Indian Army: News and Discussion

@Kunal Biswas bhai, found a new truck pic of OFB made in VRDE site

can you give me any idea about... it looks like it had punch...
Wow WTF?
I think its safe to assume that this is the chassis used for TELs. There was some post some time back (can't remember which thread) which was discussing how Indian TELs are pathetic (even by Paki standards). I suspected otherwise, this might confirm it.
Question is was there some ToT to industry on this? Is this incorporated in the new TATA and Ashok Leyland vehicles?

Why would there be unless OFB outsourced production to them.

Besides, btoh TATA and AL should have the means to create something similar.

@Kunal Biswas bhai, found a new truck pic of OFB made in VRDE site

can you give me any idea about... it looks like it had punch...
Interesting which vehicle is this ??
Wow WTF?
I think its safe to assume that this is the chassis used for TELs. There was some post some time back (can't remember which thread) which was discussing how Indian TELs are pathetic (even by Paki standards). I suspected otherwise, this might confirm it.
@Kunal Biswas

Anyone else think the cab at least looks quite similar to the MAN HX/SX series:

This OFB vehicle though looks FAR more powerful and specialised, a true beast, I am genuinely very impressed by OFB- I didn't think they had the ability to create such a monster.

@Kunal Biswas

This OFB vehicle though looks FAR more powerful and specialised, a true beast, I am genuinely very impressed by OFB- I didn't think they had the ability to create such a monster.
that wheel configuration didnt suit Man, Tata or Tatra 12x12, only suited with Chini trucks & Maz models,

front 3 back 3 --OOO--OOO--

Any opinions on what do they mean by "upgrade armoured vehicles to make them night-fighting capable".
is this about BMPs or something else?
======
DEFENCE ACQUISITION COUNCIL CLEARS ARMOURED VEHICLE UPGRADE

New Delhi: The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) chaired by Defence Minister Arun Jaitley on Saturday cleared a Rs 2,400-crore proposal to upgrade armoured vehicles to make them night-fighting capable.

A Ministry source said the DAC cleared the upgradation and modernisation of armoured fighting vehicles under the "Buy Indian category".

"The Ordnance Factory at Medak will provide these upgrades to render the armoured vehicles night-fighting capable and achieve better accuracy," the source said.

The DAC also cleared a carrier command post tracked vehicle for technical control of artillery fire at a cost of Rs 406 crore.

These vehicles will also be procured from Ordnance factory Medak.

The DAC also reviewed the status and progress of other procurement schemes and accorded directions to ensure smooth progress for these capital acquisition process, the source added.

http://www.btvi.in/article/read/new...ition-council-clears-armoured-vehicle-upgrade

that wheel configuration didnt suit Man, Tata or Tatra 12x12, only suited with Chini trucks & Maz models,

front 3 back 3 --OOO--OOO--
Agreed, the OOO--OOO-- arrangement is quite unique and certainly unlike ANYTHING we have seen in India thus far, the only other place I can find it is, as you point out, with Chinese and Russian TELs.

BMP-2 upgrade ..

==================================================

kurup

@Kunal Biswas

I asked about that truck in BR and reply I got was that it was a MAN truck that was trialled against TATRA but failed to become the L1 contender .

But the funny thing is there is not even a single picture of a MAN 12X12 truck .... o_O

I asked about that truck in BR and reply I got was that it was a MAN truck that was trialled against TATRA but failed to become the L1 contender .

But the funny thing is there is not even a single picture of a MAN 12X12 truck .... o_O
LOL, BR "experts" think they know it all, please ask them to provide evidence of a MAN 12x12 vehicle even existing!

Personally, think it's a DRDO design, dont know the production agency, I am going to guess one of the big auto companies.

There is a circular logo, which I think is the round DRDO one.

You can see the same on Kestrel.

Personally, think it's a DRDO design, dont know the production agency, I am going to guess one of the big auto companies.

There is a circular logo, which I think is the round DRDO one.

You can see the same on Kestrel.
Great spot! Certainly looks like the DRDO emblem (blue ring around the outside, white in the centre), the fact that I haven't seen any such vehicle from any of the supposed foreign OEMs that some are suggesting makes it pretty clear that this is a new vehicle.

India may sue Polish firm over armored recovery vehicle contract
By: Vivek Raghuvanshi, June 16, 2017 (Photo Credit: Raveendran/AFP via Getty Images)
NEW DELHI — The Indian government may file a lawsuit against Polski Holding Obronny of Poland, formerly known as Bumar, for allegedly not honoring a contract to supply full technology transfer for key systems of armored recovery vehicles, or ARV, to be manufactured in India by state-owned Bharat Earth Movers Limited for the Indian Army.

“Despite an undersigned contract [worth] $275 million signed in January 2012 for supply of 204 ARVs, the Polish company has ... not given critical technology transfer for ARVs to be manufactured by BEML in India. The Polish company also refused to open performance bank guarantee of $100 million for technology transfer of critical systems for ARVs, and despite several reminders, PHO has refused to honor its commitment," according to an Indian Ministry of Defence official, who spoke to Defense News on condition of anonymity.

“India is now actively pursuing to file a lawsuit again PHO for not honoring [its] commitment, and [the Indian] government will now recover liquidity damages,” the MoD source added.

BEML bagged an order from the MoD in November 2011 to produce 204 ARVs with full technology transfer from PHO for the Indian Army’s Russian-made T-72 main battle tanks.

Under the contract, 50 percent of the ARV was to be homemade by BEML, and PHO was to provide full critical technology transfer to crucial subsystems, according to a BEML executive, who spoke on condition of anonymity. “We are now actively seeking other alternatives to complete this program”.

Per the contract, each ARV would cost $1.4 million and be supplied within three years. The currently Army faces an acute shortages of ARVs, an Army official said.

PHO, then Bumar, and BEML entered into an agreement in 2003 and have since been producing ARVs for the Indian Army. The November 2011 contract was a repeat order.

The MoD did not float a global tender for ARVs, but rather nominated BEML and Bumar for the program since it was a repeat order, the MoD source said.

The Army uses ARVs for recovery and repair of broken-down T-72 tanks and BMP-1 and -2 infantry combat vehicles.

BEML-built ARVs are based on Russian-made T-72 tank hulls, armed with a 12.7mm machine gun and equipped with a crane able to lift up to 15 tons.
http://www.defensenews.com/articles/india-may-sue-polish-firm-over-armored-recovery-vehicle-contract

Wowzeee!!! 40,000 crores directly under the control of IA..
IA better not screw this up. if they do , no point in blaming politicians for getting involved in defence procurements in the future.
==================

New Delhi empowers IA to procure 'critical' ammunition and spares

India's federal government has financially empowered the Indian Army (IA) to directly acquire 'critical' ammunition and spares for varied weapon systems, thus allowing the service to circumvent time-consuming ministry of defence (MoD) procurement procedures.

In early July New Delhi authorised the IA's vice chief of staff to procure 46 types of ammunition, as well as spares for 10 weapon systems and related kit, to enable the army to maintain combat readiness for a "short, intense war" of 10–15 days, official sources told Jane's .

Under the new guidelines, the IA will no longer be required to process these requirements – which are estimated to cost approximately INR400 billion (USD6.25 billion) – via the MoD's Defence Acquisition Council, which entails a complex and lengthy process.

http://www.janes.com/article/72274/new-delhi-empowers-ia-to-procure-critical-ammunition-and-spares