Indian Navy Developments & Discussions

Covfefe

Someone please post the navy submarine video they're shared on X
Looks cool

Samej Jangir

I wonder what's the significance behind naming two Naval ships after 2 small towns in coastal Karnataka.
They are Tulunadu towns near Mangaluru & Udupi. Though part of Karnataka, people there speak Tulu majorly and have distinct culture. Kantara movie is based on this region

Azaad

They are Tulunadu towns near Mangaluru & Udupi. Though part of Karnataka, people there speak Tulu majorly and have distinct culture. Kantara movie is based on this region
Yeah , thanks for the edification. However , my question was why ?

v952010

1702129530598.png

1702129660364.png

Fujian is ready for trial looks like it
and PLAN’s 4th type 075 LHD is also getting ready to be launched while we keep focusing on the army wtf is wrong with our policy makers making the same mistake for the last 70 years we need to go all in on the navy and airforce , the army should not be the priority in this decade

View attachment 232043
View attachment 232044
Fujian is ready for trial looks like it
and PLAN’s 4th type 075 LHD is also getting ready to be launched while we keep focusing on the army wtf is wrong with our policy makers making the same mistake for the last 70 years we need to go all in on the navy and airforce , the army should not be the priority in this decade

Disagree with you. All of India's conflicts with China occurred on land and we cannot afford to lose territory to China. So Army gets the priority. They guard the border against PLA on a daily basis in very grueling conditions.

v952010

Disagree with you. All of India's conflicts with China occurred on land and we cannot afford to lose territory to China. So Army gets the priority. They guard the border against PLA on a daily basis in very grueling conditions.
That’s the whole point of the Chinese they keep pressuring us on land so we don’t become a naval power , complete emotional thinking for 70 years , they kept us on land while they built a navy , the army can’t win the land back anyways , we keep investing on the army while we lose the ocean theater is complete backward thinking , no great power in history has existed without being a great naval power and rn we are navy smaller than South Korea and Japan

Blood+

That’s the whole point of the Chinese they keep pressuring us on land so we don’t become a naval power , complete emotional thinking for 70 years , they kept us on land while they built a navy , the army can’t win the land back anyways , we keep investing on the army while we lose the ocean theater is complete backward thinking , no great power in history has existed without being a great naval power and rn we are navy smaller than South Korea and Japan
The Army and the Air Force will always be given the priority over the Navy, it is inevitable given the threat situation we're in. Besides, PLAN is unlikely to play any significant role during future hostilities due to the sheer distances involved and also, in no small part that they will have got three very large and hostile navies to contend with.

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Yaar look at it this way - English is considered to be an aspirational achievement, in all practicality.

Officers will be going around as leftenant and commander and your sailor be Navik instead of Leading Seaman.

Second point, I am an Odia, i dont get hindi as well as English - though it is rather close to sanskrit and thus familiar.

Your vast majority of sailors are Malyali, Tamil, Kannada, Odias
Ghanta samjhenge ranks.

The English ranks were common sensical. the name told you what their qualifications were shouldnt have been touched
Samskrit words are common enough in 90% of all bharatiya bhashas. So this is an invalid excuse

To fir toh Officer ranks ko pahle change karna tha na?? This will only serve to widen the already existing gap between the officer class and the enlisted.
Yes, should have changed all....would have caused xtreme burn among mentally colonized anglophiles

LAC was on back burner up until 2015, very little time and money was spent on china border until then. IN on the other hand has been continuing with their future plans for a few decades now. focus on land did not effect the focus on seas.

blackleaf

I was recently looking into heavyweight torpedoes and I noticed that mostly navies don't use ship-launched heavyweight torpedoes anymore.
Other navies have moved to a few lightweight torpedoes on deck(if any at all) and VL-ASROC since ship-launched torpedoes have too short a range to be useful in most situations.
Lightweight torpedoes are much lighter, much lower footprint on deck and leave more space for VLS cells while still being enough to sink a submarine.

Why are we still building ships with heavyweight torpedoes?

How does the Indian Navy expect to use ship-launched heavyweight torpedoes + RBU-6000 vs lightweight torpedoes + VL-ASROC in other navies?

rohit b3

I was recently looking into heavyweight torpedoes and I noticed that mostly navies don't use ship-launched heavyweight torpedoes anymore.
Other navies have moved to a few lightweight torpedoes on deck(if any at all) and VL-ASROC since ship-launched torpedoes have too short a range to be useful in most situations.
Lightweight torpedoes are much lighter, much lower footprint on deck and leave more space for VLS cells while still being enough to sink a submarine.

Why are we still building ships with heavyweight torpedoes?

How does the Indian Navy expect to use ship-launched heavyweight torpedoes + RBU-6000 vs lightweight torpedoes + VL-ASROC in other navies?
I did some reading on this, and this is what i found out.

The Varunastra Heavyweight torpedo equipped on Indian warships has a range of 40 kms with a warhead of 250 kgs. Its comparable to the range and power of torpedoes that can be launched from enemy submarines. Thus, it creates a major deterrent for any enemy submarine to come close enough to target the Indian Warships.
The RBU6000 acts as a CIWS for enemy submarines with ranges as close as 1.5 to 5 kms. it can target enemy submarines as deep as 1 kms under the ocean and it can also be used to intercept incoming torpedoes or take on enemy divers.

Coming to Western warships, they carry Light weight torpedoes whose range varies from 10 kms to 25 kms depending on the torpedo model. Lower warhead as well.
The VL ASROC gives it some boost, that as a range of 22 kms+ torpedo range of 10 kms, giving it an effective range of about 32 kms.

This way, they keep most of their focus on the Air defense capabilities, allowing more VLS for SAMs. Meanwhile the Indian warships give a great amount of importance to ASW capabilities stocking the ships with bigger and heavier ASW weapons, looking at its adversaries.

Its the same concept as BrahMos. A bigger and heavier weapon that takes up more space and weight, but much more capable than the sorts of a Lighter Harpoon missile.