LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

ketaki

Is there any meaning of self imposed deadline for HAL ?
HAL like any other "sarkari" company is there to serve itself only i.e. employees and unions...no commitment to innovation, progress and timely delivery...
IAF knows it...but they dont have any other option
that is why timely delivery clause is added in MK1A contract
the aircraft/systems itself is not the problem...people who are given responsibility to make'em are the problem

had it been a consortium of private industries to manufature tejas...IAF would have been very vocal about tejas right from it's inceptual concept itself, like how PAF farts 'thunder thunder' 24X7 for their MiG-21 redux

pak military and ISI is there to 'danda ghusao' to PAC Kamra...who will do 'danda ghusao' to HAL, DRDO and OFBs?

Ghost hale

Vai kuch updates hai to karke hi denge na.. Nahi sab fir se wapas bhejna parega.

You'll know if any are inducted. Every delivery will make a headline & of you can't find any that means they are still under HAL.
Just curious... did IOC also got coverage for each induction? Genuine question.

MirageBlue

Crawl, walk, run.

It makes perfect sense to go Sulur>Srinagar>Pathankot.

Sulur as the home base (and close to HAL BLR) is where the operational workup began for LCA and where a lot of the training manuals will have been written but going to a foreword base like Srinagar is a huge jump for a new asset and that too one that is relatively unproven. It will create understanding of how to operate and support LCA away from S.India, then they can take it to a (more) strategically critical base like Pathankot

Srinagar is a very smart intermediate step from Sulur to Pathankot, it will pose just the right amount of challenge without pushing the fleet too hard operationally

Guys it's not even like the Mirages get out of Agra very often or the Rafales will be operating out of their 2 Homebases too much, LCA will be all over India within a few years.
small correction- Mirages are based out of Gwalior..not Agra..

Can u confirm on non induction?
Nah but if they were inducted , we would had some pages filled on this thread , so most probably haven't yet , but most probably being tested or not formally inducted

Here's a demonstration of the Mk1A cockpit's functionalities by HAL personnel in 2019..
I'm aware.. But those functionalites are common. It's not like switching from Blackberry to iPhone, it's the same operations but different interface.

Plus it'll be available at the same time as Mark1A too, in 2023 LIFT prototype.

SimplyIndian

But Mig 21 is. We can send Mig 21 against F16 and J17 but LCA is not mature enough. :):):):):):):)
Brain of Aircraft that is the pilot is and will be irreplaceable for foreseeable future. If pilot think pissing in cockpit makes Aircraft unbeatable even giving F22 can't help against Mig 21. :pound:

Not likely at all..the Mk1A cockpit was finalized and displayed at Aero India 2019 itself.

Here's a demonstration of the Mk1A cockpit's functionalities by HAL personnel in 2019..

And when was new mwf cockpit was shown , lift new cockpit date , as it will go in production by 2023 too , so what to say now

MirageBlue

Pylons were always underwing in LCA .. Wingtip ones were found to be more aerodynamic, but introduced as an additional to MWF. On Mark1A it'd take a lot of time in flight-testing & FCS certifications.
It is one of my pet peeves with the Tejas Mk1 design..that they didn't use the wing tip to add 2 pylons..That it is being addressed on the Tejas Mk2 tells me that it's not an aerodynamic issue, but rather a wing strengthening related issue.

MirageBlue

Colouration don't match 26... View attachment 89054
...or 25.
165217381_2843695795904863_2371897969668444370_o.jpg

The previous ones before those two came fully painted. This could be one of the 27/28 pair, unless they've done a paint-job on either of the above two.
LA-5022 (SP-25) in the first image
LA-5021 (SP-24) in the second image

SP-24 has already been painted in IAF grey color, as seen in a recent image from Raghav Kidambi.

SP-25 should also probably have been through the paint shop, before being handed over to No.18 Squadron.

U didn't got my point. Its not about Srinagar or Pathankot. I m unable to get how Srinagar is safer base than Pathankot. Srinagar is first to respond in case of LOC interception. Pathankot is at IB. And logistics is not an issue between Pathankot and Srinagar.
My assumption is that Pathankot sees more probing by the Paris hence higher sortie rates and for reasons outlined by others (Pathankot protecting the skies down to the West) although I can't speak to that, this is the first time I've heard this view.

Srinagar and Pathankot are still frontline bases so I don't see this as anything worth concern, sending the LCA to a frontline operational role this soon after induction speaks to confidence in the machine.

It's just a change in MFDs, the content is still the same. MWF too was originally supplied to have this one...
IMG_20210511_072123.jpg

...but later discarded in favour of using the present one they call Advanced Cockpit System. Coincidentally that's also used in LIFT, prototype scheduled in 2023 only.
It'll require a new set of validation trails and supply chain management. It probably wouldn't be a huge delay but a delay would be incurred- could be a few months or longer. But the point is any delay now would be far more counter productive, HAL must deliver MK1A from early 2024 (I reckon they'll be ready to from late 2023) no ifs or buts. Like I said leave the ACS for Uttam equipped MK1As or a later batch (if it ever comes).

We have to understand that time for specialised jets for each role is mostly over.
So having a dedicated point defence jet making less sense day by day. Also with ever evolving radar and BVRs it's less about jets and more about what they carry.
And we have admit that at this moment LCA is not matured enough to act on its own in a shooting war.
No one said LCA was a specialised jet, it's actually amongst the most multi-role fighters in the IAF's inventory

and the last line isn't conducive with the IAF's movement of the jet to the frontlines.

See the Rafale deliveries and the COVID.
Fair point but also apples and oranges

-Dassualt has FAR deeper pockets than HAL and France has a FAR more resilient aerospace industry than India
- Rafale has been in production for decades so its ecosystem is more mature and established than LCA's as of now
- Rafale has had firm orders for a long time in large numbers, LCA until early 2021 could not claim the same hence activities wwereas not exactly series production

I also believe India had a far stricter lockdown than most of us in Western Europe- almost all economic activity ceased for at least a few months and the cascading effect of this was hugely disruptive and likely is still being felt. I imagine the French took a much more pragmatic approach and hence strategic activities like aerospace production were not affected too much.

@abingdonboy agreed, but wouldn't simply using the same MFDs on all 3 Tejas-series jets actually be more efficient, logistics wise?

Regarding any possible delays, these MEDs are supplied to be available in 2023 only, on the LIFT prototype. They'll be making it anyway.

flanker99

@abingdonboy agreed, but wouldn't simply using the same MFDs on all 3 Tejas-series jets actually be more efficient, logistics wise?

Regarding any possible delays, these MEDs are supplied to be available in 2023 only, on the LIFT prototype. They'll be making it anyway.
I had asked that question to hvt last year he said it will be easy to integrate but certifications and some other things will take time....still i think we will see LAD's in later mk1a's