Indian Economy: News and Discussion

Concard

Chinese have done away with this cost support input, they undertake a lump some direct cash transfer to the farmers (around some 20 billion USD) and they can sell their produce in open market. But given the tractor rally history I don't think any government will touch agri reforms for atleast 2 decades- it's a no go even for discussion now.
The best way to bring in reforms is through stealth. Bring the reforms at the state level and then what central government does will be irrelevant. Punjabis Sikhs are very greedy assholes especially the landlords. Land acquisition law was tackled in the same way. Modi simply put that issue on concurrent list which made Congress Land acquisition law redundant. First BJP governments at the state level have to bring in laws and double their farmers income. When everyone sees the benefits no scumbag can stop the gravy train. India has to produce lot of food in the coming years for the ever growing population. We can't sit back because some scumbags in Punjab has their interests threatened. We should never stop looking for solutions. If something can only be done through backdoor then let's do it. There is no need to always announce big ticket reforms.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee privatized lot of PSU's in this way. He in fact had a separate ministry for that. The only drawback of our present PM is he always brings in reforms taking political considerations into account. PLI scheme should have come long back in his first term itself. Farm laws should have come right after his win in 2019. Then we got the pandemic for a year which would have made protests non existent. Sometimes Modi plays it too safe which is frustrating. He can pursue his socialist welfare schemes and free market reforms at the same time. I don't understand why he thinks he can't do both.

karn

I really like DFC in comparison to that
I'm not making a direct comparison with china .. just learning from their mistakes .. their rail freight capacity will be much higher than our even after the 2 dfcs are finished .

Covfefe

Punjabis Sikhs are very greedy assholes especially the landlords
Stupid comment.
Land acquisition law was tackled in the same way
Land acquisition is still a state subject. Only the remuneration has been disciplined and connected to the passing of DPR and thappa from FinMin. If you don't have the land , you don't get the project- simple
The best way to bring in reforms is through stealth. Bring the reforms at the state level and then what central government does will be irrelevant.
Where is BJP govt in Punjab state?
When everyone sees the benefits no scumbag can stop the gravy train
Agree, hence the point to focus on other states first, let them have their way meanwhile. If they see a merit in other systems, they'll themselves be open to it
Atal Bihari Vajpayee privatized lot of PSU's in this way. He in fact had a separate ministry for that
PSU is a government owned company with a few thousand employees at the best. No comparison of scale of people getting affected by agri reforms.

Varzone

Interestingly such people call Modi supporters as "Bhakta" insinuating that there is no rationale in supporting his moves. More often than not it's these supposedly rational people who won't provide any clear answer as to how to solve the problem specifically or that even the problem exists (without jibber jabber)
On top of that...we fought for the farm laws and were trying to convince people. Piche se Modi ne repeal kardi aur hum chutiye ki tera dekh rhe kya ho gya...farmer khush...modi khush....mereko group chat me "modi ka chodi" bol kar bezati karwadi yaar
1647875651900.png

Covfefe

On top of that...we fought for the farm laws and were trying to convince people. Piche se Modi ne repeal kardi aur hum chutiye ki tera dekh rhe kya ho gya...farmer khush...modi khush....mereko group chat me "modi ka chodi" bol kar bezati karwadi yaar
View attachment 145985
You should've called mudi a phattu politician after that

View attachment 145985
But farms laws are already functional in 23 states which produce those 22 agri products, by the time they were repealed.

sauntheninja

In Andhra, Chandra Babu Naidu was known for development projects while ignoring social schemes. He won in 2014 and in 2019, he was massively defeated by Jagan who promised all sorts of "freebies".

It's the same with AAP in Delhi i.e Free electricity, Free bus fare for women etc

Most of our population doesn't give an F about being a superpower in the future. They simply want to get by in their daily lives. I don't even blame the common man for it. We didn't give our people enough opportunities from 1947-2014. A self-hating Congress Gov which had little faith in India or Indians wasted precious years.
After the 1991 reforms we grew the fastest we have in history

Vinash

After the 1991 reforms we grew the fastest we have in history
Consequence of opening up the market that's all. It wasn't due to strategic planning by the Congress. They had no choice as we were bankrupt.

Modi had to launch "Make in India" so late. WTF was Congress doing not even trying to get India into manufacturing for all those years?

Take toilet coverage, gas cylinder, electricity etc. My grandparents village used to get 8 hours electricity even as late as 2009. What was Congress doing for 60 years that they couldn't give electricity? They started getting 24 hour electricity since 2016.

HitmanBlood

Consequence of opening up the market that's all. It wasn't due to strategic planning by the Congress. They had no choice as we were bankrupt.

Modi had to launch "Make in India" so late. WTF was Congress doing not even trying to get India into manufacturing for all those years?

Take toilet coverage, gas cylinder, electricity etc. My grandparents village used to get 8 hours electricity even as late as 2009. What was Congress doing for 60 years that they couldn't give electricity? They started getting 24 hour electricity since 2016.
Congress was destroying India from within. Cast based politics, regionalism, environment rules, anti business rules, socialist propaganda, entitlements, supporting jihadis, ignoring military needs and much much more.

Just look at whats happening in Maharashtra. It is India's economic engine. Every project is being delayed or cancelled. Corruption at its peak. Minority appeasement and votebank politics. This exactly what they did to entire country for 60+ years.

Physx32

but is it fair to compare HSR with what normal population uses? It is too expensive for most local people in China to use.
How're millions of Chinese (and consequently) being able to pay tickets to fly then? This liberandu, lefturd logic is ingrained in the minds of idiots in our country, that's why our infrastructure is in shambles.

Dark Sorrow

Tldr: GIFT is not investing more to attract human resources.
Their are no incentive for companies to shift to GIFT. Why would a company sift to GIFT if it has ready made world-class infrastructure in metropolitan cities.
If companies want to cut cost they would relocate to Tier-2 or Tier 3 cities.

China constructed almost 7k km of eways in 2005-06 and 4k km in 2006-07, when their GDP was $3 trillion. Right now we should be building at that rate but all money is wasted on social welfare schemes and MSPajeets.

Except UP, no other state seems to be interested in investing in good infrastructure.
We are constructing Infrastructure at a very rapid space. Chin has 2.9 times area of India and a big land mass has a very little population in which it is very easy to Build infrastructure. Last year, we made more than 35 KM highway per day which is prenominal. We are building infrastructure at a very rapid rate. Vadodara to Mumbai expressway is about to complete. Delhi- Mumbai expressway will complete before 2024. Many existing roads are widened.

I used to be very angry about freebies too before realising that a big section of the electorate votes only for freebies and doesn't give an F about development or long term goals.

It's sad but it's what it is.

Democracy is a constraint and we'll have to work within it's limits for now.
When a guy is hungry, he needs roti and nothing else.

The best way to bring in reforms is through stealth. Bring the reforms at the state level and then what central government does will be irrelevant. Punjabis Sikhs are very greedy assholes especially the landlords. Land acquisition law was tackled in the same way. Modi simply put that issue on concurrent list which made Congress Land acquisition law redundant. First BJP governments at the state level have to bring in laws and double their farmers income. When everyone sees the benefits no scumbag can stop the gravy train. India has to produce lot of food in the coming years for the ever growing population. We can't sit back because some scumbags in Punjab has their interests threatened. We should never stop looking for solutions. If something can only be done through backdoor then let's do it. There is no need to always announce big ticket reforms.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee privatized lot of PSU's in this way. He in fact had a separate ministry for that. The only drawback of our present PM is he always brings in reforms taking political considerations into account. PLI scheme should have come long back in his first term itself. Farm laws should have come right after his win in 2019. Then we got the pandemic for a year which would have made protests non existent. Sometimes Modi plays it too safe which is frustrating. He can pursue his socialist welfare schemes and free market reforms at the same time. I don't understand why he thinks he can't do both.
Modi plays very safe. He does not want the power to go even for a small period of time. These Congi and other opposition will spoil the things. They are very hungry because they are out of power for a long time.