DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

My friend this discussion of imported vs Indian is a fruitless discussion.

Why?

Because all weapons we use are of Western origin. Means West did it before India. This also means that West has a technological edge. So anybody receiving latest weapons from West can gain an edge over India if India does not possess similar weapons.

This puts India in a uniquely difficult position. That is India's local R&D and defence industries MUST produce weapons which match best in the world. Merely producing something is not good enough.

A combination of import, collaboration, and indigenous R&D is needed to keep the sword's edge sharp.

I think current government is doing the right thing.
I entirely agree.
They pop an imported / foreign brand pill every day, eat kellogg breakfast made by Switzerland company, wear foreign brand clothes, put on Nike shoes, use Taiwanese computer, burn australian coal generated electricity, travel in Boeing or Airbus, stay in Hayat International - American hotels, watch Bond movies, write, speak and think in English - you want is everything - foreign mal, They think there is no loss of dollars in that !!

But aircrafts, guns, rifles, ammunition should be DRDO / OFB / PSU not even TATA or Kalyani or Dynametic-

Such lowly hippocrates and trade unionists. Such a mindset and culture can never lead them anywhere. They have got their jobs by reservations and wish to sell their mal by "Reservations", treachery and trickery. If everything fails then by bullying.

Haldiram

So Indian Army should buy things at your terms and conditions? You must be nuts.
Indigenization is an issue of policy making. The best machinery need not be the most politically expedient purchase. In an event like Kargil where the US had imposed an embargo on us, if you are left without spares in a future conflict, then Allah help us. Dependence on foreign imports affects everything from foreign policy to forex reserves. Tomorrow if the country wants to pull a tough bargain with the US on certain economic terms, we can't do that if we are dependent on them for our defense.

Policy makers weigh the likelihood of a war with other national interests. If a war can be averted for 5-10 years by using other forms of deterrence, most government(s) go with it, in lieu of not having the shiniest weapons for a short time. They later leapfrog into nextgen technology. It's not just the Indian army, there are several professional armies that have gone for long durations without the sanctioned weapon strength and fixed their other shortcomings elsewhere. The whole point of investing in other forms of deterrence (nukes, space, cyber), is so that the country could take a calculated risk of averting a war, and cut down on conventional weapons for a while. We were without arty for decades, it has allowed us to grow our economy to a point where now we can leapfrog one generation of conventional arty technology and buy the next gen K9 and M777 from South Korea and US, and sign co-production deal on favorable terms. If we had kept filling the orders for arty as and when the Army demanded, we'd have hundreds of extra Bofors and we'd never have the $ left for this latest upgrade.

Indigenization is an issue of policy making. The best machinery need not be the most politically expedient purchase. In an event like Kargil where the US had imposed an embargo on us, if you are left without spares in a future conflict, then Allah help us. Dependence on foreign imports affects everything from foreign policy to forex reserves. Tomorrow if the country wants to pull a tough bargain with the US on certain economic terms, he can't do that if we are dependent on them for our defense.

Policy makers weigh the likelihood of a war with other national interests. If a war can be averted for 5-10 years by using other forms of deterrence, most government(s) go with it, in lieu of not having the shiniest weapons for a short time. They later leapfrog into nextgen technology. It's not just the Indian army, there are several professional armies that have gone for long durations without the sanctioned weapon strength and fixed their other shortcomings elsewhere. The whole point of investing in other forms of deterrence (nukes, space, cyber), is so that the country could take a calculated risk of averting a war, and cut down on conventional weapons for a while. We were without arty for decades, it has allowed us to grow our economy to a point where now we can leapfrog one generation of conventional arty technology and buy the next gen K9 and M777 from South Korea and US, and sign co-production deal on favorable terms. If we had kept filling the orders for arty as and when the Army demanded, we'd never have the $ left for this upgrade.
The last thing I ever want is lecture on strategic and Defense preparedness issues. Let that be decided by those responsible for it.

Soldiers job is to ensure safety, security and integrity of the borders and protect national sovereignty. They need basic wherewithal for it. Period.
DRDO is a research organisation. So let them take research projects and execute those satisfactorily.
OFB is a production organisation so they should focus there.

The problem arises when DRDO / OFB people start lecturing and determining national security policies and strategies They start dictating others how to do their job.

But they do not focus on their own jobs and fail miserably in own sphere.

So let us do our jobs and express our opinions on that rather than poking your noses where it is not required.

Haldiram

The last thing I ever want is lecture on strategic and Defense preparedness issues. Let that be decided by those responsible for it.

Soldiers job is to ensure safety, security and integrity of the borders and protect national sovereignty. They need basic wherewithal for it. Period.
DRDO is a research organisation. So let them take research projects and execute those satisfactorily.
OFB is a production organisation so they should focus there.

The problem arises when DRDO / OFB people start lecturing and determining national security policies and strategies They start dictating others how to do their job.

But they do not focus on their own jobs and fail miserably in own sphere.

So let us do our jobs and express our opinions on that rather than poking your noses where it is not required.
The govt has ordered the procurement of K9, M777, ATAGS, Dhanush in their first tenure itself. What seems to be the issue here?

The Athos deal are based on media reports ,there hasn't been DAC approval infact the ATAGS have DAC approval of 150 guns ,so let's keep things in perspective.
Rightly said Sir.
Procurement is the job of DAC who decide what should be bought based on various procedures and financial properties such as L1 etc. Procurement decision are vetted and approved by Min of Finance. There are laid down procedures.
The role of the users - Armed Forces is to say what they want, why they want and when they want. Just it.

But there is pack of jokers who will scratch their itch for all ills and perceived injustice done to their "mal" against the Armed Forces. They are typical Rahul Gandhi mentality - first thing they shout is - Chowkidar Chor hai.

Here people shout "Foreign mal", "dollars" and "Genera Chor Hai" to begin with, in between or to end with.

That has become a psychopathological problem with some posters.

Boss India does not exist in an island devoid of any outside contact. India has something called "foreign relations". India has powerful countries as friends today. Kargil happened at a time when India's position was vulnerable. And India did pay the price of its deficiencies in blood.

Today the situation is much better. Not only is India financially well off but also has better foreign relations.

India will be able to buy what it needs overseas. Please rest assured about that.

The question of a total embargo on India in wartime simply does not arise.
The question further is - who was responsible for shortages during Kargil operations?
Bofors were with Indian Army since 1988-90. Why could not DRDO / OFB make 155mm shells in sufficient quantity.
Since when the Mirages have been in the IAF? Why had DRDO failed to make any LGBs ?
Indian Army did not have a war reserve for more than afew days, no tank ammunition, no equipment etc inspite of placing regular orders? Why did OFB fail ?

Inka bus chale to ye Forces to marwa denge.

Blood+

The question further is - who was responsible for shortages during Kargil operations?
Certainly not the DRDO.
Bofors were with Indian Army since 1988-90. Why could not DRDO / OFB make 155mm shells in sufficient quantity.
DRDO doesn't make anything, it's not its intended purpose.
Since when the Mirages have been in the IAF? Why had DRDO failed to make any LGBs ?
Because they were not ordered to do so at that time!!They did come up with a host of successful designs of different types of PGMs fairly quickly once they were cleared to pursue such projects.
Indian Army did not have a war reserve for more than afew days, no tank ammunition, no equipment etc inspite of placing regular orders? Why did OFB fail ?
Because it's OFB.

Blood+

DRDO need to upgrade Dhanus to 155/52 caliber. If they can make ATAGS then why can they make Dhanus 52 caliber gun. They can.
First of all, DRDO is not even involved in in project Dhanush in any significant capacity and there is already a L/52 version of Dhanush.

Why does DRDO need an order ten years in advance?
I think you mean OFB.
Why is Dhanush costlier when there is no ToT cost, not much development cost ?
Economics of scale.
Buying / selling is an economic activity paid by the taxpayer, it is not "patriotism" that will sell Dhanush but quality, quantity and cost. OK. make it competitive.
It is quite competitive.It's got all the features that can be expected of a modern Artillery piece like integrated velocity measurement cum meteorological radars, automatic rammers, automatic laying, digital ballistic computer, a burst fire mode the whole nine yards.The only 'deficiency' I can think of would be its barrel length but that's a none issue at this point since a 52 caliber version has already been developed.

Ok for the sake of dollars the MoD should buy more expensive things to ensure that OFB keep their largie, corruption and jobs. Let financial propriety, prudence, economy, CAG, Parliamentary answerability be dumped.
into dust for DRDO / OFB.

So Indian Army should buy things at your terms and conditions? You must be nuts.
I don't think he ever intended to mean such a thing.

Indian Army / GoI last procured guns around 1986. So for 34 years there were no imports, no making no baking - nothing. Indian Army was kept at bay but you have cheeks to blame them for every thing.
Stop acting like you do not know what had transpired back then and please stop your efforts to put the blame on the DRDO for this galactic level of fuckk up that was the Bofors drama.We all know that DRDO had nothing to do with it!!
Where were you for 34 years? Did you develop or make any gun, any new fuze, any artillery technology ?
Oh really??!!Are you even aware of a certain 180 mm artillery howitzer prototype that was developed by the ARDE way back in the mid 80s, which by the way, beat the then 39 calibre FH 77B howitzers in terms of both range and destructive capabilities but guess what - our glorious Army didn't even agree to put it through user trials.And then you guys ask why DRDO doesn't act more proactively.

Oh and besides, there is the usual reason why they didn't develop artillery piece - simply because there was no order issued by the potential users.But when the Army eventually did warm up to such an idea, the DRDO managed to come up with a working prototype at a rapid pace which broke the world record of maximum range!!

Things are imported when firstly you do not make any things or your making cost is is beyond solar system. Capacity problem is your problem where is Indian Army involved in your management ? No one on earth will accept 114 Guns to be delivered over ten years.
Fair enough.Only a lunatic would disagree.

Have you not forced Indian Army to stand guard on Indian borders with dundas in their hand.
The DRDO is no more responsible that the GoI and I dare say, the higher ups in the Army themselves......PERIOD!!
All arguments smack of irrationality, impracticability and prejudices loaded with a lots of crap. There seems to be an irresistible itch to foul mouth Indian army. you need "bichhu ghas" for that khujali. Logic seems to have run away from your arguments.
Yeah, because you said so I guess.By the way, do try to cut back on the insults.Your propensity for insulting your fellow posters for all sorts of ridiculous reasons is quite disturbing and doesn't bode well for this here community.

ATAGS is in the acceptance process and will be accepted as per plans / procedures.
Dhanus has alraedy started induction, so what makes you think it is a jokel
Indian Army has honoured it by giving an order of 114.
Indian Army's requirement is about 400 of towed guns.
DRDO need to upgrade Dhanus to 155/52 caliber. If they can make ATAGS then why can they make Dhanus 52 caliber gun. They can.
First tell me what time GCF and Medak factories will take to deliver 114 guns?
Why does DRDO need an order ten years in advance?
Why is Dhanush costlier when there is no ToT cost, not much development cost ?
Buying / selling is an economic activity paid by the taxpayer, it is not "patriotism" that will sell Dhanush but quality, quantity and cost. OK. make it competitive.

]quote]Instead of WASTING YES WASTING Dollars on buying the same capability gun, better we INVEST on making high technology shells as well as fuses. [/quote}

What is so great about dollars? Those are available in plenty.

Ok for the sake of dollars the MoD should buy more expensive things to ensure that OFB keep their largie, corruption and jobs. Let financial propriety, prudence, economy, CAG, Parliamentary answerability be dumped.

Indian Army / GoI last procured guns around 1986. So for 34 years there were no imports, no making no baking - nothing. Indian Army was kept at bay but you have cheeks to blame them for every thing.
Where were you for 34 years? Did you develop or make any gun, any new fuze, any artillery technology ? Things are imported when firstly you do not make any things or your making cost is is beyond solar system. Capacity problem is your problem where is Indian Army involved in your management ? No one on earth will accept 114 Guns to be delivered over ten years.

Armies all over the world do function on the premise that WWIII will be tomorrow. Otherwise why keep 14 lakh standing army? Army like DRDO and OFB is not a social justice force. Disband them and put them a labour in Ordinance factories if you know the date of WWIII. .

Have you not forced Indian Army to stand guard on Indian borders with dundas in their hand.

All arguments smack of irrationality, impracticability and prejudices loaded with a lots of crap. There seems to be an irresistible itch to foul mouth Indian army. you need "bichhu ghas" for that khujali. Logic seems to have run away from your arguments.
I was waiting for you only.
I tell you one thing sirji WHY NOT REPLACE YOU TOO with ANY EXPERIENCED AMERICAN Soldier who had served in Iraq and Afghanistan wars.
WHY WE TAXPAYERS WASTE OUR RESOURCES FIRST TO TRAIN YOU DEFENCE PROFESSIONALS AND THEN BRING YOU TOO THAT EXPERIENCED AMERICAN SOLDIER level.
Give me an answer of this absurd question first WHAT IS IT IN YOU THAT IS NOT AVAILABLE IN HIM.
Let's create a MERCENARY ARMY.
That must be the logic we must talk on.
I NEVER CALLED YOUR DHANUSH a joke you defence personals are calling it a joke by ordering 114 guns.
MEHERBANI DIKHA RAHE HO KAA SIRJI.
Aur Haan IMPORT ARMY KO IMPORT ARMY NAHI KAHUNGA TO KYA KAHUNGA.
Tum log ka kaam bus protection Dena hai toh phir WEAPON DEVELOPMENT KAUN KAREGA WOH PAKISTANIS.
Government is joke so you people can shed "Well indigenous weapons are not necessary".
YE BIMARI(NO INDIGENOUS DEVELOPMENT) KE TUMLOG BHI EK BADE HISSE HO.
AAP LOG JAISON KA BUS CHALLE NA TOH KOI HATHIYAAR hi na BHARAT KA BANAYE kahe kyonki OFB time lagati hai(114 ka order deke bol rahe ho uske bad dekhenge order Dena hai ki nahi toh, TRAILS KYA THA PHIR aur workers kya karenge uske bad. 500 ka order dogen nahi TUMLOG aur bologe TIME BADA LAGATI HAI YAAR OFB).
NAYE NAYE TARIKE NIKALTE Raho kamiyan dhunte rahne mein.

Guys this kind of discussion goes nowhere.

There were plenty of problems with the production agency in the past and DRDO was not trusted by the Army. A lot of these issues are history.

India has world class engineering industries now and things like guns and vehicles can be made in India (and are being made).

Maybe some issues are there with ammo BUT current government is a problem solver. So expect improvement. If Modi continues after May 23; you may see a quantum jump in quality of defence production.

Forces can import urgent needs anytime. The government should not say no, India has comfortable fx reserves.

@Aaj ka hero

Extracts from Executive Summary: Kargil Committee Report

V - The Technological Dimension

**************. Despite the challenge of terrorism over the past many years, the Indian Army and other security forces have lagged behind in the quality of their surveillance and communication equipment although technologically superior equipment is readily available the world over. Only after the Kargil intrusion was direction-finding equipment acquired in increasing numbers. Helicopters employed for air surveillance patrolling do not have sophisticated monitoring and sensing devices. The Kargil battle was fought with less than optimum communications capability.***************

**************** While self-reliance and indigenisation are sound principles, the availability of critical equipment in time of combat is the supreme consideration that must govern acquisition policy. This does not appear to be the case at present and there is no mechanism to monitor that the process of equipment acquisition serves the best interests of the country.****************

***************** The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the chain of defence laboratories under its jurisdiction is responsible for indigenising and constantly upgrading the country's weapons and equipment inventory and related supplies. The dilemma has always been to determine the correct balance between "make or buy". , a number of instances were brought to the notice of the Committee in respect of which there have been significant cost and time overruns in the development and induction of indigenous weapons and equipment for the three Armed Services. While extenuating circumstances can be cited, the fact is that the Services have had to do without such items whereas Pakistan has not been similarly handicapped. Some of these issues were in fact examined in detail by the Committee on Defence Expenditure (1990-91). This report has unfortunately not been made public and, the Committee understands, many of its more substantial recommendations await implementation. ***************

@Aaj ka hero

Extracts from Executive Summary: Kargil Committee Report

V - The Technological Dimension

**************. Despite the challenge of terrorism over the past many years, the Indian Army and other security forces have lagged behind in the quality of their surveillance and communication equipment although technologically superior equipment is readily available the world over. Only after the Kargil intrusion was direction-finding equipment acquired in increasing numbers. Helicopters employed for air surveillance patrolling do not have sophisticated monitoring and sensing devices. The Kargil battle was fought with less than optimum communications capability.***************

**************** While self-reliance and indigenisation are sound principles, the availability of critical equipment in time of combat is the supreme consideration that must govern acquisition policy. This does not appear to be the case at present and there is no mechanism to monitor that the process of equipment acquisition serves the best interests of the country.****************

***************** The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the chain of defence laboratories under its jurisdiction is responsible for indigenising and constantly upgrading the country's weapons and equipment inventory and related supplies. The dilemma has always been to determine the correct balance between "make or buy". , a number of instances were brought to the notice of the Committee in respect of which there have been significant cost and time overruns in the development and induction of indigenous weapons and equipment for the three Armed Services. While extenuating circumstances can be cited, the fact is that the Services have had to do without such items whereas Pakistan has not been similarly handicapped. Some of these issues were in fact examined in detail by the Committee on Defence Expenditure (1990-91). This report has unfortunately not been made public and, the Committee understands, many of its more substantial recommendations await implementation. ***************
Ya replace the army with hi-tech and professional MERCENARY ARMY, we can get few weapons in less money too.
This is your answer srji for NO DEVELOPMENT FOR HOME MADE WEAPONS.
FIRST ANSWER MY Question "why not replace you defence professionals with imported high tech foreign legion army" .
By doing this we can save you too.
Another question how much it took to make AK-47 FOR WHAT IT WAS?
I am not defence guy wanted to be but look like God never chose me to be there.......SAD.
WARNA KABHI MILTA aap logon sein toh aap log kehte "VERY VERY SHREWD JUNIOR WE HAVE HERE".

I was waiting for you only.
I tell you one thing sirji WHY NOT REPLACE YOU TOO with ANY EXPERIENCED AMERICAN Soldier who had served in Iraq and Afghanistan wars.
WHY WE TAXPAYERS WASTE OUR RESOURCES FIRST TO TRAIN YOU DEFENCE PROFESSIONALS AND THEN BRING YOU TOO THAT EXPERIENCED AMERICAN SOLDIER level.
Give me an answer of this absurd question first WHAT IS IT IN YOU THAT IS NOT AVAILABLE IN HIM.
Let's create a MERCENARY ARMY.
That must be the logic we must talk on.
I NEVER CALLED YOUR DHANUSH a joke you defence personals are calling it a joke by ordering 114 guns.
MEHERBANI DIKHA RAHE HO KAA SIRJI.
Aur Haan IMPORT ARMY KO IMPORT ARMY NAHI KAHUNGA TO KYA KAHUNGA.
Tum log ka kaam bus protection Dena hai toh phir WEAPON DEVELOPMENT KAUN KAREGA WOH PAKISTANIS.
Government is joke so you people can shed "Well indigenous weapons are not necessary".
YE BIMARI(NO INDIGENOUS DEVELOPMENT) KE TUMLOG BHI EK BADE HISSE HO.
AAP LOG JAISON KA BUS CHALLE NA TOH KOI HATHIYAAR hi na BHARAT KA BANAYE kahe kyonki OFB time lagati hai(114 ka order deke bol rahe ho uske bad dekhenge order Dena hai ki nahi toh, TRAILS KYA THA PHIR aur workers kya karenge uske bad. 500 ka order dogen nahi TUMLOG aur bologe TIME BADA LAGATI HAI YAAR OFB).
NAYE NAYE TARIKE NIKALTE Raho kamiyan dhunte rahne mein.
Garble , frustration and utter mumble... stop garble and be explicit..... Scientists are Mercenaries or can be mercenaries who keep jumping from one tree to another for money as a normal routine... Not Indian Army soldiers.
DODO.....

Garble , frustration and utter mumble... stop garble and be explicit..... Scientists are Mercenaries or can be mercenaries who keep jumping from one tree to another for money as a normal routine... Not Indian Army soldiers.
DODO.....
Yes similarly no INDIAN WEAPON TOO IS LIKE THAT.
Aur hamari indian army kya hai "Chai dimag, Chai haath pair waali army hai kya".
You by your words are sounding disrespectful to other armies,look like those who chose indigenous weapons become second-grade army.
Look like sirji, you are hyper I am junior no problem GAALI DETE RAHO.

First of all, DRDO is not even involved in in project Dhanush in any significant capacity and there is already a L/52 version of Dhanush.

I think you mean OFB.

Economics of scale.

It is quite competitive.It's got all the features that can be expected of a modern Artillery piece like integrated velocity measurement cum meteorological radars, automatic rammers, automatic laying, digital ballistic computer, a burst fire mode the whole nine yards.The only 'deficiency' I can think of would be its barrel length but that's a none issue at this point since a 52 caliber version has already been developed.

I don't think he ever intended to mean such a thing.

Stop acting like you do not know what had transpired back then and please stop your efforts to put the blame on the DRDO for this galactic level of fuckk up that was the Bofors drama.We all know that DRDO had nothing to do with it!!

Oh really??!!Are you even aware of a certain 180 mm artillery howitzer prototype that was developed by the ARDE way back in the mid 80s, which by the way, beat the then 39 calibre FH 77B howitzers in terms of both range and destructive capabilities but guess what - our glorious Army didn't even agree to put it through user trials.And then you guys ask why DRDO doesn't act more proactively.

Oh and besides, there is the usual reason why they didn't develop artillery piece - simply because there was no order issued by the potential users.But when the Army eventually did warm up to such an idea, the DRDO managed to come up with a working prototype at a rapid pace which broke the world record of maximum range!!

Fair enough.Only a lunatic would disagree.

The DRDO is no more responsible that the GoI and I dare say, the higher ups in the Army themselves......PERIOD!!

Yeah, because you said so I guess.By the way, do try to cut back on the insults.Your propensity for insulting your fellow posters for all sorts of ridiculous reasons is quite disturbing and doesn't bode well for this here community.
Why are you batting for OFB if you can not answer....
Give orders for next 100 years for "economy of Scale" ... forget science and learn economics in municipality school...

Yes similarly no INDIAN WEAPON TOO IS LIKE THAT.
Look like sirji, you are hyper I am junior no problem GAALI DETE RAHO.
Please leave it at that... you slapped lots of accusation but have no answer for valid questions raised.

Na na na sirji you don't have answer for mine absurd question.
I do have answer but who will write so much(lazy I am, that's one reason why I was not chosen in armed forces despite everything I had).
Your question answers themselves can be found in this forum if you search it.
I just want to say,
WHEN it comes to weapon you become logical.
WHEN it comes to your comrades you become sentimental.
I am asking why this differentiation?

Sanglamorre

Na na na sirji you don't have answer for mine absurd question.
I do have answer but who will write so much(lazy I am, that's one reason why I was not chosen in armed forces despite everything I had).
Your question answers themselves can be found in this forum if you search it.
I just want to say,
WHEN it comes to weapon you become logical.
WHEN it comes to your comrades you become sentimental.
I am asking why this differentiation?
Because weapons are tools, people are not?
Weapons don't have a question of allegiance. People do. That's why human resources are developed assiduously while tools can be imported.

Because weapons are tools, people are not?
Weapons don't have a question of allegiance. People do. That's why human resources are developed assiduously while tools can be imported.
No weapons are the products of "Tireless day and night work of a group of men who want to serve their motherland in a different way".
You can say they are soldiers of different kind.
Please don't degrade our engineers and scientists work and product as a MERE TOOL.
WHEN I see tejas, Arihant, dhanush, arjun I get "yes, this is our metal soldiers".
And they are successful as they have passed the trials.

We are way past DRDO ofb Army entanglement. Now each agency is working on well defined projects.

Modi government listened to Army when it cleared 464 T90ms tanks. There is no pushing of DRDO stuff if army does not want.
In spite of telling them them that 68 ton tank is a no go on our western borders, DRDO and OFB would just not budge. Our bridges, engineering equipment is largely 45 ton class or a few 60 ton class. 68 ton tank is not workable.

But then if someone says - first buy my tank but I have failed to make any ammunition and missile for it, then buy my new bridge, then buy my new ARV then buy my new track equipment and then buy my other 68 ton supporting systems - that is clearly neither indigenisation, nor economy nor patriotism, Just politics and trade unionism. By calling it Arjun, they have spoiled the name of a great Indian legend.

I have a bad feeling - a day is not far off when Forces will refuse to take anything from them.