World's largest solar park to light up Pakistan's future

blue marlin

Dude, you are giving way too much importance to trolls. He is a Paki or at the very least a sympathizer. Anybody who has been to peedeeeff knows that and the moron don't realize that it is a fucking open forum where anybody can read your posts.:lol:
yeh i do realise that it is a open forum. whats peedeeff? if you mean pdf then yeah i spend more time there than here. just here to see the picture from an indian perspective. btw indians there are nicer there than here.

Here comes the role model - NASA Photos Show China’s Plan to Meet New UN Climate Pledge

On Tuesday, China said it would halt the rise in its heat-trapping emissions within 15 years and would boost its share of non-fossil fuel energy use to 20 percent by 2030. Its commitment, similar to the one it made last year in a joint U.S. agreement, comes ahead of UN climate talks in Paris in December.

China’s goal reflects how quickly it’s becoming the world’s leader in solar power. It produces two-thirds of all solar panels, and last year, it added more solar capacity than any other country, according to the International Energy Agency or IEA. Germany still has the most cumulative photovoltaic capacity, but second-place China will likely soon close the gap.

The Gobi Desert reveals why. In the northwestern Gansu Province, where sunlight and land are abundant, construction began nearly six years ago on the country’s first large-scale solar power station.

Recent photos from NASA satellites show that solar panels now cover about three times as much Gobi land as they did three years ago. In 2014, the IEA says, China boosted its capacity from solar panels by 37 percent to reach a total capacity of 28.1 gigawatts. And in 2015, during the first quarter alone, China says it’s added another 5 gigawatts of solar capacity.

China’s spending big on renewable energy. Last year, it invested far more— a record $83.3 billion, up 39% from 2013—than any other country, according to a March report by the UN Environment Programme. The U.S., in second place, invested less than half as much.
Pakistan is wise in partnering with experienced Chinese energy companies.:eric:

Dark Sorrow

We should be going Nuclear, which is actually feasible and safe and cheap and clean
I am not against nuclear power but picture you are providing is very rosy.
I suggest you Google Adverse Environmental impact of nuclear power, Nuclear and radiation accidents and incidents/Nuclear safety and security.
Not saying Solar power is perfect but for India it is very good and has its own advantages.

I'm doubtful on further addition in the electricity generation capacity in this Baki project. 100 mw Plant generating 12-18 MW is more than enough for Bakistan to stop the project. If this still gets expanded, world can assume that Bakis have decided to remain in the fool's paradise forever.

I am not against nuclear power but picture you are providing is very rosy.
I suggest you Google Adverse Environmental impact of nuclear power, Nuclear and radiation accidents and incidents/Nuclear safety and security.
Not saying Solar power is perfect but for India it is very good and has its own advantages.
As if I you know anything about what you are talking about.

Nuclear radiation from nuclear plant is hardly twice the normal background radiation from the sun just few meters outside the nuclear reactor core. Yes you read that right. So your fears of radiation is basically a senseless one.

How many people died from Fukushima meltdown vs how many died from silicosis mining silica for solar industry during the same period. Ans- no. of people who died in silicosis is several times times the no. of deaths from radiation from Fukushima

Regarding solar energy, it is awesome to the point of 3 times as costly. But hey, its not like Indians are dirt poor and can't afford a power plant that is 3 times as costly as conventional sources of electricity right? I am sure you would not mind paying 3 times the price for every good you are consuming.:rolleyes:

I_PLAY_BAD

World's largest solar park to light up Pakistan's future
Dawn.com

Entrance to Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power Park - Photo courtesy Zofeen T. Ebrahim.

Some 400,000 solar panels, spread over 200 hectares of flat desert, glare defiantly at the sun at what is known as the Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power Park (QASP) in Cholistan Desert, Punjab, named after Pakistan’s founding father, Mohammad Ali Jinnah.

The 100MW photovoltaic cells (PV) solar farm was built by Chinese company Xinjiang SunOasis in just three months, and started selling electricity to the national grid in August.

This is the first energy project under the $46 billion China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), a key part of China’s ‘new silk road’, linking the port at Gwadar in southern Pakistan with Kashgar in China’s western region of Xinjiang.

The 100MW plant is the pilot stage of a more ambitious plan to build the world’s largest solar farm. Once completed in 2017, the site could have capacity of 5.2 million PV cells producing as much as 1,000MW of electricity – enough to power about 320,000 households. Construction of the next stage is already underway, led by another Chinese company Zonergy.

One of the main access roads inside QASP - Photo courtesy Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power (Pvt) Ltd.

Eighteen months ago, the site was nothing more than wilderness. Now a mini city has emerged in the middle of the desert, with over 2,000 workers accompanied by heavy machinery, power transmission lines, blocks of buildings, water pipes and pylons.

Reducing emissions, providing livelihoods

The Cholistan desert is an ideal spot for solar power, said Muhammad Hassan Askari, operating manager of the solar park. The area gets 13 hours of sunlight every day while the huge expanse of flat desert is ideal for a large commercial project like this one.

The big advantage of solar power, he said, is that a large park can be completed faster than thermal or hydropower projects, which take much longer and require a lot of maintenance.

The solar park will also shrink Pakistan’s carbon footprint, said Najam Ahmed Shah, the chief executive officer of QASP, displacing about 57,500 tonnes of coal burn and reducing emissions by 90,750 tonnes every year.

An aerial view of QASP. - Photo courtesy Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power (Pvt) Ltd
Pakistan aims to reduce its reliance on hydrocarbons, especially imported coal, oil and gas, to around 60 per cent by 2025 from the present 87pc. The country has a target to produce 10pc of its total energy mix from renewable sources (excluding hydro-power, which already constitutes 15pc of the total energy mix). The current generation from renewable energy is around 1-2pc.

While Pakistan contributes less than 1pc to global Green House Gas (GHG) output, the country’s carbon emissions are growing by 3.9pc a year. By 2020 it will spew out 650 million tonnes of Co2e (carbon dioxide equivalent) if the current trend continues, said climatologist Qamar-uz-Zaman Chaudhry, the UN secretary general’s special advisor for Asia with the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).

The solar park will also eventually generate 15,000 to 33,000 jobs for locals and attract investment to the region.

Unprecedented scale

Some experts worry the project is too ambitious. Former director general of WWF-Pakistan Ali Hassan Habib, who now runs a company providing rooftop solar solutions, welcomed the project but was uneasy about the government “jumping into untested scale”. The plant will be double the size of the existing largest solar PV generating facilities worldwide, he said.

“It may have been better to build the equivalent remaining 900MW closer to where electricity is consumed — on say the rooftops of large parking lots — rather than installing it in remote locations,” he said.

Environmental impact of clean energy

Because solar energy is still finding a foothold in the energy mix and technologies are evolving, not enough is known about the park’s impact on the environment and natural resources.

An aerial view of QASP. - Photo courtesy Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power (Pvt) Ltd.

Some negative impacts have already become apparent. For example, solar power consumes lots of water. PV panels may require little maintenance, according to QASP, but they need to be kept squeaky clean. An estimated one litre of water is used to clean each panel. Water consumed to clean the eventual 5.2 million panels built will be colossal for a country that is fast becoming water stressed. Currently, 30 people take 10 to 15 days to clean the 400,000 cells.

“This year we’ve been very lucky as there have been unprecedented rains and so panels were cleaned automatically,” said Askari, who said they were looking for more efficient ways to clean panels.

At the same time, increasing human activity will disturb the arid region’s rich biodiversity and wildlife, such as the Indian gazelle, caracal cat and houbara bustard.

The construction of a new road network and supporting commercial activities associated with large solar PV projects do leave a substantial “footprint” on the land, agreed Habib.

Shah justified the project, saying it was built on “uninhabited” “waste” land. “An Initial Environmental Examination was carried out and we got a nod from the Environment Protection Department before embarking upon the project,” he explained.

To offset any negative impact, Habib suggested the government set up an “environment and social fund”.

Environmentalists are also concerned about the fate of the millions of PV panels which will wear out within 25 years. The panels will have to be recycled to extract the silicon used to make them, and then replaced.

Pakistan’s energy crisis

Pakistan has been in the grip of severe energy shortages for many years with some rural areas left without power for up to 20 hours a day. There has been little local or foreign investment in the industrial sector because of the extensive power cuts, and a number of factories have had to close down.

With an installed electricity generation capacity of 22,797MW, the country’s total production stands at just 14,000MW. In recent years, demand has risen to 19,000MW.

While the 1,000MW of solar energy will help ease energy constraints, Askari said government investment in several other hydropower and coal projects should also help alleviate power shortages.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif promised power cuts would end by 2018 at the inauguration ceremony of 100MW solar project in May, earlier this year.

Not everyone is happy

But some critics say it is the investors who will get rich from the solar project, while consumers will have to pay more in the long run.

“Hydropower can produce energy for less than half the price of solar and about the same as wind so why a fixation on solar?” said an Islamabad-based energy expert working with the government, who spoke to thethirdpole.net on the condition of anonymity.

He is sceptical of solar for a number of reasons.

First, the solar farm will actually produce far less than the much touted 1,000MW of electricity. “On average, solar power plants deliver only about 20pc of installed capacity, and the peak production is during the day, while the peak demand is in the evening when the plant does not produce anything,” the expert pointed out.

Quaid-e-Azam Solar Power Park - Photo courtesy Zofeen T. Ebrahim.

Alternative arrangements have to be made to draw upon hydro or thermal sources at an “extra cost”. But the project’s owners say the 100MW solar plant could produce near to capacity at 85MW at its peak.

Second, solar energy is more expensive than other energy sources. QASP claims it is selling solar power to the grid at $0.14 per unit. Sources within the National Transmission and Dispatch Company (NTDC) say they have signed a deal to buy electricity at $0.24 per unit, which will drop later to perhaps $0.17 per unit after a period of seven years when loans are paid off. In either case, this price is far higher than the $0.07 for hydropower, $0.11 for fuel oil and $0.12 for imported LNG.

“And these figures are only for generation; another 25pc must be added to it for cost of delivery to be borne by the consumer, accounting for losses and theft,” he pointed out.

“The financial justification for solar was approved when oil prices were at $110 a barrel,” he said, lamenting that the government refused to heed to advice that oil prices would drop.

Others argue that solar prices will fall over time, making it competitive. Vaqar Ahmed, deputy executive director at the Islamabad-based think tank, Sustainable Development Policy Institute, said: “For every new technology the fixed costs are higher in the initial years and diminish over time as economies of scale are achieved.” And learning from China, efficiency will rise and prices for solar cells will continue to fall, he said.

Wind could be a much bigger contributor to Pakistan’s energy need, said WWF’s Habib, given its potential of 120,000MW. “Unlike solar, wind energy maintains production at night,” he pointed out.

Political risks

With just a little over two years left in his term, the success of the solar project is important for Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.

“The project has huge political implications for the ruling Pakistan Muslim League (N),” said Lieutenant Colonel (Ret) M Hassan Malik, who is responsible for the security arrangements of the entire QASP area.

”Through this project the government also wants to send out the message to the outside world that it has the capacity to undertake mega projects and will provide foolproof security to investors.”

Working in an area known as a hotbed of criminals and extremists, Malik’s job is challenging. “Not only is the park a national asset, we have foreign nationals working at the plant, so the sensitivity is two-fold,” he said.

There are 800 to 900 men guarding the site, where around 400 Chinese workers and over 2,000 labourers work at any given time.

Cultural shock

For Alexander Halbich, a German engineer who has been at the park for over a year, getting used to “gun-toting” security men following him around was most disconcerting aspect of his new job. “The food is good, the people are extremely hospitable and we do go out to the city once in a while tailed by armed guards, but there is little to do after dark,” he added.

“There isn’t much to do in the evenings,” agreed Muhammad Hasan Askari, who heads the technical team. Hailing from Lahore, he keeps himself busy with work and looks forward to going home at the weekends.

Foreign workers get to go home less often. “I go every three months for ten days or more,” said Zhang Ting, a young Chinese engineer. “I’m quite ready to go home by two months but when I do go back, I miss Pakistan and the work,” she added.

Ting had to deal with a language barrier and hostile weather when she arrived to work at the site. The Chinese engineer also had to adjust to a “whole new work culture”.

“We resolved the issue by getting more Pakistanis on our design team to crease out the differences and conflicts,” she said.

View of the infrastructure developed alogside the solar park to connect it to the national grid. -Photo courtesy Zofeen T. Ebrahim.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1205484/

This is really massive.
There is a lot of space in between the solar panels rows.
MOD EDIT: Stick to the topic.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
Total installed capacity from Wind Power Parks in Pakistan stood at 256MW in 2014 and its expected to double within two years.

China, Turkey, Malaysia and South Korea along with Pakistani subcontractors are working on several projects throught the country including Sawat.
In india Tamil nadu alone has more than 2500 Mw of installed wind power capacity, and in the investor conference concluded this week Tamil nadu has received a commitment for investment to the tune of 5000 Mw in solar parn.
Already Madhya pradesh has signed an MOU to build a mega solar plant.

Dark Sorrow

How many people died from Fukushima meltdown vs how many died from silicosis mining silica for solar industry during the same period. Ans- no. of people who died in silicosis is several times times the no. of deaths from radiation from Fukushima
Calculations on future cancer cases and deaths from accumulated radiation exposures in the populations living near Fukushima and worldwide in the years and decades ahead, were made by Stanford University professor and anti-nuclear advocate Mark Z. Jacobson, who predicts that there will be an eventual 130 fatalities and 180 additional cancer cases, with the majority of these cases occurring in populations in the most heavily contaminated areas of Fukushima.

Data from the Chernobyl accident showed that an unmistakable rise in thyroid cancer rates following the disaster in 1986 only began after a cancer incubation period of 3–5 years, however whether this data can be directly compared to the Fukushima nuclear disaster is still yet to be determined.

And uranium mining has no problem associated at all!!!

Regarding solar energy, it is awesome to the point of 3 times as costly. But hey, its not like Indians are dirt poor and can't afford a power plant that is 3 times as costly as conventional sources of electricity right? I am sure you would not mind paying 3 times the price for every good you are consuming.:rolleyes:
You are talking like there is no cost to build, run and maintain a nuclear power plant. What about costs of fuel extraction, processing, use, spent fuel storage and internalized cost. Cost estimates take into account plant decommissioning and nuclear waste storage or recycling.

I am not against nuclear power plants but you need to acknowledge its deficiencies and pitfalls and be prepared for worst.

Calculations on future cancer cases and deaths from accumulated radiation exposures in the populations living near Fukushima and worldwide in the years and decades ahead, were made by Stanford University professor and anti-nuclear advocate Mark Z. Jacobson, who predicts that there will be an eventual 130 fatalities and 180 additional cancer cases, with the majority of these cases occurring in populations in the most heavily contaminated areas of Fukushima.
That's puny compared to the no. Of silicosis cases from mining for solar/coal industry. Besides, you do realise fukhisima is a accident while mining is a daily activity?

Data from the Chernobyl accident showed that an unmistakable rise in thyroid cancer rates following the disaster in 1986 only began after a cancer incubation period of 3–5 years, however whether this data can be directly compared to the Fukushima nuclear disaster is still yet to be determined.
Hey do do you know the success rate of early aeroplane models? Do you know that aeroplane could only fly 10 minutes back then. So let's abandoned this dangerous air travel and ban then. You know why that would be stupid? Because that was several decades ago. But, you know what is also equally stupid, positing that Chernobyl , a four decade old nuclear plant, run and operated by a bunch of incompetent socialist Buffoon's would have the same safety as the modern highly developed nuclear technology

Here's is a fun fact- the normal aeroplane travel has 5 times the radiation that is present near the reactor cores

Here is another fun fact, scientists have ruled out any significant dangers with use of nuclear reactors .. But hey, who needs facts when we can do fear mongering?

And uranium mining has no problem associated at all!!!
How much uranium needs to be mined for providing the same electricity as the coal/solar plants

You are talking like there is no cost to build, run and maintain a nuclear power plant. What about costs of fuel extraction, processing, use, spent fuel storage and internalized cost. Cost estimates take into account plant decommissioning and nuclear waste storage or recycling.
Nonsense. I said solar energy is thrice as costly as the nuclear energy based on the running/establishment costs of nuclear energy only. KKNP is now giving electricity at 5rupees per unit. What is the comparative price for solar energy? Around 14-15 rupees per unit.

I think we need a massive dose of reality check on the Indian here for their cult like love for environmentmental bs and solar energy

Yumdoot

What was the cost of land and of what type which did this comparison of 3 times the whatever. What was the water scarcity like, what was the . What were the Sun light days presumed in the study and the production vs installed ratio, presumed in the study. What is the recycling potential in the country where this cost comparison was done. Was the cost comparison done with new PV modules or used ones or was it some other method. What is the access to the capital like there, the cost of capital, market size and was it urbanized or rural clustered. What were the competing power sources.

What is the bidding like in latest Indian rounds of power purchase for first year tariffs.

What was the cost of land and of what type which did this comparison of 3 times the whatever.
What the hell dude, do you know how much land it takes for the solar plants to be set uo? It is practical only in wastelands like Rajasthan and kutch.

What was the water scarcity like, what was the .
Nuclear reactors can be set up in coast lands.

And let's not use water at all . let's save water and fast ourselves? But seriously, water is for us to exploit. and India is not water scare because of in awailability, but rather mismanagement. India has better per capita availability of water than say China

What is the recycling potential in the country where this cost comparison was done. Was the cost comparison done with new PV modules or used ones or was it some other method. What is the access to the capital like there, the cost of capital, market size and was it urbanized or rural clustered. What were the competing power sources.
India only sir. I am talking about how much cost it is to get the solar plants set up here. Why do you see do much investments in private sector into wind mills but not solar? Because solar is still bs expensive

What is the bidding like in latest Indian rounds of power purchase for first year tariffs.
One word- lack of private investments in solar power generation. Why? Its stupidly expensive

This is really massive.
There is a lot of space in between the solar panels rows.
MOD EDIT: Stick to the topic.
This space between the panels is calculated so that the shadow of the module in front does not fall on the next module and hence lead to loss in power production.

Yumdoot

What the hell dude, do you know how much land it takes for the solar plants to be set uo? It is practical only in wastelands like Rajasthan and kutch.

Nuclear reactors can be set up in coast lands.

And let's not use water at all . let's save water and fast ourselves? But seriously, water is for us to exploit. and India is not water scare because of in awailability, but rather mismanagement. India has better per capita availability of water than say China

India only sir. I am talking about how much cost it is to get the solar plants set up here. Why do you see do much investments in private sector into wind mills but not solar? Because solar is still bs expensive

One word- lack of private investments in solar power generation. Why? Its stupidly expensive
So you are going to everything but you are not going to defend your statement - "3 times as costly as conventional sources of electricity". :p

But looks like you kind of sense it.

Hope that you do not let your theories or your favourite theories get in the way of acceptance of facts as they are unfolding.

So you are going to everything but you are not going to defend your statement - "3 times as costly as conventional sources of electricity". :p

But looks like you kind of sense it.
:lol:Have you tried installing a solar power plant in your home? I have. The costs were around 14-15 Rupees per unit of electricity,

As I said, the proof is in the pudding. In TN, the govt charges about 10 Rupees for the electricity per unit for commercial areas. So if you think Solar energy is cheap, Private companies would have invested a lot in it wont they? they dont precisely because of what I said- it is suicidally expensive. They usually invest in something else like coal powered/diesel powered plants for generating power! If you think it is expensive for industrial use, think what it will be like for domestic uses

Hope that you do not let your theories or your favourite theories get in the way of acceptance of facts as they are unfolding.
In case it is hard for you to get, I am not dogmatically opposed to solar energy, like how you are now dogmatically in love with solar energy. I would switch to solar as soon as the cost comes down to the level that is comparable to that of the conventional sources.

Only dogmatic people take everything they read about the environment at face value and yap about something which is not feasible. Pragmatic and rational people should look for facts and feasibility. And the problem here is that most people here are dogmatically environmental!

1KW of solar energy is around Rs 1.25 lakhs to Rs 1.5 lakhs. This is not top of the line stuff and neither it is the cheap Chinese 3rd grade stuff. Based on these prices the break even will be in 6 to 7 years.

But you have to consider in the govt subsidies(which again ultimately falls on us) for that, which amount to 50% of the cost of manufacturing. And also the other costs like the batteries ,which form a major chunk of the expenses . Are you sure it costs only 1.25lakhs to 1..5 lakhs in total?. if so it sounds cheaper than inverters we have currently invested in.

Yumdoot

:lol:Have you tried installing a solar power plant in your home? I have. The costs were around 14-15 Rupees per unit of electricity,

As I said, the proof is in the pudding. In TN, the govt charges about 10 Rupees for the electricity per unit for commercial areas. So if you think Solar energy is cheap, Private companies would have invested a lot in it wont they? they dont precisely because of what I said- it is suicidally expensive. They usually invest in something else like coal powered/diesel powered plants for generating power! If you think it is expensive for industrial use, think what it will be like for domestic uses
So this home installation is the study based on which you said that "3 times as costly as conventional sources of electricity"

Look at it like this. You just have the money to buy home PV installation. Since you are somewhat better educated so you add up the subsidy cost too, which is off course reasonable adjustment entry to get to actual cost.

But now think why the hell did the GoI put the cap on power purchases for 4th round of solar bidding at Rs. 5.5 per unit. What are the possible reasons for that.
1) The policy babus must be idiots - that could be a reason but that does not stand the truth serum test. PV power companies are actually willing to bid at that rates.
2) The economics could actually have escaped you. Now that sounds somewhat reasonable conclusion esp. considering the fact that you are possibly comparing your home installation with a commercial plant.

Sir ji, a real apples to apples comparison between your home installed PV power would be with your home installed DG set (Rs. 18 per unit).
For the commercial level the comparison has to be of like scale (MW to MW).
For per unit costs the comparison should be of first year tariffs of currently installed or proposed plants (to validly adjust the discounted cash flows of operations for RM costs, Cost of Capital etc.).
For lifetime costs the comparison has to take into account depreciation of plant, appreciation of land and liquidity of so called regulatory assets through which Kejris of this world cater to their muddle class voters.
If you want to compare Solar to Solar, you will have to compare Phase-wise then Batch-wise then Tranche-wise and then finally Part-wise for the various biddings.

So if are willing to accept that there is some thought applied to the cap of Rs. 5.5 per unit then you will understand how the solar energy could be worked upon in real world.

If the TN govt. is charging Rs. 10 per unit for its Solar power supply then does not necessarily has to imply that solar is expensive.
It could just as easily mean that the power is being supplied from the power plants installed based on the PV power bidding of the first round and the plants of the later rounds have yet to come on line.
There is still a third possibility in that the state govt., knowing that large masses of Indian households and industry are using DG sets, has decided that they will charge Rs. 10 all through the lifetime of the project because that way, they will be able to subsidize the agricultural power.
There is a fourth possibility also, in that the bundled power has still not been, bought or bought into, by TN.

So jinaab, stop being more Mad than Indian.

FYI, GoI is pushing for Solar based UMPPs of 1000 MW now. The earlier styled 50MW-150MW-500MW testing phase is most likely going to be history by the time Modi's first term ends. Enjoy the joyride.