What you Love and Hate about DFI?

Defcon 1

I have long tried to focus on the need for foreign members to have good debates. Most of the time the reply which I get is, we have many good foreign members already on the forum. We don't need more. or the forum is always open for all.

Never has been a serious attempt made by admins to attract and retain the foreign members, regardless of their contribution. Sorry if I sound harsh. I don't mean to blame anyone. I am just reflecting on the suggestions of other members.

I have long tried to focus on the need for foreign members to have good debates. Most of the time the reply which I get is, we have many good foreign members already on the forum. We don't need more. or the forum is always open for all.

Never has been a serious attempt made by admins to attract and retain the foreign members, regardless of their contribution. Sorry if I sound harsh. I don't mean to blame anyone. I am just reflecting on the suggestions of other members.
1) we have never said we have enough forein members. It's never enough.
2) by foreigners you mean Pakis? Well they are comfortable in their own cocoon.
3) if you mean te west, they have very little to talk about on Indian forum and they prefer their own forum like WAB or ARRSE.

DFI is not closed to anyone. The majority of the traffic that comes on "other" forum is also from Indians. Indians are very active on forums and in large numbers.

That apart, there are Iranians and other mid east, BD and SL. We are not sure how many false flag on other forum to give an international touch.

India has a lot to discuss about its own country. We obviously welcome everyone but our focus is on making DFI a premier forum where really good ideas come out from to help India. This is our aim. We know other forum is more interested in milking the forum and make money out of it. DFI is run by people who genuinely want to give Indians a platform to express themselves. For this, the owner of the forum is spending all the money from his pocket.

BW Sirji, Yeh country change karne ka kya chakkar hai.

Is the interpol after you??????

But boss, the Libya dictator is long gone. Now they re searching for new dictator.

Anyway now BW has migrated closer to India, Nepal.

Defcon 1

3) if you mean te west, they have very little to talk about on Indian forum and they prefer their own forum like WAB or ARRSE.

DFI is not closed to anyone. The majority of the traffic that comes on "other" forum is also from Indians. Indians are very active on forums and in large numbers.

That apart, there are Iranians and other mid east, BD and SL. We are not sure how many false flag on other forum to give an international touch.

India has a lot to discuss about its own country. We obviously welcome everyone but our focus is on making DFI a premier forum where really good ideas come out from to help India. This is our aim. We know other forum is more interested in milking the forum and make money out of it. DFI is run by people who genuinely want to give Indians a platform to express themselves. For this, the owner of the forum is spending all the money from his pocket.

This is exactly the closed mindset I am talking about. Firstly let me clarify, foreigner doesn't mean only pakis. And it is wrong to assume that all pakis are comfortable in their own cocoon. It is true that all nations have their own forums. But just assuming that if other nations have their own forums, they will not want to visit ours is a wrong attitude. If we can sufficiently improve the quality of posts and have knowledgeable discussions here, people will come here. Maybe we could start by consulting our already present foreign members about why they like DFI more than other forums.

Accusing other forums of creating false accounts just to give international touch is kiddish and you know it. I appreciate the sentiment behind running this forum and I also don't want it to turn into the pathetic paki forum. What I am saying is presence of foreign members will improve the quality of discussions. DFI has a very great potential to become one of the leading forums of the world, without falling to the level of cheap marketting tactics of the paki forum. But conscious efforts need to be made. If the forum treats everyone equally, people will naturally come here. At this moment, this is not true and some members are targeted on the basis of their nationalities. I know it to be true and denying it will not change a fact. Lots of things can be done. I hope the DFI management will take note of my suggestions.

Again you are mistaken. We are not talking with any closed mind. Ok let me tell you that this forum is what it is becaus of the members. The members themselves have a "responsibility" to act in the best interst of te forum.

DFI has tried its best to attract foreign members in its own way.

Rest is upto the members. we all are busy with our own jobs and business. Running DFI is a passion but there are limitations including time for the staff.

The responsibility on expanding DFI is on te members too.

Defcon 1

Again you are mistaken. We are not talking with any closed mind. Ok let me tell you that this forum is what it is becaus of the members. The members themselves have a "responsibility" to act in the best interst of te forum.

DFI has tried its best to attract foreign members in its own way.

Rest is upto the members. we all are busy with our own jobs and business. Running DFI is a passion but there are limitations including time for the staff.

The responsibility on expanding DFI is on te members too.
Sure it is. But the members cannot do anything if the foreigners are openly abused by some veteran member on the forum with impunity. Forums rules have been repeatedly flouted and no action has been taken. I was even surprised that in spite of me reporting many posts breaking the forums rules, no action was taken on either the post or the poster. I believe that is something management can look into.

So we go back to discussing about Pakis. :) or Chinis :)

Seriously though, this point is well taken. In fact an overhaul of rules and moderation is on the cards.

Defcon 1

So we go back to discussing about Pakis. :) or Chinis :)

Seriously though, this point is well taken. In fact an overhaul of rules and moderation is on the cards.
Rules are already there. They are just not enforced very strictly.

Btw thanks for taking my points into consideration. It feels nice to be listened to, finally.\

One last request. Do you think it would possible to ban the words p*orkies and chin*ks??? Thanks

Rules are already there. They are just not enforced very strictly.

Btw thanks for taking my points into consideration. It feels nice to be listened to, finally.\

One last request. Do you think it would possible to ban the words p*orkies and chin*ks??? Thanks
Chin** is a banned word even by GoI. It's a banned word here too. Te other too is banned or acted upon when reported.

Zarvin

Hi

Personally I've already heard the alternative views of stories from other nationalities(including Indians) due to my going on other more pluralistic forums, so it doesn't bother me too much, it's enjoyable to debate and defend your prospective in a hostile environment and that is what will interest foreign members esp. Pakistanis and Chinese.

Good luck

Pokemon

@Defcon

Let me try to answer your question when it comes to absence of pakistanis on indian forums.

Imajine a scenario when you are weak and your enemy is much more stronger than you. Would you invade his house or fortify yours with armoury and wait for him to come there??

Thats exactly with "most" of the pakistanis. They have very little to boast and talk about. There nation isn't doing much to make them proud for being pakistani and they dont want to feel sorry for that especially when there is no shield of biased moderation and propagandas. Simply no "feel good" for them on indian forums.

Pak forums are their home where they can decide the rule of game, players and finally winner. But then I feel pitty for them....they too have the right to be happy and you evil hindus want to deprive them even that happiness. :D

Drsomnath999

lord of 32 teeth
one question

this is a 100% indian owned defence forum right???
what's agnoistic muslim doing here??
well why ????
well anyone in this planet who has a PC & internet conncetion can be a member of this forum :lol:

tjpf;562287 yusuf some post i have seen (rarely though) by indians who while venting their anger against pakis bad mouth muslims also...[B said:
how you being a muslim (right???) take it???[/B]
now another morronic question .???
well what has religion got to do with this thing ,well indians have issue against the pakis not islam or any religion .Kindly stop making such retarded comments

REGARDS

Something I hate is the idea that too many on DFI seem to think they have equal standing here "just because." There should be more respect for the experience of those members who have it. One of the worst examples of "I must be heard because I can post anything" is Bhadra. Here he is profoundly wrong about the function of an NBC recon vehicle, but continues to argue belligerently, continuing to flail around like a 2 year old child, and becoming more irrational in his persistence with his error.

How does one bypass contaminated area? Simply by driving over it?
So the problem is that you are right and others are wrong because you were an NCO ?

And why are you using foul language ??

Tell me which ground recce and demarcation task engineers perform without prodders even if you may be right that those are markers !!