Indian Railways News

warrior monk

Government to invest Rs 8.5 lakh crores in Indian Railways

Minister of State for finance Jayant Sinha said that the government will invest 8.5 lakh crore rupees in Indian Railways in an iron clad move to change the face of the sector.

Speaking at the 55th Annual convention of Automotive Component Manufacturers of India in New Delhi, Sinha said that after a decade of chronic under
investment in Indian Railways, government has decided to invest 8.5 lakh crore rupees in Indian railways and added that investment in roads has been doubled this year.

Sinha stated that it was unfortunate that the Constitution amendment Bill GST was not passed in the Monsoon session and added that GST would be hugely beneficial for the automobile and automotive component industry.

He also appealed to opposition parties to extend their support for the passage of
GST Bill in Parliament saying that the government is ready to support the efforts of the automotive components industry in scaling new heights.

http://www.dnaindia.com/money/repor...-rs-85-lakh-crores-in-indian-railways-2122572

Now, railway passengers can order food online via IRCT's e-catering services

Oct 19, 2015 13:02 IST

http://www.firstpost.com/india/now-...ne-via-ircts-e-catering-services-2473842.html

Kolkata: The Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) has launched a pilot project of a ‘station-based e-catering’ service allowing passengers to order meals as per their choice, which will be delivered at stations from popular private caterers.

In the first phase of the project, all trains passing through 45 specified railway stations, including nine in the east zone, namely Howrah, Sealdah, Guwahati, New Jalpaiguri, Patna, Bhubaneswar, Visakhapatnam, Kharagpur and Mughalsarai have been named.

The other stations under this project are namely, New Delhi, Allahabad, Kanpur Central, Lucknow, Varanasi, Chennai Central, Mumbai Central, Delhi, Bangalore city, Madurai, Amritsar, Thiruvananthapuram Central, Chandigarh, Gorakhpur, Varanasi, Jaipur, Bilaspur, Anand Vihar, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Ludhiana, Secunderabad, Tirupati, Vijayawada, Chennai Egmore, Ernakulam, Kozhikode, Thrisur, Yasvantpur, Nagpur, Pune, Agra Cantt, Gwalior, Jhansi, Bhopal, Ahmedabad, Surat and Vadodara.

“Station-based e-catering will be only for stations and not on moving trains. The service will allow passengers to either order meals online at www.ecatering.irctc.co.in or by calling 0120-2383892-99/ 1800-1034-139 (toll free) or by sending SMS Meal to 139 with details of PNR and seat number and the meals will be delivered at their berth,” IRCTC group General Manager, East Zone Debashis Chandra told PTI.

Besides food from IRCTC-managed food plazas and fast food units, reputed food chains like McDonald’s, KFC, Switz Foods, Only Alibaba, Dominos, Haldiram, Bikanerwala, Nirualas, Sagar Ratna, Pizza Hut which have a wide variety in menu have entered into a tie-up with IRCTC to serve the passengers passing through these stations.

“On receiving the meals, passengers have an option of making payment online or through cash on delivery mode,” Chandra said, adding, the delivery of food would be made through authorised persons.

“We have a dedicated call centre for this entire facility which is functioning from 6 am to 10 pm,” he said.

Talking about cancellation of orders, Chandra said, “They will also have an option to cancel their order two hours before reaching the station where the meals are scheduled to be delivered to them. In cases passengers have made online payment for their order, the amount will be refunded after deducting a cancellation charge.”

On food prices, Chandra said, “Food prices are to be market-driven but we are focused that the food items supplied are hygienically packaged in eco-friendly, bio-degradable take-away packets and usage of plastic for packaging must be minimal if not totally eliminated. In fact, we will conduct regular checks of stations to ensure that meals items are provided to the passengers.”

It was learnt, that alongside e-catering, IRCTC was offering meals from “Jan Ahaar” (budget food), food plazas and fast food units.

This pilot project will be continued till end of March next year after which a review will be conducted on the performance, he said.

http://www.livemint.com/Industry/xd...26-billion-contract-from-Indian-Railways.html

Home » Industry
Last Modified: Tue, Nov 10 2015. 12 37 AM IST
Railways awards Rs.40,000 crore of projects in Bihar to GE, Alstom
Projects will involve manufacturing 1,000 diesel locomotives and 800 electric locomotives over next 10 years

PTIBloomberg

GE will build a diesel locomotive manufacturing facility in Marhowra in Bihar, and maintenance sheds at Bhatinda in Punjab and Gandhidham in Gujarat. Photo: Ramesh Pathania/Mint

New Delhi:
Indian Railways awarded contracts to General Electric Co. (GE) and Alstom to set up diesel and electric locomotive factories in Bihar at a cost of about Rs.40,000 crore.

The award of the contracts—which will mark the first big foreign direct investment in the railway sector—was announced one day after the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) suffered an electoral debacle in Bihar.

The diesel locomotive factory in Marhora will cost Rs.2,052 crore and the facility to manufacture electrical engines in Madhepura will require an investment of Rs.1,293.57 crore.

The projects, which will be closely monitored by the Prime Minister’s office, will involve manufacturing 1,000 diesel locomotives and 800 electric locomotives over the next 10 years and are together worth about Rs.40,000 crore.

The contract agreements with GE and Alstom will be signed in a month, a railway official said.

Both projects were approved in 2007 by the then railway minister Lalu Prasad, but became mired in controversy and bureaucratic red tape.

The timing of the announcement is opportune for the Grand Alliance, comprising Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Janata Dal (United) and the Congress, that will be sworn into office in Bihar after handing an electoral drubbing to the NDA in state elections.

GE, the lowest bidder for the Marhora diesel locomotive factory, is expected to manufacture the 1,000 locomotives over 10 years. While 100 will be imported, the rest will be manufactured in Marhora as part of the ‘Make in India’ initiative. There will be two types of diesel locos—4,500 horsepower (HP) and 6,000 HP—manufactured by GE.

Two locomotive sheds will be built in Gandhidham (Gujarat) and Bhatinda (Punjab) for maintenance of the modern diesel locomotives.

Alstom, the lowest bidder for the Madhepura electric locomotive factory, will manufacture 800 high-power electric locomotives in the next 10 years. It will manufacture 12,000 HP electric locomotives to be used for heavy haulage. According to the contract, while five diesel locomotives will be imported, the remaining 795 will be manufactured in Madhepura.

Maintenance of the locos will also be the responsibility of the company and for this it will set up two maintenance sheds at Nagpur and Saharanpur.

Railways will have 26% equity and also provide land while the foreign companies will have a stake of 74% in each of the plants.

“This infrastructure project is further evidence of India’s position as a growth engine for Asia,” said GE chairman and CEO Jeff Immelt. “It is a major advancement and milestone for India and for GE, and a symbol of our commitment and support of the ‘Make in India’ initiative.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision is to add track, world-class stations and bullet trains to spur the economy. India also plans to transport more freight, such as coal, on dedicated lines. The challenge is finding the money. The contract follows Modi’s decision to open the doors to foreign investment in railroads last July, part of a push for an ambitious Rs.8.5 trillion ($128 billion) revamp of the railway through 2020.

GE said the deal is the largest in its 100-year history in India. The company is yet to sign the pact to formalize the contract.

Dalian Locomotive and Rolling Stock, CSR Corp. and Electro-Motive Diesel Inc. also bid for the tender in 2013.

Running costs from ferrying about 23 million passengers—equivalent to Australia’s population—and three million tonnes of cargo daily absorb most of the railway’s revenue, starving the network of investment. Last year, the government allowed 100% foreign direct investment in the railway sector.
This is going to change the Industrial landscape of Bihar completely!

Some of the railways catering kitchens have been moved away from IRCTC control, does anybody have pics of the those upgraded kitchens? Heard there were some major improvements.

Very good news. I was going to post this. Alstom and GE are going to setup electric and diesel locomotive factories in India. Excellent!

So... from Indian technology to Foreign tech. Good for them..
We build nothing comparable to these locos, what we have is vastly inferior both in terms of fuel efficiency and pulling power!
This is a technological upgrade similar to the one where the IR moved from steam to diesel and electric locos.

rohit b3

We build nothing comparable to these locos, what we have is vastly inferior both in terms of fuel efficiency and pulling power!
This is a technological upgrade similar to the one where the IR moved from steam to diesel and electric locos.
Yes, but we have a history of building locos. Its about time we upgrade ours from our own indigenous know hows.

Nobody is selling that tech, as for indigenous development it's gonna take time. This loco buy is designed to buy us that time!

So... from Indian technology to Foreign tech. Good for them..
DLW already builds locomotives with ToT from GE-EMD.
CLW already builds locomotives with ToT from ABB.

Our existing locomotives are comparable to many contemporary western locomotives.

DLW already builds locomotives with ToT from GE-EMD.
CLW already builds locomotives with ToT from ABB.

Our existing locomotives are comparable to many contemporary western locomotives.
What we build is comparable to Older model, low powered western locomotives!
Except for the WDG 5 no other domestically produced loco( electric or diesel) comes close in terms of horsepower.
As far as efficiency and emission controls are concerned nothing we have comes close to the GE EVOLUTION TIER4.

What we build is comparable to Older model, low powered western locomotives!
Except for the WDG 5 no other domestically produced loco( electric or diesel) comes close in terms of horsepower.
As far as efficiency and emission controls are concerned nothing we have comes close to the GE EVOLUTION TIER4.
CLW WAP-7 (1 unit): 6350 HP (4735 kW).
CLW WAP-7 (2 units): 12700 HP (9470 kW).
Alstom KZ8A (by default 2 units): 11800 HP (8800 kW).
Alstom 2ES5 (by default 2 units): 11265 HP (8400 kW).

The Alstom models you have mentioned are inferior to the ones that are manufactured by CLW.

CLW WAP-7
(1 unit): 6350 HP (4735 kW).
CLW WAP-7 (2 units): 12700 HP (9470 kW).
Alstom KZ8A (by default 2 units): 11800 HP (8800 kW).
Alstom 2ES5 (by default 2 units): 11265 HP (8400 kW).

The Alstom models you have mentioned are inferior to the ones that are manufactured by CLW.
The WAP 7 is also by default 2 units with two cabs i.e. each unit is 3125 HP.
Anyhoo the WAP 7 is primarliy a passenger loco without the type of load haulage capacity for which we are purchasing the ALSTOMS.
The WAP-7 can also haul loads of 24-26 passenger coaches (1,430–1,550 t or 1,410–1,530 long tons or 1,580–1,710 short tons at 140 km/h or 87 mph)
The Heaviest Freight loco we use is the WAG 9
There are two primary criteria to be checked here
1) Starting tractive effort - Simply put the amount of force the loco can put in to give the initial jerk required to get the train moving.-525kN for the WAG-9H
2)Load haulage capacity- how much load can it pull-6600Tonnes
The ALSTOMS are in another league altogether when it comes to heavy freight haulage
1)Starting Tractive Effort- Both 2ES5 and KZ8A- 833kN
2) Load Haulage capacity-
The 2ES5, with its 4 bogies, can travel at speeds of up to 120 km/h. With an output of 8,400 kW, it is capable of hauling freight convoys of more than 13,200 tonnes at its continuous rating over distances of up to 3,000 km.
http://www.alstom.com/products-serv...ns/products/2es5-electric-freight-locomotive/

The WAP 7 is also by default 2 units with two cabs i.e. each unit is 3125 HP.
Not true.

WAP-7 by default is one unit, and it is 6350 HP, not 3125 HP, as you state.

The number of cabs is irrelevant.

Not true.

WAP-7 by default is one unit, and it is 6350 HP, not 3125 HP, as you state.

The number of cabs is irrelevant.
I may be incorrect there however it does not change the fact that the WAP 7 is a passenger loco and what we are buying is freight locos, there the ALSTOMS outpace our domestic freight locos.

Not contending whether a locomotive is goods, passenger, or mixed.

WAP: The P is for passenger.
WAG: The G is for goods.
WAM: The M is for mixed (goods and passenger).

I was contending your statement about horsepower, which I have highlighted in red.

We have been manufacturing WAP-7 since 1990, and the locomotives you have mentioned are inferior to our WAP-7 as far as horsepower goes.

Coming to freight locomotives, we have the CLW WAG-9 rated at 6125 HP for one unit, which is still superior to the two Alstom locomotives you have mentioned as far as horsepower is concerned.

Not contending whether a locomotive is goods, passenger, or mixed.

WAP: The P is for passenger.
WAG: The G is for goods.
WAM: The M is for mixed (goods and passenger).

I was contending your statement about horsepower, which I have highlighted in red.

We have been manufacturing WAP-7 since 1990, and the locomotives you have mentioned are inferior to our WAP-7 as far as horsepower goes.

Coming to freight locomotives, we have the CLW WAG-9 rated at 6125 HP for one unit, which is still superior to the two Alstom locomotives you have mentioned as far as horsepower is concerned.
Look we can put ten WAG 9'S in a series and say we have the most powerful locomotive in the world rated at 61250hp, that is simply stupidity.
As far as the ALSTOMS are concerned you might say they are two units but as far as the IR is concerned they are one unit as they are designed, built , marketed and sold in a complete tractive unit of 12000 hp in one articulated body!
Either of the ALSTOMS as one tractive unit is far more powerful than one WAP7 or WAP 9.