Indian Railways News

Trains are getting longer and crowded by every month ..

Something has to be done for this route, Perhaps a alternative route with Broad Gauge ..

Trains are getting longer and crowded by every month ..

Something has to be done for this route, Perhaps a alternative route with Broad Gauge ..
There used to be a 2' 6" Narrow Gauge route from Jayanagar (India) via Janakpur (Nepal) to Bijalpura (Nepal). This route is under Gauge Conversion. This route, however, is mostly in the plains. Therefore, conversion from Narrow Gauge to Broad Gauge is easy. The further you go into the mountains, the more challenging it becomes to lay Broad Gauge tracks.

In some places, there is need for very sharp curves, and even a narrower gauge is required. For example, the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway and the Matheran Hill Railway were both built with 2' 0" Narrow Gauge.

Passengers vandalise Tejas Express on its first Mumbai-Goa trip

perhaps this was deliberate, done by some miscreants? i suppose for a train like this, with price-slab like the one it has, as well as the route it plies on, the 'class' of people it would attract as passengers wouldnt or shouldnt definitely be the vandalising ones. Mahanama express i could still understand, but this one here is a bit tough to digest. may be some fellows with plans for mischief in their minds got in & achieved their purpose. though what it got them ultimately i cant fathom. the people's/passengers' reactions prior the journey were optimistic and exuded the sense of excitement they carried. unfortunately & sadly the affair also culminated in this!

in a lighter vein, when simple trains have their toilet-mugs chained, why didnt the railways think of securing the headphones too here? probably they were also thinking on my line.

The headphones are now with the conductor. If you want one, you gotta sign and take it!

But what a bloody shame! These miscreants have been caught on CCTV and will be brought to book soon, according to the Railway minister.

a colleague was commenting today that he read some news about IRCTC requiring a budget of INR 5000cr to develop an app. i tried to search for it but couldnt find anything about it. does anybody what he was talking about?

The headphones are now with the conductor. If you want one, you gotta sign and take it!

But what a bloody shame! These miscreants have been caught on CCTV and will be brought to book soon, according to the Railway minister.
So every compartment got a separate TC?

Sent from my ASUS_Z00LD using Tapatalk

So every compartment got a separate TC?

Sent from my ASUS_Z00LD using Tapatalk
Not TC but conductor. The cost of the headphones was Rs 200 each. Signing before taking one was too cumbersome and impractical. So now they have introduced cheap 'use and throw' headphones costing Rs 30/- each! Lol! :biggrin2:

^^ Are these LHB coaches? Somehow, the exterior appears to be like old ICF coaches.

http://www.railnews.in/niti-aayog-oks-rs-18000-crore-project-to-increase-train-speeds/

NITI Aayog OKs Rs.18000 Crore project to increase Train Speeds

21 Jun 2017

NEW DELHI: The ambitious Rs.18,000 crore project for increasing train speeds on the Delhi-Mumbai and Delhi-Howrah rail corridors has got the NITI Aayog’s approval, paving the way for being put up for Cabinet clearance.

The mega project is meant to bring about a paradigm shift in rail operations enabling trains to run at 160 km per hour on the busiest routes on the Indian railway network.

Aiming at reducing travel time between the three metropolises, the project envisages fencing off the entire 3,000 kms on both routes, upgradation of signalling system, elimination of all level crossings and installing train protection warning system (TPWS), among other works to make trains run at an increased speed of 160 kmh.

“Any project more than Rs 1,000 crore in worth will have to get the NITI Aayog clearance. So now after getting the NITI Aayog clearance yesterday, the proposal will now be examined by the expanded Railway Board,” said a senior railway ministry official involved with the project.

The expanded railway board is comprised of senior representatives from department of expenditure, department of programme implementation and NITI Aayog, besides the board members.

The Railways will submit the proposal for cabinet clearance after getting the proposal approved by the expanded railway board.

The 1,483-km long New Delhi-Mumbai rail route will also include the Baroda-Ahmedabad sector, and is estimated to cost Rs 11,189 crore.

The 1,525-km long New Delhi-Howrah route, which also includes the Kanpur-Lucknow section, is estimated to cost Rs 6,974 crore.

The work on both sections will be given to a single agency through global bidding for effective implementation of the project.

They'll actually fence off the Delhi-Howrah and Delhi-Mumbai sectors? God luck with it.

Making it access free will not be easy without elevating key sections, especially those passing through crowded areas.

We should also take into the account the tendency of our people to cut through fences and concrete barriers to illegally move cross expressways and rail tracks

Pictures of the newly inaugurated Cochin Metro or Kochi Metro

Kochi metro is really amazing. Fastest and the longest section to be commissioned in the opening phase

@pmaitra Do you think it would be a good idea to have separate threads on Railways and Mass Rapid transit (Metro, BRTS, Trams etc.?)

We had them separate, then we merged all train related stuff into one thread. This happened several years ago. Indian Railways, Metros, Trams, are all technically railways. This also includes monorail.

Krusty

a colleague was commenting today that he read some news about IRCTC requiring a budget of INR 5000cr to develop an app. i tried to search for it but couldnt find anything about it. does anybody what he was talking about?
5000crore to develop an app!?!?!? What is the requirement? A Super intelligent sentient AI that can solve the middle eastern crisis?