Modernisation of Indian Army Infantry

Indian army excersise in Rajasthan, 2001View attachment 218319
In 2023:
View attachment 218320
The politicians and babus (civilian and military alike) should be prosecuted for treason for letting this kind of stagnation set in. We even have the necessary industries and know-how to properly modernise the army. Several foreign countries even buy from them for fuck's sake! They are deliberately sabotaging the country at this point.

Drastic upgradation cost a hell-lot of money... Money we can't afford as this wasn't done in a slow continuous process through last 25 years.

So we are concentrating on some frontline troops at LOC & COIN (let's face it, there's probably gonna be no war at Rajasthan from in next 50years). That's why it tanks suck, that's why Super Sukhoi is still hanging, that's why we don't have enough modern arty ammo.

Indian Army today is built for sabre rattling with Pak & Chin, not fight a 2-front war. That'll take till 2040 minimum

R A Varun

Many people are here, talking about the gear and equipment, can we talk about Taliban vs NATO forces.
Indian army is well versed in fighting with the available equipment.
Yes it is correct that the survivability of the soldiers is at low due to the non availability of good protection gear, but as of now Indian infantry is good in guerilla and mountain warfare, like a professional army, should a war arise and more sophisticated equiment be given to the Indian army the end user soldiers will make best use of them.

they will not be vulnerable to the natural things in battle field like that of the chinese and the NATO.

It is a worrisome that Pakistan soldiers has similar natural survivability same as that of Indian soldiers. But provided their courage when facing the Indian army and their generals Incompetence when facing courageous Indian army in the direct battle field.

the worry is the Chinese Unmanned platforms. which are in numbers and productions are in a industial scale, there it can be faced issues.

but to counter that, Indian companies are making good progress in loitering munitions. not to mention that it is the Indian army that maintains the heights in the Himalayas and experience in Mountain warfare, whereas chinese posses firepower but takes around six months to excel the skills of mountain warfare.

and they loose momentum when they enter into the ranges and their armour becomes useless. they have to rely on the loitering munitons and artellery firepower. once they are in the mountains the supplies of the chinese becomes vulnerable.

that is why Indian army is concentrating on excelling infantry skills in the mountain regions. there is very less probabilitie son tank to tank battles.

carl-gustovs and field artilleries will be the decisive roler players in the region.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Many people are here, talking about the gear and equipment, can we talk about Taliban vs NATO forces.
Yes it is correct that the survivability of the soldiers is at low due to the non availability of good protection gear, but as of now Indian infantry is good in guerilla and mountain warfare, like a professional army, should a war arise and more sophisticated equiment be given to the Indian army the end user soldiers will make best use of them.

they will not be vulnerable to the natural things in battle field like that of the chinese and the NATO.

It is a worrisome that Pakistan soldiers has similar natural survivability same as that of Indian soldiers. But provided their courage when facing the Indian army and their generals Incompetence when facing courageous Indian army in the direct battle field.

the worry is the Chinese Unmanned platforms. which are in numbers and productions are in a industial scale, there it can be faced issues.

but to counter that, Indian companies are making good progress in loitering munitions. not to mention that it is the Indian army that maintains the heights in the Himalayas and experience in Mountain warfare, whereas chinese posses firepower but takes around six months to excel the skills of mountain warfare.

and they loose momentum when they enter into the ranges and their armour becomes useless. they have to rely on the loitering munitons and artellery firepower. once they are in the mountains the supplies of the chinese becomes vulnerable.

that is why Indian army is concentrating on excelling infantry skills in the mountain regions. there is very less probabilitie son tank to tank battles.

carl-gustovs and field artilleries will be the decisive roler players in the region.
Ah here we go again the Taliban US comparison :doh:

Kumaoni

It’s just that the “avalible equipment” is 2000s era things (for frontline troops) and 80s era for others

Kumaoni

Drastic upgradation cost a hell-lot of money... Money we can't afford as this wasn't done in a slow continuous process through last 25 years.

So we are concentrating on some frontline troops at LOC & COIN (let's face it, there's probably gonna be no war at Rajasthan from in next 50years). That's why it tanks suck, that's why Super Sukhoi is still hanging, that's why we don't have enough modern arty ammo.

Indian Army today is built for sabre rattling with Pak & Chin, not fight a 2-front war. That'll take till 2040 minimum
But you can afford jetpacks and 80 crore fighter plane and tank deals, nice

DivineHeretic

Y’all really didn’t believe me when I said quality of officers has come down from previous generation. Now everyone here is agreeing with me 😂
A long time back I was in discussion with a then recently retired Senior officer of the army. When I asked about building up a nightime COIN capability within the infantry and therefore using the dominance of the night to conduct precision operations - a la what the US infantry were shifting to in Iraq then, the officer remarked, and I kid you not "Ek NVG 5-10lac ki hai, ek HHTI 10-15 lac ki aati hai, jawano ko yeh diya toh bhag jayenge ya chori karke bech denge".

15 years later, the IA has barely any night fighting capability. We surround the terrorists and essentially set up camp surrounding the terrorists - and wait for day break to mount ops.

Kumaoni

A long time back I was in discussion with a then recently retired Senior officer of the army. When I asked about building up a nightime COIN capability within the infantry and therefore using the dominance of the night to conduct precision operations - a la what the US infantry were shifting to in Iraq then, the officer remarked, and I kid you not "Ek NVG 5-10lac ki hai, ek HHTI 10-15 lac ki aati hai, jawano ko yeh diya toh bhag jayenge ya chori karke bech denge".

15 years later, the IA has barely any night fighting capability. We surround the terrorists and essentially set up camp surrounding the terrorists - and wait for day break to mount ops.
Back then, it would be justifiable as the Indian army was truly low on funds, esp in the 90s when the country almost collapsed.

Now the Indian military has more than enough sufficient funds to build up its night fighting capabilities since 2015.

Yeah we all know how that went in '62...

But you can afford jetpacks and 80 crore fighter plane and tank deals, nice
O c'mon there ain't really gonna be no jetpacks.
But yes air-superiority by superior platforms can stem the tide even if rest of indo-pak infantry, cavalry etc. wings are at par. Pakis did just that in '65.

Lonewarrior

Why do a FINSAS type complete upgradation?
Just a good vest with NIJ III, a modern helmet, a camelback type backpack instead of the atrocious pitthu and good pouches...that's it. Atleast this much basic need should be addressed. It'll hardly cost some 8-9k crore to equip all the troops with this much gear. This amount is just 6% of what we spent on pensions in budget 23-24.

Things like weapon and sensor can then be upgraded in a long term manner, spread over multiple budgets

Lonewarrior

Ah ha, the usual Taliban vs NATO, we have more courage, mountain, Chinese and NATO vulnerable to natural thing.
mann me hai vishwas, pura hai vishwas, hum honge kamyab ek din

Weren't you ashamed even a bit while writing about the second biggest army in terms of manpower and fourth largest military in terms of spending that we'll be okay with our current situation because we know guerrilla warfare?
Or because NATO was beaten by Taliban?

Longewala

Ah ha, the usual Taliban vs NATO, we have more courage, mountain, Chinese and NATO vulnerable to natural thing.
mann me hai vishwas, pura hai vishwas, hum honge kamyab ek din

Weren't you ashamed even a bit while writing about the second biggest army in terms of manpower and fourth largest military in terms of spending that we'll be okay with our current situation because we know guerrilla warfare?
Or because NATO was beaten by Taliban?
"second biggest army in terms of manpower"
That's part of the problem.
Too much money spent on manpower, not enough on equipping them.

Lonewarrior

"second biggest army in terms of manpower"
That's part of the problem.
Too much money spent on manpower, not enough on equipping them.
That was our trick to compensate for lack of technology. But as more technology will get proliferated among army (🤞) the number of troops would get reduced. Even now we have vision to downsize it, Agniveer being the first step.

Wait, you’re saying they are pumping all their CAPEX into modern PPE/small arms for frontline infantry units instead of buying capital equipment? What are the fruits of this? Some ACH (already outdated)? Dogsh!t quality plate carriers (SMPP)? $1K rifles with no sights?

For the cost of a T90 regiment you could equip an entire division to a NATO infantry standard quite easily.

IA isn’t buying anything, they’ve blown all funding for the next 10-15 years on their mammoth manpower footprint.

IN is maybe the only hope of a modern military arm for india for the Next 20 years and I wish I were joking. IA/IN are destined to be third world poverty spec branches for a longtime

silverghost

India too should cut down the size of the forces and use the money to develop unmanned platforms. This should be up our alley. Fund new startups to do it in direct consultation with the military, don't involve DRDO.