LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Tejas is everywhere now . Five years back it was widely claimed as a failure but thanks to Manohar Pariker it is a success now and soon Tejas will be known as one of best fighter of its era
Tejas is a living proof of our failures and mismanagement. Never forget it.

Manohar Parrikar ji thrusted IAF with Tejas due to budget crunch and limited option to buy more jets.

But he was able to squeeze HAL to get an improved mk1a variant else those lazy breed never cared and mk2 developed into an acceptable configuration for IAF.

They are so magnanimous that they didnt opted for an improved engine by GE which has little bit cost difference and much better performance for mk2 class.

I can already see the writing on wall but want to wait for it to actually happen.

Tupac slayer

Tejas is a living proof of our failures and mismanagement. Never forget it.

Manohar Parrikar ji thrusted IAF with Tejas due to budget crunch and limited option to buy more jets.

But he was able to squeeze HAL to get an improved mk1a variant else those lazy breed never cared and mk2 developed into an acceptable configuration for IAF.

They are so magnanimous that they didnt opted for an improved engine by GE which has little bit cost difference and much better performance for mk2 class.

I can already see the writing on wall but want to wait for it to actually happen.

Indian Air force should have accelerated Tejas Induction and Development according to their requirement , Just like Pakistan Airforce chief Tanveer Mohammed, Accelerated JF-17 program between the year 2006 to 2009, Former PAF chief Increased the production rate of JF-17, Due to which Pakistan is able to produce 16 JF-17 a year. We can claim it was a Joint effort by China, But one should not deny, Tanveer Mohammed Insisting upon JF-17 Program. Today Pakistan is able to equip 1 Squadron with JF-17 Aircraft an year. When Pakistan came to know that it had no funds to buy western advanced jets, they went to JF-17 in a full throttle, requirements into Blocks to phase out Obsolete Aircraft.

JF-17 Thunder Block 1 had some flaws, but PAF accepted it to keep the program alive and then went on to upgrades later add more capabilities. Recent variant JF-17B Two seater variant was supposed to me a ground attack variant and also serve as a trainer, some of us may deny it, but PAF with limited funds have modernized well. If Pakistan was able to maintain current production rate, Pakistan will phase out All F-7PG Aircraft, Mirages by the year 2030. There is also a talk of Increasing production rate upto 25 Aircraft due to export orders. If the production rate goes up, Pakistan may replace all its F-7 and Mirages by the year 2027. Luck will also favor Pakistan due to availability of F-16 Old aircrafts

omaebakabaka

What kind of writing, optimistic or pessimistic? In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with Tejas from a design pov, they just need to focus on better engine, better RADAR and network integration with other heavy fighters in the fleet to use long range weapons....perfect for our southern flanks and eastern (myanmar/bangla) and heavy-light mixed fighter strategies in a network oriented air battles in west and northern sectors. Managing the program with targets controlled directly by PM/DM and frequent verification of claims must happen.

Indian Air force should have accelerated Tejas Induction and Development according to their requirement , Just like Pakistan Airforce chief Tanveer Mohammed, Accelerated JF-17 program between the year 2006 to 2009, Former PAF chief Increased the production rate of JF-17, Due to which Pakistan is able to produce 16 JF-17 a year. We can claim it was a Joint effort by China, But one should not deny, Tanveer Mohammed Insisting upon JF-17 Program. Today Pakistan is able to equip 1 Squadron with JF-17 Aircraft an year. When Pakistan came to know that it had no funds to buy western advanced jets, they went to JF-17 in a full throttle, requirements into Blocks to phase out Obsolete Aircraft.

JF-17 Thunder Block 1 had some flaws, but PAF accepted it to keep the program alive and then went on to upgrades later add more capabilities. some of us may deny it, but PAF with limited funds have modernized well.
The flaws in Tejas were not due to budget crunch like JF-17 had.

They lacked , budget , engine and avionics not the intent we had budget engine avionics lacked the intent .

JF 17 isn't theirs but Chinese jet procured by them like we got Sukhoi.

Drawing parallel with JF 17 everytime isn't needed and one need to get over with this fixation.

omaebakabaka

JF-17 Thunder Block 1 had some flaws, but PAF accepted it to keep the program alive and then went on to upgrades later add more capabilities. some of us may deny it, but PAF with limited funds have modernized well.
Not a fair comparison to Tejas, we have to give some credit to HAL for actually getting decent familiarity in the bottom layers like avionics, understanding interfaces, deesign and integration. If HAL can improve on it and get 100% local design and builds of RADARS and missiles then we have a bright future in this country in coming decades. China spent decades and still lacks in some areas, open secret they got a lot from Ukraine and Russia vs their own skills even today. Pakistan is just assembling the components at best like their missiles.

What kind of writing, optimistic or pessimistic? In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with Tejas from a design pov, they just need to focus on better engine, better RADAR and network integration with other heavy fighters in the fleet to use long range weapons....perfect for our southern flanks and eastern (myanmar/bangla) and heavy-light mixed fighter strategies in a network oriented air battles in west and northern sectors. Managing the program with targets controlled directly by PM/DM and frequent verification of claims must happen.
I am optimistic that they will do their best to screw it and delay further unless IAF and RM start screwing their nuts tight.

JF-17 Thunder Block 1 had some flaws, but PAF accepted it to keep the program alive and then went on to upgrades later add more capabilities. Recent variant JF-17B Two seater variant was supposed to me a ground attack variant and also serve as a trainer, some of us may deny it, but PAF with limited funds have modernized well. If Pakistan was able to maintain current production rate, Pakistan will phase out All F-7PG Aircraft, Mirages by the year 2030. There is also a talk of Increasing production rate upto 25 Aircraft due to export orders. If the production rate goes up, Pakistan may replace all its F-7 and Mirages by the year 2027. Luck will also favor Pakistan due to availability of F-16 Old aircrafts
JF 17 is a modernised Mig 21 at best. There is a reason PLAAF did not buy it.

omaebakabaka

I am optimistic that they will do their best to screw it and delay further unless IAF and RM start screwing their nuts tight.
Talk is IAF is actually part of the problem, with a fascination for new toys and changing requirements and letting the fleet deplete over years, don't even mention air defence.....even Syria seems to be better prepared in that area. PM should take control of the program or someone like Amit Shah. Rajnath also seems to be pretty busy lately though...

Chandragupt Maurya

Tejas is 59.7% indigenous by value
American Engine and Israeli Radars are the most expensive imported componets
Even the gun is imported from Russia and in flight refueler probe from US, HMD is imported from Israel

omaebakabaka

President of India should immediately award you Bharat Ratna for this sentance. Salute to you Sir, for your point of view.
You are overating "Bharat Ratna", take a look at the list....atleast 80% do not belong in that. Fact that Sardar Patel got it in 90's and Nehru awarded himself proves the credibility of it.

omaebakabaka

Even the gun is imported from Russia and in flight refueler probe from US, HMD is imported from Israel
"By value" is not the correct measure when it comes to National Security, by capabilities and critical components is how it should be measured. In any case, aircraft development is a complex undertaking and very few countries with decades of painful experience hold the market and am sure HAL learned a lot and the country just needs to keep going at Tejas and should not let up fire under the HAL babus till they deliver capabilities and value.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Talk is IAF is actually part of the problem, with a fascination for new toys and changing requirements and letting the fleet deplete over years, don't even mention air defence.....even Syria seems to be better prepared in that area. PM should take control of the program or someone like Amit Shah. Rajnath also seems to be pretty busy lately though...
Last I heard from some forum member here claiming about PMO directly involved in MWF Tejas Mk2 program.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
President of India should immediately award you Bharat Ratna for this sentance. Salute to you Sir, for your point of view.
Don't belittle his intent. Whatever he's feeling is actually more or less true. We had tech demo as early as in 2001 but couldn't produce LSPs in time, infact our UPA govt and IAF didn't care about it, they wanted new toys and they were so incompetent that they couldn't even induct them, they couldn't even do corruption in this case. The corrupt socialist mammoth of India screwed big time. I don't want to go in Kaveri Project, we couldn't provide GTRE monetary and infra support which it actually needed, granted IAF changed goal posts but still we lack a lot in developing metallurgy. Things were so messed up that we were on the verge of abandoning the program. This is not acceptable.

Thank bhagwan we got manohar parrikar in the form of savior, remember Modi called him specially, he was a CM then, still called, he appointed doval. These 2 things were the most important turnarounds in the history of bharat and despite taking time for cleaning mess, we now able to get the Tejas mk1a with modern avionics, ew suit, etc which makes it a formidable fighter in its category. Don't forget it paved way for the MWF and also it has been got monetary support by getting good number of order for developing production line.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Sir, with all due respect to you and also to the incompetency and selfishness of HAL, they can't afford to close active production lines of Tejas mk1a after completing order of total 123 mk1a. Remember the ronadhona after completing su30 mki production. MWF Tejas Mk2 will surely fly with glory in IAF colors 🖖

vishnugupt

Don't belittle his intent. Whatever he's feeling is actually more or less true. We had tech demo as early as in 2001 but couldn't produce LSPs in time, infact our UPA govt and IAF didn't care about it, they wanted new toys and they were so incompetent that they couldn't even induct them, they couldn't even do corruption in this case. The corrupt socialist mammoth of India screwed big time. I don't want to go in Kaveri Project, we couldn't provide GTRE monetary and infra support which it actually needed, granted IAF changed goal posts but still we lack a lot in developing metallurgy. Things were so messed up that we were on the verge of abandoning the program. This is not acceptable.

Thank bhagwan we got manohar parrikar in the form of savior, remember Modi called him specially, he was a CM then, still called, he appointed doval. These 2 things were the most important turnarounds in the history of bharat and despite taking time for cleaning mess, we now able to get the Tejas mk1a with modern avionics, ew suit, etc which makes it a formidable fighter in its category. Don't forget it paved way for the MWF and also it has been got monetary support by getting good number of order for developing production line.
Tejas is greatest success story that could happened India's defence sector. Development time of TEJAS is same as compare to any fourth generation fighter despite of ZERO previous knowledge and managed 75% indigenization and will be more than 92% indigenous by 2025. We have developed whole aerospace industry but still people dare to call it a failure. ADA/HAL/Govt. All did brilliant job except IAF which believe in begging. No matter how much you train a begger to behave like a Boss but he will end up begging one day.

vishnugupt

So what we should do?? Should we wait until it becomes 100% indigenous and Start begging to all over world Like we doing now days after discovering Chinese in Eastern Laddakh??
Whoever giving whatever reason to delay Tejas or Undermine its role in IAF is either a Moron or a Dallal. Period