Afghan and Pakistani border guards clash in Torkham

At least Afghanistan is giving reply to the world's fastest growing nuclear weapons country.....lol

Remember Uncle attacking in OBL raid and daily attacks by Pakistani national birds in Pakistan. Non of the Pakistanis, including you neo is secured from it, if uncle chose to stop your stay in this world and send you to other world.

At least Afghanistan is giving reply to the world's fastest growing nuclear weapons country.....lol
We're showing restraint at a much weaker neighbor and they should be thankful for that. We don't want another useless war at our borders.

Did the construction stop? NO!
This how serious we take them

80.000 murders, thousands of rapes, tens of thousands orphaned, thousands gone missing and mass graves are still being discovered in Kashmir.

Yes, you have no moral right to lecture others. Clean your own house first.

same to you as well in Baluchistan and GB:biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

Torkham border reopens after five days of clashes

By News Desk / Reuters
Published: June 18, 2016

Officials in Islamabad say they have floated proposals to Afghan govt to introduce suitable mechanism.

Torkham border reopened on Saturday after five days of closure following clashes between Afghan and Pakistan security forces, Express Newsreported.

Afghan border guards started ‘unprovoked firing’ at roughly 9:00pm on Sunday to disrupt the construction of a gate on the Pakistani side of the border. Cross fire along the border caused casualties on both sides.

Afghanistan declines invite to send its NSA, FM to Pakistan

According to reports, the curfew was lifted after leaders of the two neighbouring countries met earlier to discuss possible solutions for the issue. Both sides opened their gates at the border to resume trade activities.

“To reopen the pass there were central and regional level
negotiations,” Attaullah Khogyani, a spokesperson for Afghanistan’s
Nangarhar provincial governor, said on Saturday.

The flow of traffic resumed to normal soon after the border reopened, following which officials on both sides checked necessary documents of people travelling across the border and also gave immigration visas to them.

Earlier, Kabul had apparently refused to send to Islamabad its national security adviser and foreign minister, invited for discussion in the wake of the recent clashes between the security forces of the two neighbouring countries after Pakistan started building a gate at Torkham border as part of its new border controls.

Nawaz, Karzai call for peaceful resolution of Torkham border issue

Prime Minister’s Adviser on Foreign Affairs Sartaj Aziz on Thursday spoke to Afghan National Security Adviser (NSA) Hanif Atmar over phone and invited him and Afghan Foreign Minister Salahuddin Rabbani for talks on the current situation at Torkham border amid the ongoing tension.

Afghan National Security Council spokesperson Tawab Ghorzang also confirmed the Pakistani invitation but said Afghan government has decided to send instead a delegation under Deputy Foreign Minister Hekmat Khalil Karzai.

Kabul’s move appeared to suggest that the Afghan government is not keen to have meaningful engagement with Pakistan, commented a senior government official while requesting anonymity.

Pakistan, Afghanistan agree on ceasefire at Torkham border

The official, however, made it clear that Pakistan would welcome any Afghan delegation as it had no intention of prolonging the tensions along the Torkham border. “The Afghan government has not yet officially responded to the invitation extended by the PM’s adviser,” he added.

No date has been announced for the visit and both sides are coordinating to decide the date.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1125133/torkham-border-reopens-five-days-clashes/

Army chief, US commander discuss Pakistan, Afghanistan border mechanism

By News Desk
Published: June 18, 2016

Army chief General Raheel Sharif and US commander in Afghanistan General John Nicholson discussed Pakistan, Afghanistan border mechanism on Saturday.

“During the meeting, regional security issues and matters of mutual interest, including border management mechanism along Pakistan, Afghanistan border were discussed,” Inter Services Public Relations said in a statement.

The meeting comes after the main crossing along Afghanistan’s disputed border with Pakistan reopened on Saturday after nearly a week of deadly clashes between the two countries’ security forces.

The fighting, which has killed at least four people, erupted at Torkham gate after the two sides disagreed over a Pakistani plan to build a new barrier at crossing.

Afghanistan rejects the colonial-era Durand Line border drawn up in 1893 and police along the border vowed to prevent the Pakistani project from going forward.

Officials on both sides said the crossing had reopened after Kabul and Islamabad reached an agreement. “To reopen the pass there were central and regional level negotiations,” Attaullah Khogyani, a spokesman for Afghanistan’s Nangarhar provincial governor, said on Saturday.

Torkham border reopens after five days of clashes

Military reinforcements that had been sent to the area had been ordered to leave and cross-border traffic had returned to normal after having been stalled for a week, according to a Reuters witness in Afghanistan.

Thousands of vehicles normally pass through the crossing every week, making it a vital trade link between the countries. As part of the agreement, officials said all Afghans would need official documents to pass into Pakistan.

Afghan ambassador denies agreement on gate construction at Torkham border

Both sides accuse each other of harboring extremist groups that have launched attacks. Afghanistan, struggling to contain a stubborn insurgency led by Taliban militants, blames Pakistan for harboring fighters and allied networks on its territory.

Pakistan denies it supports militants, and says it is building the gate at Torkham to stop the movement of militants coming the other way, from Afghanistan.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1125164...iscuss-pakistan-afghanistan-border-mechanism/

Bhai... There is no Durand Line issue - the whole world recognizes it as the legitimate border; even India.

We aren't going to keep the border open and let Afghan terrorists constantly pour in.

International community already recognizes Durand Line as the legitimate border; there is no issue.

I know it must pain you to hear this; but the only homeland we Pakistani Pashtuns recognize is Pakistan.
All pro-Afghan sentiments were washed away after 1949; it wasnt Pakistan army but Pashtun tribesmen that thwarted waves of Afghan incursions during the 1960-1980's - and we'll continue to defend Pakistan.

Pakistan has 55 million Pashtuns not 3.5 - 30 million in KPK and 25 million in Punjab and there is no way in the world, we'd ever join with Afghanistan - even if it was them that wanted to merge with us. We've already seen what Afghan refugees can do, we dont want anything else to do with them.

He is free to go and while at it; he can take millions of refugees as well.

You have no Idea... Pakistan has offered them money and even pensions if they leave the country - we have hundreds of volunteers in Afghanistan building hospitals, schools, clinics and homes for them; yet they still dont want to leave - even with threats and attacks from the fedup local populations.
How can Afgans leave when you literally DESTROYED their country?

You Pakis created and supported Taliban who took back Afganistan in 7th century.The same radicalization started in Pakistan itself and wanted to pose Sharia and Pak govt was shot scared and started doing peace deals.I remember it very well.Then came this WOT and you were literally FORCED to kill your own created Terrorists on your country OR else you were going to be bombed back to stone age by your abba Americans.

Now you are calling the same Afgan Mujahiddins as Terrorist. :lol:

You guys are still not interested in development of Afganistan since you treat them as SLAVES and Afgans hate Pakis.

Afgans don't treat Durand line as final border and even their Prez says same, so stop repeating it.

Kashmir is also not in UN list anymore of disputed territories but ONLY Pakis claim it is.This is where your double standards are exposed.You are even rebuked by UN to shut up. :lol:

We're showing restraint at a much weaker neighbor and they should be thankful for that. We don't want another useless war at our borders.
same as India does with porkistan right.

reality is a bitch isnt it :biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

pakis have the devil gifted knack of falling into the same hole they dig for others to fall.:pound::pound::pound:
it is their second nature.
devil is really kind to u all. :pound::pound::pound:

pakiland a nation which needs many sugar daddies (american daddy:) nato daddy:) chinese daddy:) saudi daddy:)) for its survival is not exactly a strong nation even with atum bomb.

pakis have the devil gifted knack of falling into the same hole they dig for others to fall.:pound::pound::pound:

pakiland a nation which needs many sugar daddies (american daddy:) nato daddy:) chinese daddy:) saudi daddy:)) for its survival is not exactly a strong nation even with atum bomb.
Reported for name calling. Learn to behave like a grown up.

the standard of English comprehension is really low in pakis.
and when the TRUTH is big the butthurt is way big

learn to face truth and reality and read and read again:doh:

and not go running to mod every time on false pretenses
as if i care :blah::blah:

"reality is a bitch isnt it"

did u even understand the context in which it was used

or because i exposed your country duplicity and duplicity of your narrative as u wrote

"We're showing restraint at a much weaker neighbor and they should be thankful for that. We don't want another useless war at our borders."

now tell me reality is a bitch isnt it since u shot your own foot by the above statement.

India similarly shows restraint at a much weaker neighbor (porkistan) and they should be thankful for that. We don't want another useless war at our borders."

paki bravery (1paki = 10 hindu) stopping indians , Indians inspite of winning 4 wars afraid of porkistan all these paki propaganda is crap isn't it ?
and the real reality is what u unwittingly pointed out

now man that must have hurt

plz somebody kindly tell me who do i report to for a pakis bad English comprehension .
results of poor paki madressa education .

and plz do your self a favour
1.dont go making grandoise self defeating statements which backfire and send u crying to mods. :crazy::doh:
2.keep ur advise to ur self
3.this is not baki forum where ur statements will go unchallenged :bs:
so man up or maybe not :pound::pound::pound:

charlie

I think pakistan is becoming unpopular among people who live in border areas, this border has been open for so long that people don't have habit of going through a legal process.

Again for Pakistan Afghanistan is not an enemy state like India, they had quiet close relation specially between people to people. If they closed the border in 90's it would have been much easier for pakistan but the time they chose to close the border now is really bad.

I think pakistan is becoming unpopular among people who live in border areas, this border has been open for so long that people don't have habit of going through a legal process.

Again for Pakistan Afghanistan is not an enemy state like India, they had quiet close relation specially between people to people. If they closed the border in 90's it would have been much easier for pakistan but the time they chose to close the border now is really bad.
We should have closed the border in 2002 when the US started to bomb Tora Bora and pushed the Taliban into Pakistan. Financially Pakistan could not bear the burden; the country was under a fresh US embargo due to 1998 nuclear tests.

sasum

Atheist but not Communists.
80.000 murders, thousands of rapes, tens of thousands orphaned, thousands gone missing and mass graves are still being discovered in Kashmir.

I wonder wherefrom you get those fancy numbers....ISI perhaps?

charlie

We should have closed the border in 2002 when the US started to bomb Tora Bora and pushed the Taliban into Pakistan. Financially Pakistan could not bear the burden; the country was under a fresh US embargo due to 1998 nuclear tests.
well Pakistan ISI or the army would not have allowed it back in 2002, they didn't have a far sight that a situation like this would arise back in 2000 and at that time you had a comedian like Mahmood as DG ISI just because he did favour to Musharraf.

At that time Musharraf thought he is in control and he is the advisor for allied forces in Afghanistan, do you think if a person who thinks he is in control would think of fencing a border ?

I think Musharraf himself is a worthless guy, who didn't know about his strength and weakness and lacked a future vision and Pakistani allowed him to run a country.

I don't know Pakistani always chose the wrong people to be in power and it seems there is just no end this.

Can you show me a source for mass graves based on your claims?

Indira Gandhi executed one in 1971
Funny how you all always forget the reason behind it. If Indira had such evil designs, why didn't she continue the war on the western front? Why did she release 92000 PA POWs? She could have just handed them over to bangladeshis, they would have tortured and killed them. Why did she return the captured kashmiri territory to Bhutto? She never should have done that.

Itna hi evil designs hota toh we had 2 decades when we had nukes and pakistan didn't. Kab ka execute kar chuke hote all plans.

SANITY

Funny how you all always forget the reason behind it. If Indira had such evil designs, why didn't she continue the war on the western front? Why did she release 92000 PA POWs? She could have just handed them over to bangladeshis, they would have tortured and killed them. Why did she return the captured kashmiri territory to Bhutto? She never should have done that.

Itna hi evil designs hota toh we had 2 decades when we had nukes and pakistan didn't. Kab ka execute kar chuke hote all plans.
I have realized @Neo isn't here to discuss what's wrong with his country but just to point out what's wrong with other, he will keep arguing until you have reached to root of the problem which doesn't suit their self-delusional narrative, as a reault he would either ignore or call it off-topic and start again somewhere in between and make a repitition of again and again. I have noticed this on each forum I interacted with him. That's intentional of him so I won't respond to his nonsense anymore.

Pakistan, Afghanistan agree to create mechanism to resolve border issues

By Tahir Khan / Kamran Yousaf
Published: June 20, 2016

ISLAMABAD: Pakistani and Afghan delegations met in Islamabad on Monday to discuss border management and last week’s skirmishes at Torkham, said a statement of Foreign Office.

The delegation, led by Deputy Foreign Minister Hekmat Khalil Karzai, visited Islamabad on the invitation of Prime Minister’s foreign policy adviser Sartaj Aziz to discuss a nearly week-long standoff at the border.

The Pakistan side was represented by Foreign Secretary Aizaz Ahmed Chaudhry.

Torkham – the busiest border crossing between Pakistan and Afghanistan in Khyber Agency – reopened Saturday morning after it was closed for six days following deadly clashes between the border guards of the two militancy-plagued neighbours.

The fighting was triggered on June 12 by an Afghan security forces attempt to disrupt the construction of a gate well within the Pakistani territory.

Pakistan unlikely to budge on new border rules

Both sides later declared ceasefire and the border was opened on Saturday. However, troops and tanks have been deployed by both sides.

The talks were held in a cordial atmosphere marked by a mutual desire to amicably resolve border related issues. Both sides decided to work in the spirit of good neighbourly relations and cooperation between the two countries.

The two sides agreed to share their ideas with the leadership, as these will be discussed during a meeting between the Sartaj Aziz and Afghan Foreign Minister on the sidelines of the forthcoming Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) summit in Tashkent from June 23-24, 2016.

The need for creating a suitable mechanism for consultation on border management issues for also emphasised during the meeting.

The participants agreed on effective border management being vital for promoting peace, countering terrorism and strengthening relations between the two countries.

Afghan Deputy Minister Hekmat Khalil Karzai also paid a courtesy call on Sartaj Aziz.

Afghanistan declines invite to send its NSA, FM to Pakistan

Pakistan has started introducing a new border mechanism at the Torkham border from June 1. Under the new border controls, Pakistan has made it clear that no one would be allowed to cross the border without a valid passport and a visa.

Official sources say Pakistan will stick to its position with regard to the new border rules.

Sartaj Aziz has already spelt out Islamabad’s stance in a policy statement in which he said the new border rules had been introduced as part of the government’s counterterrorism strategy to check infiltration of terrorists from Afghanistan.

He reiterated in a BBC interview on Sunday that the gate would be built at all costs. “Pakistan is neither violating any bilateral agreement with Afghanistan nor any international law,” he said and warned that Pakistan would retaliate if attacked again.

Aziz said the issue of terrorism and smuggling could not be tackled until some sort of border management system was put in place at the Pak-Afghan border. Almost 50,000 people cross the Torkham border without questioning. “These travellers include all types of people. We told Afghanistan in May that from June 1, no one will be allowed to cross the border without valid travel documents,” he added.

Aziz said Afghanistan wanted Pakistan to stop construction of the Torkham gate. “However, we are building the gate on our side of the border, and we do not need anyone’s permission.” After its completion, the gate, which, he said, was being built 30-35 metres inside Pakistan’s territory, would be opened for traffic.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1126137/afghan-delegation-arrives-islamabad-border-management-talks/

1,100km trench built alongside Pak-Afghan border in Balochistan

ISLAMABAD: After about three years of constant efforts, Pakistan has ultimately completed the construction of a massive trench in Balochistan alongside its porous border with Afghanistan to keep separatists, smugglers and militants from sneaking into the country.

“Excavation work on several-hundred-kilometre-long trench on Chaman-Kandhar border has been completed,” Deputy Commissioner Chaman Khuda-e-Dad Aga told The Express Tribune.

The strategic project of 1,100-kilometre-long trench with the cost of Rs14 billion was initiated along Pak-Afghan border in Balochistan by Frontier Corps in 2013.

The 11-foot-deep and 14-foot-wide ditch on the entire stretch of the border is contributing in efforts by the security forces to have a proper border management, an official of the provincial Home Department said.

Six TTP commanders, including Hakimullah Mehsud’s brother and uncle, surrender in Kurram Agency

In the next phase, the project will be extended to the entire over 2,400-kilometre-long border and after its completion, travel between the two countries will only be allowed through officially-designated crossing points.

The FC, at the beginning of the project, had maintained that the trench would “not only help in effectively controlling the movement of drugs, arms and ammunition smugglers but will also help in stopping the intrusion of terrorists and illegal immigrants”.

“Proper management on all of our international borders is an essential need for a peaceful Pakistan,” Balochistan government’s spokesperson Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar said. “In accordance with our laws, we are making our efforts to discipline cross-border travelling with Afghanistan and other countries.”

He went on to say, “No one has the right of objection if Pakistan is enforcing a proper management on its border regions.”

The spokesperson is of the view that the proper border management on the Pakistani borders is also in the interest of the neighbouring countries.

Two charred bodies found in Balochistan near Pak-Afghan border

“The border management will contribute to strengthen our system to check the intrusion of Indian-sponsored Baloch insurgents and Indian spies in Balochistan,” he added.

“It is an undeniable fact that a loose control on the porous borders in the past had allowed several hundred illegal immigrants to enter into Balochistan and now same elements are threatening the law and order situation in the province,” Kakar said.

Commenting on the construction of deep ditch last year, former ambassador to Afghanistan Rustam Shah Mohmand had said the project might have blessings of the United States.

In November 2012, a senior diplomat said that the US recognised the Durand Line as an international border. “If the government in Kabul has other interpretation, that’s certainly their business,” Richard E Hoagland, US deputy chief of mission in Pakistan, had said at a media discussion.

Pakistan for the first time announced in 2005 that it had plans to build a 2,400-kilometre fence along its border with Afghanistan to check armed militants and drug smugglers slipping between the two countries.

Huge weapon consignment seized on Afghan border

Former president General (retd) Pervez Musharraf had subsequently offered to mine the border as well but the idea could not materialise till 2009 due to an objection by Afghanistan. The opposition by Kabul was based on an argument that the plan would undermine its stand on the Durand Line.

However, Pakistan along with US and Afghanistan jointly executed the project of fencing the 35-kliometre of border area when during 2010-11 the incursion by militants was on its peak.

The project was discontinued as both Washington and Kabul backed out of it due to unknown reasons.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1126353/1100km-trench-built-alongside-pak-afghan-border-balochistan/