UK ends 'no-contact' policy with Narendra Modi

Britain is ending its official no-contact policy with Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi, replacing it with a programme of "active engagement" that could see the rehabilitation of the controversial Indian politician in the West.

Modi chose to react on his Twitter profile and welcomed the UK government's initiative towards normalising ties with Gujarat. His website also carried the press release issued by Hugo Swire, the new British minister in charge of India.

"Der Aaye Durasta Aaye!! I welcome UK Govt's step for active engagement & strengthening relations with Guj. God is Great," Modi wrote on his Twitter account.

UK makes up with Narendra Modi, he welcomes it - Hindustan Times

That God is great part is cheeky :) ! Time for USA to get over its high horse.

btw anyone else notice the psy-ops in Hindustan Times ?

Colour scheme similar to Nazi party logo no ?

That can hardly be considered psy-ops, when the target audience is Indian. Hindu people (which btw is the majority till date) are quite used to seeing this, and whatever color scheme it might be, even 95% of educated indian would miss the similarity, as hardly anybody in India ever cared to know about Nazis.

Defenceindia2010

Good development, and real world lesson that economics comes first come what may. How long could they follow the advice of the HUMAN RIGHTS INC, and not see the economic rational behind Gujarat. These Human Rights inc's have made it a business and a good one for that matter to ill advice western govt's on what they think is human rights violation, their advice are bias and are influenced by the countries and individuals who fund them every human rights corporation these days has a different definition of what is human rights and who is following them. As the British are thinking of cutting 'AID' they and other European and American NGO (National Government Organizations) according to me should also pack their bags and leave the nation along with their 'foreign staff's'. It is about time these meddlers are thrown out. :kickass:

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Manish Tiwary shamelessly condemning the decision and left parties related the decision to coming assembly election.Morons...:rotflmao:

iNDiAN.96

Troll Soldier
Britain bends to pressure and comes calling for Narendra Modi and Gujarat

It may just be a coincidence but it could not have been better timed for Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi.

Ending 10 years of global isolation, enforced in the aftermath of the Gujarat riots in 2002, the United Kingdom has extended a hand of friendship towards Modi and the state.

UK minister of state in the foreign office Hugo Swire has asked the British High Commissioner in India to visit Gujarat and meet Modi and other senior functionaries to discuss a wide range of issues of mutual interest and explore opportunities of closer co-operation.

Victory signs: Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi on the concluding day of his month-long Vivekananda Yuva Vikas Yatra at Pavagadh on Thursday

The decision taken just two months before the assembly elections is a huge shot in the arm for the chief minister who is hoping to retain the chair for a record fourth time in the state.

"This (meeting with Modi) will allow us to discuss a wide range of issues of mutual interest and to explore opportunities for closer cooperation, in line with the British Government's stated objective of improving bilateral relations with India," read the press statement by Swire.

"The UK has a broad range of interests in Gujarat"¦ We want to secure justice for the families of the British nationals who were killed in 2002. We want to support human rights and good governance in the state," it added.

"We also want to provide the best possible support for British nationals who live in, work in or visit Gujarat; and to the many Gujaratis who now make up one of the most successful and dynamic communities in the UK," the release stated.

Diplomatic sources told MAIL TODAY that the UK's decision is not linked to the elections.

"It is based on multiple factors, following an internal review by the British government. It was felt that the country's judicial system had not indicted Modi (in the 2002 riots cases).

"Also, if we would have taken this decision after the assembly elections, it would have sent a message that we were doing it to woo him," the source said.

The decision is also a result of the enormous pressure put on the UK government by the Gujarati NRIs, many of whom are big fundraisers for Modi.

Besides London also realised that it was missing out on big economic opportunities in Gujarat because of a "diplomatic boycott" of the elected leader of the state, the source added.

With recession clouds looming over the British economy as well, Premier David Cameron realises that he is missing out on good business with a state that has been regarded an investment-friendly destination by many international companies, the source said.

Modi on his part has welcomed the development on his twitter handle. "Der aaye, durasta aaye!! I welcome the UK Govt's step for active engagement and strengthening relations with Guj. God is Great."

Modi followed up his reaction with a second statement. "Getting many messages of pride & joy from Indian diaspora, especially Gujaratis in London & all over the world. Thanks for your affection!"

Speaking at Pavagadh, at the concluding public meeting of his month-long Vivekananda Yuva Vikash Yatra, Modi also capitalised the development in political terms.

"Manmohan Singh may or may not understand, but the British have," he said. The chief minister launched his yatra from the temple town of Bahucharaji in north Gujarat on September 11 and ended it at another temple town - Pavagadh in central Gujarat on Thursday.

BJP national president Nitin Gadkari, Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar and Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh were present at the concluding event.

Read more: indianews | Mail Online

Re: Britain bends to pressure and comes calling for Narendra Modi and Gujarat

IIs it due to pressure?

I think it is all about Money - Trade, investments and so on in the most industry friend State of India.

They have realised that it makes good business sense, now that there appears to be some reforms in the offing and what could be better than invest in Gujarat.

Obviously, if they continued to avoid Modi, then maybe the doors in Gujarat would not have opened up easily.

Further, Gujarat is reputed to be more efficient than others.

It could also be conceded that Modi has acquired a aura wherein he may move to the Centre if his party wins and then it would matter most.

The writing is on the wall or the UK Govt. For all practical purposes BJP is in for another term in Gujarat ( The number of seats can be debated), and the isolation has not helped the British.

The Japanese had no such qualm about doing business with the Gujarat Govt. and have walked away with big projects.

Narendra Modi should not kow tow to either US or UK, which he does not BTW. Do not allow US companies to enter Gujarat either.

Will evaluate Narendra Modi's visa application on merits: US

WASHINGTON: Without directly naming Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, a senior State Department official has said that US will evaluate any visa application based on merits and according to US laws.

"As you probably know, we don't get into questions of visa matters on any particular individual. That said, we of course will evaluate any visa application based on its merits and in accordance with US law, so I don't have anything further on that specifically," Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs Mike hammer told reporters at a news conference yesterday.

Hammer was responding to a question on Narendra Modi in the aftermath of Britain taking decision to end its decade long policy of no-contact with him, which it took after the communal riots in the Gujarat a decade ago.

"Is there a shift in the US policy towards Modi, or not yet?" Hammer was asked in view of the latest decision taken by the British Government.

The British decision to resume its contact with Modi was noted in several major American media outlets.

"Being a business-friendly government official in one of the world's fastest- growing economies can erase a lot of political baggage," The Washington Post said referring to the British decision, adding, that this may just be the beginning of an end to his international pariah status.

"I have asked the British High Commissioners in New Delhi to visit Gujarat and to meet the chief minister and other senior figures in the state," Hugo Swire, the new British minister in charge of India, said in a statement yesterday.

"This will allow us to discuss a wide range of issues of mutual interest and to explore opportunities for closer cooperation," the statement added.

btw anyone else notice the psy-ops in Hindustan Times ?

Colour scheme similar to Nazi party logo no ?

The political editor of HT is that Sharma, with razor sharp teeth of predators one sees in Animal Planet and is a camoflagued unofficial Congress spokesman on TV debates.

Nothing surprising.

This Sharma man was the same man who claimed that he had authentic information that the Mulayam - Bhushan tapes were not doctored. He would not divulge his source and spoke with confidence that it was authentic.

It turned out that the tapes were doctored!

People like him has made HT a Hindustan's Trash!

The manner in which Congress and their houseboys, butlers and valets are chafing and hot behind their collars indicate that this news has really upset them.

Crabs.

However, it must also be understood that this does not mean that Modi can get a visa since the EU has boycotted him.

The UK will have to apply for exception.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Other countries' representatives come here, Modi doesn't go there except Japan.

:dude: What are you saying? Modi had applied for visa to go to US. And IIRC he was in China a couple of times.

Before any of Modi fans decide to abuse me, I'd like to clarify that IMO I think its none of foreign government's business to issue certificates of conduct to Indian elected representatives. Maybe next time Modi has to go to US, he may not have to apply for a visa! :p

The anti-Modi brigade alive and kicking... :). Harinder Baweja of Hindustan Times says Modi dont be too happy, giddy up and apologise for 2002!

Dear Mr Modi, open your heart and apologise for riots

Dear Mr Modi, You must be happy--in fact-- elated over the UK government's change in stance. You are celebrating no doubt, for after an entire decade the UK has ended its diplomatic isolation of you and promised to engage with you and Gujarat. The timing of the announcement--comes as it
does in the middle of the election campaign--is something you will work to your advantage. You have an uncanny knack of doing that and it wasn't surprising to see the UK government's press release go up on your website narendramodi.in, within seconds of it being released.

Publicity, image-enhancement, propaganda are a fine art and you could give a tip or two to the best PR firms in the country. They might even be using you as a case study in their board rooms but Narendra bhai, why do you stop short of image-enhancement when it comes to the 2002 riots, to the many Muslims who are also Gujaratis. You are obssessed about the well-being of six crore gujaratis, you say often but even at the three day sadbhavna that you organized in Ahmedabad, you refused--appeared repulsed in fact--the skull cap offered to you on stage in front of zillions of live cameras.

You went as far as to fast for three days in the name of sadbhavna but not once did you say you were sorry that so many innocents were slaughtered in your state. The recent Naroda Patiya judgement detailed the role of politicians, including that of Mayaben Kodnani, a junior minister in your government, but all you did--through your propagandists--was to distance yourself from the judgement and the indictment.

Aaj khush to bahut honge aap. If UK has changed its mind; may be the US will too and reverse its decision of not honouring you with a visa. And then, may be that will pave the way for your ride to New Delhi. But Narendra bhai, all the development that you have showcased, has not reduced the taint. You say there is no case against you in any court of law. You say also, that Gujarat has been peaceful for the last ten years and yes, you say: hang me if I am guilty. But 2002 is not just about legality. It has a lot to do with your own political ambition and with perception.

Not once in the last many years, has the BJP given a single seat to a Muslim candidate. In the entire month that you toured the state on your rath - and you travelled through many areas that were wracked by violence in 2002--not once did you bring up the riots or the Naroda judgement. I'm reasonably sure it was deliberate, but then I write this open letter--on behalf of many--and we urge you to innovate and to be brave. Open your heart and apologise. Embrace each one of the six crore Gujaratis. Don't make the Muslims the centerpiece of your political strategy. Polarizing the state will only give you yet another handsome win in the state and it will keep you there; a prisoner of your own politics.

Learn from the UK. They've ended the diplomatic isolation. Ultimately, you will have to end your own isolation. And there are no short cuts, for that, I'm afraid.

PS: Nitish Kumar has not paid me to write this letter. (What about Congress mafia madam - are you paid by them...)
Regards, Harinder Ben

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
:dude: What are you saying? Modi had applied for visa to go to US. And IIRC he was in China a couple of times."¨"¨Before any of Modi fans decide to abuse me, I'd like to clarify that IMO I think its none of foreign government's business to issue certificates of conduct to Indian elected representatives. Maybe next time Modi has to go to US, he may not have to apply for a visa! :p
"¨"¨"©:dude:He applied for Visa for Gujarati Society program,not for any business trip.And I heard he has actually not applied for it, it's US who banned him before he applied.And you very well know what he did in China.He snubbed china for taking care of pak and demanded early release of some Gujjus trapped in some diamond case from past 1-2 years and guess what, china has ordered a fast probe for that case and released all Gujjus within 1 month.Even our PM has no balls to do so.

aragorn

As far as i know he has applied for visa only once. after getting rejection he never applied.It is media who is behaving like he is applying for visa every year and getting rejected.