Imported Single Engine Fighter Jet Contest

Tarun Kumar

how F-16 Obsolete

That to a F-16 blk 70

Look at its AESA Apg 83

View attachment 16934
View attachment 16935

I think F-16 blk 70 potent system to counter army Of PLAAF 4th generation might serving them next 30 years

Who told Rafale is not coming after Single engine tender there will be another RFP for Twin engine

I am all for LCA as long as it comes, otherwise .. it is toast. I think that is how market economics work and that is how they should work. So, if HAL is able to provide the necessary platform, fair enough, otherwise LCA TD (Tech Development Program) will give spin offs for other projects ... LCA was envisaged as a Tech Developer. Same as Agni was Agni IRBM TD, Prithvi was SRBM TD, Trishul TD, Akash TD and Nag TD

They all are classified as Project ______ not as platforms. Hence, LCA is project, Tejas one aspect of the same.
If it is at a good price with no requirement of CSMOA or BECA then we must go for it to fill our squad strength. Otherwise I believe buy few more squads of Su30MKI and 2-3 squads of Mig 29 while wait for right time to go for 200-250 MII of rafale. We also cannot delay S400 purchase any longer. That is faaar more important than F16

mavles ihctep

Even if Swift It not feasible To your requirements And needs

F-16 are much better and Mature platform than LCA .Numbers speaks for itself 4500

Not an aircraft Which rejected numerous times by its primary customer IAF

And Project itself is hanging around area of uncertainty

Look I take LCA as a Whole project Not aircraft because currently its Not what we want Today Certainly nt in this form but Technically What we learn from this project Paves the way of future Products like Amca & FGFA

As of now it seems the reality is that either F16 or Gripen in a very good amount of probability , can happen.

1. In case of F16 , we are dealing with only 1 nation , ie USA. With Gripen , we are dealing with much of Europe, Brazil, USA , UK , all of them who have different laws as to how to act in case a customer is at war. Further India does not enjoy best of the relations with all these plethora of nations.

2. F16 are here for the next 30 years. USA is now trying to extend its service till 2048, and it still is getting export orders. And it is a capable platform, meaning it has the probability of more export too.(Look At how We stretched Migs and Jaguars )

3.It is a proven platform and more capable one to one against Gripen NG.

4. IAF knows F16 inside out at least 100 times more than it knows Gripen.

5. LM.can deliver 24-26 F16s by 2022, when SAAB will be working only to start the production of Gripen NG.

Even with 10 squads of F-16/Gripen and 10 squads of Rafale, IAF still needs 20 squadrons by 2032. And from 2032-2042, IAF will need another 10 squadrons to replace old jets. So the requirements are so high that even Gripen and Rafale cannot fulfill numbers.

If you recall, I used to talk about a 3rd MMRCA also.
10 squadrons of rafale :rofl:.Will you make squadrons with only 3 rafales per squadron

Aghore_King

Beta Hawk is trainer,you can't take it to battle. Of course you can use it as a close air support,that too if the enemy didn't have man portable SAM's.
Bhaiya, I know it is a trainer but can't we modify it to carry lightweight weapons such a compact ohms..

Prasun sengupta is suggesting new Hal bae modified hawk advanced jet which can be procured at cheap cost..
It will not replace anything... not even mig 21 bis.....

Has shorter range, payload than Mig 27...

Has no place in our war doctrine...

Might be used for LIFT, but we have enough hawks to take care of LIFT.

how F-16 Obsolete

That to a F-16 blk 70

Look at its AESA Apg 83

View attachment 16934
View attachment 16935

I think F-16 blk 70 potent system to counter army Of PLAAF 4th generation might serving them next 30 years

Who told Rafale is not coming after Single engine tender there will be another RFP for Twin engine

I am all for LCA as long as it comes, otherwise .. it is toast. I think that is how market economics work and that is how they should work. So, if HAL is able to provide the necessary platform, fair enough, otherwise LCA TD (Tech Development Program) will give spin offs for other projects ... LCA was envisaged as a Tech Developer. Same as Agni was Agni IRBM TD, Prithvi was SRBM TD, Trishul TD, Akash TD and Nag TD

They all are classified as Project ______ not as platforms. Hence, LCA is project, Tejas one aspect of the same.
You cannot counter 5th gen with a 4th gen.

To counter 5th gen, we need infrastructure and planes....to my knowledge may be Russia has infrastructure to counter but no 5th gen figters....well, Russia gets them eventually....

Thus I rest my case

Krusty

Can someone tell me how many worldwide orders are expected to be fulfilled by this production line?

I read the LM was about to shutdown its last F16 line in Texas because of lack of sufficient orders.

Butter Chicken

Can someone tell me how many worldwide orders are expected to be fulfilled by this production line?

I read the LM was about to shutdown its last F16 line in Texas because of lack of sufficient orders.
No orders,there are 3200 F-16's in the world and with F-35s coming,many countries will buy the old F-16s.No one wants to buy new ones

Filtercoffee

No Its To slow To Replace depleting Numbers And No way It can replace Mig-27 Mig-23

My Point Is Fact you ever visited HAL hanger To do you know how skilled they are ??

LCA is Far from being A potent platform in current stage

LCA MK1A is not even picture yet hell there not even prototype And We all Know how good HAl babus good at shifting dead lines And putting carrot out
I am highlighting the LCA project. :india2:

Akshay Fenix

I am highlighting the LCA project. :india2:
Doesn't matter what you do. HAL will take its sweet time making Tejas, later on they will do the same with AMCA as well and then Patriots will blame IAF and government for not selecting a paper plane. Even 16 years after the first prototype was flown the plane is still not ready for mass production.
FOC was supposed to be achieved in mid 2015 itself but...
Problem is the PSUs have become fat and lazy feeding on indian tax payers money.

you wil be surprised how many "emnemy countries " both operate the F-16s

Akshay Fenix

F-16: What it takes to build this fighter plane in India

Following up on news of India’s Tata Advanced Systems Limited (TASL) signing an agreement with US aircraft maker Lockheed Martin confirming the companies’ intent to set up a joint production facility for F-16 Block 70 fighter planes in India, we spoke to F-16 experts at Lockheed Martin in the US to understand the nuts and bolts of what it would take to build this fighter aircraft in India.

John Losinger from Lockheed’s Integrated Fighter Group ( F-16, F-22, T-50, F-2) in Texas and Abhay Paranjape, Executive Director of International Business Development at the company spoke with Firstpost, New York on everything from the production line to the typical employment generation and gestation period in the making of these fighter jets which could potentially lead to “thousands of jobs”.

Firstpost: Break it down for us, what does it take to build an F-16 in India along with a local partner?

Lockheed: The F16, as with other aircraft, has a huge supply chain. We have pieces and components coming in from multiple companies - think of it as similar to a car’s supply chain. Add to this a workforce that’s already trained and they’re able to execute in total sync with the supply chain. We need to get all of the “long lead” items in, do the final assembly and check and delivery - so each plane takes 3 to 4 years.Having said that, a company that’s starting from scratch will have to come up on a learning curve. In the beginning, they might take longer and that is natural. We’ve done this kind of work in the past in multiple countries. So we would like to start in India with a company that can come here, learn from us and go back and start assembly, then go into component production and then into detailed assemblies. We take a crawl-walk-run approach. The number of jobs will be in the thousands.

FP: Where do you start, what’s the first thing you would have to do?
Lockheed: In the end, this will be a government to government agreement. The first several aircraft will be delivered from the US production line. It starts off with getting the user (say, Indian Air Force) to become familiar with the aircraft, figure out if there are any special systems that need to be going on to that aircraft…and simultaneously training the right set of people, do the tech transfer, tooling set-up, they will need the right sort of buildings, runway facilities so there is a seamless transition from aircraft being delivered from the US to aircraft being delivered from India. So we would have people from the US in India and vice versa.
You may have heard the term transfer of technology (in the context of the recent tweaks in India’s defense procurement) - there is a lot of production technology that has to be learnt. Building fighter aircraft is a highly specialised skill set - very different from manufacturing cars or even helicopters which a company like TASL may have some experience with.

FP: Is it true that no new F16 orders are scheduled beyond this year from the US?

Lockheed: That’s right.

FP: What about from outside the US?

Lockheed: We have international sales and that’s pretty much what we’ve been doing ever since the early 2000s. The F16 is operated in more than 26-27 countries.

FP: We hear that America is moving on from the F-16 to the F-35, is that right?

Lockheed: We see a large market for F16s still. The US airforce will continue to operate their existing F16s for the next 30 years or so. India’s advertised needs have been more than a 100 aircraft. We are engaged in multiple conversations right now. For any partner who produces this aircraft, the market for export, parts, spares, support, after-sales, modifications and upgrades - sustainment as we call it…is huge. A 100 or so aircraft in not the business case, its the ecosystem of maintenance and upgrades that makes sense. You mentioned the Block 70, in future there will be other blocks. We expect the F16 to continue to operate for the next 30 to 40 years.

FP: Is it true that your Texas assembly line may shut down if there are no further orders?

Lockheed: That’s right. We will be delivering the last of the orders later this year and transition the production facility to Greenville, South Carolina. The existing production facility is being ever more used by F35s and our facility in Greenville has the production capacity and the people to fulfill near term production orders.

FP:What happens to the people working on Texas assembly line? Do they lose their jobs?

Lockheed: Some of those folks have chosen to retire and some have moved to F35 production. Workforce anywhere is commensurate with production rate, so it’s a relatively small workforce.

FP:How many people?

Lockheed: It’s less than 200 folks and that number has slowly but surely been decreasing as we move towards more F35 production.

FP: So, if you have less than 200 people here, how does a JV translate to 1000s of jobs in India?

Lockheed: What John’s talking about is just the final assembly. We are not going into India with just the final assembly. We are looking at producing majority of the aircraft in India. If you take our phased approach, we will start with final assembly first and that will take a few hundred people. But we are looking at production, components and assembly all moving to India, the jobs will be a lot more. The workforce requirement is commensurate with the production rate, so it depends on the order size.

FP: What’s the org structure like for building an F16 - starting from the most junior staff?

Lockheed: Majority of them would be skilled technicians. They would have to be trained to work on aircraft systems.

FP: Do they have to be engineers?

Lockheed: No, I mean people who have been trained through an ITI or equivalent technical training institution with a diploma. That’s a large amount of the workforce and it’s pretty similar in the US also. Then you need entry level engineers, designers, supply chain managers, software engineers, hardware engineers, supply chain integrators, business people - the whole spectrum. You also need skilled technicians and engineers for testing the systems, the worthiness of the aircraft itself. You start with technician level and then you have people at all of these levels. You would need systems engineers and industrial engineers who understand process flow and production line - so various kinds of engineers at every level and business managers who can understand both the flow of equipment and flow of money. This is like bringing up a whole new industry. Working with a company like Tata and TASL means they already have a lot of the processes understood which is a big benefit.

FP: Saab Gripen is also in contention…

Lockheed: We don’t want to get into that - it’s like comparing cars. All we’ll say is that the number of countries in which we operate, the number of planes we have sold, air-to-air and air-to-ground success - your compare it to any other aircraft, not just the Gripen, and we win hands down. This is a constantly evolving aircraft system, it has been widely successful and that’s why interest is continuing. There are 3200 operational F16s today in the world flying with 25 customers. Few customers have stopped operating them but the deep and wide supply chain ecosystem ensures that upgrades are continuously happening. The US Air force has not bought F16s since the late 1990s but they are keen to extend the life of the existing fleet. The US Air Force, although it is recapitalisting its fleet with the F35, the F-16s will continue for a few decades at least.

FP: Is the F35 operational?

Lockheed: Yes, the F-35 is operational and they are actually deploying it to bases around the world. We have some international orders - it’s an initial aircraft but not an operational fleet - just one or two.

http://www.firstpost.com/world/f-16...-to-build-this-warplane-in-india-3732681.html

No orders,there are 3200 F-16's in the world and with F-35s coming,many countries will buy the old F-16s.No one wants to buy new ones
that means TATA can earn a very good amount by upgrading them .

Butter Chicken

there are more than 4600 f-16 sold ...........that means TATA can earn a very good amount by upgrading them .
Many countries are licensed to upgrade F-16s like Turkey,Belgium etc....Many of them produce spares too

yup but TATA would do it in cheaper rate .........and this plant is the biggest .
only Anti-India countries Like pakistan would choose turkey .

AmoghaVarsha

A few years back Tata Motors was in loss, and they wanted to sell of their passenger car div, They approached Ford, and Ford almost insulted Tata saying something like " why do something when you dont know how to handle it ..." Tata left the meeting, and later they became stronger and took the loss making Jaguar and Landrover brands from Ford, and in which Ford thanked Tata for saving their bacon and Tata turned these brands around.

LM is purely in defence where as Tata is in many things and also defence,
That story is from 2000.Tata group beats LM hands down in terms of revenue market cap.etc.So if anyone thinks LM will roughshod TaTa they are mistaken.

The coming business will be,

Greece, on Tuesday decided to upgrade their existing F-16 fleet to the Viper variant costing anywhere from $1.7 to $2 billion. Taiwan have also initiated upgrading the Republic of China Air Force’s (ROCAF) 144 F-16A/B Block-20 multi-role fighter aircraft to F-16V-standards in January this year.
Close to 500 F-16s from Taiwan, South Korea, Singapore, Greece, Turkey and Egypt are in line to the F-16 upgrade program. Pakistan is also in talks with Turkey to upgrade its 74 F-16s although it is not known as to whether they are seeking an upgrade to F-16V versions.
So we don't know how many will be upgraded in Indian units. We have to look into all details before committing to the deal.

This from another report quoting an LM official,
One argument to be made was that moving to India would preserve some component production in the United States. "Twenty-five percent of something is better than zero percent of nothing," the person said.
So if we don't buy the planes, they are going to have zero business there. May be our guys can leverage it for our benefit.

And another report says that, they will deliver the first batch of some 30-40 from their US production units. Later batches will be made in India.

Filtercoffee

I still feel they should offer us F - 35 production lines aswell. To make it even more apparent.

WARREN SS

You cannot counter 5th gen with a 4th gen.

To counter 5th gen, we need infrastructure and planes....to my knowledge may be Russia has infrastructure to counter but no 5th gen figters....well, Russia gets them eventually....

Thus I rest my case
Lol Are J10,J-11,J-15,J-16,Su-30MKK ,Su-35 are are 5th generation ??? combine there Numbers there close To 800-900 in PLAAF inventory Which Serve their inventory next 3 decades

Lol Why HAL needed A absolute 4 th gen LCA then

What AMCA & FGFA for then ??