AMCA - Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (HAL)

Defcon 1

Yes. But what about other subsystems?

What about Radar? What about ejection seat? What about IFR probe?
Yes, so on those things we should start the work right? Why are we waiting for US congress approval to start work on those?

No.

US congress approval was just for the most critical component, not for other critical components.

As I have mentioned earlier, when you push for CCS approval, you don't push it with half measure like you just approve it, we will manage it later. You have to show your complete roadmap.

In principle approval was already provided in August last year. But when it comes to budget, you have to show how you would proceed rather then talking air.

Defcon 1

No.

US congress approval was just for the most critical component, not for other critical components.

As I have mentioned earlier, when you push for CCS approval, you don't push it with half measure like you just approve it, we will manage it later. You have to show your complete roadmap.

In principle approval was already provided in August last year. But when it comes to budget, you have to show how you would proceed rather then talking air.
So you mean to say that there are other critical components that we need from US without which work cannot begin?

Firstly, I don't think so, engine is the only tech where are badly dependent. On all other components, we have either indigenous solutions in pipeline or alternative vendors available.

Secondly, even if this was true, this problem will still not go away with US congress approval, as US congress approval is for engines only.

Hence, the article is self contradictory.

So you mean to say that there are other critical components that we need from US without which work cannot begin?
Not US, but other governments. Like the ejection seat from UK or Russia or US.

IFR probe from UK or Russia

Firstly, I don't think so, engine is the only tech where are badly dependent. On all other components, we have either indigenous solutions in pipeline or alternative vendors available.
Why only engine?
Where is the ejection seat?
Where is the IFR probe for which RFP has been issued last month by DRDO?

I am leaving RADAR here, but that too is a concern.

Secondly, even if this was true, this problem will still not go away with US congress approval, as US congress approval is for engines only.

Hence, the article is self contradictory.
No one has said that problem would go away. The report only points to one instance for which waiver has been given by GoI.

Defcon 1

Not US, but other governments. Like the ejection seat from UK or Russia or US.

IFR probe from UK or Russia

Why only engine?
Where is the ejection seat?
Where is the IFR probe for which RFP has been issued last month by DRDO?

I am leaving RADAR here, but that too is a concern.

No one has said that problem would go away. The report only points to one instance for which waiver has been given by GoI.
The article says and I quote "work cannot begin as the US government is yet to clear it"

This basically means that once the US government clears it, the work can begin.

Hence the problem should ideally go away. If the problem doesn't go away with US government clearance, the article is contradictory.

The article says and I quote "work cannot begin as the US government is yet to clear it"

This basically means that once the US government clears it, the work can begin.

Hence the problem should ideally go away. If the problem doesn't go away with US government clearance, the article is contradictory.
Why are you binding the development of Mk2 with just the engine?

This report is just covering one aspect of Engine. For that GoI has given the waiver and work could commence on that front. But what about other parts?

Defcon 1

Why are you binding the development of Mk2 with just the engine?

This report is just covering one aspect of Engine. For that GoI has given the waiver and work could commence on that front. But what about other parts?
This statement is self contradictory.

If the work can commence due to government waiver, then why wait for Congress approval?
If the work cannot commence, then what was the point of the waiver?

Work on the engine aspect could have commenced after the US congress approval anyways. What is the point of GOI waiver then?

This statement is self contradictory.

If the work can commence due to government waiver, then why wait for Congress approval?
If the work cannot commence, then what was the point of the waiver?

Work on the engine aspect could have commenced after the US congress approval anyways. What is the point of GOI waiver then?
You are complicating things in your mind a lot. It seems you are unaware of how things move.

First the designers have to take "In principle approval" from GoI for designing. CCS has already approved it in August 2022 and grant 10,000 crore for prototype development.

Now they have to release the budget. For that they have to give a detailed project report where they have to mention the development partners along with their experience, technologies which have been already developed and details of techs which has to be acquired. Now in this part, they can't go on and say that we are planning to do this and that.
Now ADA has already fixated upon 414 to power Mk2. But you have to remember that the Principle Approval has been provided only for prototypes. So DRDO/ADA/HAL or any development partner could invest on their own for the required engines. But as a project, unless and until they submit the report that it would be 414, which would be powering all the Mk2's, go ahead would not be given unless and until a deal is finalized for that.
The recent congress approval comes here. In backdrop of the project development, MoD and MEA has worked on the deal. The waiver has came just before the approval. This is the stage where Tejas suffered as in DPR it was Kaveri which was envisioned as the engine to power Tejas. But later on we had to sign two different deals for 404.

Now if you think that this is complicated because of Babus and politicians, let me tell you, even in private companies, things do work in same way.

spacemarine2023

Hopefully India has back up plans for Engine and Ejection seat for AMCA.
Cant trust West to honour contracts.

Saw interview of ADA boss … Roll out by Mid 2027 ..
Production partners already working with ADA from development stage.
Induction before 2035 🥱🥱🥱😴😴😴

Vamsi

post that interview video here

zathura98

lol, korea completed all trials and will start induction in 2026. complete jokers

Vamsi

if roll out is mid-2027.....does this mean that approval will come by Mid-2024?

jai jaganath

So after atags this had to bounce upon us
Neither govt nor military nor production agencies nor rnd agencies are serious about our threats and existence
We are lead by most incompetent combination present in the world
Which will only push us towards defeat humiliation and loss
Only single sentence
We are doomed

lol, korea completed all trials and will start induction in 2026. complete jokers
Break down their plane to subcomponents, check how much of it is homegrown, what is its scope of improvement without much NATO input.

We are building an entire aerospace ecosystem for future not just a jet.

spacemarine2023

India needs to form closer ties with France for Backup engine and Russia for Ejection seat, we cant reply on US for engines and UK for ejection seat