DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

blueblood

DRDO Clarifies on Building Rs 5-crore Silver-plated Rath | idrw.org

Recent reports about RATH reveal how crooked our defence journos are. In a response to RTI query the guy in charge of "RATH" project has said DRDO spending for the project was just 17 lakhs not crores as the lies by DDM folks!!! And even if the RATH was not built they would have to build the tech which recharges the battery of the RATH while going downhill has important defence applications.

So the project is not hobby hour as fake defence journos would like us to believe!!!
So when is the induction ceremony in IA.:p

All DRDO and PSU folks are most hardworking, intelligent and efficient people... Happy now!!! :rolleyes:

Put all the blame in Indian forces highlighting this CAG report everytime. Yes that report highlighted that there is something wrong in evaluation process of Arjun and it was biased(and all disapprove of that) but that does not prove DRDO efficiency is up to the par. Then you are saying people who have worked there are also wrong ..... DRDO is the sacred cow and can/will do nothing wrong and Parikkar or anyone talking otherwise are foolish, Right??? :p.

Some if I am Qualcomm employee i shouldn't know what mediatek featured product is offering compared to mine??? Wow great engineering and research...! :taunt:
Let an Anthony come and ruin 10-20 more years... we deserve this kind of people only. :laugh:

You look no further than CAG report on Army's dubious double standards regarding Arjun -T-90 trial to know, "How defence forces are communicating with DRDO". DRDO develops system according to the GSQR and ASR from army and air force. Some body is not fit t be a defence minister of the country if he doesn't know this fact. No gyan will blossom on DM's head by asking these questions in def expos. I have repeatedly seen crooked defence reporting in TOI, so this may either be all journo's "vision" about the events happened or as usual a few innocuous questions from DM to DRDO guys at the stall were twisted to give readers the effect of DM down talking DRDO. It is not unusual for TOI guys to do this routine regularly.

I have seen thousands of posts in various forums claiming ,"I have a good friend who worked or a DRDO contraactor, and he says that DRDO is no good." Please avoid these types of posts. You can ask LM or SAAB employee or contractor and get a not so flattering view about things going on there too. Info like this is unreliable and often lead to tons of trolling.

Of late DRDO products are getting things delivered. No doubt about it. From Nirbhay, Akash, Arjun, Tejas Varunastra and so many other things are invariably proving their worth repeatedly and are getting close to global bench marks.

While no harm is done by Parrikar in being proactive, You don't have to rely on two bit TOI reporters who don't know anything about defence matters to know that.It is not the job of DRDO guy in the defence expo to state which system in PAF is equivalent to Akash. parrikar can get a clear answer by asking it to IAF not DRDO guys working on Akash.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
All DRDO and PSU folks are most hardworking, intelligent and efficient people... Happy now!!! :rolleyes:

Put all the blame in Indian forces highlighting this CAG report everytime. Yes that report highlighted that there is something wrong in evaluation process of Arjun and it was biased(and all disapprove of that) but that does not prove DRDO efficiency is up to the par. Then you are saying people who have worked there are also wrong ..... DRDO is the sacred cow and can/will do nothing wrong and Parikkar or anyone talking otherwise are foolish, Right??? :p.

Some if I am Qualcomm employee i shouldn't know what mediatek featured product is offering compared to mine??? Wow great engineering and research...! :taunt:
Let an Anthony come and ruin 10-20 more years... we deserve this kind of people only. :laugh:
Why all this rhona dhona?

One airforce chief was said to be in favour of scuttling Akash for an israeli system.

I have seen a legion of IAF personnel lying through their teeth, repeatedly stating "tejas is inferior to Mig-21 , and one Matheswaran in particular went further and suggested we close the program!!!". Now IAF chief Aroop raha is saying tejas is a welcome addition to our fighting force!!

If not for navy there will be no tejas mk2 program and IAF would have closed the door on tejas mk1 saying it is a tech demo like Thrisul failing to achieve the required parameters!!!

Only after navy put the 900 cr funding for tejas mk2 , did IAF reluctantly agreed to back the program with same amount. Till that day IAF did not even part with a single rupee for tejas program.

One army brigadier was under investigation for asking bribe in LUH deal(the entire deal was cancelled because of the controversy!!!) Another IAF chief is under investigation for Agusta westland scam!!! SO grass in not green on the other side as well..

COuntless number of Army top guns have repeatedly lied that Arjun's main drawback is its 60 ton weight!!!, faking ignorance of the fact that Arjun was made as per their safe ammo compartment, 4 men crew GSQR which was revised upward five times till date,( if we take into account mk2, ) and there is no way in the world it can weigh lesser.

With accusations by Minister of state defence himself , that some army personnel were sabotaging Arjun tanks on trial DRDO has to install a black box!!!

No one denies there are delays , internal politics and shortfalls in DRDO. BUt that doesn't mean you can paint an entire organization black with a single statement,"I have a friend , who is a contractor in DRDO, and DRDO is waste of time and money". You will never reveal who this friend is and it is not a decent way to score a point.

Anyway i dont want to drag it further.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
So when is the induction ceremony in IA.:p
Read the report first , DRDO needs the charging tech developed for Lithium -Ion battery of the Rath, not the RATH itself, thats why it spent 17 lakhs on it. Our bollywood beat reporters moonlighting as defence reporters have lied as usual that DRDO spent crores and crores on a Hindu RATH giving it a communal colour. I even read another half baked sickular writing that will DRDO develop the rath for a church or mosque. Of the 5 crores spent on rath the rest 4.83 crores were donations from devotees not govt money.And no one knows who did the fabrication work for the 4.87 crored DRDO or somenone else!!! DRDO spent only 17 lakh on the charging tech for li-ion battery that will be needed for our defence forces also.

For more than a month some import lobby "deaf"ence journos cried in unison that DRDO sent a full fledged Prahar missiel system to a korean expo via hongKong and through a chinese agent. Due to transhipment delays the "live missile system " was stuck in a HongKong port and it was a serious breach. later it turned out that it was a mere mock up also.

All this arguments even if true proves corruption in defence equipment acquisition by army forces and speaks nothing about efficiency of PSU's/DRDO overall. :namaste:

Almost everyone over here must be having some relative or the other working in some "sarkari" naukri and know what are the ground realities there. :taunt: I am not saying that all people/teams working in DRDO are bad but there are inherent flaws because of no sense of competition and urgency... denying this fact about DRDO/PSU's is just like living in denial(just like Paki's denying there role in terrorism and blaming everthing on India, US, Israel etc...).

When you don't even acknowledge basic flaws, doors to improvement are closed forever. Even I don't want to stress on this topic any further. If you believe that all is good in government sector than it is your problem. And again I will repeat this is product development; you need to know where your product stands in market.:cool2:

Why all this rhona dhona?

One airforce chief was said to be in favour of scuttling Akash for an israeli system.

I have seen a legion of IAF personnel lying through their teeth, repeatedly stating "tejas is inferior to Mig-21 , and one Matheswaran in particular went further and suggested we close the program!!!". Now IAF chief Aroop raha is saying tejas is a welcome addition to our fighting force!!

If not for navy there will be no tejas mk2 program and IAF would have closed the door on tejas mk1 saying it is a tech demo like Thrisul failing to achieve the required parameters!!!

Only after navy put the 900 cr funding for tejas mk2 , did IAF reluctantly agreed to back the program with same amount. Till that day IAF did not even part with a single rupee for tejas program.

One army brigadier was under investigation for asking bribe in LUH deal(the entire deal was cancelled because of the controversy!!!) Another IAF chief is under investigation for Agusta westland scam!!! SO grass in not green on the other side as well..

COuntless number of Army top guns have repeatedly lied that Arjun's main drawback is its 60 ton weight!!!, faking ignorance of the fact that Arjun was made as per their safe ammo compartment, 4 men crew GSQR which was revised upward five times till date,( if we take into account mk2, ) and there is no way in the world it can weigh lesser.

With accusations by Minister of state defence himself , that some army personnel were sabotaging Arjun tanks on trial DRDO has to install a black box!!!

No one denies there are delays , internal politics and shortfalls in DRDO. BUt that doesn't mean you can paint an entire organization black with a single statement,"I have a friend , who is a contractor in DRDO, and DRDO is waste of time and money". You will never reveal who this friend is and it is not a decent way to score a point.

Anyway i dont want to drag it further.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
All this arguments even if true proves corruption in defence equipment acquisition by army forces and speaks nothing about efficiency of PSU's/DRDO overall. :namaste:

Almost everyone over here must be having some relative or the other working in some "sarkari" naukri and know what are the ground realities there. :taunt: I am not saying that all people/teams working in DRDO are bad but there are inherent flaws because of no sense of competition and urgency... denying this fact about DRDO/PSU's is just like living in denial(just like Paki's denying there role in terrorism and blaming everthing on India, US, Israel etc...).

When you don't even acknowledge basic flaws, doors to improvement are closed forever. Even I don't want to stress on this topic any further. If you believe that all is good in government sector than it is your problem. And again I will repeat this is product development; you need to know where your product stands in market.:cool2:
Nobody says there are no corruption issues in DRDO .

Problem is whitewashing DRDO using a few corruption issues and failures like you did by saying ,"I have a friend who is a contractor in DRDO, and DRDO sucks".

Just read the controversy behind Avinash chander's back dated sacking letter to AGNI mission head, and accusations that Avinash chander promoted tessy thomas , the junior most , and even her ex-navy husband was given a position of prominence , which was denied before during V.K. Saraswath's regime.

So any large organization whether it is private or govt will have parts that are good and bad, corruption issues and performance issues al ong with strong plus and minus points.

So my writings here are based on open source info only ,

you are absolutely right.. DRDO and govt PSU's are the best and the most efficient in the world. :laugh:

You are talking something about corruption of some DRDO official which I have not mentioned in any of my post. If you are happy with working of govt PSU's god bless you. :lol:

Nobody says there are no corruption issues in DRDO .

Problem is whitewashing DRDO using a few corruption issues and failures like you did by saying ,"I have a friend who is a contractor in DRDO, and DRDO sucks".

Just read the controversy behind Avinash chander's back dated sacking letter to AGNI mission head, and accusations that Avinash chander promoted tessy thomas , the junior most , and even her ex-navy husband was given a position of prominence , which was denied before during V.K. Saraswath's regime.

So any large organization whether it is private or govt will have parts that are good and bad, corruption issues and performance issues al ong with strong plus and minus points.

So my writings here are based on open source info only ,

ersakthivel

Brilliance
you are absolutely right.. DRDO and govt PSU's are the best and the most efficient in the world. :laugh:

You are talking something about corruption of some DRDO official which I have not mentioned in any of my post. If you are happy with working of govt PSU's god bless you. :lol:

What I said was there are good things and big things in any org, DRDO or something else.

No point in using one's friends's experience to get into conclusion about the whole of DRDO.

Is that clear?

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
Snecma, HAL In Joint Venture To Manufacture Rafale M88 Engine Parts

Snecma (Safran) and Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. (HAL) have signed an MoU for the production of aero-engine parts for Rafale's M88 engine. The Joint Venture MoU was signed by Bruno Durand, Vice President for Industrial Operations and Supply Chain of Snecma and Arunachalam Muthukumaraswami, General Manager of the Engine Division of HAL. The proposed joint venture will initially focus on the manufacture of high-tech parts for the Dassault Rafale's Snecma M88 engine, then subsequently contribute to other major aerospace projects of HAL & Snecma, in India and worldwide. Spanning over 30,000 square meters, the proposed joint venture's new plant is expected to benefit from substantial investment by the two partners, providing it with machinery and equipment. Snecma manufactures the M53 engines powering the Mirage 2000H "Vajra" fighters operated by the Indian Air Force. "This new partnership clearly reflects the close relationship established over many years between Snecma, our parent Safran and the Indian aerospace industry," said Pierre Fabre, Chairman and CEO of Snecma.
Snecma, HAL In Joint Venture To Manufacture Rafale M88 Engine Parts

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
Sagem, HAL Sign Technology Transfer Agreement For SIGMA 95 Laser Gyro Navigation Systems

Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd (HAL) has signed a technology transfer agreement with Sagem (Safran) to manufacture and maintenance of Sagem's SIGMA 95 laser gyro navigation systems. According to the agreement, HAL will be able to produce SIGMA 95 units for the Indian air force, and also provide level 3 front line maintenance. Sigma 95 is an autonomous, hybrid laser gyro inertial/GPS- Glonass navigation system, developed for fixed and rotary- wing combat aircraft. It stands up to severe environments, and gives military aircraft a high degree of navigation precision and operational flexibility, thus supporting the success of even the most demanding missions, including in areas without GPS signals. Sagem has further consolidated its partnership with the Indian aerospace industry through this agreement. Several hundred combat aircraft deployed by the Indian Air Force and Navy are already fitted with Sagem's laser gyro navigation systems, including the Hawk, Jaguar, Tejas, MiG-29 and -27 and Su-30. Sagem's laser gyro navigation systems are produced in the company's Montluçon plant in the Auvergne region of south-central France. They are used on the latest military aircraft in France and worldwide, including the Dassault Rafale and Mirage 2000 fighters, Airbus A400M Atlas transport, and the Airbus Helicopters NH90 and EC725 Caracal helicopters, transport and special forces versions. GPS (Global Positioning System) and Glonass (GLObal'naya NAvigatsionnaya Sputnikovaya Sistema) are the satellite positioning systems deployed by the U.S. and Russia, respectively.
Sagem, HAL Sign Technology Transfer Agreement For SIGMA 95 Laser Gyro Navigation Systems

karn

So DRDO can design laser gyros for ballistic missiles but gyros for aircraft are an imported design ...

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
HAL Unveils Engine For Trainers, Biz Jets

March 7, 2015: HAL's ambitions of entering the aircraft engine space in a meaningful manner have become clear now. While the development of high performance combat aircraft engines are being left to the DRDO's GTRE and its international partners, HAL has unveiled the HTFE-25 (Hindustan Turbofan Engine 25) that will be pitched to power trainer aircraft and business jets in the twin engine configuration. The 25 kN turbofan engine, slim in design, is 1,730mm long, 590mm in diameter and weighs 350 kg. The HTFE-25 is a low bypass twin spool mixed flow turbofan engine with wide chord fan blades, sports a high efficiency compressor and advanced combustor. The engine is controlled by full authority digital engine control (FADEC). The medium thrust engine could be pitched also for unmanned air systems of the future. The HTFE-25 is being developed as a fully in-house effort funded through internal accruals. HAL projects that the engine could be ready for operational service by 2018. The company has already begin testing waters abroad and in India for possible utilisation of the 25 kN engine, including with private players looking to build aircraft in the country.
HAL Unveils Engine For Trainers Biz Jets - SP’s Exculsive

Abhi9

[PDF]http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/pub/newsletter/2015/apr_15.pdf[/PDF]

Laser Science and Technology Centre (LASTEC), Delhi, has designed and developedan Optical Target Locater (OTL), a laser-based portable surveillance device, for detection of passive oractive optical threats. The system functions on the cat's eye effect. Any optical system when illuminated by a laser beam returns some back-scattered energy. This retro reflected energy helps in locating optical targets against a static background. The system is an important tool for detection of any active or passive surveillance device using the retro reflected signal from their front end optics. Any surveillance device with front-end optics and a sensor at the focal plane, whether biological, i.e., eye, or passive sensors like binoculars, day sightor night vision device (NVD), or electronic sensorsas in Laser Range Finders (LRFs) can be detected by this approach. The threat could be in terms of a sniper equipped with a day sight or a NVD, or any
other optical/electro optical surveillance device, viz., binoculars, surveillance cameras, LRF, designators, etc. Two variants of the OTL are being developed.

The development of short range version, OTL 300, for 300 m range has been completed. OTL 1500, the long-range version, is presently undergoing test and optimisation process. OTL 300 finds application in active scanning and monitoring of specific areas, VIP security and detection of pointed optics. The equipment has been demonstrated to potential users like Delhi Police, National Security Guards and Indian Army and was recently deployed for area sanitisation and security on several occasions.
Delhi Police is procuring OTL 300

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
April 18, 2015: The Centre for Airborne Systems (CABS), currently developing India's AEW&C and AWACS platforms, is scouting a joint venture partner to develop advanced operator workstations for applications in its airborne platforms. The main objective of the effort is to design, develop, qualify and deliver advanced console units qualified to meet the airborne and harsh ground requirements for present and future CABS projects. The laboratory is looking for a modular development that can be incrementally improved for future projects, including special mission aircraft and spy planes. While CABS will provide technical inputs and qualitative requirements, the chosen vendor will carry out fabrication, testing and evaluation as per finalised requirements. Vendors will be required to quote the cost of 50-100 consoles supplied over 5-8 years. Vendors with experience in delivering similar systems to Indian aerospace firms or global majors will obviously be preferred. Overall, the console will be built around a 24-inch high definition display unit, three rugged computer units, one tablet unit for touch inputs. The entire unit will be hard-mounted on the aircraft floorboard.
CABS for JV to build Operator Workstations For Airborne Plartforms - SP’s Exculsive

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
With a view to test a vision-assisted take-off and landing system for small size UAVs, the Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) in Bengaluru has called upon Indian vendors to design and develop necessary navigation algorithms, putt them in target hardware, interface with the onboard sensors and autopilot on a mini flying test bed, perform the necessary calibration checks on the test aircraft, and prove the algorithms in a closed loop with the onboard navigation system. The tasks will be carried out in close interaction with ADE. The flying test bed is proposed to be a 20-30kg-class fixed wing UAV. The tests will initially be with electrical engine to contain the vibrations and then with IC engine for more realism, says the ADE announcement. The work demands precision work in the areas of computer vision, modeling and simulation, aircraft navigation sensors and systems, control and guidance, aircraft systems integration, daylight and IR sensors and image understanding, estimation theory, numerical methods, and high- performance embedded computing. It also demands efficient software design and implementation. "The task is very complex and the firms bidding for it will need to demonstrate the necessary capabilities, prior experience and stability to undertake the task," ADE has stipulated.
DRDO scouts vision assited recovery system for UAVs - SP's MAI

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
HAL is looking for a technology partner for a tie- up to supply high-power radars (HPRs) to the Indian Air Force to meet a long-standing requirement. The HAL Avionics Division in Hyderabad has announced that it is looking to jointly bid a winning radar product to the IAF. Vendors will need to respond to HAL by April 27, though it is likely that HAL will extend the window. The IAF is looking for Active Aperture Phased Array Radars based on Solid State Trans/Receive Modules with the ability to detect targets at long ranges upto 30 km high with a radar cross-section of 2 metres, with the ability to classify targets as large, medium and small for fixed and rotary wing aircraft, and UAV automatically. The radars are required to plug air defence gaps in border areas. HAL, reflecting the IAF qualitative requirements, has stipulated that the HPR will need have the capability to cue search and track in specific directions based on command from command and control centre, classify standoff weapons (e.g. air launched missiles or other weapons), track & manually designate manoeuvering targets for higher track update rates and higher azimuth, range and elevation accuracies. Several Indian and foreign firms stand eligible to bid for the HAL partnership. A final order could be in the range of 30-40 HPRs at the very least, with more to follow.

HAL Scouts Radar Partner For IAF Requirement - SP's MAI