Naxals/Maoists Watch

Should the Indian government use armed forces against the naxals/maoists?

the eleminate the top heads.But even then the topography in Chattisgarh is ideal for Maos

ajtr

^^ITs not the maoist its the Common population i'm speaking of .How can it be that you bomb the hole place out and kill 10 maoist along with them kill 100 common folks that people pass it as the colateral damage.

Sridhar

House keeper
Let me give you an example of shortages. In an area as sensitive to left wing insurgency as Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), there is only one police station, in Antagarh. Until a year ago, its sanctioned strength was 11. At a given time, six-seven policemen used to be present there. They were given no arms because there was a danger that the Naxalites [ Images ] would snatch their arms. The Naxalites were, of course, happy about this as overpowering the policemen would have taken them 40-60 minutes. Now, the strength has been increased to 30. We've deployed the Border Security Force there as well.

West Bengal [ Images ] is a classic case. When the Lalgarh operation (against Naxalites) was on, we posted the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) there, but the force was not familiar with local operations and language. So, we got the police station reinforced by policemen from Kolkata [ Images ]. One weekend, we found the police station was deserted. So, we made some enquiries. We were told that the policemen had left for Kolkata they belonged to the CPI(M) union and observed a five-day week.

http://news.rediff.com/interview/20...licemen-per-100000-people-in-india-is-130.htm

Expansion of paramilitary indicates inadequacies in state police : Chidambaram

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal...es-in-state-police-chidambaram_100266414.html

State governments reluctant to fill police vacancies: Chidambaram

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal...l-police-vacancies-chidambaram_100316198.html

Give priority to policing in state budgets: Chidambaram

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal...g-in-state-budgets-chidambaram_100315383.html

Need to regain control in Maoist-hit regions first: Chidambaram (Lead)

The first step in tackling the menace, the minister asserted, is for the civil administration to establish control in Maoist-dominated districts.
“First things first, the security forces must regain control. Once there is control, then the state government must rush in developmental resources,” he said.
Chidambaram said that it will be some time before results are seen on the ground.
“We need a strong head, strong heart and staying power for that,” he said.
The minister pointed out that the government had to reverse two decades of neglect of the police forces.
“We have 3,000 vacancies in police constabulary, 350 Indian Police Service officers (vacancies) in central government and equal in state government. Then, there is poor equipment, poor training and rising age of the armed police forces,” he pointed out.
Chidambaram said while police reforms was high on agenda of the central government, it can only be an advocate for change, and steps have to be taken by the state government.
The minister said Maoist groups will use “all their tricks” in the ongoing confrontation.
“They (Maoists) will seduce the media that they are doing. They will unleash terror, pull all strings to activate their frontal organizations including unsuspecting NGOS. They will try to widen their circle of influence.”
The home minister said the intellectual and material support by some unsuspecting NGOs and civil society is “making the task difficult for us as it confuses the people as what we are doing is right or not”.
“Let’s not forgot, the CPI-Maoist believes in armed liberal struggle to overthrow elected government. There is no half-way house, either you accept or reject (it),” said Chidambaram.

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal...regions-first-chidambaram-lead_100323099.html

Soham

This is a sad day. When Maoists often termed as "over-rated" wipe out an entire battalion of CRPF, there's something very very wrong here. For years, we've been made to believe that the solution to this problem is not military, but administrative. Well, administrative measures don't work against these mindless slaughterers. They don't give a sh*t about development, and they will not stop until they reach Delhi.
Yes, they were created by the government's mistakes. And today, the same government must also destroy the monster it has created.

An army solution is inevitable. These guys need to be reminded of the fact that no-one can get away after murdering the sentinels of the nation. These guys need to be reminded of the fact that our desire for peace is also accompanied by an iron fist to crush those who seek to disrupt it. It is high time our leaders stand up and say "enough" instead of basking in self professed "tolerance". These motherf"ckers know, no other language. Unless they are encircled and shot dead, like they killed the Jawans today, they cannot be eliminated.

Economic and administrative policies are not going to stop them. They no longer work on the ideals they stand upon. India has no place for a Maoist Revolution, and its high time these guys are reminded of this eternal truth.
Govt. statements on how misplaced maoist notions are, isn't going to make the slightest scratch on their armour.

When 26/11 happened, every news channel in the country was one in blaming Pakistan and bashing the perpetrators right into the ground. And today, when an entire fcking battalion is slaughtered mercilessly, they choose to remain too happy about Sania-Shoaib. Its so much more important for the country to know about Shoaib's ex-wife than to know about a cancer threatening to destroy our motherland.

Disgusting !

^^ITs not the maoist its the Common population i'm speaking of .How can it be that you bomb the hole place out and kill 10 maoist along with them kill 100 common folks that people pass it as the colateral damage.
GoI should send out a strong warning that all and everybody helping/arming/sleeping with Maoists will be considered as Maoists too. Then launch bombing operations. That will not be considered as collateral damage then, would it?

In WB the CPI(M) had rottened the payche badly how the fuck would they take a 5 day week a cops job is 24/7.Now i know why my colleagues resigned from Bengal.Mamta and CPI(M) must be eleminated if bengal has to have any progress.The state never had peace in the last 200 years it is a falming torch.Now mamta is wielding the torch earlier jyothi da wielded

NSG_Blackcats

Member of The Month OCTOBER 2009
R.I.P to the soldiers.

I have no doubt in my mind that this is an intelligence failure. How come 1000 of maoist attack a CRPF patrol party and they have no clue? As per the CM of Chatisgarh, the blast is so intense that the MPV is heavily damaged. This incident happened in a dense forest area. It is not easy to have COIN in dense forest and CRPF is not trained for that.

The tribal population have no faith in the Security forces. So it is hard to get information about the maoist. We have to admit that communication among maoist is better than the security forces. I feel it is high time GoI use Air force against Naxals and maoist.

gogbot

I expect serious action after this incident.

Attacking an armed patrol of 73 police officers and killing them all . And then Mining the Area just to make their get away.

Dam them.

This cant go unchallenged.

gogbot

Cause of Maoism Bad governance
the same thing is preventing any governance.IF Maoists wont let modern India re-establish control of these remote and tribal areas.
How can there be governance fix past mistakes

regardless of their reasons their methods are far too extreme , they are too dangerous to be left un-checked.
At the very worst they have declared war on India, at the very best they have killed their fellow Indians in Brutal and unforgiving manner, they can tried for treason and Murder

Surrender or be eliminated , those are their only options

the same thing is preventing any governance.IF Maoists wont let modern India re-establish control of these remote and tribal areas.
How can there be governance fix past mistakes

regardless of their reasons their methods are far too extreme , they are too dangerous to be left un-checked.

Surrender or be eliminated , those are their only options
I second that. >>>>>>

@Gogbot and Oracle
you are speaking about eleminating tribes altogether

The state has slept during all the deaths detailed below
1996: 156 deaths
1997: 428 deaths
1998: 270 death
1999: 363 deaths
2000: 50 deaths
2001: 100+ deaths
2002: 140 deaths
2003: 451 deaths
2004: 500+ deaths
2005: 700+ deaths
2006: 750 deaths
2007: 650 deaths
2008: 794 deaths
2009: 1,134 deaths
According to the BBC, more than 6,000 people have died during the rebels' 20-year fight

The state has not woken up because the stae does not want to wake up it is far easier and far more convenient (did i mention lucrative)to let lawnessless reign in the interiors of the BIMARU states than rein in the violence and have to answer uncomfortable questions on development. We as a nation have a history of letting matters go out of hand before taking action be it kashmir, the N.E or punjab it was only when violence went to uncontrollable levels and threatened the existence of major politicos from these states that action was taken. The naxals are intelligent they know this hence their myraid alliances with powerful politicos who protect them from retaliation and in exchange get the power of the gun for elections. India needs to wake up it is not only the 70odd men we have lost today nor the 6000 odd men we have lost in the course of this conflict but the future of our hinterland itself that depends on it.

See guys the regions must be directly adminstered no local bastards in politics.Chattisgarh and Jharkhand have the ideal environs for an insurgency

Super Commando Dhruva

Well if Chindu baba and brigade are not going to do something, then we as responsible citizens of India should hire mercenaries force like blackwater/Xe and flush them out.

Even the circulation of this idea would make delhi babus piss in their pants.

Phenom

I believe the way this 'Green Hunt' is being carried out is a mistake. On one side you have poorly armed, trained police who do not have local support or good intel, on the other side you have naxals with better arms, good training, high degree of motivation, they also seem to have local support and very good intel on police movement.
History shows that when a large lumbering force tries to fight a small nimble guerrilla force on its own territory, the guerrillas usually win. In this case the situation is made worse by the large number of overground naxal sympathisers, who bombard the air ways with pro-naxal propaganda.

Dark_Prince

Shame on NDTV and Congress! I watched again and again the Broadcast (being repeated after every half an hour) of a Documentary on NDTV, depicting these Terrorist Naxals are poor ill-equipped Robinhoods! Shame on this bought-out channel NDTV, These Drawing room journalists are Glorifying Naxals! When on the other hand Maoists where massacring our Jawans, our Jawans are treated worst than TTP (Taliban), atleast when sent for suicide missions TTP men know what they are going for and are adequate equipped, unlike our Poor Jawans!

Congress is focusing on taking help of Maoists in West Bengal against Marxists, we had seen this happening openly during Nandigram where DIDI (mamta) of trinomole + Congress took help of Maoists openly! and Stop resurgence of oether parties in the South be it CPI-Kerala, TDP-AP, BJP-Karnataka etc

Guys the issue is a catch-22.liquidate the local netas to have any semblance of order