module, subsystem work.

I also like the route of DRDO having them as a lead integrator of a program like MWF, AMCA. MWF would be a great program for them, but I think they're all stuck with HAL.
Hopefully it will change with mwf and AMCA.
Modi has given orders to Tata and Bharat forge despite PSU in case of artillery.

Same could be repeated with mwf AMCA.

Also the experience gained by reliance with rafale needs to be utilised by giving them further business.

I agree on this point we need another lead integrator to compete and suppliment HAL.

I think the policy of giving subsystems to l&t and Godrej and vem technology etc is designed for this . Today they are building subsystems tomorrow they will integrate also.

Hopefully it will change with mwf and AMCA.
Modi has given orders to Tata and Bharat forge despite PSU in case of artillery.

Same could be repeated with mwf AMCA.

Also the experience gained by reliance with rafale needs to be utilised by giving them further business.

I agree on this point we need another lead integrator to compete and suppliment HAL.

I think the policy of giving subsystems to l&t and Godrej and vem technology etc is designed for this . Today they are building subsystems tomorrow they will integrate also.

Sure it did. It also forced OFB to wake up and find that old as blueprint too.

ATAGS is a great example. Two designs and like you said, they(BF) brought in outside partners(Israel connection) into their design. L&T could bring in their Korean connection to a FICV, FRCV design. TATA, Adani can bring in American, SAAB connection to an AMCA design. The possibilities are endless.

I know people dont like these large deals, but these companies are helping India produce it's own MIC with the private sector. They will take over the Indian defence industry with these deals.

Vadodara Made Anti-Icing Injection Device will Keep Fighter Aircraft Safe in Air – Make in India
VADODARA: A city-based company will make it sure that when the fighter aircraft of Indian Air Force (IAF) are busy establishing air dominance over enemy's air force, they fly safe. The IAF will soon be sourcing an anti-icing injection device made by the company.
Promoter of the firm Premal Smart displayed his device during the seminar organized by South Western Air Command (SWAC) at Air Force Station, Vadodara, recently.

“I believe this is for the first time that the IAF will be using an anti-icing device made indigenously. An entire squadron of aircraft can be fuelled through this device that costs just one-third of what the government was paying for the imported ones,” Smart said.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...aircraft-safe-in-air/articleshow/70321781.cms

Why so serious?

Apple iPhone, Amazon Echo production moving from China to India
Bloomberg | Updated: Aug 29, 2019, 23:10 IST
BLOOMBERG
Foxconn currently ships parts in from China, but hopes one day to manufacture displays and printed circuit boards locally.
HIGHLIGHTS
  • Succeeding in India has become all the more urgent since US President Donald Trump launched a trade war last year
  • Foxconn currently ships parts in from China, but hopes one day to manufacture displays and printed circuit boards locally
  • “It’s a good business principle not to put all your eggs in a single basket,” says Josh Foulger, who runs Foxconn’s India operations
On a steamy summer morning, dozens of buses pull up outside a cluster of low-slung, blue buildings in

Andhra Pradesh
. Women dressed in colorful salwar kameezes disembark, their dupatta body scarves billowing as they make their way past hibiscus bushes and posters proclaiming, “Our aim, no accident.”

The night shift at FoxconnTechnology Group’s mobile phone plant in Sri City is ending, and thousands of young women are punching out as others stream in to replace them. One of the arrivals is Jennifer Jayadas, a tall, slim 21-year-old who lives several miles away in a two-room hut with no running water.

After gobbling down a free breakfast of chapatti flatbreads with a potato-and-pea curry, she dons a checked white hat, apron-shirt, static-resistant footwear and tiny finger gloves. Then Jayadas takes her place at a testing station where she will spend the next eight hours making sure the volume, vibration and other phone features work properly. “Smartphones used to be all made in China,” she says. “Now, we make them here.”

Foxconn, also known as Hon Hai Precision Industry Co, opened its first India factory four years ago. It now operates two assembly plants, with plans to expand those and open two more. India has become an important manufacturing base as the Taipei-based company looks to diversify its operations beyond China.

Succeeding in India has become all the more urgent since US President

Donald Trump
launched a trade war last year and announced tariffs on thousands of products manufactured in China, including the gadgetry Foxconn makes for Apple, Amazon and others.

In late August, Trump ratcheted up the rhetoric, ordering American companies to start pulling out of China and citing a national security law as justification. He backed off two days later, but many companies have resigned themselves to an inevitable and costly rethinking of their global supply chains.

“It’s a good business principle not to put all your eggs in a single basket,” says Josh Foulger, who runs Foxconn’s India operations. “We have to find viable and reliable alternatives. Obviously the alternative location has to be competitive. We can’t put a factory in Mexico for manufacturing mobiles. It might have worked 10 years ago, it just won't work today.”

Foulger, 48, grew up in Chennai and attended the University of Texas in Arlington, before returning to India in the mid-aughts to set up manufacturing for Nokia. He joined Foxconn four years ago to help founder Terry Gou establish assembly plants in India, now the world’s fastest-growing smartphone market.

Foxconn’s first India facility started in 2015 in Sri City, a special economic zone where goods can be imported and exported with limited red tape and foreign companies make everything from diapers to train carriages. Foxconn’s plant employs almost 15,000 workers — about 90% of them women — and assembles phones for various manufacturers, including local best-seller Xiaomi. In recent months, workers began testing and assembling Apple’s iPhone X, which will be sold in India first and eventually exported.

A second mobile phone factory opened in 2017 in Sriperumbudur, about two hours by road from the first facility. It employs 12,000 and is partially automated. “By 2023,” Foulger says, “both factories will be much larger and we’ll add two more locations.”

Foxconn currently ships parts in from China, but hopes one day to manufacture displays and printed circuit boards locally. Foulger is angling to capture a third of the domestic smartphone market and 10% of the global one (up from a 2.5% share today). Eventually, he plans to add other products, including

Amazon Echo
speakers, to the mix. “Until now, India has made for India,” he says. “Soon India will make for the world.”

Seated in an office overlooking the hubbub of the Sriperumbudur plant, the strapping, bearded executive ticks off India’s pluses: labor costs that are half that of China’s, a vast pool of workers including talented engineers, a government eager to help.

They have a staunch partner in Prime Minister Narendra Modi who is under pressure to bring down a jobless rate that currently exceeds 6%. His government’s four-year-old “Make in India” policy seeks to turn the country into a manufacturing power by offering incentives to foreign companies to open factories. “The plan is to expand India’s $25 billion phone manufacturing to $400 billion by 2024,” says Pankaj Mahindroo, who heads the Indian Cellular & Electronics Assn. “A substantial portion of it will be for the export market.

There’s a long way to go: A mere 700,000 electronics manufacturing jobs have been created since Make in India started, according to Mahindroo’s industry group. Skilled workers such as industrial designers are in short supply, and there isn’t yet much of a supplier network providing crucial components such as batteries, semiconductors and processors. “India is not there yet,” says Anshul Gupta, a senior research director at Gartner India. “But things are beginning to fall in place. India can bolster its manufacturing capacity and help the world cut its reliance on China.”

Foxconn was integral to China’s transformation into a manufacturing colossus, and Gou has told Modi that Foxconn could help India do the same. But it took China 30 years to get there. “China’s advantage was its massive labor pool that could produce quite cheaply, and they built on that by investing heavily in logistics and transportation,” says Andrew Polk, a founding partner with Trivium China, a Beijing-based research firm. “Even as their labor pool advantage is dissipating, they have invested in processes and systems so they can produce efficiently at scale and get the goods to the market.”

Catching up will require the Indian government and private sector to invest heavily in roads, rails, ports and other infrastructure. “When China did it, global supply chains were fragmented and there wasn’t another China,” Polk says. “India will not only have to get it right but they have to get it right in a way to better China, and trade wars can only help at the margins." China also had the benefit of being able to grow without worrying too much about the environmental impact. With concern about climate change growing, “that’s not going to fly these days,” he says.

As a two-decade veteran of supply chains in India and elsewhere, Foulger is painfully aware of the challenges. “I can twirl my mustache and say, ‘India can replicate China,’” he says. “The reality is that we have shortcomings.” While the state government provided land, water and power connections for the Sriperumbudur facility, Foxconn, Dell, Flextronics and other companies banded together to build the industrial park for their factories. Even so, Foulger still needs to ferry in water for his thousands of workers because Chennai city and nearby areas have a severe water shortage.

It was Foulger’s mother who planted the idea and persuaded him to give women the opportunity. A teacher whose students often hailed from underprivileged backgrounds, she told him girls are curious, hard working and committed but family circumstances prevent them from going to college. Many are forced to start work early or are pushed into marriage and child rearing at a young age.

Foulger says that because most Indian manufacturers prefer to hire men, it was easy to hit his hiring targets. But he’s had to make accommodations. For instance, the air conditioning had to be turned up to 26 degrees because the woman have never experienced it before. A line manager brought up the issue of sanitary hygiene, and Foulger was initially hesitant. What would be the reaction in their villages, he wondered? Still, he listened and had sanitary pad dispensers installed in the washroom. Foulger also has to pay for extra security for his female recruits and provide buses and dormitory accommodation for those who live far from the factories. But he says it’s well worth the extra cost because “women work hard and appreciate the chances given to them.”

Over the years, Foxconn has been criticized for grueling working conditions at its China factories. A string of suicides of young migrant workers earlier this decade shocked the world and prompted the company to create a help hotline, boost pay and install safety netting to discourage jumpers. In August, Foxconn fired two executives at a Chinese plant that assembles devices for Amazon after a labor group alleged it slashed wages and flouted laws to help deal with rising US tariffs.

During visits to Foxconn’s two India factories, there was no visible sign of sweat-shop conditions. Workers there mostly complain about the monotony. From the minute they enter the shop floor to the end of an eight-hour shift, work repeats in a relentless cycle. The daily production target has to be met at all costs. Row upon row of women put together each phone part by part, inspecting each handset for visible defects. Shivaparvati Kallivettu, 24, spends her days testing the phone’s audio and examining batteries and SIM card trays, explaining that her main respite comes every morning in the factory canteen when she has breakfast with four close friends.

Most women take the jobs with specific goals in mind, such as sending their kids to better schools or clearing family debt. The pay hoists them over the poverty line. Jayadas gets about 9,000 rupees monthly ($130, which is about a third of the average Chinese factory wage), free bus rides and two wholesome meals. To help avoid tedium, the company teaches workers at least 10 skills in the testing, packing and assembly sections of the line so they can be rotated to different jobs. Still, many of the workers treat the job as a stop-gap. Recently, 400 women failed to show up for their daily shift. Managers discovered they were all taking the government’s teacher recruitment exam—a job that pays a third of what they make at Foxconn but provides less tangible compensations.

After her shift, Jayadas boards the bus, reaching her home a little before 4 p.m. She helps with the cooking, then fetches 12 buckets of water from a street tap for the family’s daily needs. Her father’s income repairing radios and DVD players is meager and erratic, and her entire paycheck goes to her parents. “First, the house has to be fixed,” Jayadas says gesturing toward the flimsy roof and decrepit walls. “Then, I want to save up for a beautician’s course.”

Where are the heavy industries? 5 years of Make in India. Where is that commercial jet engine? When is the next super tanker being built in an Indian dock? When are we going to produce an indigenous Tunnel Boring Machine? When is the next Hyundai, Mitsubishi, Boeing, Caterpillar coming from India?

republic_roi97

Where are the heavy industries? 5 years of Make in India. Where is that commercial jet engine? When is the next super tanker being built in an Indian dock? When are we going to produce an indigenous Tunnel Boring Machine? When is the next Hyundai, Mitsubishi, Boeing, Caterpillar coming from India?
China took 30 years to do it after their economic liberalisation. Just so you know.

Heavy industries you say ? We produce more steel than entire north America ( USA + Canada + Mexico) . 5 years of Make in india has seen smartphone manufacturing grow from 2 factories to over 200+ with 95% domestic consumption made in India itself.

You are listing niche industries and are ignoring all progress in other areas. Are you here to learn and discuss or just moan a rant.

Yes we are behind of jet engine but we are self sufficient in space engine crayogenics and earn Forex on that. We are sufficient in missile engines for strategic needs and with Manik engine we will be sufficient in Cruise missile engine.

With htfe and htse getting ready we are at fore front of smaller jet engine for trainers etc.

We haven't build super tanker but we are exporting offshore patrol vehicles now , building our own 40k ton carrier as well as preparing to build 27k ton tankers indegeniosly.

We haven't build indegenios tunnel machine but we have laid more metro line in Delhi alone over 20 years than London could do in over 60 years.
And we are building metro systems in more than 50 cities which might surpass entire European metro systems. And we have build ITER reactor parts which are unique in the world and Tunnel machine pale in comparison to complexity of that project.

Tata Mahindra have came from India why so much obsession over Hyundai. Mahindra also has aerospace division and has started building small aircrafts they'll grow up. Tata does supply wings and fuselage to Boeing.

Companies You've listed took decades to rise up and you want same results from 5 yesr old program . Stop trolling and start learning. Read more.

China took 30 years to do it after their economic liberalisation. Just so you know.
Much more than 30 years. The great companies China have today weren't built up just in those 30 years. China was putting a lot of efforts to pursue technology and it also had achieved the same before economic rise took companies high on revenue.

We produce more steel than entire north America ( USA + Canada + Mexico)
And then they buy this steel/Iron make it into finished gods like machines and sell it back to us at 100 times the price of Raw Material. The aim should be to use our resources to manufacture Finished goods so that we can reap maximum benefits.

We enjoy trade surplus with USA . We are exporting them motor cycles , automobiles even for complex advanced machinery like aircrafts we supply fuselage , wings , body structure etc.

That's what I say people on forum comment all kind of nonsense before reading. If they would spend some time reading about actual developments in India , the quality of discussion will improve from rants and moaning to actual issues and solutions.

Why so serious?

PM Modi launches BEML-built coach for Mumbai metro
The coach, the first in the list of 500 to be delivered to the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation, has been built by Bharat Earth Movers (BEML) at its Bengaluru facility in flat 75 days.
By PTI | Updated: Sep 07, 2019, 03.15 PM IST
PM Modi lays foundation stone of 3 metro lines in Mumbai
Mumbai: Prime Minister Narendra Modi Saturday launched an indigenously-built metro coach to be used by the upcoming Mumbai metro network.

The coach, the first in the list of 500 to be delivered to the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation, has been built by Bharat Earth Movers (BEML) at its Bengaluru facility in flat 75 days.

Accompanied by state chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, Modi launched the coach

It can be noted that the financial capital is catching up with the national Capital after decades in modern public transport and is pumping in over Rs 1.2 lakh crore to build 14 metro corridors stretching 337-km over the next decade.

Metropolitan commissioner RA Rajeev was seen explaining how the new coach will enable commuters to travel along with their bicycles to the destinations, as is seen in the cities of the developed world.

During his visit, which comes ahead of the assembly polls, the dates for which is awaited anytime now, Modi will also be laying the foundation for three more metro lines entailing a length of over 42 km and to be built at an investment of over Rs 19,000 crore.

These three new lines take the total number of metro lines to 14 across the Mumbai metropolitan region.

The new corridors are the 9.2-km Gaimukh-Shivaji Chowk (Mira Road) metro-10; the 12.8-km Wadala-CST metro-11; and the 20.7-km Kalyan-Taloja metro-12 corridor.

Modi will also lay foundation for the 32-storey Metro Bhavan at the Aarey Colony, one of the two large green belts of the megaplois, against mounting public criticism. The metro headquarters will be the integrated operations and control centre for the proposed 14 metro lines in and around Mumbai.

Heavy industries you say ? We produce more steel than entire north America ( USA + Canada + Mexico) . 5 years of Make in india has seen smartphone manufacturing grow from 2 factories to over 200+ with 95% domestic consumption made in India itself.

You are listing niche industries and are ignoring all progress in other areas. Are you here to learn and discuss or just moan a rant.

Yes we are behind of jet engine but we are self sufficient in space engine crayogenics and earn Forex on that. We are sufficient in missile engines for strategic needs and with Manik engine we will be sufficient in Cruise missile engine.

With htfe and htse getting ready we are at fore front of smaller jet engine for trainers etc.

We haven't build super tanker but we are exporting offshore patrol vehicles now , building our own 40k ton carrier as well as preparing to build 27k ton tankers indegeniosly.

We haven't build indegenios tunnel machine but we have laid more metro line in Delhi alone over 20 years than London could do in over 60 years.
And we are building metro systems in more than 50 cities which might surpass entire European metro systems. And we have build ITER reactor parts which are unique in the world and Tunnel machine pale in comparison to complexity of that project.

Tata Mahindra have came from India why so much obsession over Hyundai. Mahindra also has aerospace division and has started building small aircrafts they'll grow up. Tata does supply wings and fuselage to Boeing.

Companies You've listed took decades to rise up and you want same results from 5 yesr old program . Stop trolling and start learning. Read more.
You must be new here, so I will ignore your personal rants against me.
Only a fool would assume that I am expecting such results in 5 years. So stop taking yourself so seriously.
The question now boils down to - what's my plaint? My plaint is simple. There are no companies doing these unique things in India which I'd hope to see the foundation of would be built in the last 5 years. Paying billions for importing foreign technology to do your own infrastructure is something only foolish Indians like you will appreciate.
China followed the copy paste model, still it took them 30 years. I do not expect a miracle in 5 years. But what Modi is doing is simply trying to set up assembly shops and peddling them as Make In India. Maybe you could shed some light on this topic from your vast knowledge base?

Mithra Group ties up with Israeli firm to manufacture armoured vehicle bodies | Vijayawada News - Times of India

Vijayawada: Vijayawada-based Mithra group’s defence subsidiary, which does armour plating work for vehicles used by the paramilitary forces, has tied up with Mofet Etzion Ltd, an Israeli company that specialises in ballistic armour technology. Mithra has signed a memorandum of understanding with Mofet Etzion under which the latter will be transferring its technology to Mithra.
“We set up the defence unit in 2016, encouraged by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Make in India call. We started making armour-plated bodies for vehicles that were delivered to the paramilitary forces in 2017, in technical partnership with an American firm. But Mithra and the American partner decided to part ways by mutual consent because the partner was a specialist only in steel armouring,” MV Srinivas, a director of Mithra, said.
According to Srinivas, Mofet Etzion specialised in armour that was embedded in the vehicle’s body. “The embedded armour ensures that the vehicle is not easily identified as being armour-plated. Moreover, Mofet Etzion also makes armour that is re-usable. The armoured plates can be transferred to a new vehicle, unlike steel armour that has to be junked with the vehicle. Re-usable armour has a shelf-life for 40 years, meaning that it can be transferred to a new fleet each time a fleet is replaced. This significantly reduces the cost of ownership of the vehicles for the government,” he said.
Mithra had received a license to produce 1,500 armour-plated vehicles per year from the government. “We have officially tied-up with the military division of Ashok Leyland, a heavy vehicle manufacturer, under which we will be building the bodies of armoured vehicles on Ashok Leyland chassis,” he said. Mithra was also in talks with the Tata group to offer the ballistic armour to its military division.
Mithra had invested Rs 30 crore in setting up a specialty vehicle assembly unit near Vijayawada. The unit has 30 fulltime employees. “Some of these workers will be sent to Mofet Etzion’s facilities in Israel for training in the coming months,” he added.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ured-vehicle-bodies/articleshow/72231526.cms?