My fear is genuine, because it's acknowledge around the world about how dirty US or even Russians can be, not to mention any arms seller. Be it if they offered a few hundred tons piece of composite and alloy flying in the sky.
Don't forget that in the 1971 war, it was Chuck Yager who was training PAF pilots but saw there ass kicked because PAF fighter pilots in there hoe-show of mardangi deviated form actual missions and focused a lot on dogfights. FYI it was Nixon who ordered the 74 task force pacific fleet led by USS Enterprise to be parked near bay of Bengal. Yes it was cold war, but it was the Nixon and I quote said "I would like to piss over Indians even when the war is over". Thankfully he got his own dosage of "Watergate" medicine.
And thank goodness, PAF deviated form there actual missions, else IAF arses would've been kicked.
Yes we buy parts from the US and even transport planes, but we never bought a fully fledged fighter jet... like ever, until recently some fake news has been circulated by the PR machine of you know "the one who cannot be named" , why do you think we never bought fighter jets, that because once we do, we will be shackled into an "ecosystem" of NATO weaponry. It's like Apple shoving there pathetic phones without headphone jacks.
Pause for a moment and think, aren't we indoctrinated into having NATO weaponry, considering we are among few nations who operate different type of jets. Imagine buying only there bombs and missiles onboard F35, now I know we also do with MKI but If you are serious than you already know that air launched brahmos missile to be retrofitted over an MKI, would not have been possible as US won't have allowed us to do that. At least our Jugaad taught our DRDO scientist to do something rather than being pushed for JASSM.
Hate to break it to you, but I've my source who knows we won't accept F35, because we don't want our Tejas or AMCA program to be sabotaged.
Now I am not against F35, I am against a slew of crap which will be shoved to Indian Taxpayers like me. F35 requires specific shelters, ground support team not to mention the NATO standard logistics code and quality checks etc etc. Imagine just the G&A cost just to keep the hot air blowing out of that jet.
Right now the PR machine makes it look like everything is under cost control, but who the F.. guarantees if the prices for just the weaponry and spare parts including G&A cost would sore up. Take the case for Rafale ... inflation did affected the price by 300%.
We have Tejas to replace Mig 21s and Rafles to Jags, Mirage is doing alright and MKI will still lead the backbone, and we have the option to upgrade them to 35S. All these jets will be enough to hold us until 2020. then we can push in Tejas Mk2s, AMCA or FGFA into the picture too. The future is still bright without F35s in our arsenal.
Look bhai, there are several key criteria for me that the US would have to meet to win the F-35 deal:
* Cancellation of FGFA from russia
* some basic TOT let's say 25%
* Integration of local weapons like Garuthma 1000 kg Glide bomb, Astra Mk-2, SAAW, Guide HSLDs, DRDO's ARM, Nirbhay etc. should be possible since Israel & Eu customer have the choice of this. Offcourse we'd have to pay for this integration much like we do for the Rafale.
* Final assembly at an Indian line
*Joint development & eventual trickling of key tech from the F-35 to AMCA.
For this kind of discussion, we have a huge leverage with a need of 114 aircraft for IAF + 57 for IN: a deal worth well over $30 Billion.
Recent US buys are 12 C-130Js primarily to be used for SF operations during combat (SF are stregic assets), C-17s to be used as HLTs during war time, 12 P-8Is on order with additional orders of 12 to 24 expected over time (this is the primary air based sub hunter and key strategic asset of the IN meant to track and kill Puki & Chini subs which IMO pose a greater threat than their AF assets), 22+6 Apaches on order with 39+ more to be ordered eventually for IA, 15 Chinooks on order with potentially + 7 more in options (I expect these options to be executed eventually). We could be looking at 100+ S-70 since it already outclassed it's competion in trials. By the way for none of these platforms we only use Indian made IFFs, Datalinks, Comms etc. Also there should be no issues for integration of some Indian weapons on the P-8I (Nirbhay, DRDO ARM), Apaches (Helina)
People keep saying that buying a fighter is different to buy such these other things. I beg to differ. In a war all such assets play a key role & are equally important. P-8I are key in keeping the air and water around IOR clear, they are the best chance IN has against Chini & Puki subs which are sigficant number in total. Apaches will be used in the IAF as Command & Control assets and as guardians of the Strike corps during their deep runs behind enemy lines.
Now I believe is a good time for India/US relations to go further, however that will depend on the outcome of this discussion. If the US refuses the basics, well then no deal.