India's Current & Future UAVs & UCAVs

FireStar

Why ??
Why hellfire if desi version of hellfire is available ??
Why ditch NAG missile in favor of US alternative ??
Nag (missile)
What i meant was ,if we could attach a similar class of hellfire missile on archer, it would be great. something with 10-12 km range and that kind of destructive power on a cheap platform like archer.

‘Is it comparable to the much-touted Turkish drone?
Not even close. This is much smaller than the Bayraktar TB-2 which has 2.5x the payload capacity for weapons. The Ukrainian TB-2s were armed with tri-pylons to arm each side with six bombs and missiles that wreaked havoc on Chechen tank columns.

Turks are way ahead in the drone game. There is no shame in accepting it. While DRDO has been proactive in making TAPAS from the raw materials upwards, it is very slow. This needs to be handed over to the private sector where they source the components from within DRDO and go on a mass production spree.

The Cabinet Committee on Security has been ridiculously cautious with allocating defence funding on all new projects over the last 2 years.

Not even close. This is much smaller than the Bayraktar TB-2 which has 2.5x the payload capacity for weapons. The Ukrainian TB-2s were armed with tri-pylons to arm each side with six bombs and missiles that wreaked havoc on Chechen tank columns.

Turks are way ahead in the drone game. There is no shame in accepting it. While DRDO has been proactive in making TAPAS from the raw materials upwards, it is very slow. This needs to be handed over to the private sector where they source the components from within DRDO and go on a mass production spree.

The Cabinet Committee on Security has been ridiculously cautious with allocating defence funding on all new projects over the last 2 years.
‘Privatize DRDO to introduce efficiency, discipline and accountability.

vishnugupt

Check Bayraktar CEO name on google and see why everyone buying Turkish UAV. If you want to appease Sultan Erdogen then buy Bayraktar first.

Lonewarrior

‘Privatize DRDO to introduce efficiency, discipline and accountability.
C'mon Dude...I come to this thread for the first time and see your message and it's the same old privatize DRDO

Okay, so after hearing the story of Turkish drone development you proposed to privatize DRDO, cool.

But do you know the same Turkey uses Turkish Aerospace Industries (TAI) to do most of its defence & aerospace research and TAI is a state owned entity just like DRDO!?

Lonewarrior

Check Bayraktar CEO name on google and see why everyone buying Turkish UAV. If you want to appease Sultan Erdogen then buy Bayraktar first.
Glad to see you're active somewhere other than Ukr-Rus thread.
Noice Kid, noice

Now you check Bayraktar CTO name on Google and see from where he has done his bachelor's, master's and doctorate. Also try to find the specialization he had in each of these and also the project he did. You'll realise why everyone's buying them.

vishnugupt

Glad to see you're active somewhere other than Ukr-Rus thread.
Noice Kid, noice

Now you check Bayraktar CTO name on Google and see from where he has done his bachelor's, master's and doctorate. Also try to find the specialization he had in each of these and also the project he did. You'll realise why everyone's buying them.
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Remove Erdogen relationship and watch where his degree and Company goes.
your common sense is as weak as your knowledge.

Have you heard name Vadra, Son in law of Sonia Gandhi whose DLF once ruled Delhi NCR during UPA rule. Same is happening with Bayraktar.

Point is, Bayraktar is Turkish Oligarch.

Lonewarrior

Have you heard name Vadra, Son in law of Sonia Gandhi whose DLF once ruled Delhi NCR during UPA rule. Same is happening with Bayraktar.

Keep yourself in this blissful ignorance, good for you

Frankly this is the only way you can keep your sanity intact after realising you don't have a PhD from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in UAVs

The point is, Turkey is raking in money despite being on a so-called economic spiral.

They have a defence budget of $22 billion and yet are able to fund dozens of modern defence projects with ease using private industry as well as national defence budgets for R&D. This is just the UAV part - I am not even talking about the progress they have made in light and medium armoured vehicles that are selling like hot cakes, including the weapons that are locally made such as machine guns, ATGMs, optronics, missiles and sensors on-board.

How are they doing it? It's something Ninda Turtle and his pot-belly babus need to study.

Azerbaijan and Pakistan are the only two countries that are appeasing Turks. The others who bought it saw its utility in a slew of conflicts since the drone's inception. TB-2 has proven its mettle in uncontested airspace, providing critical CAS to the ground troops and special forces operating against their adversaries.

1. Turkey scored a coup in a mid-market that is averse to Chinese drones due to quality and American ones due to strings attached or sanction risk
  2. Baykar Industries since then have made tremendous progress in launching Akinci UCAV and has been Kizilelma long-range drone, which will bank on the success of TB-2s in the foreign exports markets
  3. The entire PKK is going to get buried very soon with these UCAVs playing an instrumental role in supporting Turkish forces, as the Turkish government will be able to censor any news of potential war crimes or collateral damage as it would have complete control over their drone data, meaning that PKK or any other militancy movement in Turkey is pretty much going to be extinct.
Tell me, where is Tapas? Where is Archer NG? Where is Ghatak? Tapas was supposed to join the ranks three years ago; NOT A SINGLE Indian UCAV has joined any of the armed forces.

Face it; our Military-Industrial-Complex regarding small and medium tactical platforms just sucks simply because the government will not force privatize these labs and give the forces orders to buy local only where options are available.

Baykar's drones proved their mettle in wars, bud. The world saw what it did to Armenian forces as well as the devastating precision with which it razed Russian tank columns during the initial invasion when Chechens just cluelessly rampaged into Ukraine without a battle plan.

You also forget that there are alleged reports that the Ethiopian government used TB-2s against the Anglo-Saxon-backed TPLF though Turks deny it (they're playing both sides). UCAVs today can act as CAS only in uncontested airspace.

That's what these drones are doing, while Indian drones are just doing infinite tests and will most likely never be inducted.

vishnugupt

Keep yourself in this blissful ignorance, good for you

Frankly this is the only way you can keep your sanity intact after realising you don't have a PhD from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in UAVs
this is your blissful ignorance Who believe every single person who did PhD from MIT is own multibillion successful company.

Having education is good but you can’t attribute Bayraktar success solely on Talent. Erdogen is big factor.

Lonewarrior

Despite all the usual "Brochure, common sense, knowledge" jibes of yours, I brought you from here...
Check Bayraktar CEO name on google and see why everyone buying Turkish UAV.
...to here.
Having education is good but you can’t attribute Bayraktar success solely on Talent. Erdogen is big factor.
That's enough W for me today.
Peace out

vishnugupt

Tell me, where is Tapas? Where is Archer NG? Where is Ghatak? Tapas was supposed to join the ranks three years ago; NOT A SINGLE Indian UCAV has joined any of the armed forces.
Ask UN Generals why they keep refusing to buy. Only UN Generals and God knows why?

DRDO is technology development organisation they built technology. Now it’s up to Generals whether they want it or want to keep them in endless trials.

To rest of your post.
Turkish Aerospace industry flourishing on “Ummah ka Chumma” concept. Inferiority complex ridden brown Mullah want to look Turkish so appease Sultan.

If you do technological Audits, Turkish agency stand no where against DRDO.

Lonewarrior

If you do technological Audits, Turkish agency stand no where against DRDO.
Glad you mentioned this point, I'm actually working on a post that's more or less on this topic only. If things go planned then I'll post it 1-2 days

C'mon Dude...I come to this thread for the first time and see your message and it's the same old privatize DRDO

Okay, so after hearing the story of Turkish drone development you proposed to privatize DRDO, cool.

But do you know the same Turkey uses Turkish Aerospace Industries (TAI) to do most of its defence & aerospace research and TAI is a state owned entity just like DRDO!?
You call your grandfather “Dude”….. Shame on you.