LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

This is from indranil. To those who have doubted lca payload . 3.8 ton is already proven they plan to test upto 4.3 ton payload in due course.

Some heavy configuration flown:
2*1200 ltr tanks + 2 LGB + LDP +2*CCM = 2*1200*0.8*1.1+ 2*500+200+2*100 = 3.5 tons
4 bombs in tandem carriage + 2*800 ltr tanks + LDP +2*CCM= 4*450+2*800*0.8*1.1+200+2*100 = 3.6 tons
1*725 centerline tank + 6*450 kg bombs + LDP + 2*CCM = 3.74 tons
2*1200 ltr tanks + 1*725 centerline tank + 2*450 kg bomb + LDP + 2*CCM = 2*1200*0.8*1.1+725*0.8*1.1+2*450+200+2*100 =4.05 tons

Planned:
1*725 centerline tank + 2*1200 ltr tanks + 2 LGB + LDP +2*CCM = 1.1+725*0.8*1.1+2*1200*0.8*1.1+ 2*500+200+2*100 = 4.15 tons
1*725 centerline tank + 4 bombs in tandem carriage + 2*800 ltr tanks + LDP +2*CCM= 1.1+725*0.8*1.1+4*450+2*800*0.8*1.1+200+2*100 = 4.25 tons
There are plans for Brahmos NG as well, but I can’t judge that as too many unknown variables at the moment.
It can already outperform mig27 payload and matches jaguar payload while exceeding Jaguar range. What we build to replace mig21 can replace jaguars and mig27 too.

Yes it's late but it's much better too.

varun9509

2*1200 ltr tanks + 2 LGB + LDP +2*CCM = 2*1200*0.8*1.1+ 2*500+200+2*100 = 3.5 tons
4 bombs in tandem carriage + 2*800 ltr tanks + LDP +2*CCM= 4*450+2*800*0.8*1.1+200+2*100 = 3.6 tons
What does this part mean?
........30 chars

This is from indranil. To those who have doubted lca payload . 3.8 ton is already proven they plan to test upto 4.3 ton payload in due course.

1*725 centerline tank + 6*450 kg bombs + LDP + 2*CCM = 3.74 tons
2*1200 ltr tanks + 1*725 centerline tank + 2*450 kg bomb + LDP + 2*CCM = 2*1200*0.8*1.1+725*0.8*1.1+2*450+200+2*100 =4.05 tons

Planned:
1*725 centerline tank + 2*1200 ltr tanks + 2 LGB + LDP +2*CCM = 1.1+725*0.8*1.1+2*1200*0.8*1.1+ 2*500+200+2*100 = 4.15 tons
1*725 centerline tank + 4 bombs in tandem carriage + 2*800 ltr tanks + LDP +2*CCM= 1.1+725*0.8*1.1+4*450+2*800*0.8*1.1+200+2*100 = 4.25 tons
There are plans for Brahmos NG as well, but I can’t judge that as too many unknown variables at the moment.
Edit 4.05 ton is already prove not just 3.8!

Aman kumar

9 years ?

Between you do know that nation is almost shut so are they.
Yes, sp1 flew in 2015 and we have just 17 jets by now... It took 5 years to produce 17 jets... What an achievement by HAL... And it will take atleast 4 years for the remaining 23 jets of mk1... An that too if they Don't delay it...
Country is in lockdown from past 3 weeks... What were they doing before... I have been hearing that they will increase the capacity to 16... 8 to ban nahi rahe inse saal me 16 banyege...
HAL is only good for giving false hopes and Mark my words they will use this lockdown as a tool to hide their incompetence and delays...

Snowcat

Yes, sp1 flew in 2015 and we have just 17 jets by now... It took 5 years to produce 17 jets... What an achievement by HAL... And it will take atleast 4 years for the remaining 23 jets of mk1... An that too if they Don't delay it...
Country is in lockdown from past 3 weeks... What were they doing before... I have been hearing that they will increase the capacity to 16... 8 to ban nahi rahe inse saal me 16 banyege...
HAL is only good for giving false hopes and Mark my words they will use this lockdown as a tool to hide their incompetence and delays...
This would obviously pick up as all the changes which were to be done, has been done for the FOC. Maybe you need to watch the Tejas team interview video to know better rather than showing your frustrations here. Also the IAF still owes them 20K crores but sure let's abuse ADA and HAL.
Government needs to sign the mk1A order as soon as possible, if we want deliveries for them in 2024.

Aman kumar

This would obviously pick up as all the changes which were to be done, has been done for the FOC. Maybe you need to watch the Tejas team interview video to know better rather than showing your frustrations here. Also the IAF still owes them 20K crores but sure let's abuse ADA and HAL.
Government needs to sign the mk1A order as soon as possible, if we want deliveries for them in 2024.
IOC2 was achieved in 2013 and FOC was supposed to be done by 2015... But thanks to DRDO ADA or HAL FOC was done in 2019 that too with concession... Who is to blame for...had the certification been done as scheduled we would have been a league ahead

I am more interested in parameters which improve the basics of aircraft such as Aerodynamic improvement, weight reduction and more internal fuel. All this is possible which will improve the performers of aircraft by a great deal. in his simulation study , Vivek Ahuja had told that any weight reduction in kgs from this. Point will give Tejas a significant edge over f 16 in close combat at low altitude. I want to see Tejas at least 500kg lighter and aerodynamically improved in its mk1 a avatar with more internal fuel.

vishnugupt

IOC2 was achieved in 2013 and FOC was supposed to be done by 2015... But thanks to DRDO ADA or HAL FOC was done in 2019 that too with concession... Who is to blame for...had the certification been done as scheduled we would have been a league ahead
Could you please tell us what concession ADA/HAL got in FOC varient??

AbRaj

I am more interested in parameters which improve the basics of aircraft such as Aerodynamic improvement, weight reduction and more internal fuel. All this is possible which will improve the performers of aircraft by a great deal. in his simulation study , Vivek Ahuja had told that any weight reduction in kgs from this. Point will give Tejas a significant edge over f 16 in close combat at low altitude. I want to see Tejas at least 500kg lighter and aerodynamically improved in its mk1 a avatar with more internal fuel.
Tejas is not very good at rate fight due to poor STR and high drag which results in high energy bleeding during turning fights. Its main advantage over F16 is better ITR and brilliant nose authority which is very advantageous in single turn fights.

In rate fights F16 due to its better STR and high T/W ratio can buttfuck even a F15 let alone Tejas or Mirage

Tejas is not very good at rate fight due to poor STR and high drag which results in high energy bleeding during turning fights. Its main advantage over F16 is better ITR and brilliant nose authority which is very advantageous in single turn fights.

In rate fights F16 due to its better STR and high T/W ratio can buttfuck even a F15 let alone Tejas or Mirage
What is rate fight?

STR will be boosted to 18 degree and more in MK1 A. LCA has a great timing in vertical looping. It is 2 to 3 seconds slower in horizontal looping (STR) which is set to improve. Trans sonic acceleration is all set to increase by 20 %and highest speed by 2%. ITR is very important in first shoot capability. This is the reason why IAF concluthat Mirage 2000 has a better chance of killing F16 in dog fight.

The other thing is that I don't think that F 16 has better T/W ratio than Tejas with 50% fuel. Kindly elaborate your post further to make me understand what you want to say.

Saichand K

One more thing that intrigued me is that why R-77 is not integrated on Tejas FOC, Tejas IOC versions. Is it because the ELTA-2032 radar cannot guide the missile for such long distances (over 100 km) ?

Hydra3

One more thing that intrigued me is that why R-77 is not integrated on Tejas FOC, Tejas IOC versions. Is it because the ELTA-2032 radar cannot guide the missile for such long distances (over 100 km) ?
Russians doesn't wan to share their missile's seeker codes to israelis ana israelis doesn't wants to share their radar's source codes to russians. Thats the reason

vishnugupt

Russians doesn't wan to share their missile's seeker codes to israelis ana israelis doesn't wants to share their radar's source codes to russians. Thats the reason
False,
This was IAF decision. SU-30mki share lot of things from different countries

Saichand K

Yes. Still, missiles and radars from different countries is generally a big no-no. Also a reason Derby or Python family is never integrated on a Su-30MKI platform?
False,
This was IAF decision. SU-30mki share lot of things from different countries