ISRO General News and Updates

Watch Out Elon Musk, ISRO’s Reusable Launch Vehicle Is on Its Way
The efforts of Indian scientists may soon bear fruit as the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will begin pre-launch tests on its Reusable Launch Vehicle-Technology Demonstrator (RLV-TD) in May. This means we might be a few steps away from a vehicle that can go into outer space and return, to be reused for another mission.
Times of India report, the acoustic tests for RLV-TD will begin shortly in Bengaluru.

The vehicle would be taken to Bengaluru for acoustic tests to check how well it can perform during the during initial stages of launch.
Reusable Space Vehicles to Reduce Cost of Space Launch
The RLV-TD is a series of technology demonstration mission conceived by ISRO as a part of Two Stage to Orbit (TSTO) re-usable launch vehicle. The RLV-TD will act as a test bed to evaluate various technologies like hypersonic flight, autonomous landing, powered cruise flight and hypersonic flight using air-breathing propulsion.
Reusable launch vehicles will be a major step towards reducing the cost of space launches. At present, a PSLV costs between Rs 120 crore to Rs 140 crore.
The program was approved in January 2012 and a concept called Avatar (Aerobic Vehicle for Transatmoshpheric Hypersonic Aerospace Transportation) was created by ISRO in coordination with Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and other research institution.
The success of the mission will be important for ISRO to counter the reusable Falcon 9 rocket, successfully test launched and landed by satellite carrier company SpaceX, owned by Elon Musk.

ISRO Reusable Launch Vehicle to Undergo Acoustic Tests Before Launch

BANGALORE: The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is working on a Reusable Launch Vehicle-Technology Demonstrator (RLV-TD). If all goes according to plan, the world will so get a vehicle that can go to space and return to be reused for another mission.

RLV-TD is in the last stages of pre-launch testing. ISRO chairman AS Kiran Kumar told TOI the vehicle would reach Bengaluru for acoustic tests to check how it can fare during the initial stages of the launch.
This will play a crucial role in ISRO's proposed manned mission - the agency is looking at sending two astronauts out of the earth's orbit and bring them back - and bring down the cost of space launches to one tenth.

ISRO spends between Rs 120 crore and Rs 140 crore on a PSLV launch. This is not the cost of the entire mission, which is higher. For the Mars Orbiter Mission, ISRO spent Rs 450-crore - Rs 140-crore of it just on the launch.

Source>>

Actually I thought he said something about ISRO or India, as most of western newspapers do, as they doesn't miss a chance to criticise India.
Let us be a high income country in 4-5 decades.
Then, we'll tell west what sort of animals they are.
That peaceful UN must be dissolved and Eastern Powers must have right to colonize west as revenge for at least once. :devil:

tramp

He may not have said anything; but may have thought pretty nasty things about ISRO.

Actually I thought he said something about ISRO or India, as most of western newspapers do, as they doesn't miss a chance to criticise India.

Story of the Week- ISRO
Indigenous development of Traveling Wave Tube Amplifier (TWTA) for Space borne payloads

Space Applications Centre (SAC) is dealing with wide variety of activities from payload development to societal applications and is responsible for the development, realisation and qualification of communication, navigation, earth observation and planetary payloads. One of the priorities of the Centre is to develop and promote crucial technologies that lead to self-reliance of Indian space programme.
Traveling Wave Tube Amplifiers (TWTA) are commonly used in satellite communication links, earth observation payloads, scientific missions or probes, inter-spacecraft communications links etc. The TWTA consists of Electronic Power Conditioner (EPC) and Traveling Wave Tube (TWT). The TWT is a complex multidisciplinary technology involving controlled interaction of microwave with electron beam under ultra high vacuum. The criticality of TWT realisation can be gauged by the fact that every single TWT involves defect free realisation of over 300 small precise piece parts and more than 260 leak proof joints. This also involves handling of the DC voltages of the order of 6 KV. TWTA is one of the integral parts of all communication payloads. Hence, their dimensions, mass and efficiency are major contributors to the satellite’s power budget and require special attention. The Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL) Bengaluru has supported the fabrication and assembly of TWT.
SAC has developed space qualified C-Band TWTA for space borne applications, jointly with Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute (CEERI), Pilani. Qualification involves testing of fragile TWTA for severe vibration withstanding capability, which is critical during rocket launch and also satisfactory stable performance during thermal vacuum condition. Care needs to be taken that it is not affecting the performance of other payload subsystems with its electromagnetic interference, as it is very high power subsystem.
After the completion of development of space qualified C-Band TWTA, the initiative to develop the Ku-Band Short Length TWT was undertaken jointly with CEERI. Due to the requirement of large number of such devices, indigenous development can significantly reduce the dependency on foreign sources. This significant milestone will pave the way for space qualification and indigenous realisation of Ku-Band TWTA. Further, it will be integrated with indigenously developed High Voltage EPC and Solid-state amplifier to complete it as Microwave Power Module (MPM).
Story of the Week - Archive
Apr 18, 2016 : Indigenous development of Traveling Wave Tube Amplifier (TWTA) for Space borne payloads
Apr 11, 2016 : IIST Secures 8th Position in all India Universities Ranking
Apr 05, 2016 : Geo-spatial Technology for Expansion of Sericulture in India
Mar 28, 2016 : First Theme based On-line Outreach Programme conducted at IIRS on Geo-spatial Technologies for Urban Planning
Mar 21, 2016 : Gadanki Ionospheric Radar Interferometer (GIRI) established at NARL
Mar 15, 2016 : Vicarious CalVal Facility for Calibration of Satellite Sensors
Mar 07, 2016 : A new Brazing process for Semi-Cryo Engine established by ISRO

Anupu

He may not have said anything; but may have thought pretty nasty things about ISRO.
He doesn't need to worry about RLV-TD, it will take time before it becomes operational, also with ISRO being government backed it is easy to put anti-dumping laws on them. He will be more worried about PSLV being operated by private companies, as no one will be able to put dumping laws on them.

Space research: Nirma University inks MoU with ISRO - The Indian Express
The Nirma University has recently inked an MoU with Space Applications Centre (SAC), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Ahmedabad for collaborative research leading to technology development and innovation in this space.
WRITTEN BY LAKSHMI AJAY | AHMEDABAD |PUBLISHED ON:APRIL 19, 2016 2:42 AM
The Nirma University has recently inked an MoU with Space Applications Centre (SAC), Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Ahmedabad for collaborative research leading to technology development and innovation in this space.
In line with this, ISRO would be setting up one of its communication receivers in the Nirma campus, where the data would be part of further research, said Nirma Director General Anup Singh on the sidelines of the institute’s 21st annual convocation on Monday.
Related
Singh said, “We have signed an MoU with ISRO last month and they are going to install their communication receiver here. While we were earlier dependent on the GPS system, India is going to have its own communication system now. Earlier we were using an American system and now we are going to have our own system. So that is being established by ISRO and we would have a receiver to check its efficacy as to how effectively it is working. A lot of data will be coming on it, so we hope to do a lot of research by collating data in the different areas of communication like navigation, for finding location etc. They have installed a few receivers across the country and they are going to install one in Nirma University.”
“Through the institute of commerce, we will be offering BCom Honours starting this July with a batch size of 60 students initially, while a Bachelors in design programme will be flagged off next year with a batch size of 60. In design, we will be offering the programme in two disciplines namely graphic design and product design. We have also been in talks with Drexel University, Philadelphia, US and will see how we can work with them further especially in the design programme,” Anup Singh said.
The convocation had John Anderson Fry, President of Drexel University, Philadelphia as the chief guest while the event was presided over by Karsanbhai K Patel, president of Nirma University. Fry in a press meet said that both varsities will be exploring long-term partnerships in business, design school and in experiential education.
While 500 students were conferred degrees at this convocation, including 13 doctoral students, around 18 medals were given to meritorious students.

Why Elon Musk? Did I miss something?
Ya exactly! His company is doing great work in the field, he wont be concerned about ISRO. Whats with the headlines these days.

Actually his company does good or not good, Americans are frustrated from Indian Space launch industry.

And when we will reduce this cost by two thirds, it will be final nail in the coffin of NASA and other Yankee agencies. :p
Go through this thread.

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/isros-low-cost-launch-service-irks-us-companies.76080/

Actually his company does good or not good, Americans are frustrated from Indian Space launch industry.

And when we will reduce this cost by two thirds, it will be final nail in the coffin of NASA and other Yankee agencies. :p
Go through this thread.

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/threads/isros-low-cost-launch-service-irks-us-companies.76080/
Nothing going to affect these companies or NASA. They will continue to operate fine. Yes, ISRO has created good competition but we still dont affect much portion of this industry. I dont think so ISRO has affected American companies in any significant way. Stop project ISRO out of the lines.

I'm not demeaning NASA's capability. I'm talking of launch market.
Whatever they do,
blocking ISRO means they're trying to stop it.
ISRO has adopted a plan to conduct at least launch every month, later putting frequency to 12-18 per year and even 24(go through links in thread).
And they have at least been launching
Though I know even after taking over industry, it isn't a big thing, it's a mere $300 million market.
Currently, Russia, China, US and EU have largest space launch industry.
We were almost equal to Japan in 2011.
(Not know about now).
But ISRO's low cost launch service can really be proved a great asset. It can make the agency self dependent for generating entire revenue.
Hope you understand what I'm saying. (Don't compare with SpaceX, they have assistance from NASA).

Anupu

I'm not demeaning NASA's capability. I'm talking of launch market.
Whatever they do,
blocking ISRO means they're trying to stop it.
ISRO has adopted a plan to conduct at least launch every month, later putting frequency to 12-18 per year and even 24(go through links in thread).
And they have at least been launching
Though I know even after taking over industry, it isn't a big thing, it's a mere $300 million market.
Currently, Russia, China, US and EU have largest space launch industry.
We were almost equal to Japan in 2011.
(Not know about now).
But ISRO's low cost launch service can really be proved a great asset. It can make the agency self dependent for generating entire revenue.
Hope you understand what I'm saying. (Don't compare with SpaceX, they have assistance from NASA).
ISRO, is still far from rapid reusability and also ISRO doesn't have any vehicle close to the capacity of Phalcon 9 or Atlas 5 till they build the ULV and HLV.
So we can expect it to compete with spaceX only after it can build a rapidly reusable Heavy launcher or even something like PSLV. RLV-TD is very young at this moment, and it is a very challenging approach to reusability.

Even now in the small launch market US can easily keep us out because PSLV is government operated, if a private company was to operate it, Dumping laws won't be easy to put up.

PS: Phalcon rockets were totally made by SpaceX, they are completely new designs made vertically inside SpaceX.

ISRO, is still far from rapid reusability and also ISRO doesn't have any vehicle close to the capacity of Phalcon 9 or Atlas 5 till they build the ULV and HLV.
So we can expect it to compete with spaceX only after it can build a rapidly reusable Heavy launcher or even something like PSLV. RLV-TD is very young at this moment, and it is a very challenging approach to reusability.

Even now in the small launch market US can easily keep us out because PSLV is government operated, if a private company was to operate it, Dumping laws won't be easy to put up.

PS: Phalcon rockets were totally made by SpaceX, they are completely new designs made vertically inside SpaceX.
In brief:
We can launch SATs in cheap.
Yet we can't take up whole of market, a significant slice is in our plate.

For privatization
Plan to largely privatize PSLV operations by 2020: Isro chief
I'm not saying we have better than west, we will take decades to catch up. I'm asking you to notice Western hypocrisy. They always make hills out of moles. Don't they? :biggrin2:

Anupu

In brief:
We can launch SATs in cheap.
Yet we can't take up whole of market, a significant slice is in our plate.

For privatization
Plan to largely privatize PSLV operations by 2020: Isro chief
I'm not saying we have better than west, we will take decades to catch up. I'm asking you to notice Western hypocrisy. They always make hills out of moles. Don't they? :biggrin2:
Hypocrisy is the most human of things, :D we all have it don't we.

ISRO's Rocket Scientists Build Pump For Heart Transplants

New Delhi: Scientists at the Indian Space Research Organisation or ISRO have used material and technology used to build rockets to create a small device that pumps blood and is seen as a step towards making an artificial heart.
The Made-in-India left ventricle assist device weighs 100 gm and will help people who need heart transplants, replicating the function of a part of the heart that pumps blood.
It is being tested right now by a team of surgeons on animals and is expected to be ready for use on humans only after a few years of extensive testing. The device was recently tested on five pigs at a hospital in Thiruvananthapuram for a six-hour experiment which doctors said was successful.
The device is made of biocompatible titanium alloy and can pump blood at the rate of 3 to 5 litres per minute. Similar imported heart pumps cost crores of rupees, but the ISRO version is expected to cost only Rs 1.25 lakh.

"Material used in a rocket, the mechanism used in a rocket, electronics used in a rocket are combined to form the device... which is useful as a first step towards heart transplantation. This device was tested in a pig, and it was found that the pig was alive after fitting it. The other organs of the animal were intact. This shows that it is a very good alternative for an artificial heart," Dr K Sivan, Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram told NDTV.
A team of about two dozen experts like metallurgists, electronic engineers, flow mechanics and conduction specialists have worked for over six years to build the pump and they describe it as work in progress.
"This is one of the examples of how work that is done for rocket technology or satellite technology can help human beings. This is an alternate system in case the human heart has difficulties in pumping blood. It provides a bypass pumping system that can definitely help human lives," said Dr Kiran Kumar, ISRO chairman.