Small arms of India

ALBY

Section Moderator
The army’s requirement was to fit
A Bioid , 5x 25 optic with a TI sight for night ops and a better buttstock.
This upgrade met all the given parameters
This was a much awaited upgrade. SVDs could serve another decade with such upgrades as it solves almost all the shortcomings of it like no rails, bipods, pso scopes and non adjustable stocks.
Still they could have reduced the barrel length or cpuld have gone for a heavier and shorter barrel

padmaraj

This was a much awaited upgrade. SVDs could serve another decade with such upgrades as it solves almost all the shortcomings of it like no rails, bipods, pso scopes and non adjustable stocks.
Still they could have reduced the barrel length or cpuld have gone for a heavier and shorter barrel
A heavy nitride barrel could have been added. This was a End life upgrade and a emergency requirement fir DMR support.
There are a whole lot of Specialist sniper rifles coming along in the 8.6/70 and 7.62/ 51 versions from Indian companies.

ALBY

Section Moderator
A heavy nitride barrel could have been added. This was a End life upgrade and a emergency requirement fir DMR support.
There are a whole lot of Specialist sniper rifles coming along in the 8.6/70 and 7.62/ 51 versions from Indian companies.
Did they got any orders for SVD upgrade or just demo? I remeber you posting some Ak upgrade couple of months back by some bangalore firm. Whats the update on thst too

Gessler

The prevailing problem is the lack of a dedicated bolt-action precision rifle performing the role of a sniper system. This is the problem that requires solving...not just with a rushed, knee-jerk reactionary purchase of few sniper rifles, but with the ground-up development of sniper culture within the IA.

If that happens, then the SVD even in its present, non-upgraded guise is a very decent infantry marksman rifle. It becomes inadequate only when one starts demanding a sniper rifle's accuracy, range and reliability from what is basically an accurized semi-auto marksman rifle.

That said, this is a great upgrade and a good job by SS-LMT. I hope IA adopts this as an upgrade package just like it adopted FAB Defense/TDI Arms kits as upgrade packages for their AKs.

Indian Navy Marine Commandos (MARCOS) armed with AK-103 Assault Rifles on an RHIB at Dal Lake, Kashmir. AK-103 is the fourth Generation Kalashnikov in service with Indian Forces ever since initial Romanian and Hungarian Kalashnikovs were inducted.

padmaraj

Did they got any orders for SVD upgrade or just demo? I remeber you posting some Ak upgrade couple of months back by some bangalore firm. Whats the update on thst too
Trial orders on the AK upgrade have been placed. These are for the forward units in the alley and the North east. The quantum is a few hundred numbers. They will pickup in due course.

Gessler

The General Manager of Rifle Factory Ishapore, DK Mahapatra, has stated that the per-unit price of the 'R2' 7.62x51mm rifle comes to about Rs. 80,000 which is $ 1,121. Statement here: Army orders US assault rifles even as RFI offers its own version at a cheaper rate - Times of India

In the same article, it is said that 'sources' indicate the SIG price was around Rs. 1 lakh per.

Now, we have sources explicitly stating that the SIG 716G2 Patrol was quoted $ 990 per piece (or Rs. 70,618) in the tender for 72,400 rifles (Jane's article here: https://www.janes.com/article/86149...procurement-of-72-400-sig-sauer-rifles-for-ia). However we also have sources saying that the total deal value was Rs. 700 crores, which indeed does come to about 96,000 per rifle or $ ~1350.

Some observations:

Although details remain sketchy, it is oft stated by varying sources that the deal also includes "accessories", which might or might not mean:

Forward Vertical Grips
Muzzle Attachments
Extra Magpul PMAG Magazines
Back-Up Iron Sights (BUIS)
and most importantly - optics.

In the civilian market, a typical 20-round PMAG costs $20, BUIS (from Magpul) about $40, a vertical grip also about $20, even if we consider all these were offered at half-price due to bidding, that's still 40 dollars extra - per rifle (1 extra mag per rifle). Those alone add about $3 million to the deal value.

If we assume we are also buying at least a red dot sight per rifle, also from SIG, and assume the same half-price quote, that adds about $11 million, at about $150 per piece.

If we were buying a 3x magnifier instead, and apply same half-price, it would add $17 million. Which would bring us to about $90 million total, or about 640 crores (if we assume $72 million for rifles alone).

If any of those accessories were indeed included, and the quoted prices were above half-price (or a more expensive option chosen rather than what I calculated), then easily that could constitute a $99 million (or 700 crore) deal to include accessories, while keeping the per unit price of the rifles themselves at $ 990. That's if we assume the prices for accessories will be separate from the price of the rifle.

If not anything else, extra magazines and 1 set of BUIS per rifle are an absolute MUST.

This is ofcourse, only if the actual quote itself wasn't 1 lakh per.

NOTES:

It is my sincere belief that if the piss-poor quality & workmanship of OFB is what one gets on a rifle that is supposedly only about 16k cheaper, then I would say NO THANK YOU. On the other hand, if the price for SIG716 was indeed only 70k and OFB is actually asking Rs. 10k MORE than SIG for an assault rifle in the same calibre, I would say that is a PURE AND BLATANT RIP-OFF.

Additional Notes:

Unless the text wasn't later edited by the writer, the TOI article is also the first confirmation from an Indian authority (RFI GM) that the rifle to be manufactured at OFB Korwa (Amethi) will indeed be AK-203, not 103 -

.... "Over time, we have also developed the Ghatak 7.62 x 39 mm assault rifle. This is of the same quality as the AK-203 that the Ministry of Defence is planning to build at Ordnance Factory Korwa in collaboration with Russia. The only difference is the Picatinny Rail (for fitting of accessories) that the Ghaatak doesn't have. That can always be fixed. " The GM added. .....

My comment: You ought to have incorporated such basic things as long-length 12'o clock rail into the design from Day 1 (instead of a handguard rail). It's not like dust covers with P rails were only invented after you started building Ghaatak. Such gross negligence and being utterly unaware of even relatively low-tech advancements made in firearms industry over 20 years ago shows your quality of work and workmanship. Nuff said.

@binayak95 @rkhanna @mohitbhagat @Unknowncommando 2 @abingdonboy

The General Manager of Rifle Factory Ishapore, DK Mahapatra, has stated that the per-unit price of the 'R2' 7.62x51mm rifle comes to about Rs. 80,000 which is $ 1,121. Statement here: Army orders US assault rifles even as RFI offers its own version at a cheaper rate - Times of India

In the same article, it is said that 'sources' indicate the SIG price was around Rs. 1 lakh per.

Now, we have sources explicitly stating that the SIG 716G2 Patrol was quoted $ 990 per piece (or Rs. 70,618) in the tender for 72,400 rifles (Jane's article here: https://www.janes.com/article/86149...procurement-of-72-400-sig-sauer-rifles-for-ia). However we also have sources saying that the total deal value was Rs. 700 crores, which indeed does come to about 96,000 per rifle or $ ~1350.

Some observations:

Although details remain sketchy, it is oft stated by varying sources that the deal also includes "accessories", which might or might not mean:

Forward Vertical Grips
Muzzle Attachments

In the civilian market, a typical 20-round PMAG costs $20, BUIS (from Magpul) about $40, a vertical grip also about $20, even if we consider all these were offered at half-price due to bidding, that's still 40 dollars extra - per rifle (1 extra mag per rifle). Those alone add about $3 million to the deal value.

If we assume we are also buying at least a red dot sight per rifle, also from SIG, and assume the same half-price quote, that adds about $11 million, at about $150 per piece.

If we were buying a 3x magnifier instead, and apply same half-price, it would add $17 million. Which would bring us to about $90 million total, or about 640 crores (if we assume $72 million for rifles alone).

If any of those accessories were indeed included, and the quoted prices were above half-price (or a more expensive option chosen rather than what I calculated), then easily that could constitute a $99 million (or 700 crore) deal to include accessories, while keeping the per unit price of the rifles themselves at $ 990. That's if we assume the prices for accessories will be separate from the price of the rifle.

If not anything else, extra magazines and 1 set of BUIS per rifle are an absolute MUST.

NOTES:

It is my sincere belief that if the piss-poor quality & workmanship of OFB is what one gets on a rifle that is supposedly only about 16k cheaper, then I would say NO THANK YOU. On the other hand, if the price for SIG716 was indeed only 70k and OFB is actually asking Rs. 10k MORE than SIG for an assault rifle in the same calibre, I would say that is a PURE AND BLATANT RIP-OFF.

Additional Notes:

Unless the text wasn't later edited by the writer, the TOI article is also the first confirmation from an Indian authority (RFI GM) that the rifle to be manufactured at OFB Korwa (Amethi) will indeed be AK-203, not 103 -

.... "Over time, we have also developed the Ghatak 7.62 x 39 mm assault rifle. This is of the same quality as the AK-203 that the Ministry of Defence is planning to build at Ordnance Factory Korwa in collaboration with Russia. The only difference is the Picatinny Rail (for fitting of accessories) that the Ghaatak doesn't have. That can always be fixed. " The GM added. .....

My comment: You ought to have incorporated such basic things as long-length 12'o clock rail into the design from Day 1 (instead of a handguard rail). It's not like dust covers with P rails were only invented after you started building Ghaatak. Such gross negligence and being utterly unaware of even relatively low-tech advancements made in firearms industry over 20 years ago shows your quality of work and workmanship. Nuff said.

Thoroughly agreed to bud.

Why would any army even think of going for OFB's shoddy rifles that are KNOWN to have serious issues - seizures, jamms, false batteries, rounds exploding inside chamber, and bad build quality - when rifles are available for 10k rupees cheaper - that too, much better rifles with modern amenities and better ergonomics?

Irony.

Kay

Some observations:

Forward Vertical Grips
Muzzle Attachments

NOTES:

Additional Notes:

Price comes down with bulk orders. Sure the OFB rifle price would have come down as well with assured bulk orders.

Gessler

Price comes down with bulk orders. Sure the OFB rifle price would have come down as well with assured bulk orders.
Same applies to SIG or any foreign gun.

The SIG 716G2 retails for over $2,100 MSRP in the US civilian market. For a bulk order of 72,400 rifles, they could bring it down to $990 per gun.

For the same order, OFB is asking for over $1100.

But it doesn't matter, because we know that you won't be getting a gun that is WORTH 1100 dollars. A well-proven, tried and tested design like AR-10 platform can be assembled by buying individual parts for less than 700 dollars in civilian market.

For the kind of Quality Assurance & Quality-Control you get from OFB, their offer does not make any sense unless their price is below 500 dollars.

You can buy an AR-10 from Palmetto State Armory (PSA) for 600 bucks, and PSA's quality is easily superior. Not to mention higher labour costs and material costs in US, and the fact that PSA is a small private company.

And that 600 $ is for retail market. If you place bulk orders of several thousand, they can possibly offer for less than $400.

https://palmettostatearmory.com/ar-10/pa-10-complete-rifles.html

In comparison OFB is a huuuuge board. All the resources it has, cheap labour, lackluster QA/QC, a lot of cutting corners...and they want to tell us they'll take 1100+ dollars for a poorly-made AK conversion to 7.62x51mm?

They can keep it.

The R2 rifle is trash...if not because of its performance or quality (I'm not in a position to comment on that, I can only talk about Ordnance Factories in general), then simply because of how much they are asking for it. Total hogwash and rip-off.

@binayak95 @rkhanna @mohitbhagat Does anyone have prices for current production batches of INSAS rifles? As far as I know, it used to be some Rs. 25k (not sure if later batches or earlier production), or about $350, which is pretty reasonable for a 5.56 rifle of okayish quality. The US Army buys their Remington & FN-made M4A1s (which are of superb quality & reliability) for about $650.

If that 25k figure is right, then I don't know what is making OFB think they can demand 80k for R2 rifle. I wonder if they took a look at the quoted prices in the FTP bid and figured they can demand similar prices and force Army to buy it...all because they learnt how to anodize the frame in 20 years :pound:

Same applies to SIG or any foreign gun.

The SIG 716G2 retails for over $2,100 MSRP in the US civilian market. For a bulk order of 72,400 rifles, they could bring it down to $990 per gun.

For the same order, OFB is asking for over $1100.

But it doesn't matter, because we know that you won't be getting a gun that is WORTH 1100 dollars. A well-proven, tried and tested design like AR-10 platform can be assembled by buying individual parts for less than 700 dollars in civilian market.

For the kind of Quality Assurance & Quality-Control you get from OFB, their offer does not make any sense unless their price is below 500 dollars.

You can buy an AR-10 from Palmetto State Armory (PSA) for 600 bucks, and PSA's quality is easily superior. Not to mention higher labour costs and material costs in US, and the fact that PSA is a small private company.

And that 600 $ is for retail market. If you place bulk orders of several thousand, they can possibly offer for less than $400.

https://palmettostatearmory.com/ar-10/pa-10-complete-rifles.html

In comparison OFB is a huuuuge board. All the resources it has, cheap labour, lackluster QA/QC, a lot of cutting corners...and they want to tell us they'll take 1100+ dollars for a poorly-made AK conversion to 7.62x51mm?

They can keep it.

The R2 rifle is trash...if not because of its performance or quality (I'm not in a position to comment on that, I can only talk about Ordnance Factories in general), then simply because of how much they are asking for it. Total hogwash and rip-off.

@binayak95 @rkhanna @mohitbhagat Does anyone have prices for current production batches of INSAS rifles? As far as I know, it used to be some Rs. 25k (not sure if later batches or earlier production), or about $350, which is pretty reasonable for a 5.56 rifle of okayish quality. The US Army buys their Remington & FN-made M4A1s (which are of superb quality & reliability) for about $650.

If that 25k figure is right, then I don't know what is making OFB think they can demand 80k for R2 rifle. I wonder if they took a look at the quoted prices in the FTP bid and figured they can demand similar prices and force Army to buy it...all because they learnt how to anodize the frame in 20 years :pound:
25k was back in early 2000s. 2004-5 perhaps.

Now its 55k I think. Off the top of my head.

PS: Dont bother trying to knock sense into people here. Most wont be able to say who Eugene Stone is, much less differentiate between an AR10 and an AR15.

I will look into the INSAS pricing though. Ask around, but given present scenario, everyone has gone dark.

Gessler

25k was back in early 2000s. 2004-5 perhaps.

Now its 55k I think. Off the top of my head.

PS: Dont bother trying to knock sense into people here. Most wont be able to say who Eugene Stone is, much less differentiate between an AR10 and an AR15.

I will look into the INSAS pricing though. Ask around, but given present scenario, everyone has gone dark.
Rs. 55,000 :eek1: Seriously...??

$ 770 per piece for INSAS...with all its crappy QC issues....

INSAS_Black_flip.jpg

...when US Army buying FN-made M4A1s for $ 640....FN, which is like the BMW of gunmakers compared to OFB which is like Force Motors at best (without the Merc engines, of course). And with all modern bells and whistles like ambidextrous controls, P-rails, collapsible stock, etc...

FN_M4A1_Rotators_2-1800x750.jpg

....oh my god oh my god....this is what comes when you have the Armed Forces requirements turned into a CAPTIVE MARKET for state-run enterprises, which then monopolize said market. And these enterprises remain manpower-bloated organizations where efficiency of expenditures is horrible.

If this 55k figure is true then what OFB is doing to Army is totally UNFORGIVABLE.

F*ck Ordnance factories. Crony bastards.

Kay

Some observations:

Forward Vertical Grips
Muzzle Attachments

NOTES:

Additional Notes:

The price quoted by OFB officials was for a single rifle. The same price for SIG was much higher. Because of assured bulk orders SIG could offer lower prices. OFB could do the same and the OFB rifles would be much cheaper than SIG.
There is a huge difference in rifles used by national armies and what an individual buys for personal use. Top tier countries (members of security council) all use rifles built in the country. Second tier countries fight with foreign rifles.

Enquirer

The price quoted by OFB officials was for a single rifle. The same price for SIG was much higher. Because of assured bulk orders SIG could offer lower prices. OFB could do the same and the OFB rifles would be much cheaper than SIG.
There is a huge difference in rifles used by national armies and what an individual buys for personal use. Top tier countries (members of security council) all use rifles built in the country. Second tier countries fight with foreign rifles.
OFB's quoted price is probably the right price even for bulk order; becaue OFB does not sell its product in retail stores!

On the other hand the 'retail' price for SIG includes marketing costs & the markups added by middlemen & the gun-stores - thus doubling the price for retail orders!

Kay

OFB's quoted price is probably the right price even for bulk order; becaue OFB does not sell its product in retail stores!

On the other hand the 'retail' price for SIG includes marketing costs & the markups added by middlemen & the gun-stores - thus doubling the price for retail orders!
I believe it's cheaper to buy materials in bulk from whomever it's sourced. But I don't have any numbers here to come up at actual prices.

Enquirer

I believe it's cheaper to buy materials in bulk from whomever it's sourced. But I don't have any numbers here to come up at actual prices.
Raw materials are pretty cheap to make a gun! It's the forging and machining that makes it expensive!

Kay

The point is every great nation and army uses their own guns - not all of them are cheapest and best because by definition there is only one "best".
Also, guns sourced from the country keep the money in the country and circulates that in our economy. This does not apply for foreign guns and should be considered as a part of costing.
Raw materials are pretty cheap to make a gun! It's the forging and machining that makes it expensive!
Then why do they cost more in OFB? Old machinery?

Why doesn't Ghatak have full rails & adjustable stock "from Day 1"? ...did the army not bother to ask for those?
NOTES:
It is my sincere belief that if the piss-poor quality & workmanship of OFB is what one gets on a rifle that is supposedly only about 16k cheaper, then I would say NO THANK YOU...
Its performance was superior to Galil apparently.
On the quality & workmanship issues, why can't OFB do some outsourcing, Iike HAL does for the only fighter jet that has never crashed?
Question:
Is this 7.65×51 at full auto? Mag looks too straight & muzzle brake looks too big...